Proton Recalls in the UK

I’ve gathered a list of Proton recalls in the United Kingdoms according to The Automobile Association‘s website.

1. Car: Proton GEN-2
    Recall Reference: R/2005/075 (09 June 2005)
    Problem: Battery harness tie band needs re-routing.

The battery harness may not be sufficiently secured. There is a chance, if not noticed during servicing, that the insulation of the harness could chaff and expose the wiring. This could then generate sparks and excessive heat within the engine bay.

Solution: Recall the vehicles that are likely to be affected and where necessary fit an extra cable securing band.

2. Car: Proton Persona (Proton Wira)
    Recall Reference: R1996/046 (22 April 1996)
    Problem: Leakage from fuel tank

As a consequence of broken or missing spot welds on vehicle identification numbers 007100 TO 007385, leakage from the fuel tank may occur at the fuel pump mounting flange.

Solution: Recall the affected vehicles for inspection of the fuel tanks. Where any spot welds are broken or missing, the fuel tank will be replaced.

3. Car: Proton Persona (Proton Wira)
    Recall Reference: R1997/079 (03 November 1997)
    Problem: Loss of braking vacuum assistance

The brake booster vacuum hose check valve may stick and cause a loss of vacuum to the brake booster. This will result in increased brake pedal effort and increased stopping distances.

Solution: The affected vehicles are being recalled to have the brake booster vacuum hose replaced.

4. Car: Proton Persona (Proton Wira)
    Recall Reference: R1998/77 (16 September 1998)
    Problem: Tyre Deflation

Incorrect machining of the valve hole on the wheel rim has caused the valve hole to migrate towards the well of the wheel rim. Attendant to this the tyre valves have not been correctly fitted.

Solution: Suspect wheels and valves will be replaced with quality assured units.

5. Car: Proton Wira & Proton Satria
    Recall Reference: R/2004/125 (29 July 2004)
    Problem: Possible loss of engine power

Vehicle numbers B5964420000000000 to B8594610000000000, and B04374B0000000000 to B0607770000000000. The target wheel may give the ECU a false misfire signal. In extreme cases this could lead to a loss of engine power and poor driveability.

Solution: Recall affected vehicles and replace target wheel with a rigid target wheel (without damper) and the control unit and keys.

6. Car: Proton Satria GTi
    Recall Reference: R2001/134 (17 October 2001)
    Problem: Suspension Stabilizer Bar May Break

The front suspension stabiliser bar may break which can adversely affect the driving stability and handling of the car.

Solution: Recall affected vehicles to fit a quality assured replacement stabiliser bar.

7. Car: All Proton Models
    Recall Reference: R2001/057 (01 May 2001)
    Problem: Starter Motor Relay

The starter relay may allow the starter motor to operate independently of the ignition switch. In extreme cases this could lead to the movement of the vehicle if left in gear or a fire hazard.

Solution: Recall affected vehicles and fit a quality assured starter motor relay.

Can anyone confirm whether our local models have ever been affected and if any recall was done?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ir Entau on Oct 01, 2005 at 8:11 am

walao…first the waja aloy rims now the Uk proton oso kena recall..maybe result from the corporate restruction..to make transparent based governence..to show that their product will now head for quality firsts….

• wow.me never know about theseeee.. :-(

• Selipar on Oct 01, 2005 at 8:51 am

those are the official recall at UK and has been published publicly. the recall started back in 1996…..pergh..!! but in our soil….so far only 2 recall has been made officially……something clearly fishing is going on… :(

• Streamyx User on Oct 01, 2005 at 9:19 am

SCREWED

• Itular on Oct 01, 2005 at 10:44 am

Heh… This Is Sumkind Of Protest…

• E-Nabill on Oct 01, 2005 at 12:34 pm

im sure thy ve done it here bt not officially,probably secretivly thy will change wateva is faulty during the 1k service…its actually normal pratctice…bt uk standard are too high n too competitive…have to make recalls all officials n send leters to owners,btw,proton do have a very good cutromer satisfaction survey in uk,plus thy give very good warenty…

• I remember last time my uncle use Tiar and his muffler went down. Actually there has been a recall but through newspaper at that time to replace the exhaust system.Insufficient.

