Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution MIEV

This is an interesting experiment by Mitsubishi, similiar to Michelin’s Active Wheel technology.

The Lancer Evolution MIEV is derived from the Lancer Evolution IX. What makes it different from conventional power and drivetrains is there are 4 separate motors packed into each wheel of the car. Each motor drives 1 wheel.

The motors are powered by lithium-ion batteries fitted under the floor of the car where the 4WD propeller shafts and other components were once located.

Nice. This car is experimental in every way… powertrain, drivetrain, power source. Vehicle type certification has been obtained for this car so it’s legal for on-the-road use.

Specifications:

Dimensions

Length – 4490 mm
Width – 1770 mm
Height – 1450 mm
Curb weight – 1590 kg
Seating capacity – 5
Max. speed – 180 km/h
Cruising range / charge (10-15 driving pattern) – 250 km

Motor

Type – Permanent magnetic synchronous Outer-rotor
Maker – Toyo Denki Seizo K.K.
Max. output – 50 kW
Max. torque – 518 Nm
Max. speed – 1500 rpm
Dimensions – 445 mm (dia.) x 134 mm
No. fitted – 4

Battery system

Type – Lithium-ion
Maker – GS Yuasa Corporation
Capacity – 95 Ah
Voltage – 14.8 V
L x W x H – 388 mm x 175 mm x 116 mm
No. of modules – 24
Controller – Inverter
Drive – 4WD
Tires – 255/30ZR20

Notice the huge tyre size to accomodate the motors in each wheels! Will a production version of this ever be as hot as the Toyota Prius? I think this would be good on the track too… low center of gravity, 4WD, balanced front-rear weight distribution.

The MIEV system can be deployed in a few ways, either powered by pure EV or in a hybrid car. It can also be powered by fuel cells.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cloudz on Aug 25, 2005 at 1:00 pm

wad i can say is cooL..if i have the gold there..i'll get one of these in my garage..loV evo evar~~ =P

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 25, 2005 at 2:30 pm

Lancer EVO (MIEV) will be sold in year 2010. Powered by Li-ion battery or Fuel Cell should be good enough. Cheers! I would like to buy one in the future.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 25, 2005 at 2:33 pm

More info. about MIEV, it is COLT with MIEV, sorry only in Japanese not English.

Paul you are quick! I am loving it.

• with this kinda power and this kinda weight., unless they turn it into a hybrid like the prius & insight, it'll never be on production

• How do you dyno something like this? I mean is it total output or single motor output?

50kw = 67bhp.. er. Ok. 518NM?? A std e9 has 400nM no… Wow.

curiously, will there be no exhaust sound and nearly nil NVH… hehe

• The kW and torque is per motor. So multiply that by 4 motors. :P

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 25, 2005 at 8:36 pm

Hei Paul, the bigger advantage of this MiEV are as follows:

1) Free styling, less constraint, No engine and Transmission at the front or rear. We can have more extreme styling and room space.

2) Noise? Will became a history soon. No NVH only wind noise and tyre noise or breaking noise.

3) No need transmission. Apparently transmission had limitation of transfering different torque to each wheels at cornering or speed control. With MiEV, 4 wheels speeds can be controlled by Electronic percisely. Wow! just wondering when you make the cornering, no more Over or under steer problems. Prefectlah!

4) Clean, that I called GREEN CAR without emission. (Li-ion EV need no Hydrogen man)

5) Maintenance Cost should be cheaper that Hybrid model because no complicated equipement only electronic and battery.

6) Longest distance about 250km, just right enough for 2 weeks travalling to work and my weekend staffs. Don't forget the battery life will be extended by the year 2010, maybe 400km. That's will be perfect for me for a month. Just charge once a month or twice, sure no complaint by ME.

7) This technology is also good for Limosin or extend the car long with more wheels on it. cause no more layout problems and torque issues. Just harness and batteries layout.

8) No more tear cause by Petrol price UP…UPP>>>UP. I am free man.

9) No more heat generated by Engine. No exhaust!! No need heat protector…

10) Lighter weight, no insulator for engine noise…….door…..etc

10) If you found More please let me know Okay!

Wow! can't wait till 2010, hope it will be ready in this X-mas!

• stupid rafidah on Aug 25, 2005 at 11:13 pm

hah?does that mean each tyre has 4 motors and there isn't like a core engine?

im confused

• hfrshah on Aug 26, 2005 at 1:22 am

check out this site

http://www.worldcarfans.com/news.cfm/newsid/20508…

• stupid rafidah: that is correct. each tyre has it's own motor. 4 engines for 4 tyres.

