Sorry for the lack of updates

Sorry for the hiatus.

I have been busy with my car. My Proton Satria 1.6 went through a ‘heart surgery’ after overheating problems screwed up the engine head. Something happened to the radiator fan while the car was running in a parking lot. The radiator fan did not spin, so the engine overheated. Ever since, the engine had been burning up lubricant and the radiator wasn’t doing it’s job. Top gasket gone case.

I had it’s 4G92P block and head replaced with a 4G93 single cam. It was a pretty cheap conversion, less than RM2000. The 4G93 SOHC makes much less horsepower than the 4G93 DOHC found in the Putra and Satria GTi but it’s torque was nearly the same, and comes in at a much lower RPM, common trait for a single cam engine. I figured that would be better for the traffic jam and city driving that I always go through, plus it was much cheaper as the engine was not really in demand.

I re-used my 1.6 injectors and ECU in the beginning but discovered the air fuel ratio was too lean. Not enough fuel getting into the combustion chamber so it was knocking whenever I pushed the accelerator pedal more than quarter depth.

Had the 1.6 injectors which were 180cc swapped with 1.8 SOHC injectors which are 210cc. Seems the 4G91 DOHC which is a 1.5 engine and the 4G93 SOHC has the same size 210cc injectors. I heard the 4G93 DOHC uses 240cc injectors.

It was a bit better but knocking was still present. I’m currently deciding whether to go for an ECU rechip flashed to 4G93 SOHC fuel mapping or go for a piggyback engine management solution.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yhtan on Oct 31, 2005 at 2:22 am

No wonder u didn't post any news,

so how's ur car now?

• kalen_XI on Oct 31, 2005 at 2:32 am

overheated ur car at a car park….Hmmmm…soo..it means ur car was idle in the car park!?..hmmm…notty notty ar paul..wut WERE u doin ?!?!hahahahhahah..jk dude….since u are repairing the car..add some turbo and such on to ur car..and post it lah

• cbljkkj on Oct 31, 2005 at 2:37 am

I think you should get a proper ECU reflash for 4G93 SOHC fuel mapping in contrast to the piggyback ecu as it is meant for the engine. Actually, if you are a real mod head then you should go piggyback as you can do your own set-ups. Try to figure which kind of guy you are =)

• cbljkkj: I'm leaning towards a piggyback as I can transfer it over to a new car or a new engine later, though a reflash is much cheaper.

yhtan: its fine, but i need to solve the knocking problem. fuel mixture too lean.

kalen_XI: i was waiting for friends lar, turned on the engine so i can listen to my CD player. if i had the budget i would have gone for GSR straight, but no budget, so go for the cheapest option that makes the best economical sense. only downside now is i dont qualify for the 50% road tax discount for engines 1.6 liter and below!

• gegaoff on Oct 31, 2005 at 2:48 am

ah, what a heavy sugery ur car have… hopefully everything is alright now, paul.

sounds u planning to change a new car? what car u looking at?

cheers…

• SEE FU on Oct 31, 2005 at 3:50 am

Wah Paul, What happened??? Because of naughty at Parking lots …..interior also too hot!! Tell us More about the real story behind???

Anyway Engine radiator problems should be known I guess because As everybody knows that, there was a RED indicator to warn you, rights? Also, You are a CAR EXPERT I believed, How come the Engine was over heat until damaged occurred……unless you are busy on something else which is more important until you ignored it. He…he……he…..I guess is……You know I know lah!!

YAU MOU GAU…….CHOR!!

• keniji on Oct 31, 2005 at 4:03 am

poooor paul,

we miiiiss U

• SEE FU: aiyoh, i was kind of relaxing and enjoying the music. when i took notice of the temp gauge, it was too late liao. not doing hanky panky leh :P

• Paul: Are you from the automotive industry? Seems like you know the engine stuff in depth? Mind to share? Where you get those convertion stuff from?

• rm2000, wah

• drugkill on Oct 31, 2005 at 6:01 am

my 11 years old iswara also dah burn black oil ma !!! aduhh … still thinking where to cekau money to repair it … aduhhhh …… raya some more … ohhhh … any suggestion beside changing car ????

