PM’s comments on Proton

The last we heard our Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi say anything about Proton at all was back in October when he said Proton would sell stake to Volkswagen AG. The issue of management control was not mentioned though.

After a really long silence on the topic of our favourite national carmaker, the PM has finally said a few words on the matter. PM Abdullah Ahmad Badawi says Proton needs a foreign partnership to boost efficiency and car quality.

He said to reporters in Putrajaya that Proton is national property and a national icon and would never be sold off to foreigners. What Proton needs is a smart partnership iwth a win-win situation so it can gain advanced technologies to cope with other makes as Malaysia slowly opens up it’s automobile market.

Okay. What else is new?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 6:08 am

It's quite difficult to find a strategic partner that is NOT ALLOWED to have any say on the parts vendor issue which I believe is the biggest culprit of proton's QUALITY.

So far it seemed only mitsu is willing to accomodate this type of partnership. Maybe they too share the same culture with their vendors ???

Proton must not wait for new partner to tell them to eleminate those cronic small issues that kept on cropping up over the years to the extend of tarnishing the Proton name. You don't need a mitsu or VW to tell you how to overcome those plastic issues , power window , water leakage etc …..

Further delay is just CRIMINAL to national interest. After all we are talking about national car.

Viva proton – while you still can !

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 6:14 am

Hokkien says, Ai Pein, Ai Chein, Ai Tua Liap Ni.

Want it cheap, fresh & big tits.

Dream on Pak Lah.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:09 am

actually, abdullah oso dun wan to comment on proton. only ppl ask, onli he answer. actually proton is a company, why woujld ppl go n ask him, funny!!!!!!!

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:30 am

Ah-Ba said,

February 20, 2006 @ 10:14 pm

Hokkien says, Ai Pein, Ai Chein, Ai Tua Liap Ni

——————————————

Problem is Proton now is " Koh kwee , koh chau , koh sueh liap ni " ..

Mah nah ay sai.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 9:03 am

In bolehland, everything ay sai…

sell us junks and claim superiority using a crutch also ay sai…

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 6:08 pm

problem is the government have so much stake in proton, so thy stil want the 'national status ' of the company and i tink companies looking into proton get abit turned off wen government hav alot shares thr,thy jus want to com n buy for biz reasons thy dowant any politics to be involved…i dont tink having a technical partner with this n that wil help..stil gota pay thm…bt a partner who can absorb costs…

• banana (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:47 pm

Haiiiii all my PENG U (frens) out there, the problems of Malaysian GRC is always put the wrong person on top of the position. When foreign investor with the right technology and know how wanna JV with you, but cannot get the management power. If you are rich ppl, would you like to put all your money into a company which u cannot control and u know that thier management is not performing well ?????? Siaooo Aaaaaa better put into my pocket laa

It is time for us to find some one who is really capable n dun care laa mana dia datang !!!! Please dun dun dun dun always hired a monkey to manage n take care of your banana farm laaaa PENG UUUUUUU.

• oversight (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 8:12 pm

proton = kebanggaan kerajaan malaysia,

kesambil lewaannya rakyat jadi mangsa.

• edwin2 (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 6:39 pm

Dear reader,

business are run by businessman

government are run by politician.

the country will fail when “politician run business”, that is why all this “protection” come in. Worst, who make the money, small individual politician.

:(