Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

Perodua has been really quiet lately, reveling in the massive success of the Perodua Myvi. Not much news of new cars from them, which is understandable as Myvi sales might be cannibalised. But now there’s something to look forward to. Perodua has announced a replacement for both the Perodua Kancil and the Perodua Kelisa will be released in the first half of 2007, beginning from March 2007 onwards.

UMW Holdings Bhd group chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin said both models will be kept, and would maintain their current engine capacities of 660cc and 850cc for the Kancil segment and 1000cc for the Kelisa segment. Perodua’s current Kelisa also includes a lower spec 850cc model. Production of Kancil and Kelisa would be phased out gradually after the replacement model was introduced. UMW Holdings Bhd controls about 38% of Perodua.

The Perodua Kancil and Perodua Kelisa contribute a total of 4,000 units a month sales to Perodua, second to it’s best-selling model Perodua Myvi which has a total sales figure of 7,000 units a month.

Recently Perodua showcased it’s XX06 Concept Car at the KL International Motor Show 2006. It looks like a modified Daihatsu Mira. Check out the related posts below for spyshots of what could be the new Perodua vehicle to replace the Kancil and Kelisa.

Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007
Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:11 am

Good to Perodua, Kelisa has 2nd generation and Kancil has 3rd generation!

There are improvement and continuity!

• nissan130Y (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:47 am

Hopefully perodua can come out with sedan car to give proton a competition. and better fuel comsumption for kembara and myvi.

competitions help one to improve performance or drop what is not yours….

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:03 am

Why announce now??, why so silent b4.. hmmm…. a haa… i know why..

Bcoz P2 dont want u guys book the coming ultraman neo!!! hahaha… bad podua, bad la… jahat ni, nak sabotaj org….

Myvi dah laku buat2 diam aje.. biar org order myvi lagi byk, simpan deposit org lama2, dpt untung interest lagi… skrg br nak announce…

But, dont worrylah P2… u can still maintain no. 1 (even with ur myvi milo tin body craps)

ps: motorhead buys anything with quality….

• Initial D (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:28 am

good wo…….i think i will wait 4 it…..hehe

Cheers!!!!!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:48 am

wow!!! perodua ….. i sure…… everywhere is myvi and kelisa and kancil…..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:48 am

this anoncement sounds like a Reaction to the Satria replacement Model release tmr…jus browse tro daihatsu website,n its a safe bet that u wil see the kelisa and kancil replacement model thr! with diff emblem ofcourse!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:20 am

Myvi was a relevation alltogether, so it has lots going for it, not sure if a new Kancil/Kelissa will canabalize Myvi sales at all.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 8:43 am

nissan130Y…someone frm the perodua insider told me that there is an agreement between proton and perodua…perodua cannot produce a sedan car and a bigger car than proton…something like thatla…had a certain length for thier car…bt…i dunno izit true or not…i think it is true…who knows…

• purity (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 10:39 am

raybrig85,

it is true. the 'pact' has it that perodua is not allow to produce car with engine capacity higher than 1300cc – 1300cc being the max that their car can go. so i guess we really can't blame p2 for it.

anyhow, bits of PERODUA meant second car or the smaller/weekend/alternative household car (after a primary sedan/suv/etc) which i think they are doing an exceptional job tapping in that market. but who am i to say that cause i've seen some families opting p2 as their 'first' household car over p1. hehe…

btw, ENGLAND is guaranteed WC second round. yea, i know it was a boring game but it's winning that counts ok! C'MON ENGLAND!!

p/s: SRM tomorrow…. !!

• pekan (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 3:58 pm

The radiator grille looks more like the infamous Tiara model

I hate Tiara..

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:30 pm

Hahaha come on guys, again, these kind of agreemnent story again. i dont know bout you guys, but i've heard so many time before but with no solid proof.

From what i can see why perodua is not making big2 cars is simple, perodua is actually daihatsu in malaysia.. not that i'm saying that they are bad in quality wise or proton is better but up until now perodua is just actually rebadging daihatsu's car, and most of daihatsu cars line up is … small2 cars. So no agreement there.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:03 pm

raybrig85, yes there was an agreement. But hell with it, they even produce van @ 1.6cc. Hahaha… Anyway… i think this agreement have got a hole in it, why u wonder.

