Myvi Sales Skyrocket!

The Perodua Myvi is selling like hotcakes! Sales figures are at a mind-blowing average of 10,188 units a month, exceeding the original monthly target of 4800 units.

Myvi sales have hit 40,751 units on July 6th, a number achieved in only about 3 months since April.

This is despite of several problems with the car such as the dent on the bonnet and the problem with the rear drum brake. Despite the problem, Perodua was wise to notify Myvi owners to come in for a check-up right away.

Such is the power of having the platform based on a Toyota/Daihatsu platform. The reliability reputation rubs off a bit onto the Myvi.

You can see it on the comments of my own blog. Even when I posted about the brake defect, hordes of Myvi lovers came and defended Perodua, and praising it for acting so quickly. If a Proton had such problems, I think it would be normal for Proton service center personnel to shrug it off with a “Biasalah… Proton!”

Proton, please learn from your brothers at Perodua. This is what you can achieve if you give the rakyat what it wants. A reliable, economical car with the latest safety features and equipment.

The rakyat does not want state of the art clutchless manual gearboxes. It wants a comfortable car to drive to work daily, and at the same time fit the whole family comfortably for weekend trips. And the car has to be affordable. Buckle up Proton!

Source: The Edge Daily

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• for time been our money is deserve for paying to myvi. keep it going that how people know how to do business for long term to go. P2 u r the first s wee Tod only a successfully on our national car industry in Malaysia history s a asempal to our own car industry to go more transparency.

• Balajoe on Jul 19, 2005 at 3:39 am

That's normal lah about Proton and Perodua….kudos to Perodua!

• Mellissa on Jul 19, 2005 at 3:42 am

Well said! And this is coming from the girl who thought Malaysian cars could sink no lower ;) I've seen so many MyVIs on the road already — they're everywhere! Everyone seems to like them — I haven't come across someone who doesn't too.

• woshye on Jul 19, 2005 at 4:44 am

Paul, your comment on this is right to the point. I guess now that Myvi is selling very well and Perodua claim that they can deliver 4000 units in a month, so with more than 40k units on booking. I will leave the rest of the math for all on how long to wait to get one.

• akari on Jul 19, 2005 at 6:30 am

perodua said will slower down other model production line for myvi, if not mistaken august will have 220cars/day means around 6600 per months, hope they can delivery faster for their customer.

• bobcat on Jul 19, 2005 at 7:16 am

I can't for the like of me understand why there is no effort from proton or perodua to produce a 4wd vehicle (an SUV perhaps) with a dimension 1ft longer and 1 ft wider than the Kembara. Throw in a 1.6cc engine and its going to a hot seller after that, trust me. But alas, thats not going to happen in the near future. Seems like proton or perodua is more motivated to produce more saloon cars to clog the road. I'm sure there's a lot of Malaysians out there admiring from afar the look of the Pajero IO, Suzuki Grand/Vitara, Nissan X-trail and the like. How i wish proton and perodua can take up the challenge to make one! Can Malaysia Boleh?

• Wilfred on Jul 19, 2005 at 4:40 pm

haha…myvi driver here…jz a comment that, no matter u r national car…or u r foreign car…the car that fulfill the market's need is the one…

original design or foreign design…that's another matter…

all we want is cost efficient….and safety

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jul 19, 2005 at 5:33 pm

Means if the longer the queue , the more possiblilty of ppl cutting queue by going the 'backdoor' way…T_T too bad for us….

Hope 'bolehland' can be abit 'boleh' and boleh deliver my car on time. I hope around sept =)

• December on Jul 19, 2005 at 5:55 pm

Selling like hotcakes eh? i knew i would see this day, but never so soon, im glad… :D im a perodua lover too, but im stucked with 1992 ford telstar, my next car is definitely gonna be kenari, i love thaat geometrical babe to the bones!

*giggles like a japanese schoolgirl*

• Dear eAthena-Seir3n and all.

it is worth the wait….. I receive my car already, MyVi 1.3EZ Standard. :)

First impression, the car is tall when you are driving, give you a great front view. Feels like driving a Toyota Estima.

2nd. The side mirrow is great, BIG and comfortable to look into, will not miss anything behind. Come with electric motor control, great benefit as both my wife and I drive it, easy for us to adjust according to our sitting position.

3rd. All the controls easy to operate, the power streering is light (my wife love if compare to my Proton car), the light's control is soft, the fog light switch is on the turn stick making it easy to turn the fog light on and off (proton will add a switch buttom on the bottom of the dashboard making it hard to reach).

4th. I love the rear door. I have hated the hatchback model car because the rear door is open upwards, I initially booked a Kenari because the rear door open sidewards. BUT MyVi rear door is great, just poop the door and it move up itself, and when close, U do not have to slam, it pull to close itself.

5th. Engine…. have not really "drive" it. Only driven it 300km till this morning when I reach my office. BUT the engine is smooth.

