Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?

perodua_xx06.jpg

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

Perodua has an XX06 Concept Car over at the KL International Motor Show 2006 which begins today, at the Putra World Trade Center. It looks like the concept car is based on the Daihatsu Mira. We’ve been seeing spyshots of a Daihatsu Mira being tested on Malaysian roads lately. Links to the spyshots are available under the Related Posts section below.

Perodua has added their own bumper and grille to this concept. This could be a replacement for the Perodua Kelisa or the Perodua Kancil some time in the future. In my opinion, Perodua already has a car serving the higher-end market segment with the Perodua Myvi. They should just merge the Kancil and Kelisa lines. The Perodua Kelisa has already gone through facelifts and so many special editions since it was introduced back in 2001.

What I’d really like to see is the new Daihatsu Terios/Daihatsu Be-Go as a replacement for the Perodua Kembara. The 2nd generation Toyota RAV design elements in it look really good.

Anyone going to the KLIMS? I’ll go either this weekend or Monday to cover it. Will be back with lots of photos.

Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007
Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 2:49 am

looks like kenari………………kenari replacement model?

dun think kancil n kelisa replacement…..

Cheers!!!!!

• bmanja (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 2:58 am

Haiya Paul…only front view meh? Anyway looks much better compare to current myvee. P1/P2/Naza or whatever doesn,t really matters to me. With both PakLah hands on my neck (petrol, sugar and now electric power hike, tol sana-sini, I dunno what he plan after this!), price really does matter. Naza can have the sleek and sporty felt 206, but the price still too high. Can add another few K and u can drive home a more reliable Toyovios. Donwan to talk about naza hafeilobo. I guess we had sacrifies enough for this G. Just stop buying all the damn new car…u can get a cheaper 2nd hand toyota and honda around (corolla and civis esp.) and wait what the G reaction to it. In Australia,,,people can drive a Holden car (Australian based co. that rebadging foreign cars), which just like Naza with very cheap and reasonable price…..

• bmanja (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 3:08 am

wha…my comment missin'

• òmn&Ati (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 4:39 am

daihatsu be-go… shocked!

if perodua named it bego too, this is the greatest joke for the malaysian motor industry. LOL

ask any indons what's the meaning of bego… it's da worst insult compared to sawi or mawi/mytin. maybe the japs get conned into naming it bego. LOL

• hazremi (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 4:47 am

aiya,why i think that car looks sucks

• Dogster (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 6:13 am

Need more pics any more pics??

• NSDS3HvLDjJd (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 6:17 am

*barf*

• drM (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 6:19 am

r u going to KLIMS on monday? c u there…hahahahah…btw, that kancil replacement model looks more spacious..

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 6:27 am

i called up VW and the PR firm for the klims06 and was told that there will be no VW cars in the show, is it true? You guys who visited the show kindly let me know, I want to see the VW Passat.

• Paul Tan on May 27, 2006 at 6:55 am

VW pulled out of the show last minute.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 6:56 am

Paul, My Dear Host, Plz take loads of photos especially ah moi moi…

• nissan130Y (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 7:19 am

i don't mind if P1 or P2 copy here and there. Just MAKE SURE the car can reallt last long and tough enough!! at lest the rakyat will have a peaceful and safety driving. i don't want to buy a car that looks good but like tauhu…..wat a shame..

• demio121 (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 7:33 am

Being the size of Perodua, i think they did quite well in KLIM 06. The booth's theme dows show their market.b

About KLIM 06, its better den the rest of the previous KLIM but the organisation of the show require great improvement. PWTC is no longer the venue to hold KLIM.

If chick is your reason going to KLIM, do not miss Volvo. DO NOT MISS.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 8:01 am

I visit KLIMS today, but I observe the luxury and sport cars segment like Ferrari, Porsche, etc, the cars on display are provided by NAZA. Same to DRB-Hicom (the other side of river exhibition hall) with Chevy, Mahindra, etc. I also observed most of the car is existing range of products and hardly see any future or concept cars. Most of the cars also supply by distributors rather than manufacturer, with exception to Honda (also showing Asimo 1.2 meter robot) and Toyota with few models not avilable in our market and sport cars. For me, this show is not so interesting by international standard. P1 section, there is no SRM, WTF talk so many time still can't at least show the prototype. APX Lotus on show with Savvy, Gen-2 but can't see "Cancell Lor".

