Perodua Viva: 660cc, 850cc, 1000cc Kancil/Kelisa Replacement Model to be unveiled mid-2007

Kancil Replacement Model

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

Perodua’s upcoming Kelisa and Kancil Replacement Model is due to be launched in the middle of this year, somewhere around June or July, replacing it’s 13-year old Kancil and 5-year old Kelisa models, reported The Edge Daily. The Perodua Kancil has been somewhat of an asset to the Malaysian automotive industry, and Malaysians themselves, allowing low-income families who use motorcycles to upgrade to a 4-wheeled vehicle due to it’s low entry price.

Rumours have been going around that the Kancil would be retained as an ultra-low end model, with the new car replacing only the Kelisa, but Perodua managing director Syed Hafiz Syed Abu Bakar has cleared these doubts, saying Perodua will have a single model serving the 1 litre and below segment. Some specifications of the new car have been released by Perodua – the 1.0 litre Kancil Replacement Model will come in both manual and automatic transmissions, but there will also be manual-only variants in both 660cc and 850cc form. All 3 engine variants will feature electronic fuel injection and DVVT dynamic variable valve timing.

Perodua has also learned from the Perodua Myvi’s overwhelming runaway success – instead of stockpiling only 1,000 units for the launch orders which was done for the Myvi, the upcoming Perodua Kancil and Kelisa Replacement Model would have between 2,000 to 3,000 cars stockpiled to cater to demand. Production capacity will be 7,000 units monthly.

Perodua’s new Kancil and Kelisa Replacement model is expected to account for 30% of sales this year, with a remaining 40% expected to comprise of Perodua Myvi variants, and 30% for all other models. As for the new car’s name, it isn’t revealed yet, but most people have started referring to it as the Perodua Viva. Spyshots of these car have been captured since end-2005, so we’ve been waiting for this one for more than a year now.

Refer to the related posts below for a series of spyshots of the upcoming Perodua Kancil and Kelisa Replacement Model

Kancil Replacement Model sighted in Mines!
Kancil Replacement Model spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 9:47 am

look kancil go DVVT now, …

• analyzer (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 10:58 am

kancil with vvt-i… sure gonna give proton a run for its money.. summore less than 1 liter displacement, thumbs up to perodua…

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 4:29 pm

is it based on any Daihatsu model ?

• w_lighter (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 7:00 pm

Another monstrosity created by produa. The very definition of tall body and a skinny tyre type of car……

• carlover (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 7:07 pm

all their models are based on Daihatsu, farina racer

• transformer (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 7:44 pm

that a great news for everybody, quite an impressive model.

will it be another P2 star for Y2007 ?

but its also depends on how P2 would price it ?

any tax reduction for this year ?

any infos in the new kembara replacement?

will it based on Toyota Rush ?

(confused, bcoz Daihatsu have few new Terios after our Kembara, but Toyota Rush is the latest)

• 8918 (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 7:48 pm

P1 cham already,generally the perception of quality for P2 is far more better than P1.Does the MD for P1 regret moving to P1?

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 9:01 pm

what if kancil goes diesel,

nothing is possible, they have charade diesel long time ago,

i not in a position condemning proton, ….but the race is really on

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 9:03 pm

the rush and the new terios are the same thing. the new kembara will also be the same thing.

• darkbrother (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 9:05 pm

hopefully they will incorporate some safety features this time (passive safety at least)..

can see a lot of fatal cases involving kancil in the news..

by looking at the picture, the door itself is too thin to protect passenger inside.

Just another greedy minded big corporation trying to rip off ppl's money…killing them in the process

• L7 (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 9:18 pm

ofcourse there are risk with the supposedly small and cheap car but then again, u never know… just be carefull when driving everyone

• armandd (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 9:30 pm

this new kancil is based on the current generation mira. i guess they have the same (small car) safety standards.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 10:22 pm

yeah! a good car must also be safe!

don't just give us Seat Belt, ABS and Airbag only…

All we want its a chassis that able to protect its occupant all round, frontal impact, side and rear! at maybe 60km/h and also steering and brake pedal that will retract when there a frontal impact!

• carenthusiast (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 11:39 pm

Everyone can check out the new Kancil's 'sibling' crash test in JNCAP. I sure hope that the top variant will have at least 1 airbag and ABS.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 12:06 am

Darkbro;

Thats a little short sighted to say that.

There are a good number more of kancils (or small cars) on the road. Plenty of circumstances. Most important factor is not the car, but the driver. The driver has to be a little bit more aware that they are driving a smaller car. Most often the case, shit happens. I think the Kancil has done much to get people into 4 wheels from bikes. I think its has already done its part for safety. Its up to the driver to do his/her part, they have to learn to be responsible for thier own safety.

Buying a bigger, better designed and equipped (and expensive) car is like buying life insurance. Some can and some cant afford to. When things get really screwed up, can you blame insurance companies and the government for not making insurance afforable?

