Proton Waja Recall

Proton has issued a recall for their Proton Waja sedans with chassis numbers PL1CF1SNR4F192489 to PL1CF1SRR5F217757. From what I’ve been told, cars from this batch were produced between June 2004 and January 2005.

The problem involves alloy rims which failed endurance tests and cracked easily. Replacements would be provided FOC. Of course, if you’ve junked your Waja rims for new sports rims you’re not affected.

Affected Waja owners can contact Proton i-Care at 1-300-880888 or EON hotline 1-8000-883003 for further details.

If you own another car but are using Waja 1.6 rims, please try to somehow find out who was the previous owner and find out if his batch was affected. I’ve seen alot of Iswara owners using Waja rims.

Update: The wheels look like this.

Source: Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 29, 2005 at 3:59 pm

Paul, could you please provide more information to us? which year till which year of these RIM not the CAR? I am afraid Someone who Bought the USED brand new RIM from second hand tyres shops or accessories shops, then how to identify it?? Big problems!!

I hope POTONG will mentioned the Manufacturing DATE of the Rims and how to confirm it. Also, any cases already happens, I means numbers of accidents case??

• Wilfred on Sep 29, 2005 at 4:48 pm

Great….at least they admit problem here….

hopefully all affected drivers can get the car repaired asap…

• How about the car with that chassis number and using the sport rims but still have the problem? Should he contact Proton?

• napps on Sep 29, 2005 at 5:06 pm

at least it's not as bad as the mazda5 recall…..just need to change the tyres.

• Michly on Sep 29, 2005 at 5:09 pm

if im not mistaken i heard from radio is waja 1.6

• actually this particular recall has been going on since 5 to 6 months already, they just made it official (one forumer even mentioned PE came to his house to check); a change of management, a change of stylelah, hope for the better!

i thought JRD is a reputable manufacturer, can we expect some explanation from them…

• …saw Azlan, mr proton chairman on tv last night, at proton agm (where he mentioned the recall), just dont get it what he said about the future of proton..blurrr..blurrr..

we need a real auto man (even for chairman!)

this guy, what his reputation? anybody know?

i thought he's from our share market regulators wright? wah…lost some money in share market some time back, can trust him again?

:(

• asean auto on Sep 29, 2005 at 6:28 pm

I am glad they make it public

One step forward to enhancing customer service in the competitive environment……maybe a tip they got from all those candidates vying for the CEO post

• Deodorant on Sep 29, 2005 at 7:28 pm

Yea my mom sent her waja in for changing rims like 3 months ago or so. PE sent a letter to the house. Replacement rims look the same except for the abscence of a 1cm-high metal word/marking.

• Hurrrraaayyyyyyyyy….there goes our kereta POTONG again…….with TUV quality……

• Johnny Boy on Sep 29, 2005 at 7:36 pm

Wat a pity……but a quick action…..20 years only 2 recalls…….

• MoMo SoSickSoKo on Sep 29, 2005 at 7:51 pm

I know my waja affected .. Called the the Cust service line mention the gal was talking to me as if she is reading a standard script ( I know mah im from Cust Service also) she said she will foward my info to the center in cheras and the center will call me within a week.. i i dont get the call than i have to call this call her name is Ina … bla bla bla bla…

The real stories about this i manage to find out this info when i went to service my car proton Persona Capital Pandan Indah last week .. that tauke claim tham there is a crack and i should changed to a sport rim … knowing this cut throth buggers i said i just wait until it crak further …

Thank to proton to call it back for free replcemnt but then again its been more than 20 years and you guys still makan suap from JRD meh.. last time the RIm bengkok letak duit kat tengah can lari lurus one .. but now apa sudah jadi JRD suap tak cukup kah ?

• THOMAS on Sep 29, 2005 at 8:30 pm

JRD rim no problem, another supplier rim got problem, only 16" inch ENHANCED version affected.

• THOMAS on Sep 29, 2005 at 8:56 pm

can refer to the MOTOR TRADER to get the sport rim picture.

• rafreez on Sep 29, 2005 at 8:59 pm

MoMo SoSickSoKo…u must remember, people change and now trying to improve…not good meh? I hope proton wont try to deceit public anymore like what happen to Tiara…

• THOMAS on Sep 29, 2005 at 9:56 pm

Time change, people's thinking changed. PROTON need to change also.