• naruto on Aug 26, 2005 at 3:32 am

sek pao mou ye zou

• stupid rafidah on Aug 26, 2005 at 4:43 am

wah then if they can like make ecu to control every tyre individually then i can just lock the front tyre and let the back spin then can drift woh

wahseh…

wah like that can also make the can FF,FR OR 4WD if can make the ecu like that.

Fui yo keng chau chin chin

• holy_cow on Aug 26, 2005 at 9:45 am

I imagine it's going to be a few years before they get those motors tough enough to deal with all the abuse of being owned by your average motorist, though. And the performance specs probably aren't too hot yet. But what a prospect. Now all we need is to work in some fuel cell tech so there'll be no need to plug the thing in for pesky charging sessions.

Hopefully Mitsu Motors won't go under before they perfect this tech.

Speaking of really cool tech, has anyone heard of the Bose suspension system? You can read about it here:
    http://www.popsci.com/popsci/bown/2004/autotech/a…
    and here:
    http://www.bose.com/controller?event=VIEW_STATIC_…

It's really very, very cool. Imagine having a car that will exhibit no body roll or float when plunged through corners, yet will absorb any and all bumps in your way and keep your ride completely cushy.

If Paul's already blogged about this, apologies…but I couldn't find it anywhere, so I thought I'd mention it, even though it's quite old news.

• Aris Tee on Aug 26, 2005 at 4:47 pm

awesome stuff… these things MUST be made into production… best things to happen to mankind and the motoring world… save $, save environment, better handling… wat more u want?

• wonderer on Aug 26, 2005 at 5:40 pm

Woow !!! Mitsubishi still the best.Wonder if Proton R &D could produce something like that ? Hmmmm….

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 26, 2005 at 7:32 pm

So guys some your money now and get ready to buy only from MITSUBISHI!! CHEERS!

2010, still have 5 years for us to save enough money! I will buy one if Available in Malaysia. POTONG Where are U??? Do something like this, JV WITH MMC again lah! VW also will dead soon.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 26, 2005 at 7:34 pm

Sorry mistake,…..So guys "save" your money……..Not "Some"

• The best looking GREEN CAR so far…Miles ahead of the Toyota Prius, which is famous in Tinsletown. Drive this Evo in town, sapa tau its driving on batteries…

• hfrshah on Aug 27, 2005 at 4:00 am

europeans are complaining their hybrids look too similar to their IC engined bretheren.. ie the Civic Hybrid and Lexus 400h.. they want their cars to shout "im an enviromentalist!"

• David Mershon on Aug 27, 2005 at 1:15 pm

This really bugs the crap out of me. Between the four motors this thing is packing in about 260 horsepower, which is about the same as an Infiniti G35/Nissan Skyline GT 350. At about 3500 pounds it also weighs about the same as the Skyline. Mitsubishi claims the top speed at about 115 miles per hour and based on performance of other electric vehicles with similar stats I have seen, I'm thinking it will do 0-60 in about 8-9 seconds. These aren't very impressive numbers. The nissan hits at least 150 on the top end and can do 0-60 in between 5.5 and 6.5 seconds depending on the model. The reason for this is because the Evo MIEV has only one ratio while the Skyline has 6 (with the manual gearbox). First gear on the Nissan is probably somewhere in the neighborhood of a 4:1 top gear is an overdrive. With direct drive you don't have driveline losses, but those losses are a drop in the bucket when you consider the mechanical advantage you have given up. Even with their broad powerbands, if you put an electric motor on a dyno it will give you a curve that looks a lot like that of a gas engine with peak power arriving near the redline. Conventional auto design may look messier than in wheel motors and it may be less efficient, but if we want fast electric cars, auto manufacturers are going to have to start building them with gearboxes and drivetrains just like the ones we have now.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 4:35 pm

Just wondering, if Mitsubishi install the solar power on top of the roof, that make it perfect. Some of the customers might need more energy for Air/con, Navigator system, TV, Neo lights and Audio system. More gadgets on EV car will lower the milleage and performance I believed. Also, it is important to have a backup power for EV car too. (Just enough energy for you to go for recharge the batteries during emergency case)

• finally the auto giants will sit up and take notice,its high time these manufacturers got serious bout using sources other than oil.they will never match the conventional ones in terms reliability and most importantly the sentiments of auto junkies like us,but still i say this is a step in the right direction,who knows technological advancements could get these on par with the grunty ones too. kudos to mitsubishi for giving us a sexy option to go green.i just love the evo man

• spotrag on Oct 02, 2005 at 11:17 pm

Lancer,the name itself means "the soldier of cavalry".Now its the soldier with few more weapons.

• cougarman on Oct 04, 2005 at 12:37 pm

The tzero whoops a$$, and is available now… Only ONE left for sale!

• Ajay Nair on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:35 am

Way to GO Lancer!! Superb!