Mohd Azril Mansor sent in these nice spyshots of a car being tested on roads of Jalan Duta to Damansara Junction taken by his camera phone. I previously blogged about this mysterious car here, and speculated it might be Perodua’s next model under testing phases, perhaps to replace the Kancil. Thanks Azril!
In the last shot you can see two of these cars being tested. Under the related posts links below you will be able to find the original car which I think this test model is based on, which is the latest Daihatsu Mira being sold in Japan. I like the looks of it.
Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007
Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?
AI-generated Summary ✨
Comments suggest the new Perodua model is likely a replacement for the Kancil, featuring a larger size and a look reminiscent of the Daihatsu Cuore or Charade, with some comparing it to the Toyota Opa and Fiat Punto. Many express enthusiasm for its modern design and potential affordability, anticipating a price around RM35-40K. Critics debate whether it will be an engineering breakthrough or just rebadging without significant innovation, highlighting concerns over local R&D involvement. Appeal is seen in its practicality and updated appearance, although some worry about safety, quality, and originality. Overall, discussions reflect excitement mixed with skepticism about whether the new model will meet expectations and how it will impact Malaysian automotive competitiveness. Sentiments vary from hopeful to critical, emphasizing the importance of quality and value.