Toyota Allion D-4

The Toyota Allion is a sedan which seems to be be something like a larger Toyota Vios, following most of the same design cues, but with a Toyota Corolla Altis size.

I definitely prefer this look over the bloated and roundish kind of body design of the Toyota Corolla Altis.

The design cues for the back and the brakelights here are very similiar to the Toyota VIOS. Sporty and looks ever ready to get going. I like it.

This is really my type of interior. I love the three-spoke steering wheel. Gives a sporty feel to the car. Also, thank goodness the meter panel is positioned in the orthodox position in front of the driver. I don’t really like the VIOS dashboard where the meter panel is in the middle of the dashboard. I love the colours used as well. Mostly black and grey. I don’t really dig wooden and beige trims that much.

The interior does not look extremely spacious like a Camry, but it’s expected of a sedan of this size. The whole interior is done up in black and grey. Nice.

The car comes in 1.5, 1.8 and 2.0 engines. The 1.5 and 1.8 comes with a Super ECT 4-speed automatic transmission, but the 2.0 1AZ-FSE VVT-i engine comes with a Super CVT transmission. As I’ve mentioned many times before, CVT transmissions offer unrivalled smoothness as there are no jerky gear changes with the infinitely variably gear ratios.

The 1AZ-FSE 2.0 VVT-i engine is actually of the Toyota D-4 variant, which uses direct injection of petrol similiar to Mitsubishi GDi. The Toyota Camry 2.0 available locally runs a 1AZ-FE which is similiar, just without the D-4 direct injection and using conventional electronic fuel injection instead. In D-4 direct injection, fuel and air is injected directly into the cylinder, instead of mixing it in the intake port which is how conventional fuel injection works. Direct injection helps Toyota finetune the injection timing and amount with extreme precision, allowing for an extremely lean air/fuel ratio of about 50/1. The result is a significant increase in power and fuel mileage.

As with most Toyota cars these days, the 1.5 and 1.8 versions of the Allion comes with 2WD and 4WD options, while the 2.0 Super ECT comes only in 2WD.

The 1AZ-FSE makes 155ps at 6000rpm and 192Nm of torque at 4000rpm. Mileage is 15.2km per litre.

More information about the car can be obtained at the Toyota Japan’s Toyota Allion page.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Paul, Shouldn't some auto magazine hire you already? ; ) This is better reading than some local car mags.

Nice interior, dash looks great and subtle, like you mentioned. While the driver's head is at the apex of the roofline's curve – hope there will be enough headroom for tall people at the back also. It looks like the rear rooof portion rakes downward at the back headrest. Similar issue with the VW New Beetle?

This car reminds me a little of the Scion tC.. have you seen it? I wished they have it in Malaysia, together with the options to customize this baby yourself!

• eklim on Jul 11, 2005 at 6:48 am

*Agree with CH over " Shouldn’t some auto magazine hire you already?". Maybe those automotive industry should give you some "fee" for your review :)

• Mango: I doubt it. The only way we will see it here is in CBU form, imported by someone with alot of money.

• hmmm, yes. very similiar to the scion tc externally. the scion tc seems to be a 2 door coupe-ish version while this is the sedan version.

i did some research and it appears the toyota allion, scion tc and toyota avensis all share the same platform, together with a few more cars.

• Mango on Jul 11, 2005 at 5:35 pm

Paul, is this model coming to M'sia?

• Kevin on Jul 12, 2005 at 9:09 am

i like ur blog/reviews images esp.

ur my top daily visit site. often updated

u deserve high praises/recognition over ur effort/work/passion

keep it up

• this is definitely nicer than the current altis…but how would the new altis look like? i mean it has been facelifted recently and there aren't any news of the 2006 altis..but yet i came across some pics on the 2006 camry already…. hmm…but its hard to imagine, but would this be the next altis replacement? or would they be sticking back to the corolla …

• Hectagon on Jul 14, 2005 at 1:12 pm

How much the price is this new toyota??

• Hectagon on Jul 14, 2005 at 9:12 pm

How much the price is this new toyota??

• TONY LEONG on Jul 22, 2005 at 10:59 pm

wah lau eh……..!!! daMN GOod N nice!!! must buy…….. ; )

• Uttam on Jul 26, 2005 at 11:43 pm

Hi,

I am the owner of an Allion 2004. It runs great.

Do you have the wheel alignment for the allion 1500cc model. The fact that the manual is in Japanese only, I cannot read it.

I thank you in anticipation. You are doing a great job.

• don don on Aug 01, 2005 at 7:13 pm

erm… which means, there's no manual transmision???

paul, i though that the 2.0 come with CVT, as mention at top,but at the bottom it you stat that its 2.0 super ect.

ohya, what's the difference in 2wd and 4wd? mind explain? i'm just a newbie in cars.

thanx!

p/s: great job paul!

• Deejay Shen on Aug 03, 2005 at 7:20 pm

Hello Uttam,

May I know where can I purchase Toyota Allion?

As I notice that Malaysia not yet bring in this model.

• Just check with one of the local Toyota dealer, he said this model will not be sell in Malaysia. :-(

• Barry Moshinsky on Sep 02, 2005 at 2:03 am

I live in Chonburi Thailand. Will this car replace the Vios on the Thailand market? If so, what will the price range be?

• Marco on Sep 08, 2005 at 12:26 am

I just bought an Allion….. hoping it'll do good on gas… had a Montero and spent all the money on gas…

• H C Teo on Sep 11, 2005 at 4:38 pm

I was told that Toyota Vios has a model that comes with 1.8L engine. Is it true?

• hi paul, what is D-4 mean ?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 5:57 pm

A re-bodied Lexus IS? :P

• Hudson Inyangala on Nov 11, 2010 at 6:31 pm

I recently changed the batery of my Allion when I noted that it had started malfunctioning. Thereafter , I noticed that I could not open or close the windows using the switches on the Drivers door? What could the issue be?

• zimcadre on Jun 18, 2011 at 4:44 am

check your fuses

• Jami Md. Khan on Aug 21, 2011 at 4:41 am

Don’t worry about this as this pretty common and will take 2 to 3 days to return to its normal state. However, you can operate individual door window by their respective window switch but not with the drivers switch panel though.

One of Motor engineer told me that when the battery is removed it tigers the reset of the controlling unit responsible for many functions including the auto window raise & lowering functions.

You may notice the tiny light on the individual window switch will keep on blinking until it returns to normal state.

Hope this info will be helpful for you.

• tony s cuttilan on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:00 pm

what is the fuel consumption of toyota allion1.8v v t 2002 model and allion 1.5cc .toyota .

• Douggie on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:50 am

The Toyota Allion 2004 uses CVT TRANSMISSION TC FLUID ,this is a japanese domestic car where in the USA can I find this TC fluid or is the transmission fluid used in the Camry is the same to be used in the Allion?

• Paul, I bought a 2007 D4 2litre Allion from the JDM.
    As usual it was in brand-new condition, only 34000 km. Why then am I getting only 8 km/litre ?

• Boston Samalia on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:46 pm

I have noticed that D-4 engine on Allion A20 are knocking what can be the problem? And how to overcome it?