Four wheel drive system for FR Ferraris

Patent filings have given us clues on Ferrari’s new four wheel drive system for front engine models like the Ferrari 612 Scaglietti (picture shown above) and Maserati’s Quattroporte and Coupe models.

The four wheel drive system employs a CV joint and oil bath clutch which sends power to the front wheels when needed in poor traction conditions. The system sends power to the front wheels on third gear, which is when skids are likely to happen. In gears higher than third, front wheel traction is limited to 20-30 second bursts to prevent overheating of the system.

Still no clue to whether there will be a Ferrari SUV.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• out of reach = truly beautiful

• Selipar on Oct 27, 2005 at 12:00 am

4 wheel drive for a car…weird..but most notably only suv type deploy such tech. what's the advantage of using expensive car for leasure then? Driving on rough roads & terrain?

• SEE FU on Oct 27, 2005 at 12:01 am

I want one!!!…..YAU MO KAU…..CHOU!!

• Selipar: the same reason the skyline, evo and impreza has four wheel drive. this system is similiar to the skyline's… fr unless all wheel drive is needed

• Michael Chua on Oct 27, 2005 at 1:51 am

Yau mou gau chor? I think its rounded headlamps and front corners reminds me a bit of a Porshce.

• siren on Oct 27, 2005 at 2:19 am

THAT's a FERARRI????

…hmm. I never really liked their lines before, but NOW THAT's a BABE….

Yar man, Michael… my thoughts too.

• MutantTomato on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:33 am

Aiiiiiiiiihhh… another car that is just…out of reach… :( Speaking of Maseratis, a neighbour in my area has a Maserati Spyder! I begged him for almost an hour to just let me sit in the car. Had to give him my ID and car keys! :P But it was so so worth it…..

• Marmitecrab on Oct 27, 2005 at 8:40 am

Yes siren, that's a Ferrari. The 612 Scaglietti is its name and it's the replacement model for the 456. The history goes back to the Daytona model (front engined, rear wheel drive, 4-seater coupe styling). It's also Ferrari's top-of-range production model (not including the limited production Enzo). The specs are impressive – V12 engine, 6 litres, 560 BHP and it seats 4 persons.

Ferrari just completed a cross-country tour of China in a couple of Scagliettis. They covered a few thousand miles of rough terrain without any problems. With the horsepower increasing with every new model, you can see why the next logical step would be 4WD.

• hfrshah on Oct 27, 2005 at 1:37 pm

Plus most of their competitors have 4WD. Lamborghini, Porsche…

• rafreez on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:47 pm

ferrari has come to their end…renault will rise…

• xprezzy on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:08 pm

very hard to comment…. i dun even understand what the hell paul is talking about….but i'm really impressed with what ferrari can do to its overpowered car…..even their lower class car have the bhp over 250……bravo ferrari……but sadly in F1 they got really poor in action……why? why? is it the drivers performance drop or the car performance drop or those renault's guys have using "jampi" or something???? renault's car arent that powerful last years…… i think becoz of fernando alonso "the great"? his driving skill is too damn great……same like my driving skill (chewah!!!!!!!! perasan!!!!!) ;)

(sorry out of topic a little bit only)

• Selipar on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:41 pm

thanks paul for the extended clarification & info.. :)

• Marmitecrab on Oct 28, 2005 at 10:42 am

Um, xprezzy…..I'm not sure which lower class Ferrari you are referring to that has 250HP but their entry-level model is the new F430 with about 490HP.

As for Ferrari not making it this year in F1, it just proves you can't stay on top forever. But if you've had rules and legislation changes made throughout the years to F1 specifically designed to slow you down, then I think that's quite something.

• benunited on Oct 28, 2005 at 8:07 pm

damn…9/10

• MoMoSosicko on Nov 02, 2005 at 9:49 am

wif 4wd i bet this ferrari can do more "fellari" stuff

• Sexythang on Nov 03, 2005 at 7:50 am

you'd have to admit….for ferrari…..thier entry model is the best looking among all thier models. has always been since the 355 as far as i know.

if given a choice among all ferrari's for free….the 430 would always be my pick. i feel sports cars should retain rear drive layout and the front wheels handle the turning. awd you have more electronics helping you handle the car.

good to know they are still coming up with cars like the porsche cayman s, nissan 350z and not cars like evo or skyline all the time

just about anything beats an ff. if you dont consider economical factors in….

yup….maybe if schumacher was driving in a mclaren car, he might had a chance agasint alonso.

• This car is beautifull…but F430 is better…It's bellissima!!!Next year ferrari will win!!!hi…ciao!