• " RECALL" is a common pratice in EUROPE or US; compare to Malaysia or ASEAN. Last year in US, CHERVROLET top the list with 17 recall, TOYOTA 4 recall.

• Just refer to the same wedsite, TOYOTA ALTIS (corolla), 2002 –2recalls, 2003-1 recall, 2004-1 recall. But we didn't know any recall happened in Malaysia. We also can find any information from UMW TOYOTA website.

• Streamyx User on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:50 pm

Oh like that eh Proton Malaysia, I got ripped seats, my cousin's car dash box cannot close properly, radio casset rack broken, faulty mirrors.

They didnt change it, took a month and a few visits to have them replaced, no Recall; just ReFucked by Proton customer service, thats what I call it.

• rajanichand on Oct 01, 2005 at 6:03 pm

eleh..

if toyota, honda bmw doin RECAL

u all said : WAh! great ah toyota, support best maa.. not like potong bla bla.

when proton recall

u all said : WTH! ..

gth laa hipocrate!

• Pentan Sakua.... on Oct 01, 2005 at 7:07 pm

RECALL ALL PROTON CARS IN MALAYSIA. REASON: ACTUAL CAR PRICE IS ONLY RM15000.00. SELLING PRICE RM 50000.00. PROTON MAKING TOO MUCH PROFIT. DOSA BESAR. RECALL ALL. REPLACE ALL PROTON USERS WITH AT LEAST TOYOTA ALTIS…….

• Streamyx User on Oct 01, 2005 at 7:40 pm

woi rajanichand

You know why people look down on Proton?

Might need to go out more dude.

BTW, I drive a Proton and I love mine. BUT I must admit, they use cheap materials to build this car.

• albagmane on Oct 01, 2005 at 7:41 pm

gosh! it's a shame!

i think if there is no such asshole thing like proton, malaysia won't be getting this type of shameful incident.

it's a very KEH LIAO thing to do in order to form the name POTONG, juz a waste! YUCKS!!!

proton PUI PUI PUI!!!

• Pentat Sengau on Oct 01, 2005 at 8:00 pm

Pentan Sakua…. said,

October 1, 2005 @ 11:07 am

RECALL ALL PROTON CARS IN MALAYSIA. REASON: ACTUAL CAR PRICE IS ONLY RM15000.00. SELLING PRICE RM 50000.00. PROTON MAKING TOO MUCH PROFIT. DOSA BESAR. RECALL ALL. REPLACE ALL PROTON USERS WITH AT LEAST TOYOTA ALTIS…….

ya ya…. recall all cars because all the cars in malaysia is selling above their price….and that includes ur stupid toyota altis…. maybe pentan sakua should just ride a bullock cart like wat samy suggest……. bodo punya comment.! ingat lawak la tu … bangang! hari-hari comment bende bodo2!

• THOMAS on Oct 01, 2005 at 8:09 pm

Have u drive a 90-94, Citreon, Renault, Ford or Nissan lately, yes i did.

I can tell u, they got not difference compare to PROTON wira.

With Cheap price, some ppl expected luxury car Quality.

BTW, some Proton customer service & SC really like shit; when we complain, they will say, "kereta PROTON memang itu macam, Kereta Proton memang banyak bunyi, pergi complain dengan SALESMAN lah"

If Proton really channel a new car feedback system, or Troble Shoot TEAM. The problemes won't keep repeat & repeat; PREVENTIVE masure must carry out to protect consumer right.

Sidelined customer complain; is the true failure of PROTON.