• Mivec Gti - makai le on Oct 31, 2005 at 6:51 am

paul .. put on a 4G92 MIVEC engine ,block use 4G93.. got 200HP .. can potong

Vtec .. Sooong lah.

• Handsfree on Oct 31, 2005 at 6:55 am

Hi Paul,,,

wo,, i really admired u with yr knowleadge of those 4Cxx or 4GGxx.. for me..i just know my car engine.. 4G18 .. with CVT gear box… pickup.. never try yet.. but the rpm is ard 2k while i cruise at 90km/hr….

• neurra on Oct 31, 2005 at 7:29 am

*oof.. extensive repair there.. pity u.. must've been long waiting fer ur friend eh.. so nothing else was affected?

• get a rechip or a stock 4g93 sohc ecu box

no point spending much on d car…get a better car in d future as a base and start modding from there

juz my opinion

• December on Oct 31, 2005 at 11:38 am

Man i thought something was wrong with my Mozilla Firefox, i thought the history files got forked and it did not let me view the latest updates of your site…thank god it did not turn out that way, Paul your site might run some dudes nuts, im prolly one of them. Happy Deepavali to all my machans.

• Streamyx User on Oct 31, 2005 at 11:40 am

Get GSR 1.8 ler bro :D

PSHHHHHH

• aksMs on Oct 31, 2005 at 12:48 pm

Paul: No wonder the late update. I've thought of changing to the 1.8 4G93 injector and head in my brother's previous Satria 1.6 (reg 1995, I think the same model with yours), that is until he decided to get a new car…..errr…. a Hyundai Matrix CBU.

To rechip flashed the current ECU is a cheap way to go. But I think it is still worth it to use the piggyback solution. You get to play around a lot more with the setting.

Just my 2 cents. :) Cheers!

• azman on Oct 31, 2005 at 1:19 pm

Hi Paul, sounds greek to me when you talk engines, anyway, i need to ditch my storm (2 yrs old) 2.5l diesel, its no longer economic now eversince the rise in diesel, and I can only afford proton type car, eg max like gen2, how much do you think i can trade my car off? any idea

• ah LIM on Oct 31, 2005 at 3:56 pm

paul…. no need to repair la…. just buy new car….. or ask proton sponsor for you lah, and u make free IKLAN for them lah(this blog)……. this is what we call win win situation……

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 31, 2005 at 4:19 pm

Paul! What an Unlucky day you had!

My opinion to change the whole engine to 1.8l (Buy from Kedai Potong, used engine from Japan) imported from Japan Will be the BEST Solution. I guess you can find one less than RM5000. Plus JPJ registeration and ++ total target around RM5000 nett. In this case you have upgraded your BABE into next stage and the KNOCKing problems and others new problems will be solved.

Maybe is your time to upgrade your BABE already, therefore your eyes were blinded on this WARNING INDICATOR light. It is a "TIN YEE" (faith)!! the God want you to use 1.8l DOHC engine!!

You don't have to upgrade your Transmissiona and Brake system cause 1.6l and 1.8l share the common design on POTONG cars I guess. How do you think, Paul??

Once you have upgrade your BABE pls don't forget to BLOG it too!! I wanna to see it!! :p

• Rosdi on Oct 31, 2005 at 4:35 pm

Sorry to hear that Paul.. but it is kinda interesting to read this bad news of yours. One of my car overheated too.. I do not know the cause since I am no car expert. So I just dump the car at a workshop and trust the workshop. But after paying RM1800 for whatever repair they did, the car overheated again a few months later (blame it to my dad, he ignored the engine overheating warning and continued to drive the car until all rosak).

I thought the engine is beyond repair and was thinking of selling the car at dirt cheap price, however after I brought the car to KL (the car was used by my dad at kampung), there is this one big workshop estimated around RM2000 to ressurect the car. I am in dilemma, whether to try to repair it again or just let it go.

To repair or not to repair.. that is the question.

• SEE FU on Oct 31, 2005 at 4:55 pm

Paul arr!! I was joking only!! I knew you are the kind of GOOD BOY, during the day but at night No comments!! Anyway, I am sorry to know it too.

