Perodua targets 27 percent market share

Perodua aims to increase it’s automotive market share to 27 percent from the 25.3 percent it achieved in 2005. The latest Perodua Myvi waiting list statistics – 90,000 bookings so far, 45,000 delivered and 45,000 still on the waiting list, with 4000-5000 bookings piling up every month.

Perodua aims to produce 70,000 Myvis this year, with faster production of 7000 a month from now until July in hopes to clear off the backlog of frustrated customers who booked their Perodua Myvi and are still waiting for delivery. Many view smaller engines like the ones in Perodua cars as a way to save on fuel, especially for those who have no choice and cannot resort to motorcycles and scooters. While this is not always true, it is the public’s general perception.

BTW, I heard MAS needs RM4 billion to stay afloat. It will raise RM2 billion by itself and ask the government for the other RM2 billion. What good timing for the government to save RM4.4 billion in fuel subsidies. (Source: AP) Another good read is “Petrol price hikes: Time to invest heavily in public transport” by Aliran.

P.S.: You know who you are – go book your Myvi now!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Harry S (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 4:41 pm

There is a new Perodua Branch opening up in Kota Damansara next week. May be if u book your myvi there u can get it earlier? Who knows maybe new branch got new allocation from hq to start the ball rolling…

• suanie (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 4:45 pm

no she won't COS SHE IS A LAZY BUM WHO COULD HAVE GOTTEN HER MYVI NOW IF SHE HAD BOOKED IT 6 MONTHS AGOOOOOooooo

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 7:32 pm

i wonder with so many bookings, could perodua speed up productions by using faulty parts and simply assemble those parts???? which in turn would produce a bad car.

anyone's myvi hv problem?

perodua new target, nice nice. but malaysian now wanna buy bicycle, no more cars, even perodua need to tapao liao, hehe

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 7:56 pm

oh yeah, thanks for the head up, paul…

i almost forgot that MAS IS also a part of the PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM…

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 9:56 pm

smaller car really savelah, not just people think!… i ve ex850, model 2001.. i guess its still best FC car so far (affordable car category la), … full tank can go from kl-bahau-mersing… can go further to tenggaroh.. almost 400km.. speed 90-100kmp.. engine tip top.. all standard.. use PRIMAX… rod tax RM30 only.. now i love my kancil even much more.. still can balik kampung many times…( i canceled myvi)

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 10:39 pm

Elo Initial D… would like to know more about Myvi problems? Paul oredi offered another discussion ground out there…! See how frustrated even for those getting the cars…
    http://www.peroduamyvi.com/viewforum.php?id=2

I have been frustrated waiting for Myvi, today gonna get my car, YAHOO!!!

Hopefully my long-waited babe have no problem at all, after so many batches of cars out there. How sad that it seem like norm for m'sian getting defective cars, even new one…

OK, that's forget all negative things, ohhh..my sweet babe…

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 10:39 pm

agree with motorhead

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 12:01 am

But i am not a Produa promoter.. compare to kancil lampu bulat.. all made from plastic.. no dashboard.. center panel… terrible.. i appreciate my ex850 2001 model, have beautiful interior.. with petrol cost like gold.. i would turn my kancil to antique car.. and my next car will be solar powered car or H2o powered or rechargeble battery powered, can recharge at home maybe….hehe… dont ever la take 9 years car loan, you will regret it…next 10 years we ll have totally new automotive technology, with alternative power… u see lah…

ps:Many complain bout myvi FC.. maybe thats the model Paul meant.

• alamak (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 12:24 am

I heard the news of the petrol hike on radio at midnight, and immediately i drove to fill up, but they already adjusted the price right on the second past 12:00am.

Damn. How do they change so fast?!

Then it hit me, government need to fork out 2bil for MAS. Where are they going to find the money??

Rakyat.

Us.

We pay our hard earned money to save MAS…

• acbc (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 5:52 am

My sis's MyVi 1.3 A/T can go up to 330kms on a full tank (RM 57.60) which is so-so for a car of this size.

However, my Galant VR4 is a monster (now in stock form) can go up to 272kms on a full tank (RM 96) which is VERY BAD! Some tuning issue so the car is burning rich at 0.3 bar only. Sigh…

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 6:26 am

maybe all this while we hv been living in a fantasy world. now suddenly we r in the real word………..like the matrix story, we can't accept it but its the truth ( machine riles, hehe ).

so wat can we do????? just hope the cars can be more fuel efficient and perodua can come out with that.

• jw3 (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 6:23 pm

Yep, the car industry without pressure to make fuel efficient cars, came out with gas guzzlers last few years. Look at all the big MPVs, SUVs, on our roads on weekdays.

After the oil embargo in the 80s, suddenly car makes around the world started to pay heed to fuel efficiency. Those days, the focus was on CD factor, how slippery the car shapes, fuel injection came into the picture. In certain countries, alcohol petrol mix was introduced but didn't really take off after that due to cheap oil. Up till recently, 3-5 years back, real adjusted fuel prices was cheap.

So now another round of hike, we feel the pinch. Don't blame others. We (yeah, everybody incl Malaysian, Americans, Chinese etc) are to blame by creating this in the first place by our ever higher appetite for energy.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 12:11 am

I dream of nuclear power car.. no need to refuel for the entire life.. mybe after i am long gone.. we might have one…

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 6:39 pm

motorhead…………..dreammm……dream dream dream………

• alamak (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 8:48 pm

nuclear power car = terrorist wet dream

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 6:17 am

Nuclear power car ?… good idea! By that time, the mother earth exploded.!! Yahoooo..