Me take few photos on pretty girls as well and don't hurry as there are not many visitors.

• gmtgoh (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 8:06 am

i have took a lots photo from klims, if paul u need it send your email add to me i send you for reference !

• gmtgoh (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 8:08 am

hey!

• Jason (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 9:03 am

It's about time they replace the damn Kancil!

• assimo (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Kelisa repalcement?…Thats prototype looks like made from clay or plastics…mm..no wonder because real production car also looks like made from thats material also..huhu….

p/s- Its it not many interesting car there? I will go to KLIMS but not to see car or ahmoi..just to meet my idol..Asimo…heh..heh…

• Tracks (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 5:39 pm

It's definitely a replacement for Kelisa as the current sales of the Kelisa had been poor. Replacement for Kancil, nah…. they would still sell Kancil just like Proton with their Saga.

I want to see Asimo as well. I wonder is it as cool as the Sony Qrio that I have seen in action.

• jtshin (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 5:44 pm

XX06 looks like Kancil RM… hehe… quite similar size I think… how bout previous post? izit the same car with this one? Well, if Kancil with this front design… thumbs up! haha…. KLIMS… hmmm… can't afford to go… I'm from East Malaysia… hv to fly over… haih… maybe next yr… so… hoping to see more photos here… looking forward…

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 6:22 pm

more photos of moving objects if u catch my meaning…less photos of object moved by petrol/diesel/fuel…he he he

• J (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 9:37 pm

Going to the show this Sunday !

anything not to be missed ??

• cratzelogy (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 10:32 pm

u should see what PROTON pulled out last minute PAUL. It was the very 1st proton produced. Wonder why they want to showcase old cars? Motorshow is to show ur own future models as well as ur engineering skills, isnt it so??

• raptorclans (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 10:57 pm

sobs sobs… why VW pulled out? :( i was lookin forward to dat…

any info on whether alfa is in? :D i wana c 159…

agree wif ya paul, merging the kelisa n kancil wud make a better low-end car for the masses :)

• PGlang (Member) on May 28, 2006 at 1:18 am

As long as the rpice is right, I don't care whether it's kancil or kelisa. To me it's a replacement for the lousy bus service…heheh!

• Randy (Member) on May 28, 2006 at 1:32 am

It WILL be a Kancil replacement. And it WILL be launched next year.

• yytellmey (Member) on May 28, 2006 at 6:03 am

alright…..that pic is taken from a chinese forum and posted by my friend….

he took the photo before KLIMS was launched….

he is working as a crew member….

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 6:56 am

not goin to klim yet..is there any alfa there??wanna c 159 and brera???

• johanbey (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 9:03 am

i havent been to the KLISM, been talking the whole weekend with my partner if its worth the 25buck plus god knows how much is the parking in PWTC. judging from the sound of you guys, i think i will save the 80bucks (me+mate+parking+lunch+water+petrol) and buy the next edition of autocar, which is the official mag. Cost 9 bucks!

Some of you guys keep asking if alfa and some other brands of cars are there, check the KLISM official website, save your breath, there is more car sound system and accs booths than car manufacturers.

Ferrari wont be caught dead in a sub-standard car show. Reality check, why pay to show your car in a place where no one is going to place a booking fee? Kiasu rich malaysian would have prefer to swipe their platinium card is the VIP room of Ferrrari showroom, agree?

• johanbey (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 1:25 pm

check this out guys

http://www.proton.com/about_proton/corp_governanc…

have a laugh!