• Why won't you list all car maker that recall their cars in UK. And why you have this topic posted in the first place ? Just want to know if there any recall in Malaysia ? Did you ever read news paper or watch TV ? what you want to proof anyway ?

• Dando on Oct 01, 2005 at 8:50 pm

THOMAS said,

October 1, 2005 @ 12:09 pm

BTW, some Proton customer service & SC really like shit; when we complain, they will say, “kereta PROTON memang itu macam, Kereta Proton memang banyak bunyi, pergi complain dengan SALESMAN lah”

Thomas, do u actually receive that reply from proton SC? or is it just word of mouth? please dun spread rumours.. my experience with proton ppl were all good, and i asked around the proton owners in my workplace.. they all said the SC were very helpful to them…. they were ready to go extra mile for their service… even make an effort to come personally to your home….

i think if u really get that sort of comment, maybe they don't like u… it's just u!… for that i consider that as an isolated case… if u heard that from word of mouth.. maybe u should do some research first before bashing proton blindly… i wonder whether u owned a proton or not…

• j o e l on Oct 01, 2005 at 9:22 pm

hmm, if they recall the cars there how about the cars here? are they from the same factory?

• E-Nabill on Oct 01, 2005 at 10:27 pm

my experience is if u go to one of the main service centers,u will get very good feedback…i never had any problem with proton SC frankly speaking..its all been good…quite friendly oso…and regarding wat THOMAS said above…i dont tink anyone says that really…i tink hes jus anti proton…

• Dando :

if you receive good feedback from proton SC, it's might be just you too.

Proton SC sometimes never solve my problems, i told them my handbreak light keep on, i wonder how they fix but when i receive the car it really gone, after a week it light again i bring to other place than proton SC, it actually just break oil almost finish n solve easily.

my car always have weird sound while brake after 1 year old, i told them everytime i bring to SC, until now almost 4 years old already the sound still there.

steering having sound while turn around after 2 years, i told everytime while service, never solve too. i wonder how they made when just finish service have no problems at all n will come back within 1 week?

plastic or some unknown loose sound in cabin appear after 4 months old, they told me proton is like this because the price is cheap, i wonder is proton really cheap or gorv tax makes foreign car expensive? so the problem never solve n the sound increase.

casset player volume control loose after 3 years, ok i have nothing to said since the warranty is over, it loose at right time.

• macspeed on Oct 01, 2005 at 10:45 pm

i notice the fortuner, yes i mean TOYOTA FORTUNER is using JIL rims too….so has toyota started using cheap rims for 180k car or shall i say 4WD….ANYONE CAN ANSWER THIS?

i bet no one will say anything….

• Marmitecrab on Oct 02, 2005 at 1:07 am

Everyone has a right to post their opinions. That's why it's called a forum. I think poor after-sales service is not only confined to Proton only. When I got my Kembara, the differential was locked and wouldn't come undone. Perodua's reaction wasn't entirely friendly as well. The mechanics weren't helpful, the cust service personnel was scolding me as though I was a moron, the salesman couldn't be bothered. Who else to complain to?

• Thomas on Oct 02, 2005 at 1:12 am

DANDO, Nano

Nice to have your feedback, i face some problem in past few years, until last year i finally find a reponsible SC.

But still, from my pass experience, Proton still weak to channel customer complain. They should gather all information from

1) New car delivery (immediate feedback form from customer & salesman)

2) customer feedback (customer opinion after 1 week or 1 month)

3) deffective report ( from all SC)

• Thomas on Oct 02, 2005 at 1:19 am

Agree with Maritecrab, my 99 kembara also face brake problem, they only carry out the repair job after 1 year later.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 02, 2005 at 2:44 am

Recall issue is very COMMON issue, all manufacturer had the same problems including MOST reliable brand as Merz or BMW or VW even TOYOTA. I think the most important thing is ACTION taken by these maker and must take quick action to prevent any failures happen not even ONE CASE because it might cause ppl MATI!!

