Toyota Yaris Hatchback Spyshots

small_yaris_spyshot.jpgHere are spyshots sent in by reader pycazu of the new small CBU (fully-imported) car Toyota is bringing in. They were taken on the Kesas highway. One glance and you can confirm that it is the hatchback version of the Toyota Yaris. They are already being loaded up on trailers perhaps to be sent to showrooms or storage yards, I’m not sure. This probably means it will be launched really soon here. Price range would likely be in the range of RM90-110K which brings it into direct competition with the Honda Jazz. Update: The Toyota Yaris has been launched in Malaysia. More details here. Spyshots after the jump!

yaris_spyshot2.jpg

yaris_spyshot1.jpg

Toyota Vitz (JDM Toyota Yaris)
Toyota Yaris 1.5G and 1.5S in Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 5:47 am

can give link to a better pix?

• Paul Tan on Mar 08, 2006 at 5:49 am

this is all i have so far. ask pyzacu! :D

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 6:04 am

WOW!!!! Yaris darling at here at last,but i more like aygo,i wonder when aygo will come here …… ;)

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 6:05 am

Wow..a small car like Yaris cost RM 90K-110K>..not worth it…Better buy Suzuki Swift!

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 6:51 am

definalty not worth the price,exactly like the jazz,wat u get for 90 to 100k doesnt justify the price…bt its a toyota which means ppl r gona go gila abt it…it wil be a hysteria driven sales!

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 7:15 am

not clear but i think it should be nice.

• wyejon (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 8:02 am

It's the same car as the Toyota Echo right? My good… that car is fricking pathethic. I would NEVER pay that kind of money for it.

• Dinozilla (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 4:40 pm

GOod car thought…..but y the stupid G never justify the car with the appropriate price tag….

jz like Honda city and jazz….both is the sedan and hatchback of the same platform….

in china sedan is more expensive than hatchback….

yet here the hatchback is much more expensive….wth……

• Paul Tan on Mar 08, 2006 at 4:45 pm

the price difference is because the City is a CKD while the Jazz is a CBU.

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 4:54 pm

It is very pricey………

so small car also cost $$$$$

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 5:15 pm

izudeen: sorry for that, I dun have a 2-megapixel camera phone yet, maybe u could consider to sponsor me 1?? :) Or maybe i should tail the truck to Toyota garage and shoot it from every angles, :p

Noticed that the back quite similar to Suzuki Swift, but a bit more muscle. Why it won't be priced at Swift's range? OK, forget it, with such price tag…

• lance (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 5:29 pm

Nice shots! Thanx for the heads-up! Been trying to convince my friends on this piece of news… now I can.

• michly (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 5:40 pm

Expensive… its four doors,, tot only 2 doors. buy swift better

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 6:46 pm

yeah agree with most here too… for a car that size and for the price tag… it's a BIG no-no to me. i have already paid more than enuf taxes to the government….

• Jay (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 7:53 pm

Yalah Friends….very expensive for the current fuel price increase. Soon every other products price will shoot up too. Unless you'll have the money then oklah.

But sometimes money is not everything. RM 80-90K for such a small car is ooouuucchhh. I think it's being compared to a Honda Jazz. Anyway Jazz has made it's fame long time ago when the fuel price was way lower.

I doubt on this model. Will it do well ? Not sure.

Welcome to the Malaysian Market Toyota Yaris. Can but 2 Wira for the price ma !

• revver (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 8:46 pm

i've been in yaris. got e few in my area(bought from grey importer).my view, it looks bigger and taller then vios/jazz/swift( about the size of myvi). got a lot of room inside. for a 100k? i got no comment. go for space then buy yaris. go for handling, buy another sedan.

• revver (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 8:48 pm

forgot to say. the owner claimed, fuel consumption is much better then myvi.

• razib (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 10:33 pm

yelah not worth it…..especially now where we have to change our lifestyle because of the 30 sen increase perlitre of petrol as suggested by the PM.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 1:16 am

jehutyz, there are many small cars in the malaysian market that cost a lot of $$$. The swift isnt cheap as well at RM80-90k. same goes for the jazz.. also for the yaris when it comes in as an official import. what about the smart cars? all above RM80k and the minis.. RM170k and above.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 3:12 am

some local showroom are taking orders already!!! But not worth it… size of a swift..

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 3:13 am

no doubt, its the same thing Toyota Vitz/Yaris

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 4:02 am

I am not sure if it will dent Jazz sales. I think Honda would be quite glad with that design?

• d2z (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 6:20 am

hmmm, let's see what the Aussies (well, 1 of them at least!) think about the new Yaris versus its competitors:

http://media.drive.com.au/?player=windows&ie=…

• catborg (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 8:44 pm

EASY!..

Car from Perodua = the cheap and lousy one.

Toyota = Goes for the exspensive one lar..!!!

Lexus = The luxurious one!..

Good business strategy indeed TOYOTA!.

the foolish = you are! :lol:

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 2:14 am

i'll defenitely go for the swift…

• Ricc (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 9:54 pm

90K~110K is just too much for this small car.. I really wonder why ppl are so rich to buy Jazz.. :(

Poor me….

• digitalkl (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 6:23 pm

Paul – Im seriously considering Swift vs Yaris. What do you think? Any advise or opinions for me? Anyone? Thanks

btw i heard the price around 100k for Yaris….ouch!

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 7:11 pm

i think IF i have the money to choose between the Yaris and Swift, i'll go for Swift. European styling pulak tu. Hmm… guys, this Yaris 1.4, or 1.5 huh?

• chang (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 12:50 am

can c yaris n wish at toyota website oledi

• shyron (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 3:22 am

huh, who say "KECIL TAPI HEBAT"; tat's why now a day all those 'smaller' things more expensive than 'bigger' things…..

Come again destroy my dream…. :-(