Rosdi arr!!

What so difficult to decide?

If you have "KAM CHING" or be in loved with your car then you should repair it. On the other hand if you have "KENCING" or Piss off with your car then CHANGE it LOL. So simple maH!! Do you agreed????

YAU MOU GAU……..CHOR!!!!

• Pentan Sakua...... on Oct 31, 2005 at 5:15 pm

Paul,

You better watchout for the gearbox. I did the same thing like you did. Change my 4G92 to 4G93. After about a year the gearbox gave up. I was stuck in the middle of a traffic light. It refuse to move. According to my mechanic, almost 90% of the cars that chnage from 4G92 to $G93 will face this problem. But when you chnage the gearbox make sure it belongs to a 4G93.

• Rosdi on Oct 31, 2005 at 5:45 pm

SEE FU,

Everything is difficult when it involves money. The problem is I do not know which solution is cheapest.

If everytime the car overheated costs me 2k, who knows one year down the road if the car overheated another 5 times? that's 10k already.

On the other hand, if I sell it now, I will need to topup another 7k to the bank for the loan balance.

So should I just pay 2k for the repair and save 5k now? or pay 7k to the bank and there shall be no more headache down the road??

• new car is a new car, repair car is different story.

if the car keep breaking down i guess its better to find a more reliable one…

• SEE FU on Oct 31, 2005 at 6:25 pm

Rosdi arr!!

Oh I see!! Money problems!! ……..Common.very common!! I thought you are damn rich but don't know what to decide.

I do agreed with you lei! Sorry for that!

My opinion: At first, I would like to clear the points of OVERHEATING Problems of your car. Did you ask your mechanic whY it was happened twice? How it was happened in details, Reasons…..blaa…blaa the broken parts and conditions?

Did you know it?? Did you ASK???

I am afraid that, you had been cheated by the previous Mechanic/foreman where only temporary (PANADOL style) fixed your car problems and maybe it was not repaired correctly. Next, I don't believed Overheating problems is easy to be happen on POTONG engine/mitsu engine. BTW, what kind of car you are using now? FIat or others could be lah!!

Total repairng cost can be estimated if you know the details works had been done by this Mechanic. RM1800 can be damn expensive if just open your engine and put it back without any replacement parts or correct solutions!! Get it arr!!

Therefore, I guess your choice is to Keep the car and repair it correctly, don't sell it before the loan complete. The bottom line is MAKE CLEAR your engine PROBLEMS first!!! then decide the Next steps!! DON't GUESSING lah!!

Nothing is cannot be fixed in this world!! GOOD LUCK!! :)

YAU MOU GAU………CHOR!!!

• SkyHigh on Oct 31, 2005 at 6:33 pm

Hey Paul, hopefully your car sugery goes well, by the way i got a friend here in Kuching who is using a VR4 engine on its satria, any info about this VR4 engine?

• VR4 is similiar to the Evo's engine… with a very strong block. however fitting it to a wira/satria/putra requires engine mounting mods which might not fare well with jpj these days. plus its pretty old, thats a turn off for some people.

• Driver on Oct 31, 2005 at 6:40 pm

I think somebody just bypass the temperature sensor to make the radiator fan spin all the time, this might be the last solution for engine overheat that caused by "unknown problem".

• Rosdi on Oct 31, 2005 at 6:57 pm

SEE FU,

You are correctlah.. I should make certain what is the cause first, then decide. I guess I will be sending the car once more time to a proper workshop in KL (it is a Juara btw – so should i call it van from now on?). Last time my dad send it to some unknown workshop around my hometown in Kuala Lipis.

This time I will send the van personally and be more curious and ask lots of thing, even though I know shit about car engine. I will make my decision once the cause is known.

Thanks for your sound advice See Fu.

Sorry Paul for hijacking your blog.. hehehe.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 31, 2005 at 7:17 pm

BLACK OIL? what a malaysian-lah paul.. MINYAK HITAM .. heheheh.. poor paul.

i tot the Standard one should be ENGINE OIL.. am i right?

