NAP After-Effects: Chevrolet CBU prices expected to go up

small_chevrolet_logo.jpgHicomobil will maintain it’s prices for the Chevrolet CBU models it brings into Malaysia until new stocks have to be ordered. When the new stocks come in, prices are expected to go up slightly. This is while Hicomobil sets up CKD assembly facilities for it’s Chevrolet models.

Current Chevrolet car prices without insurance:

Chevrolet Aveo 1.5 (standard) – RM74,888
Chevrolet Aveo 1.5 (premium) – RM79,333
Chevrolet Optra Sedan 1.6 – RM88,888
Chevrolet Optra Sedan 1.8 – RM96,888
Chevrolet Optra 5 1.8 – RM94,888

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kendo (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 4:48 pm

so, what are NAP benefit for rakyats?

Hicom got direct AP,

thus save RM5-10K,

now u still want to increase PRICES?!!!

with these prices,

we can get 2 Units in aussie, china, USA.

who're we ENRICHING?!

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 5:15 pm

close down p1, change the govt. i dont mind paying up to 40% of my income in taxes, but i want cheap cars!!!

• cratzelogy (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 6:12 pm

Chevy in malaysia, another corrupted company. Just an advice, think again before u buy 'em.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 6:49 pm

nonsense price.. but still ppl buy… msians r very rich…

• kody (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 7:43 pm

wahlaueh…

don't think too much… just sit back n see what will happens to our auto industries… 'MO GAN TAI'

• demio121 (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 7:58 pm

ridiculous isn't it. excise duty down. No more paying AP king but price still going up???

Where is the benefit fo NAP??? sick and tired.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 8:30 pm

Yeah.. lets our auto industries all die together.. sama-sama mati… then see what happen… lets teach them some lesson…

• El Goodoo (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:05 pm

if all our auto industry die together…. we'll go back to the bicycle age…. but. proton will still be there… they got proton bike…

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 11:19 pm

its ok.. die oso, we still ve so many 2nd hand cars in msia… furthermore they r reducing the price.. lets make 2nd cars towkeh rich la tihis time.. to up grade our cars we ve so many poton shop… we dont need poton la… let them die, all of them.. lets this AP policy fail….

ps:i stick to my kancil till they all die…

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 11:31 pm

price go up? hahaha.. i agree with u cratzelogy. afterall, its not a genuine chevy, its the 'mendiang' daewoo selling at a ridiculous price.

aaa.. honda_driver, r u sure about the 40% thing?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 1:32 am

the only thing good about the so called 'chevy' is the salesman aggeression, but this Daewoo turn Chevy is real crazy….

example;

Chevrolet Optra 5.

Launching Price: RM105K

After a while: RM115K

then on December discount up to 16k. RM99K

you buy this car sure will be waste of your money, no second hand value, no guarantee of spare parts availability(whole nations), no prestige in driving but price like Toyota/Honda.

so dont bother about this make, put it far away, they want to increase price…

it is suicidal….

• StingRayINC (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 2:29 am

Sigh, increasing the price again, the bank loan interest for buying cars has already gone up by 1%, still they want to increase. I would suggest (very unpractical) for every company that we are working, they should build a hostel as well or quatters so that their employees don't have to go back to their home frequently. So that, we can save on fuel and the money of buying a car. (How is the Idea Najib?)…….

• cratzelogy (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 3:04 am

trust me, now they are beg-ing u to buy their cars with free notebook and stuffs! they are desperade to give-em to u. If u are buying a chevy now, they treat u like GOD!

Rumours has it bolehland-Chevy lost RM30K of goods(sport rims, bodykits and stuffs).

• shagalot (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 3:17 pm

This means that they have been under declaring the car prices all this time. Those companies whose car price goes up after NAP means that they have been under declaring the car price, this is what NAP wants to drive out.

I was considering Chevy a while back, but after the test drive, I ended up getting a Honda, old technology, I rather buy a Potong than getting a Chevy…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:34 am

if you frustrated with this"re-naem chevy-daewoo" but still dont buy "potong" please respect yourself and the time that you spend to earn your money…I think your "hard earn" money need to be spend on something else…if you already rich your "not so hard earn" money surely better on other brands..and for sure you want to drive your car on your will not being force for "very often" visit to "service center" because of faulty that come standard with the car.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Apr 29, 2006 at 4:16 am

U guys have proven something, that Malaysians are suckers for branded stuffs.

Have u driven the Chevy's? Yes, their origin can be quiet questionable but the Optra for example drives better than any brand new family sedan priced below RM100k. The power might not be there but the Lotus tuned suspension, high grade interior and good NVH do make sense.

The City is a good family car, but the car floats, rolls and is seriously lacking of any character. The Sentra is dated, cramped, loaded with CHEAP accessories and the suspension parts squeak like a mouse being raped.

Go drive a Swift, and later drive the Aveo. Be frank and ask yourself, which car has better NVH?

I dont own a Chevy, but I know the strong points of the cars. It also has its weaknesess, the main one will be its dated engine which guzzles petrol like hell.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Apr 29, 2006 at 4:17 am

hold on…..some of Chevy cars come from Thailand, where CEPT ruling comes into effect. The price should dip lower instead of higher. The ones from Korea are considered goners.