Thieves on the loose

Car owners especially modified car owners should be more alert these days as thieves are getting more and more daring now.

This morning I was informed by my fellow Pro-Hatch member Archang3l that his car got broken in and a few stuff was stolen from his car.

Items missing are a limited edition black screen Apexi SAFC2, a boost meter and guess what… the thieves ran away with his carbon fibre hood!

All of this happened at 5:00am in the morning. His car was parked in his house’s porch. The thieves just climbed in and broke the driver’s side mirror. They even let go of the handbrake and pushed the car slightly backwards to make more room so that they can unscrew the carbon fibre hood!

This happened in Taman Desa, so residents of Taman Desa please keep on the lookout and be extra alert!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jason on Sep 19, 2005 at 6:07 pm

Doesn’t Puchong have Petaling Police Station?

• asean auto on Sep 19, 2005 at 7:07 pm

Well, a colleague of mine had his spanking new Mini smashed into during the afternoon daylight. Such a bold move considering all those restaurant goers along the roadside in Sri hartamas……….. Those culprits really know how to make full use of public apathy in Malaysia !!

• moo_t on Sep 19, 2005 at 7:11 pm

holy molly cow. Carbon fibre hood also people steal. The thives is definitely not a pro. I saw a thieves that get caught in act : he didn't even broke the glass car and didn't trigger the alarm when removing the car audios.

• alex lee on Sep 19, 2005 at 7:17 pm

i heard that the proton savvy win the race in penang. win over modify 1.3 cc engine.. issit true?

• Michly on Sep 19, 2005 at 7:31 pm

i kena twice for this kind of stealing job .. basket.. .. if happen that i catch one on the spot.. he is dead with my karate… MFK………………..

• nuggyn on Sep 19, 2005 at 7:39 pm

that's why i will even lock and arm the alarm of my car even it is parked in the car porch. never take things for granted.

• nuggyn, what are you talking about? it goes without saying you have to do that no matter where your car is parked, EVEN in your car porch.

• Agreed 8555, car can even gone missing even they are locked (steering locked, padel locked, alarm locked). Nothing is safe for your car mate unless you can keep it in your pocket :D

• Shireen on Sep 19, 2005 at 8:33 pm

hrmm…. funny … some comments here are not related.. but anyway .. no point locking your car whatsoever …. they will still break your car window and steal. same shit that happened to me mummy yesterday NOON? i was like WTF !!!! but listening the car porch incident.. it's not even save to park your car in your own compound/house…. i think we should all start renovating the house and park our cars IN as in IN the house …

• rafreez on Sep 19, 2005 at 8:43 pm

I think who ever live in a terrace house should build a bunker or a fortress with booby traps n electric fence…hahaha…then MARI KITA LIHAT SAPA YG KENAAAAA…p/s but u should tell all ur relatives…relatives n close fren only

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 19, 2005 at 9:03 pm

Lol , sad to happen , but it happens. This will just assure foreigners that we are just a bunch of uncivilized barbarians, not that they don't know already.

We as citizens can only hope for the protection from our local patrol or neighbourhood patrol. =/ Too bad.

• Johnson on Sep 19, 2005 at 9:30 pm

What had Malaysia became?

• Someone rip my kancil back wiper. Not once but two times. Now I'm install old style back wiper (metal one…). For new Kancil model like me you only need change the rubber to 10". It's work fine and nobody even bother about it. But now the thief had rip off my spoiler. I live at CIQ Gelang Patah. Someone did saw the culprit but since he live on 10 floor there nothing he can do beside shouting to that damn guy. If I see that bullock I will burn his car right there on the spot.

• Johnson said,

September 19, 2005 @ 1:30 pm

What had Malaysia became?

—-> if you see the ratio of civilian:police you will know why…furthermore lazy (mine police get bonus for slimming down! no wonder slimming centre's bzness booming), corruption (some policemen have a wealth of millions and oso 3 out of 2 likes to pay corruption than saman and "it wasnt the enforcer's fault")…

Pathetic rite? this is Malaysia a.k.a bolehland

• FiveElements on Sep 19, 2005 at 9:49 pm

IF THESE BASTARDS ARE CAUGHT….PARADE THEM NAKED AT KOTA RAYA, BUKIT BINTANG AND KLCC.

• cameljoe on Sep 19, 2005 at 10:05 pm

Anything can be nicked from the car from tyre, alloys, spoilers, wipers, wing mirrors, av, etc. If it is removable, it gonna get nicked. So, best to be not so bling or flashie to begin with. Can't even claim insurance.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 19, 2005 at 10:23 pm

I think these thieves had linked with Car ACCessories SHOPs owners based on the points below:

1) The Hood is not small size, keep stock at home might be crazy and easy known by someone.