• SEE FU on Oct 31, 2005 at 7:25 pm

Mitsu…. arr!! You are Half correct only!!….

The correct name is LUBRICANT ENGINE OIL!!…..Don't be so LANNNNSEEEE or CHUUUUNN LAH!

YAU MOU GAU……..CHOR!!! Paul Okay arr!! give me FIVE!! but I do agreed MINYAK HITAM langsung tak betul Haa…aha..ha…..

• edited liao lah… LOL! i speak to my mechs in Bahasa Melayu. so sort of translated minyak hitam into black oil.

• 4G63T on Oct 31, 2005 at 7:43 pm

Paul, sorry to hear your misfortune,

I also have a 4G93 SOHC conversion on my 1.6L Satria (manual).

Good low end torque as you suspected. Engine is more than happy turning at 1600rpm @55km/h (City driving is usually all in 5th gear) and will accelerate from there without bogging. Also very economical, its not unusual to see over 600kms per tank on the highway (12km/L City, 15.3Km/L Hwy). Mileage to embarass some 1.3L Satrias. Of course every right foot is different so your mileage will vary.

So far no problems with knocking, using the 4g93 SOHC ECU and injectors.

Good luck with your "new" engine.

• i think i am going for the GReddy E-Manage, makes more sense.

4G63T: what size are your injectors?

• 4G63T on Oct 31, 2005 at 8:12 pm

210cc

• Okay… same! :P

• eming on Oct 31, 2005 at 8:43 pm

I have a Satria 1.6 Auto, overheating is one of the major problem I faced with this car. I think I have changed the blower 3 times & radiator twice plus its cover twice!

• just buy an FC la you noob.

• awtar on Oct 31, 2005 at 11:18 pm

Sorry to hear that ….why not transplant a EVO MIVEC engine as replacement?

• adamckc on Oct 31, 2005 at 11:53 pm

to kalen and paul.

wa so much damage to the car due to long parking in the park,

hope u had reach la. at least worth the overheating .

it should be double heating man. ha ha….

so how is the car now..

• it pains me to read that such a car had to endure such pain. *drips water from nozzles*

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 01, 2005 at 4:44 pm

for me..

if you want a turbo car.. buy the already turbo one..

if you just want a car.. buy you can afford and tak buat you sakit kepala..

modificatication makes bad things.. after this, u do this.. after that.. u you do that. and then u losessss sooooooooooo much money…

why dont save your money then buy the supercar one?.. :D

• eMalaysian on Nov 01, 2005 at 10:50 pm

After change engine, does the car lose its value if you were to sell it later on?

• benunited on Nov 02, 2005 at 5:50 pm

gosh..4G93 SOHC? 4G93 DOHC? 4G92P???? wat d hell are those a'way?? u guys are really sifu maa…

• eMalaysian: dont think so.

• weilin on Nov 03, 2005 at 6:52 am

Paul,

Since your car engine been "burned" maybe its time for you to drive a MYVI with the K3-VET engine you mentioned sometime ago..How's the power of MYVI,i heard Avanza have more pick up power than MYVI ( auto version)

• jason on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:32 pm

actually 4g93 single cam can be moified into twin cam just a bit money only…

• 4G63T on Nov 13, 2005 at 7:28 am

a bit? heheh

You basically need the complete 4G93 head, all the sensors, ignition components, the wiring harness and ECU…..

I have access to a $700ish Putra 4G93 DOHC in good condition and I'm STILL contemplating if I shoudl go through all that money, headache and time wasted to swap it in just for that extra 30hp…….which I cant use most of the time anyway stuck in a traffic jam.

The 93 SOHC is more respnsive, faster and waaay less frantic than a 4G92 Mivec around town. Both engines have about the same torque, mine at 4000rpm, the mivec at 7000rpm.