• Guys,

this is the details of the recall:-

Chasis from :PL1CF1SNR4F192489 to PL1CF1SRR5F217757

Model : Waja Enhance (Type A) with 16" rims produced/sold from June'04 to January'05

Most importantly you need to ensure your rims have an initial "JIL", these are AAC rims.

I hope these clarifies most of the questions. Pls pass the word around, it will help the WAJA owners.

• honda_driver on Sep 30, 2005 at 12:33 am

"Today onwards, precautionary measures are being organized to reach 2,996 owners of selected batch of Proton Waja to have their vehicles checked and if necessary, have their alloy wheels replaced. The alloy wheels found to be in need of replacement will be done so at no cost to the owner. There has been no failure of such wheels experienced in the market, and this replacement exercise signifies PROTON’s serious commitment towards quality and customer satisfaction."

At least there have been no failures yet. They actually caught this problem quick. Its a brave move for a big corporation to admit a mistake no matter who you are.

• Johnny Boy on Sep 30, 2005 at 1:53 am

Just a bit of the topic, test drove an AMT Savvy just now. A few point were noted:

– handling – superb

– accleration – superb

– gear shift – excellently smooth

Dnt want to comment on appearence and other package, but the session was fun and its worth buying……..

Hehehe…….

• jason_chee on Sep 30, 2005 at 2:01 am

honestly, i think this is a good move from proton. although i dun like their QC on the cars but nevertheless, this is a step they taken to improve their after sales service.

• hokkien lang. on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:12 am

I want to know ,if this detact early why there still approve that rim to fit in waja car…

how many undertable payment there make?

• Selipar on Sep 30, 2005 at 11:43 am

good move…just hoping a better & quick improvement in the future :)

• they should have done this long time ago about the powr windows

good luck to proton, better improve welll in the next few yrs i dun want to be dring crap car because of you

• THOMAS on Sep 30, 2005 at 4:43 pm

IMPROVE, improve, improve, PROTON need non stop improve & double up their effort to gain ppl confidence. The Car have no much problem, but the management, the sales team, the sc, the attitude(toward quality), after sales service need to improve.

• ah lim on Sep 30, 2005 at 5:38 pm

ello pet TUV 4 savvy only laaa…….

• Sharfox on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:10 pm

Dear Pet,

Pls arm yourself with kowledge before saying something crap. We can accept when ppl said bad about P1 (with facts) coz we want them to listen. I bet you dun even know what is TUV all about and suddenly write an underrating statement. Pheewwwwww…….

• another case of empty vassel

• hey tout they change the tyre together…mana tau oni change rim. i think the affected model is the edition where the manual 1.6 waja with twin airbag and oso 16" rim…not sure if i am right :P

• hey guys guys…we try to educate others who dunno or unaware of the real information but do avoid to attack him la…gip a chance for ppl to learn and oso show tat we – the forum regulars are always keen to help and 'educate'

2 cents 2 cents

• No recalls for the power windows with failed endurance test kah?

• fizie49 on Oct 01, 2005 at 1:09 am

I've browse through The AA website and found that there has been a few recall of Proton model in UK. Please go to http://www.theaa.com/allaboutcars/recalls/index.j… . There also a recall activities for new Gen2. Why there is no recall of Gen2 in Malaysia?

• kanasai on Oct 01, 2005 at 7:09 am

After the previous post, How to fix Gen2 door problem, i wonder proton will recall all of it to fix it on their own rather than the owner have to screw it themself. i hope proton will fix the Gen2 door problem as it is a danger to the owner himself during high speed driving.

• macspeed on Oct 01, 2005 at 7:30 am

i notice the fortuner, yes i mean TOYOTA FORTUNER is using JIL rims too….so has toyota started using cheap rims for 180k car or shall i say 4WD

• kanasai,

The GEN2 door problem only hard to open or close, only need to realign.

Nothing related to safety.

• macspeed on Oct 01, 2005 at 7:34 am

in the THEAA.COM website…there r many other many manufacturers recalls….did it happen in Malaysia?

• v (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 11:37 pm

For u guys out there that had problems about the rim and chasis number,juz go for Proton i-Care at 1-300-880888 or EON hotline 1-8000-883003 for further details.if u think that u cant affort the settled the problems, juz go for the expert. Ask them if u need information. Trust me they will help u.