Safer cars may just encourage people to drive more recklessly. If every car is equipped with a big spike coming out of the steering wheel, instead of an airbag or padded plastic cover, i can bet that people will a bit more carefull.

It does not quite matter what car you are in if you get T-Boned or head-on by a lorry. There is always a bigger vehicle there to hit you.

No matter what car you drive, you dont have much space between the door and yourself. Even side airbags are there to cushion the blow but they are not fool proof.

Just drive safe and have a good sense of safety (ie. wear seatbelts, have kids belted down on the back seat..etc)

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 2:14 am

Oh no.. Will Jeremy Clarkson kill this car as well??? Another fridge murder??

• 1NZFE (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 2:59 am

kancil with vvt-i… sure gonna give proton a run for its money.. summore less than 1 liter displacement, thumbs up to perodua

—————————————————————-

I think perodua real competitor is not proton but naza since from last year, naza had launch 2 small car, suria n sutera….

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 5:42 am

Not sure, maybe a later date is better? Myvi is still a success and people cannot get enough of it.

• szw (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 7:37 am

i jz wish dat jeremy clarkson use a bigger bomb on dis car.

small car sux !

wan compare ?

go compare wif vw lar.

no brainer car.

• Sheffield (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 4:20 pm

I hope it's bigger than the old one….

• 1NZFE (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 4:56 pm

4 vw!!!

go to compare wif toyota or lexus la.

coz they r in the same family ma….

• xxrrxx2002 (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 5:36 pm

Just another cheap car with cheap design, that continues to wows malaysians from all walks of life. I m never a fan of Perodua. Even the brand sounds cheap.

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 8:30 pm

guys, be practical. i don't understand why some of you like to bash small cars. is it because you're just so rich to buy bigger cars so that you can slam those who don't have as much money as you do? this is clearly being prejudiced. please understand, the majority of those who buy small cars simply cannot afford the price and maintenance of a bigger car. also, it is ridiculous for them to buy a bigger (and often thought of as safer) but older used car as the maintenance will also come up to quite high due to the car's age. what a brand like p2 is doing is getting ppl off motorcycles and into sth safer. relatively safer anyway as there is a roof, doors for protection from elements and it sits 4-5 as compared to a bike. basically, it is up to the driver to be careful on the roads… whatever the car they drive. i've seen large cars just change lanes w/o even signalling and nearly causing a collision (these ppl just cant estimate the speed of the approaching car from the rear on the fast lane! wonder how they got their licenses). and i use my horn very often to remind these ppl to be courteous on the road. so, its not the fault of the car. the driver of the big car will still do the same if put in a kancil. its the attitude. lets all put ourselves in their shoes and think first before making sweeping statements and be a little more mature in what we say. from what i read, most do not really think before making those insulting prejudical remarks. by the way, a kancil may score marks in a crash test than perhaps an older generation car without the built in safety features like a collapsible steering, reinforced doors, strengthened passenger cage etc. i'm not slamming anyone here. just hoping that we all think before saying things that may upset others and shows up our immaturity. remember this is in the world wide web. what you say is not just read by malaysians.

• stupe (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 8:44 pm

paul,

do you know that the kancil has been modified as a jet fighter?

http://opstupe.blogspot.com/2007/02/malaysia-prod…

• szw (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 10:36 pm

safer ?

since when did kancil save life ?

how many stars did perodua cars score in ncap ?

summore ppl wan mod da kancils n kelisas to all those ah beng n ah lian style.

if dey don hav da money to buy big car , where did dey get da oney to mod da car ?

try crashing a myvi n savvy head to head, see which car suffer much more damage .

is kancil a practical car ?

no .

small boot, cramp back seat etc etc etc

a picanto will do more good den dat.

• nikanasz (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 11:17 pm

szw, i pity your shallow mind. even your english is not really up to standard. please go back and improve your english before putting any self-embarassing comments.

small cars don't save lives? heck, even a bmw/volvo/merc with a 5 star NCAP driven recklessly won't save your life. it's all in the hands of the person behind the wheels. one can even ride a bicycle from kl to kota bharu without being killed.

• owaief (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 1:28 am

yeah,i hope top gear will crash savvy and myvi head2head and see which car suffer more damage….for the sake of knowing whether savvy/myvi is really that good.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 1:38 am

Well said, szw. Except the part abt Myvi vs Savvy, if I'm nt mistaken, Savvy got 3 star only, while Daihatsu Boon scored a 4. From that, ppl speculate Myvi shud also get 4 star rating if it's put to test.

Kancil to score marks in EURO NCAP? This has gotta be the funniest joke around. You watch too mant anime, iz it?

Be aware that we're nt just bashing small cars blindly. It's simply any car that's unimpressive deserves to be trashed. You want a good small car, get Smartfortwo, or Toyota Aygo/Citroen C1/Peugout 107 . Else, they're mostly rubbish, produced for the sake of making money, not out of passion. Expensive or not available here? Then dun buy it, get something else.