As you all may know, "Recall" means this FAILURE might cause DEAD of Human. We consumer must understand and bring back our cars to Auto maker for replacement of parts and get it repair as soon as possible.

• Dando on Oct 02, 2005 at 4:46 am

nano,

i think u missed my point, i'm refering to the attitude of SC staff that was mentioned earlier. i have never encountered any proton SC that puts you off just like that nor anyone else who experienced the same thing. My experience was whenevr they cannot solve the problem, they will ask politely for u to come back another day or leave the the car for 1-2 day. there was one time i was really angry and demanded them to solve it right away, and the guy did it! worked until 8pm when actually the SC closes at 6pm..

do u know that everytime u service ur car, u will have to fill in the feedback form…. and u if u are still unhappy with the service, u can forward ur complain to the CEO which u will get a rm10 voucher. i have submitted 5 forms to the CEO mostly to give compliments to the SC staff. I must say tthat we need to give credit when a credit is due.

oo but wait.. there was one time i send my father's 1978 clubman to Lim Tayar…. and the mechanic said "ini kereta sudah lama,kereta lama mmg macam ni.." and guess wat, i went to another nearby mechanic. they almost instantly can pinpoint the problem. Anyway… the 1978 clubman is on sale. anybody interested can contact me… u guys can view the pics on autoworld.com.my –> under classic cars.

• gegaoff on Oct 02, 2005 at 9:55 am

RECALL is common thing in oversea country. but the points here is, whether in malaysia, is that really no RECALL at all ( or that much of recall)? or simply becoz POTONG not going to do it in public?

anyway, the recent waja recall is fair enough, and at least it show some minor improvement in POTONG. keep the job done!!

i guess everyone will agree, as the sentence: BECOZ PROTONG IS CHEAP, THEN BLA BLA BLA… such of this is not an excuse while something happens to the POTONG product, right? IMPROVEMENT and BRAIN WASH is needed.

• hokkien lang. on Oct 02, 2005 at 10:15 am

well very good for proton

yahuuu! (singging MC HAMMER SONG)

' can't touch this … daaa da da daaaa dada'

• Huh ! Proton Waja sold recall since day-1 (yr. 2000). They knew there were tons of manufacturing defects, like globe box handle, door handle, wing mirror black paint peel off, air-con switch mulfunction…etc. They should notify all the Proton owners during 1st service. But they never told the owner to do so.

I own the the 2002 version, the above problem remained. It was only be replaced when I asked the SC, the response : Biasalah, banyak WAJA sudah tukar. [ Such manufacturing defect will not be changed if exceed warranty period ]

• vernox on Oct 02, 2005 at 6:47 pm

FYI, this is Proton 1st PUBLIC RECALL. When Daimler made RECALL on their 2001-2003 Merc model, NOBODY says anything!! I really dun understand u ppl, RECALL salah, TAK RECALL pon salah!!

Just to make things straight, I believe Proton Edar SC staff would never kutuk Proton cars. U'll be suprised how loyal and supportive these ppl towards Proton.

• I believe Proton SC got nothing to do with the default in Proton range of cars. They just inspect, do a maintenance job, and sometime take the blame that originally started at Proton's plant. Its the QC team that should be answerable as they put the QC 'LULUS' tag for every Proton's car in the showroom.

Hoewever, sometime the Proton SC itself don't have sufficient and highly trained mechanics to do the inspection. At one time i serviced my car, 1st time -5,000 km at PESC in Teluk Intan. The mechanics just don't know what to do with the car. Only after a senior mechanics came that he point out what needs to be done on my car. The same happen at PESC Taiping. Some of them just got hired because of nothing. No certificate, not even experience to inspect cars default. They just know change the engine oil, the filter and the spark plugs.

But, some of them is very skillful because they are being trained in Polytechnics. They know what to do. And because of several unsatisfactory incidents caused by the wankers, the PESC image is tarnished.