• napps (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 5:16 pm

went to the KLIMS on thursday for free (preview for industry insiders) hehehehe….

honestly, don't go there. 80% of the cars shown are already on the roads. u might as well go to the showrooms for free! or better yet, go to the pasar tani at shah alam stadium parking grounds on sunday morning, u can see the same cars for free after u do ur weekly fish and veggie shopping! the only ones with concept cars are honda, toyota, proton (lotus apx), mitsubishi and nissan. ok laa, the merc booth showcased some supercars, but there were no booths from alfa, audi, even bmw! ferrari pun takde. vw takde. all the super cars were showcased by naza…most probably sm nasimuddin's personal toy car collection…but do check out the chinese cars chery and geely, run by the bsa (rim maker) booth. climb in the geely ck-3(?) and try pulling out the ash tray. once u do, u won't be able to push it back in. ok, i didn't expect the cars' quality to be tip top but this is ridiculous! the freebies aren't that great either. not one booth gave any posters of cars! ok u can get some shirts cheaper than outside (check out the mitsubishi booth), but that's about it!

all in all, a big let down…..PLEASE DON'T WASTE RM20….u might need that money to cope with inflation from the higher electricity rates from june 1…..;-P

• jtshin (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 5:23 pm

Well… I've seen a few of my friend's photos taken when pay the show a visit… hmmm… its just a closer look at some supercars… the show seems to be a small size one… well… if can afford, better go to tokyo auto saloon, frankfurt auto saloon or others… hmmm… those are better than KL's… wonder why nobody participate…. maybe bad policy or wat? hmm… dunno…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 5:40 pm

haiya…no audi and alfa???hhmm…frust…really looking forward to c both brand…:(…kempunanla…wanna see new 159 and brera….new tt also…s**t…

• pycazu (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 7:02 pm

Went to KLIMS last Sun, not really much excitement u could feel there, except ASIMO. It really the star for the show, imagine few hundred people crowd gather waiting at front of the booth to have a look on it. Just like in the concert waiting for the big star. Yup… i think many ppl paying RM20 just to have a look on ASIMO.

I would say it really cool! All the gesture, hand grip, finger movement, climbing stages, turn-around, walking, fast-walking etc are really smooth and nature. Except climbing stage that got to take some idle time by i-walk technology.

The big danger i can see on Proton is no new model/concept car on display if exclude Lotus, damn boring Waja, Gen-2 and Savvy put to the show. But to Perodua even though just few cars on display, but these are not all on-the-road models: Myvi come with bodykit, Kenari SR, Kancil RM??, blah blah… But really i got to give thumb-up for the way of advertise the cars through some voice presentation from lenglui. Maybe others do have this, but P2 is much approachable and friendly. But uniform wear by P2 show girls seem ugly to me. :)

In overall, a small-scale car show with absent of BMW, AUDI, Alfa etc… and too down-to-earth. Not really worth RM20 for the entry fee.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 9:37 pm

Aiya Paul Tan, don't go ler, wasting your ticket RM 20 for week end and RM 15 for weekday. Only few manufacturers like Toyota, Honda or Ford shown their production car and future cars. The rest is basically supply by distributors. Do the show live up to its name – KLIMS, I just ponder on the following: –

1. Some of the cars on display like Chevy by DRB-Hicom come with OTR price. Is this motorshow or "car sales carnival"?

2. On luxury section showing Porsche, Ferrari, Bently, etc. These cars are supply by NAZA, not manufacturer participation. Do it is motorshow or Mr. Nasimuddin show off his "fast and furious playing toys".

If continue like that, next event have to be name "KL International Cars Sales & Showroom Carnival" – KLICSASC.

Better go straight to their showroom, entrance free and the sales man may belanja you at least sebatang rokok or mineral water.

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 3:48 am

if u look carrfully the car doesnt have any door maaaaa

• raj (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 12:18 am

ya tatz true itz an kancil replacement model up 2 b launch 3q tiz yea

• gokibin (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 7:07 pm

wassup paul…

gotta say i'm a p2 fan. loved the charade when i was small, moved on to the civic "mayat" n now on to jazz. like getz n yaris too.

anyways, gotta say that i'm not gonna be a big fan of kancil/kelisa (KKRM), if what u showed me is true. too boxy. the kkrm is too big for the wheel, looks cacat to me. i wonder how would i fit 14inch alloys on it. i got a 2nd gen kancil n fitted 13inch alloys n lowered. looks nice to me.

anyways, to answer some of the jab from naysayers etc, one thing's important to someone like me in terms of cars, the price must be right. in this recession-bound econ of ours, anything cheap AND reliable (especially fuel consumption) is good. but a lil good taste should make it even sweeter.