2) How to sell it off? Either use it or sell it, I don't believed just Steal it for FUN!

Accessories shops owner can sell it easily coz maybe their already had DEMANDs. Selling hood by JUST in time concept!!

3) To Uninstall the hood in short time, they must be a profesional. I means did it every day or had practice on it.

4) They need a Pick up or VAN to take it home. They should rent a TRUCk or VAN before doing this.

5) How do they know the HOOD owner house? Maybe they get the information from the ACcessories shops. (They need the Links information)

6) Must be at least 2 people to do this job. (How much can you get or how much is the 2nd hand HOOD can sell?)

So, I hope you all should make permenant MARKING on your Fibre HOOD, SPOILER or What ever expensive accessories that had installed on your car. Because If your HOOD got SCRATCHES or MARKING which was not easy to remove and take a photos as evident …….AUTOMATICALLY the Thieves will not Steal it coz Not many people wanna to BUY "STOLEN GOODS". Just my …..little advise!

• Jason on Sep 19, 2005 at 10:38 pm

Damn, even in OUG also same problem. They actually climb into people's house and break into their cars. Few weeks ago, cars were broken into a whole row of houses here.

• Wiraone on Sep 19, 2005 at 10:46 pm

Abu, you said "if you see the ratio of civilian:police you will know why…furthermore lazy (mine police get bonus for slimming down! no wonder slimming centre’s

bzness booming), corruption (some policemen have a wealth of millions and oso 3 out of 2 likes to pay corruption than saman and “it wasnt the enforcer’s fault”)…

Pathetic rite? this is Malaysia a.k.a bolehland"

Well, nobody want to become a policeman now .. if only a good citizen like yourself offers to become one, I guess our policeman can become clean. Buhaa..haa.. easy to say than do ah?

• aksMS on Sep 19, 2005 at 10:56 pm

Hmmm…simply put, Taman Desa area (dan yg sewaktu dengannya) are well known for car break and entry. There are so many drug addicts there. With poor lighting and couldn't be bothered attitude, no wonder these thieves are on a shopping spree. Deng! How could they possibly take their own sweet time dismantling the hood? Damn pro's! And do you all people know that there's only police patrol car from Brickfields branch to monitor from Old Klang Road-Taman Desa all the way to Puchong? Puchong??? WTF!!??

• alvin on Sep 20, 2005 at 12:34 am

My car just got stolen bout 2 weeks ago in USJ Subang Jaya. Proton Iswara LMST modified with audio system and good tint. And now… stolen.. sigh… Go read about it at the link.

• pojot on Sep 20, 2005 at 2:51 am

you should put a smiling pontianak dummy in there.

sure pencuri takut

• pojot on Sep 20, 2005 at 2:52 am

you should put smiling pontianak dummy in there

sure pencuri takut

• MutantTomato on Sep 20, 2005 at 3:49 am

ohh guysssssss! I checked this out with a lawyer and I got the answer I was looking for. I'm sure it is the answer most of youse are looking for too…

IF someone breaks into your house or is in your house in any UNLAWFUL manner i.e. panjat pagar, break your gate, panjat tiang n hop into your house, etc, it is quite alright by the law if you break parts of him. Just don't kill him.

So supposedly you are armed with a hammer (Lets go crazy here):

OK : You bash his fingers into mince, one by one.

NOT OK: You bash a hole in his head and watch his brain spill out.

Now, I know some of us here would much rather do option "NOT OK," but that is still manslaughter. So please, if you do catch a thief, control your urge to kill him. You can step on his head/ kick him in the balls/ break his arms, but for Heaven's sake, don't kill him.

Also, another plus point in Boleh Land… When the cops come to get him, be really nice to them and suck up to them. If possible get a woman (Your mom/ sister/ wife) to stand there and say the thief tried to harm them. Then stand back and watch in glee as the police "give it" to the poor bastich…

Sorry for being morbid but its the truth man! We F**king work hard, save up and buy something only for some ASSHOLE to steal it?! Oh no! Not for me! I keep my Stanley claw hammer shiny and oiled.

• Verne on Sep 20, 2005 at 5:00 am

Grrr…I hate thieves. Bring corporal punishment. I'd love to chop some hands.

