Forbes Automotive Turkeys of 2005

Forbes has published a list of the Automotive Turkeys of 2005. Turkeys, like lemons, are words used to describe failures. Maybe sales are bad. Maybe they fall apart after a few drives. Note that the list is based on cars sold in the USA, so turkeys in the USA might be roaring successes in other parts of the world. Let’s have a look at the list.

Volvo C70 Convertible

Failure of this sexy convertible have been attributed to bad launch timing. It was launched just before Volvo changed it’s image in the USA from a brand that emphasizes on safety to a luxury premium brand.

Land Rover Freelander

The Freelander has been said to not be a true Land Rover, and cheapens the brand somewhat. The same kind of image the first S40 got when Volvo launched it, not a real Volvo.

Mercedes Benz CL Coupe

Getting old, and Mercedes Benz buyers are waiting for it’s replacement.

Volkswagen Phaeton

Despite the Phaeton being an excellent luxury sedan that rivals the S-class and the 7-series, because of the badge stuck on the car. Forbes calls it almost perfect, the Volkswagen badge is unable to command a premium pricing in the USA. People would rather buy it’s Audi A8 sibling.

Mercury Monterey

No comments. Looks like a mutated Naza Ria. Ford reports the Mercury Monterey has had the lowest sales of all the Ford, Lincoln and Mercury marques.

Jaguar X-Type

Getting old, soon to be phased out.

Audi TT

The Audi TT has been out since 1998, that’s 7 years now and it hasn’t changed much on the outside, while technical enhancements have been made. While people were crazy over it when it first came out, it’s getting a bit dull now and a replacement is due.

Mitsubishi Montero

Apparently it has a weak engine by American standards, and a high sticker price for a Mitsubishi.

Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Too cheapo to be a Chevrolet, similiar problem as the Land Rover Freelander.

Mazda B-Series pickup

Basically a re-badged Ford ranger, this light pickup has been overshadows in the US by modern and more attractive pickup offerings by Nissan and Dodge.

Forbes Automotive Turkeys of 2005

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SEE FU on Nov 17, 2005 at 9:27 pm

Because……

THESE MODELS are Launched at the wrong timing!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!

• SEE FU on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:24 pm

POTONG Iswara/saga So-called "Life cycle" is damn long…….after twenty years in Bolehland it's still can sell and just started to drop demand. Don't forget before the POTONG making it in Bolehland that model already been sold in Japan more than 5 years!!! What's amazing successful model in the UNIVERSE!!! No end of product life cycle!!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! Only bolehland Boleh!!

• MutantTomato on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:59 pm

See Fu, you forgot about one car that is even better than the Iswara in terms of popularity since it came out many many years ago; the Volkswagen Beetle. I'm pretty sure this is the only car to have been so successful. Remember, it is only one model. Different facelists over the years la, but they are cosmetic facelifts.

Probably the most successful model/group (don't know how to term it la) was the Toyota Corolla. Read this on some car website and magazines.

• SEE FU on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:38 pm

Mutant Tomoto arr!!

But VW beetle (old version) already stop production due to low demand….if I am not mistaken!! Do you think this product still can sell if the car price same as New VW beetle?

If you ask what's the most popular models on Earth, I would the MINI, remember Mr. Bean own models not the REBADGED by BMW.

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! :P

• MutantTomato on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:28 am

See Fu: Boss, the original VW beetle was being produced in Brazil and not in Germany for quite some time. They stopped it not too long ago. It was stopped because VW wanted to make way for the newer models la. The Beetle is the most popular model ever from VW man! Even now you still see people buying them, selling them, kasi bikin cantik cantik, etc. :D

Ohh, and I think the Mini isn't la… simply because there were many Mini models actually. The Mini Cooper, Mini Minor, etc… cant remember the rest… but there was a difference la…

But you're right about one thing la… The car is damn cool man! I drove a Mini for a short while la… I could fit into the car without any problem… I'm almost 6 feet by the way… It was really funny to see some people's expression when they saw this Mini pulling up and suddenly, two guys who are 6 feet n more getting out of it (my friend used to come along. He is about 6 feet 3)! :P

• aksMs on Nov 18, 2005 at 11:52 am

Two 'mutants' came out from a tiny hole. Hehehehe. Cheers bro! =)

• SEE FU on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:33 pm

Mutant tomoto arr!!

Are u 6 feets tall? Really?

Me too!! Same same……..

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! MINI is the best lah!! VW too big and not fun for me!!

• American visitor. on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:06 pm

It's confirmed that the Phaeton is being pulled from the US shores. Only 686 sold so far.

Phaeton

I've seen many of the list on the road. But the Mercury Monterrey is really rare. The new Monte Carlo seen above cannot be compared to the old one which was a big muscle car.

Muscle cars….the peak of the American car industry.

• Mutant Tomato on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:20 pm

aksMs: ehehehe! Yah… one fella (the 6'3") one is a stick insect-human hybrid, and this 6 feet specimen is a human-horse-tomato GMO man! KILLA mutants! :D

See Fu: Yup I am. Its a pain sometimes la. Damn siennn sometimes to find clothes. Also cannot sit in most cars without suffering. Like my own VIOS. I can't sit in the backseat properly. If I sit up straight, sure kena the roof! :( Also suffer everytime I go to GSC or TGV. Legs will guarrantee kena the front seat! :(

• To both bosses,

Volkswagon Beetle officially is the worlds record holder for being the most popular car, with over 25 million sold. The last one rolled out in year 1999 or 2000 if i'm not wrong, production facility in Brazil. (When the new Beetle is selling, the old is too!! Imagine)

Although the Toyota Corolla had the higher number, which accounts near to 30 million since 1960-70s. But they are rather named Corolla, and not that they are using the same chassis or engine.

P.S OMG that Monte Carlo …. looked like shit~ and that Mercury Monterey…… OMFG !!