PERODUA, is owned by japanese firm and they can always rebadge to its too big engine capacities model. >:) This will kill P1 and P3. hahha

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:15 pm

ok…maybe no solid proof…but..who knows…maybe they dun want public know abt it…ok…u say there is no agreement abt that…do u hv proof???are u sure abt that???

ok..let say if the agreement is truela…thats why they hv only to joint venture with the daihatsu or other maker which produce small car…bt if no agreement abt that…maybe they joint venture with a maker who produce a big car like what proton is doing now…and maybe they can compete with proton…

or otherwise…maybe G jz want perodua to produce only a small cars…but it is unfair 4 them coz proton can produce a small and big cars…bt y perodua cannot??it show no competition to proton and unfair to perodua…or purpose of perodua existence is jz to built a small car only…i dunnola…

but joe v2.0…do u hv any proof of wut ure saying…u seems so confident abt that…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:19 pm

nothing cratzelogy…jz thought it is unfair for perodua…btw…even they are not producing the big car..still…top of proton now…

it should be a "persaingan yang sihat"…no disadvantage to the others…like wut is happening in other country like german,france and else…

• KY (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:50 pm

good thing that they'll phase out the old models. frankly i'm getting sick of seeing the same face lifted models being sold for 20 years from some other companies.

• nissan130Y (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:51 pm

in m'sia, nothing is fair… look around. i don't need to say. if most of the things are fair and equall, i believe we can enjoy a better life here. what we need is a better management from the G…. haih……

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 8:13 pm

haiyaa guys, other than some of the unfair rules to protect whateva thingy though, its all just the market segmen thing. Perodua saw there's a gap in small and 'affordable' car market, so they go for it. Proton try to go for it with a shitty model aka juara but they failed. Forget about proton, big2 car market is already 'rancak' la in malaysia, not to mention toyota market.

Then the JV or Stake holder thing i rather said it, perodua up until now is only malaysian daihatsu rebadge, a mere senior to naza only up until now, the future ? still dont know yet.. to come up with their own model? this is up to their biggest share holder – UMW and Daihatsu – and who own this two company? toyota laa…

Ray, On the prooving thing man, i've said it earlier, no proof either on your claim, so…the same goes to you… first.. hehehe so ok la enuff wiff those claim on the treaty or whateva.. believe on what you wanna believe..

for me on the new model thing, it is most welcome as long they are reliable, affordable and low shitty QC prob. While on the getting tired thingy man.. other than all those shitty quality probs, i'm also getting tired of those rebadging other company car model and then claim that this is the freak'in national model(tax waived) where the nation top engineers engineered the dashboard, front and tail lights to suit malaysian.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 11:09 pm

Did Toyota own UMW? I never know that…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 11:10 pm

how about kembara.??? i saw the new daihatsu terios (kembara) already in the market, will it be launched next year too…? Proton is facing a serious contender next year.. hehe…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 12:05 am

joe…that y i say im not sure abt that coz im not sure abt that…but joe v2.0…he seems like hes so confident abt that…maybe he can prove of wut hes saying…

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 12:09 am

jsthin – sorry not UMW and dahaitsu, only daihatsu owned by toyota. Daihatsu 20% and UMW 38%. While the biggest share holder of UMW is amanah raya 38%.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 12:19 am

ooppss..sori joe…confuse with the joe ooi…i thought he give a feedback…

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 12:31 am

If you still insist on prove, so dude my prove is until now, theres' no prove for that kind of agreement, unless someone can come up with one, do you? you the one who first claiming it isnt it(try to scroll up to your first post)..

ray, what i'm going to prove while there's nothing to prove for.. that is.. i'm saying that your claim of perodua and proton have some kind of agreement not to produce certain car have no prove of existance so there's no need to show prove that theres no prove… so enuff said.

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 12:32 am

Ooo ok dude..

• xg9 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 1:27 am

i went to p2 showroom about 2 months ago and the salesman told me p2 is introducing a sedan next year… im not much of a car researcher, so i dunno…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 1:39 am

ya i knoe…thats y im asking…n claiming that…coz im not sure and mbe one of u know abt that…but then u give a feedback and it sounds that ure pretty sure and confident of wut ure saying…if u dun hv a prove…its ok 4 me…conclusion is still dunno izit true or not…btw others give a feedback and told that is true…thats thier opinion..its ok…and..if ure thinking that wut u said is true…it should be no problem 4 me…ok…peace..:)

• szw (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 6:47 pm

wats da point ?

new cars will always price higher den old wan .

stop wastin money to create lousy cars n move on .

• gokibin (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 7:22 pm

wats wrong wit re-badging cars? a lot do it n r doin great. why so kiasu one…? as long as the org car is good, why not? to hell wit all that nonsense. let p2 re-badge toyo n daihatsu cars. i can't afford an org toyo, so i buy a p2. it's almost the same but price cheaper. u think everyone can afford an altis, vios or yaris? if i were donald trump, i'd buy me self a yaris but am not the trump. haiya…

also, p2 should concentrate on small cars. even in US they start tapping on small cars mkt. concentrate n produce good small cars. but not ones that look like the ones shown here. get better designs la. why not re-badge yaris? please… please… re-badge yaris.