• jason on Nov 15, 2005 at 7:41 pm

dear 4g63t,

no need to modified all, just change the head, distributor and the black oil tank with pump for auto, and if manual dun 4get to change the injector as well coz the injector for sohc is 210cc where else dohc is 240cc

so, if you didnt change the injector…

u will face some lack of fuel if you pick up…

no need to change the wiring and sensors as i have already modified it b4 and i m using a wira 1.8 sohc now with a dohc head. it has already nearly a year and there is no problem till now…

u just need to buy a second hand 1.8 dohc engine (just engine only) around 500 bucks and all the cost will be below rm 1k to enjoy a more powerful car in pick up, some more the fuel is more safer than 1.8 sohc. the 1.8 dohc half cut will cost around rm 5k… so 1.8 sohc modified to dohc around 3k and you can take the 2k to modified for others…

the fuel will be at around 0.15/km for town use (subang and klang) and i m using 210cc injector, 240cc will be a bit more around 0.16 to 0.17/km coz the injector is bigger…

there is a lot of problem if you wanna to use a mivec in town bcoz mivec is a high rpm engine and the normal nature of high rpm engine to the piston ring will out faster than a normal na engine, some more the spare parts for normal 1.8 is cheaper than a mivec and easy to have than mivec coz my fren faceit b4… all the mivec part u have to get it at singapore and all the charges will be at sing dallor……

so… paul has done a very good choice as 1.8 sohc is the most economical and can be modified anytime…

actuall 1.8 na engine can be modified to turbe just change the injector, piston and put a turbo inside… nothing much… ;p

• nazri on Nov 22, 2005 at 1:30 am

hi…i own wira 1.3gli year 2001, lacking of power during overtake….were my problem…beside i felt fuel consumption were very bad…..i'm thinking to replace with 1.5 engine…after surveyed at kedai potong….i found mitsubishi 1.5 engine with 12valve….so i just need to buy enjin kosong only for this replacement….no neeed to rewiring..replace ECU…

2nd thing is mitsubishi 1.5 engine twincam 16 valve….but that one…i need to buy halfcut….because there is need to rewiring….and replace with new ECU…..

my consideration is to have more pick-up(especiaaly during overtake), fuel consumption and low modofication cost……easy to find sparepart…if engine fault….

i need somebody to give advise……..hope everybody respond….thank you

Nazri….sbrg jaya pulau pinang….

• go for the 1.5 twin cam halfcut. so much better power and fuel efficiency than the 12 valve sohc. you'll get a nice new dashboard too.

• jason on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:48 pm

paul, hi…

hope you can help on this…

i m now doing a project of kancil putting a daihatsu l502 (12valve 3piston dohc with a turbo) but its a auto engine. now the problem is can the original gear box support the engine as i got a lot of friend using 4g93t auto and face a lot of problem at the gear box (cant support the torque)…

second thing is, i m planing to put oil cooler with a motor fan on the engine… so does it will effect the gear box coz of more bhp increase?

need your advice, coz previously i have use a l212 (12valve 3piston sohc with turbo) manual and there is no problem with the high torque as i have upgrade something iside the engine (around 85bhp)..

thanks with rgds… ;p

• nazri on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:33 pm

HI paul…..me again….is it 4G91 is twin cam 16 valve engine & 1.5…..?

• jason on Nov 26, 2005 at 8:04 pm

nazri,

hi… the 4g91 is mitsubishi lancer 1.5 dohc 16v engine and make sure its a fuel injection engine coz i market there is 4g91 with a caburettor engine…

or you can try 4g92 (non mivec) its a 1.6 dohc engine but there will be a lot of modification in the braking system in order to get jpj approve, coz they want all 1.6 engine to have a rear disc brake and it is quite costly and the power… coz will be far more different…

• vighna (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 11:33 pm

hey …i amnew here. i js bought a satria gti(2000). have yet2do any mods .. i’ve got a r3 header/extractor..wil it improve my car’s performance?n my fuel consumption is also quite high…its lik ard 50-55km for rm10.any suggestion? wil a new piggyback with a diff setting help?

thx4helpin me out…..

• phill on Jan 23, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Hi Guys,

Im in Australia and Im able to get a 4G93 SOHC ECU and injectors for next to nothing here if it helps all it will cost you is postage and a bit of packing

At least it will get the motor back to working correctly.

Regards Phill