Not all Proton SC is bad, it just your luck to find a really good one.

• MutantTomato on Oct 03, 2005 at 10:14 am

Shai: I get your drift bro, but think about it; thats NOT how a SC should be! Its should be the reverse i.e. you must try hard to find a BAD SC because all the rest are that damned good!

I used to own a Wira and back in the day, almost everything a KL person needed to do with a Proton was done in Glenmarie. I can personally vouch for the "Laaaa, Proton la! Mesti rosak!" type of comments. I make it a habit to be very "kam cheng" with the ground staff i.e. the fellas who actually do the work on your car. It was a standard joke among them that your Proton was programmed/manufactured to malfunction as soon as the warranty ran out.

I recently changed the distributor in my dad's TWELVE year old SEG Corolla. No other engine components like this e.g. alternator, starter motor, etc, have been changed to date. For my 8 year old Wira, the list is:

1. Alternator (2x)

2. Carburretor (1x)

3. Starter Motor (3x)

4. Water Pump (2x)

5. Fuel pump (1x)

6. Whole fuse box and relays (2x)

There is more, but I can't remember. Mind you, my mom and I shared the car and the total mileage was approx. 100k KM. We never went above 130KM/h, all parts were either genuine Proton parts or Mitsubishi parts. Servicing was done on time and with proper parts and good engine oil. However, I still had to do all of the above.

So, the problem is a two pronged one; the build quality and parts in a Proton are absolute crap, and the Service Centres are bad! Unfortunately, there are pretty damned big prongs! :|

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 03, 2005 at 4:54 pm

vernox.. agree with you..

recall salah.. tak recall salah..

and that is the common malaysian way.. :D

eh.. of p2 recal taht mean ok aaa.. so good a.. wah great aa… :D

// i tot.. i also agree with rajanickand .. most people are anti proton (9even they never use and drive a proton! ) .. Drive Perdana? .. it's ok saja maa.. good what..

• mitsu_galant_2000 said,

October 3, 2005 @ 8:54 am

// i tot.. i also agree with rajanickand .. most people are anti proton (9even they never use and drive a proton! ) .. Drive Perdana? .. it’s ok saja maa.. good what..

–> Like i said b4, those are victim of owning a proton or wat they frens or relatives experienced these things. Not necessarily these ppl are anti proton, if proton is doing good who would waste their saliva to criticize (sohai?) Perdana? you bet…my perdana oni last for 3 years and my gearbox is the first tool to tell me "its time to change ur car"…gip u indication wor…good maa.

sad…:(

• epalhead on Oct 03, 2005 at 10:38 pm

GUys….Guys

Imagine Malaysia without proton & perodua……..

maybe….now i drive my honda civic (quality car from real car manufacturer)

(SIGHS)

• THOMAS on Oct 04, 2005 at 12:23 am

bullshit, Honda sparepart is expensive, plastic not lasting; Honda Accord also caught in Fire; City iDsi vibrating.

Famous only because the VtechEngine, only AhBeng use it.

• Wo wo wo…not juz anti potong man…got anti honda, anti toyota and anti nissan…hey paul why not u set up a pole then we shall see are we really abuse potong or…maybe thats a fact…

• We complaint so that our local automative industry can improve for the better!

Proton needs to build up itz brand image & quality! Why few consumers complaint about Perodua? I read an article that Perodua only have 0.2% defect rates. Proton recalls means an improvement! they managed to rectify a fault , Cheerz!

Given a choice to own a Jap car, would u still opt for locals???

I wouldnt unless i can afford an import. For consumers to choose a local vehicle over an import, it must show great attractiveness if pricing isnt a considerating factor.

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Oct 04, 2005 at 4:08 pm

Total recall…

• Wilfred on Oct 04, 2005 at 5:53 pm

european + american do so bcoz they dare to face public n they do concern safety

malaysian car companies….how many car got safety features????