• dando on Sep 20, 2005 at 5:43 am

there was one time… i parked my car behind the pasar in TTDI, then came a guy..trying to promote his anti theft products… he even did a demo on my car, he disarm my alarm… using a steel wire… he unlocked the bonnet from the air vent… n from there he just pull out the wires for the alarm… then he wanted to demo how to open the door with a steel ruler… by this time, i'm afraid that he will steal something from my car if i didn't buy his products… so , i just went in and drove away… and parked my car somewhere safe…

• hokkien lang. on Sep 20, 2005 at 9:13 am

well i hate thieves too….they should get heavey puhisment……

last 2 week my family went to penang. to see my sister there.

we park our car at out side her apartment. In morning ,ew notice that 1 our car tyre tube cap is missing.. (LOL)..

you see that thing oso want to steal. ai-yoh…….

and in other story that i want to share,its real story….

ny uncle friend is very a afriad of these thief.. why not he's sudah kena many times already. So he install alot of car arlam and car lock in his '2nd wife'.

1 day thief got in , and that thief dis-able most of the arlam and lock but that thief got fed-up on the last 1. So that thief leave that car alone…

good idea but who want follow this way?

• narrowband on Sep 20, 2005 at 9:13 am

A car theft (Nissan Cefiro) happened a few weeks back. Thieves arrived in a car, in broad daylight. Someone noted down the thieves' car reg num. Made a police report. Found out that the num was fake. Police can't do anything about it. There goes an RM160K-odd Cefiro. Welcome to Bolehland.

• How about practising hudud law?(Islamic Law) Potong tangan kiri kali pertama mencuri. Potong kaki kakanan kali kedua mencuri. Potong tangan kanan kali ketiga mencuri. Potong kaki kiri kali keempat mencuri. I don't think anybody will dare to even do it once after watching a man who stole something being penalised like this. It's not a justification or punishment. It's a lesson for everybody not to steal.

• AlexC on Sep 20, 2005 at 2:48 pm

happened in pg as well… knew of someone whose hood, steering, those meters you mentioned and whatever worth inside got stolen… only thing left is the bucket seat… hahaha… well, get a better alarm… many which are good enough that sirens at a slight vibration or even sends you sms alert… :)

• vipervr on Sep 20, 2005 at 8:58 pm

As a resident who stays in taman desa, i can assure you this place is not safe at all. My car got broken in TWICE in less than 6 Months. My head unit and amp got stolen during the first incident (okay, i didn't remove the face plate, my bad) We all know parking bays inside condo/apartment is pretty much limited, that's why a lot of cars are being parked at the roadside near to the premises (that's including me). In my second incident, I was so furious and angry because i actually removed the face plate and kept it in my house and that still didn't stop the theives to steal my faceplate-less head unit!!! (now, i'm keeping the faceplate as a decoration! WTF!!!)

• MutantTomato said,

September 19, 2005 @ 7:49 pm

IF someone breaks into your house or is in your house in any UNLAWFUL manner i.e. panjat pagar, break your gate, panjat tiang n hop into your house, etc, it is quite alright by the law if you break parts of him. Just don’t kill him.

—-> We are taking this as joke bro…juz for your info. One guy got snatched his hp by a motorist, and he chase that guy with his kelisa and bang the theif few times until he is dead to get back his hp…now he got locked up and later he maybe sending his sms in the jail.

When you bashed someone on ur anger…most of the case you will be out of control and when you realized that guy is not moving…its too late!

• Wiraone. Not sure you are paying a montly for a "patrol-team" to guard your belongings…this are wat ppl wanna do and thats wat happening. Yea its easy to say than do, thats why we are still die-harding watch our belongings. Thank god i dun have much to 'offer' and not sure abt u.

• aksMS on Sep 21, 2005 at 9:16 am

vipervr: totally agree with u man. my brother use to live in tmn desa. and one night, his satria got smashed. he lost his head unit and all the cds…CDs? Some of those are mine too!! WTF!!! it happened that, 3 other cars nearby got smashed too. there's one poor fella even got a BIG rock souvenir on his front passenger seat. Damn thieves! Police said, those thieves are drug addicts.

from the pictures u can see, these thieves only smash the side window. easy access, no need to open the door that would trigger the alarm. as we all livin' in 'Asalbolehland' know, all OEM alarm does not have sensors on door windows. its a simple fact these thieves know. just make use laaa…

• Vince on Oct 18, 2005 at 5:22 pm

Just curious if there are any SUV/4×4 which are less appealing to thieves? Thinking of getting a Harrier but most likely will be stolen or carjacked before I know it. Any advice on what SUV which is less desirable?

Thanks