If Perodua's rly concerned, they shud make Kelisa the smallest range in their line-up, just like they did in UK. What's wrong with everyone here? Forever complain Proton still sell Saga, so how abt Perodua stopping Kancil? Why cannot complain on that? Cuz you're driving a Perodua, iz it? Well, I drive a Saga, bt I can still think Proton ought to stop Saga, or at least make a much, much, improved replacement that can give Vios n City a run for their money.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 2:16 am

I saw this car being test driven around Pudu Raya, in plain view but debadged. Completely white. My camera phone wasn't good enough to get a good shot though. DVVT even on the 660? Sounds very interesting!

• 8918 (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 2:37 am

Another great move by Perodua,no point to condemn kancil.

With it's price and features,it just provide many malaysians an opportunity to own their very first car.

Imagine if kancil is not available,many of us can only rely on motorcycle or public transport.

• ACES (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 7:41 am

well guys, first of all these car are meant to be driven, not to crash or run into something. Its an individual transport. I agree that it is aim at people who can only afford a small car or as their first car. So that they could afford their very own 4 wheel vehicle.

However, accident occur. This is where it became concern for everybody. Is it safe? Well that depend on the scale of the accident. If the accident is minor than its better to have p2 kancil than a motorcycle where u can be thrown off the bike and off you go to graveyard or broken neck atleast. In major accident well, just pray that you are still breathing. Believe me, i've seen it and its not a nice one.

So, safety does very important in a car. All that crash test result could be very helpful in influencing your decision to buy a car. Unfortunately, not all people are wealthy enough to purchase a decent family saloon car. Not that bigger and more expensive car could save you in an accident though. I think its us who need to be educated on how to behave on the road. I mean you don't want you're driving safely and then from no where some reckless person drive crash into you right? No matter safe or not, all that safety is meant to minimise the injury to the occupant of the car.

my point? Just drive carefully out there guys. No matter in what vehicle you are in, if you reckless it pays to remember that if you don't get killed in that accident, you could be the killer.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 5:24 pm

I think now we are talking about car, so i just forget about drivers attitude, purchase power and luck!

What we wish to see its a car that can protect its occupant when mishap happens!

This is bcoz we are already quite bored seeing the purpose of car on bolehland are meant to transport people from point A to point B.

Why can't we have something similar to Japan or Korea. Even their small

car are safer(in term of protection to its occupant).

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 5:53 pm

Even if its the cheapest car, cars here are grossly overpriced. For what, I don't know. Unless the transportation system is made better .. its very bad for people to get to work. People need to get to work on time and movement needs to be made easier and fast for economic growth.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 7:00 pm

just to share… [Source: Yahoo]

When purchasing a new vehicle people look at a lot of different factors. If safety is your main concern, you have to rely on data from NHTSA and IIHS. On their websites you can find out how any vehicle fared in front, rear and side impact crash test. You're looking for a five-star rating from the NHTSA and a "Good" rating from the IIHS. The alternative would be to crash the cars ourselves to see how well they fare, and while some of us are crazy enough to do it, the rest would rather these two agencies handle the ditry work. We take their results at face value, but are they really accurate? Virginia Commonwealth University School of Business professors David Harless and George Hoffer decided to take the data to another level.

The professors came up with a clever way to test whether or not crash tests work: compare fatality rates for vehicles that went from a lower crash test score to a higher score after a redesign. When looking at the passenger car segment, the tests proved very accurate. When comparing a five star NHTSA rating to a one star rating the driver death rate rose 18%. Going from a two star to a five star netted a whopping 36% decrease in fatalities. When comparing data from IIHS, cars rated "Poor" saw 43% higher death rates than vehicles rated "Good". Trucks and SUVs, however, didn't see the same effect. Tests came up statistically flat between low-rated vehicles and high-rated vehicles.

In the end, crash tests do matter if you're looking to buy a car. For SUVs and trucks, perhaps the driver may be the biggest difference between safety and harm. An amazing 95% of all new vehicles receive five star ratings from the NHTSA, which has pretty much rendered those tests useless anyway. The Department of Transportation is looking at ways to make its tests tougher and give automakers that produce truly safe vehicles something to brag about again.

Useful link:
    http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/ncap/ http://www.iihs.org/ratings/

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Mar 02, 2007 at 5:21 am

My Vee Vee 1.5 see you….

• El Gato (Member) on Mar 03, 2007 at 7:19 pm

What ? They going to call this new Perodua Model VIva ? Doesn't sound proper

to me lah…a bit indecent in fact. Don't you all think Viva just sounds like Vulva if you don't pronounce it correctly….

• jackson (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 9:50 pm

would they have a 4 cylinder engine for the 1.0liter? or would they use the same engine like the kelisa 1.0 now?

• spiderman (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 7:36 pm

Why so expensive??? How to sell like this..Proton 1.3 also only 27,000 also hard to sell…Sell 20,999 la..I buy three!!!

• spiderman (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 7:37 pm

If the car is cheap, there will be less motocycles on the road….