Top Gear Battle of the 4WD Sports Sedans

comparison.jpg

Another Top Gear video – a comparison between the Subaru Impreza, the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 8 and the Audi S4. Japanese rally cars versus a competitor from the marque that originally brought 4WD transmissions to the rallying world. We’ll take a look soon at different transmission systems, I’m still writing that post up.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 4:52 am

It's astonishing to see that the current Evo and Impreza's gap are that far away ….. BUT .. i do think that is the FQ 340 ..

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 5:31 am

i luv luv luv luv da evo! nt bcos its the best here,bt i tink its abt 20k pounds cheaper than the rs4 ! bt thn again the evo is a pain to drive in the city…bt i dont mind that compromise!

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 5:41 am

It has been very pleasant watching video streaming over here since you hosts it. Thks.

• chun (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 8:20 am

The price diff between an Evo FQ300 and the S4 is more like 10k pounds. The RS4 is quite a different beast from the S4 featured in the video here. Jeremy did a test on the RS4 in a recent episode of Top Gear and in his opinion is better than an M3. Anyway, on the track, an Evo is faster than almost any car out there, it's a very focused car that totally lacks any civility for everyday use.

• chris (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 9:55 pm

Nice one paul :)

• Jason (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 1:29 am

Why is it hard to drive in the city?

• Jason (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 1:30 am

I mean the Evo.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 2:00 am

luv the evo but its suspension looks softer.

• rexis (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 5:01 pm

Paul, it is u that cause me to bring a headphone to my office…

Btw, this JC seem liking Evo pretty much!

• Jay (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 6:38 pm

Mitsu Evo 8 – marvelous piece of engineering to drive. I havent driven an evo 8 but i've sat in one. Simply superb…excellent handling, braking, powerslide. I just love this machine. But it's not my choice.

Audi RS4 – deffinitely master in terms of engineering & built quality. Nevertheless they can compete with most cars out there, but they are not street rally cars, eventhough they are 4WD. This AUDI is more like highway cruisers….they will do well everywhere. But if you perform stunt on this car compare to an Evo or Imprezza….you make a fool out of yourself. What the hell is a man in an Audi doing with guys with Evo & Imprezza. I mean Audi is not a street rally car. Come on guys nothing comes close to the streets other that the two supercar (Evo & Imprezza)

Imprezza – my kind of a car. I love the design, the handling, the thrilling sound from the exhaust.It's The Car. It's equally fast as an Evo, but cheaper by RM 20-30K. KL – JB…..can we do it in 1 hr ? I'm not sure. I tried in Perdana V6…..the best time was 1hr 40min….back in 2001. I was still overtaken by a Mercedes SL500 then. In an Evo or Subaru ? See what I mean…….yes we need to be careful at speed excess of 180 / 190 km/h….But that's what these cars are meant for.

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 6:28 am

Wow…I luv all of them…u know..can look but can't touch..:( I can't wait anymore for the Boleh gvt to get rid off the tariff..

• eeheng (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 6:49 pm

oh no… subaru impreza lose da evo for a long distance… >

• flizzardo (Member) on Mar 05, 2006 at 5:55 am

evo for teh win

• torch_love_evo (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 10:22 pm

nothing can beat the almighty EVO………i also heard about mitsubishi lancer evolution X concept…….hope can get one of those