6th. Everyone envy me driving it. All the head will turn to see when I drive pass, stop at trafic light, you will see the neighbour cars looking at your car. On one ocassion, a car driven by a man actually knock down a motorcycle because he was looking back at my car (lucky it was not a hard knock, no one is injurd).

CONS.

I have only 1 complain till now, the boot is small. I used to pack the whole family for a few days drive with the boot full with bag and baby stuff, this car boot will not fit us.

Paul, do you think MyVi can fit with a roof rack ? I looking into this option now.

• What happen to Gen2? Free downpayment… 3 months installment waived? So desperate huh?

• artificial on Jul 19, 2005 at 8:23 pm

hey guys..

check out this..

proton has won two categories in this award (worst car and dissapoint car)

congratulation proton for giving a very big shame to malaysian.

fired mahalel…DAMN IT!

• biasa lah…. plotongs

• Go…. go…. MyVi… I Book Already MyVi…. Hope I will get it soon

• DAN said, your commands of english is so tickling la.. ha

• after seeing the autozine placing, i really lost appetite for gen 2, no wonder the gen 2 is so desperate to sell… like cheap sale la. and if you check out the cushion that you are going to sit on in a savvy , trust me, you would lose your appetite too for savvy…

only love and no hate…

• free car on Jul 19, 2005 at 11:08 pm

no amount of free installment will compensate for quality….. someone tell proton not to waste the $$ on the advert on radio station already.

a dealer in melaka, they are looking for anyone with a plot of land for rent, to park this unsold proton, call Berkatmas.

• Leong on Jul 20, 2005 at 3:21 am

What are you people doing? Keep praising Perodua..

The more you praise, they might start to take it easy and then, reduce their quality standards.

As for Perodua seems to be indeed our best national cars. This proves that Malaysians are not only price sentitives but also demand for quality. It was PERODUA that gives Malaysian the power to choose!!! Thats the greatest gift…… Now what am I saying??? Oh well…

• I have made the booking for MyVi Premium on the 2nd day after launched. Hoping to get the car by end of this month….. or latest midst of August (as promised by the Sales). Since my wife likes the MyVi in Red, thus she has chosen the MyVi 1.3EZi in Red, which I am also in-love with. And the Sales said Red colour will be delivered faster than any other colours as it's not a popular metallic colours.

Frankly, since MyVi on the road I hardly see a Red colour Premium speeding on the highway. Did anyone of u saw 1?

My wife and I went for a test drive 2 weeks ago, my 1st impression when I pressed the acceleration is the silence-ness and comfort on driving. Like sitting in a Altis. Agreed with edw, the power steering is light and ease in U-turning.

I did visited Proton showroom on the 2nd car of launch. It took no longer than 3 minutes for me to have a look on Savvy. Really shame on it………. no improvement on design and technology…… the only technology they have in the car is the CD player, I think….. too bad!

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 20, 2005 at 11:23 am

well well it shemm proton are get worst already…

luckyly there got runner-up in DISAPPOINTMENT CAR of the year if there got 1st place

aiyah shame woh………

but 1st place for WORST CAR of the year.. arggh… i can't belive it if foreinner ask what is that car i rather jump to sg. klang than i tell it that is the our car…

i think the one who claim design this car and the one who put the cay together are give their own country bad name

• Lee Wye Jon on Jul 20, 2005 at 5:36 pm

Please for goodness sake stop quoting the Autozine article as if it's some kind or respectable magazine or something. It's not… it's a website run by a SINGLE person.

• Sad Malaysian Driver on Jul 20, 2005 at 6:14 pm

Anyone thinks that Proton is trying to sell toy cars instead of real cars??? The Proton Savvy advertisement is damn cynical?!! I think some big shot creative personnel in proton may have lost their laurels…

• silentsoliloquy on Jul 21, 2005 at 1:20 am

My driving instructor bought a My Vi.. she was originally gunning for a Jazz but then sold out to the Kancil 'fellas. :P

• F6_freak on Jul 22, 2005 at 8:53 pm

Better make a statistic of how many myvi freaks have posted their comments on Paul's page.

Cos…

Im a myvi freak too…haha ;-D

• Autozine may be run by a single person, but it does have a huge number of readers who visit that website… and that's what counts!

besides I'm sure there are THOUSANDS who share this SINGLE persons opinion.

Am I right?

• what right? this is about myvi, talk about myvilah!

so myvi, any updates some more? sales figures, problem etc etc

• nuaryoung on Aug 23, 2005 at 7:04 pm

my collegue bought a myvi for his wife, everything was so great 'bout that car, if u sitting at the back, u can move yr foot freely better than waja(this came from a waja owner). but only that this guy bought a 1.0 cc version, so whenever it comes about going up a hill with loaded collegues inside. It loses power, that's the only dissapointment so far.

being a bit more particular, i also love the fact they prepared compartment to rest yr drinks, up to 4 cups, really helps in creating happy & environment. compared to gen-2 only 1~Kiasu.

• sunni on Nov 11, 2005 at 7:26 am

toyota vios better than myvi. myvi bullshett.like a milo tin