HLG on the automotive industry share market

HLG Research expects non-national cars to make up 50% of car sales on the overall by 2007, and 47% by next year.

HLG expects industry volume for both passenger and commercial vehicles to reach 562,380 units in 2007.

HLG recommends UMW shares for investment in the auto industry, with a price target of RM6.89. Reasons given include NAP incentives and Perodua’s involvement in assembling Toyota vehicles.

As for Proton, HLG maintains it’s buy status, in view of a potential alliance with Volkswagen AG which will improve economies of scale and efficiency through technology transfer, as well as better sentiments that the Volkswagen brand will give.

HLG has a hold status on Tan Chong shares, due to sales for the successful Frontier and X-Trail models that might be affected if prices go up because of 4WD and MPV segment tax hikes. Passanger cars should be safe so far, as the margins would be able to absorb the tax hikes.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SEE FU on Nov 14, 2005 at 11:58 pm

4WD and MPV price will be Increased!!?? How much??

Does it means BUYING now is much cheaper than in 2007??

Anybody working in Government, Auto TAx department, please clarify it for ME! :P

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! I want to buy OUTLANDER!!!

• SEE FU on Nov 15, 2005 at 12:57 am

Paul, you have deleted KY post arr!! GOOD!! We need you back here!!!

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!!! :P

• auyongtc on Nov 15, 2005 at 1:00 am

See Fu,

NAP announced earlier increases the tax for the MPV/4WD segment ma… so generally price of vehicles in this segment will see an imminent increase.

• Twoxer Hayzen on Nov 15, 2005 at 1:31 am

See Fu,

You'd better get that car now. Prices WILL go up man.

Although, I'd worry about the consumption more. Tested it to Tanjung Malim over the weekend and WOW, it drinks fuel like it was water, and like it will be out of fashion tonight!

But its a great drive though….

• rafreez on Nov 15, 2005 at 1:43 am

seems like I will have to buried my dream to own an MPV, wish or isis, or 4WD fortuner or harrier……

• SEE FU on Nov 15, 2005 at 2:04 am

Twoxer Hayzen said,

I am looking forward to buy the NEW OUtlander just lauched in JAPAN (OCT' 05) Pay a visit at my Blog then you know! it is a Great SUV on earth now!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! I am not a sales btw.

• albagmane on Nov 15, 2005 at 2:07 am

Paul, u didnt put the news about SEMA? i heard tat the exhibition was interesting!

• Another Honda Driver on Nov 15, 2005 at 3:58 am

KY,

what is ur website address, i would like to c it as well, tq

• Another Honda Driver on Nov 15, 2005 at 4:12 am

nice dancing, keep it up, paul. hahahaha

• SEE FU on Nov 15, 2005 at 5:47 pm

KY I think you better remove it from your BLOG……cause Paul need to change his face before going anywhere NOW!!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Paul kena KON by this KYboy…ha..ha..ha

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 15, 2005 at 7:10 pm

KY supposed to be a friend of Paul.

• see fat on Nov 16, 2005 at 9:44 am

this is sickening…where in the world the car prices keep increasing? malaysian car prices relative to the peoples' income already one. if not the highest in the world…and even AFTA now, the government REFUSED to let the market forces decide the price, and keeps strangulating our hard-earned moneys in raising prices for SUV and vans, and thinking of new ways to re-tax eg excise duties…the result, even AFTA fails to bring down the car prices…our governement sucks…they already mess up the people's money by experimenting with catastrophic failures such as perwaja steel, potong, now bank islam and MAS…and they refused to appoint foreigns CEOS..national pride …by keeping the pride, the goverment burnt money , the people's money…the potholes are all not fixed, while billions of dollars fly out the window…mostly sukk dry by the "special suppliers" to potong and MAS

• eMalaysian on Nov 16, 2005 at 4:23 pm

So the car price go down or up in the future?