Volkswagen Jetta Safe Happens Advertisement

Here are more ads from Volkswagen for your viewing pleasure. These series of “Safe Happens” (a play on the phrase Shit Happens) advertisement videos are from Volkswagen’s campaign for the Volkswagen Jetta in the US, leveraging on it’s excellent front and side crash test results. The videos show a bunch of friends in a Volkswagen Jetta cruising along, and they meet an accident and walk out unscathed. Videos are after the jump!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 12:50 am

Good advert, but is it true representation of the safety aspect of VW? Somemoe full star rating?

• kody (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 1:03 am

wahlaueh…

it's a beautiful sedan. i love the shape design & the safety as well. great in white colour. when can p1 achieve such standard…. safety & performance… & cost…

• foreverunited (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 1:16 am

damn, the ad sure is scary…wonder it will pass our 18SG rating where even a 'dangerous' wrestling move also got cut..

• Initial D (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 1:25 am

wow wow wow, both front and side really "geng"………but the frontal crash looks unreal…..onli the bonnet kong oni, the bumper still the same……as if no impact crumble zone…..if dun hv , then all the force transfer into the cabin….wa…..sei lo…..hehe

anyway, its still a good n safe car….but y no backside crash? LOL

• Tracks (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 1:56 am

I think the crash was pretty real. I crashed my Waja into the side of a Kancil recently at about 60km/h. The damaged to the frontend was not really bad from the looks anyway. But anyway, after crashing to the Kancil, the course of my Waja was redirected to a side railing which pierced its heart (Engine). There are plenty of idiots on the road (who thinks that they are right) who cut across your path (short cut mah) so please be careful everyone. The idiot gets a saman but my car still in the workshop after a month waiting for a partial heart transplant and certification from Puspakom. Sigh.

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2006 at 2:45 am

it's actually quite real for the bumper to be fine, as they hit a truck, and trucks are pretty high.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 4:03 am

I dare proton to make this commercial…if they can make this commercial.

• tbcheese (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 4:30 am

myst.. even if the proton could survive the crash people would still get freaked out and buy big SUVs thinking they might be safer : )

On the other hand if…

Proooton…representing Bolehland

nvm bad idea

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 5:06 am

can i have one plss…..

• bolo (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 5:34 am

scary….nearly pissed in pants! I want my car with twin front airbag and side airbag and side impact proctection now.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 5:35 am

Their ideas are crazy !!! which company is responsible for all these excellent ads from volkswagen recently? siao !!

Accident Happens –> norm

Safe Happens –> Volkswagen

wallau

• DAN (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 5:49 am

this what we call technology for car industry.

now people r more educate n pls PROTON do something o u will go n dick a big hold to bury your own self is better then have people like u in Malaysia.

u dont respect us as Malaysians to do some shot of thing to us !.

long hell for proton!.

• izudeen (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 6:03 am

Have I not seen this weeks ago? Leftlanenews?

• cyborgx (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 6:18 am

wow, the side impact looks more scary than the front. Front impact you still have engine to absorb the impact. While the side impact, you get nothing but the door! geezz. .

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 9:43 am

ingolstadt said,

May 2, 2006 @ 9:35 pm

Their ideas are crazy !!! which company is responsible for all these excellent ads from volkswagen recently? siao !!

Accident Happens –> norm

Safe Happens –> Volkswagen

wallau

————————————————————

dude, it's supposed to be SHIT happens, not accident happens. At the end of the commercial, the last word being said is "HOLY…" and then it cuts off to "SAFE happens." Normally, it would be "HOLY SHIT!" and then, SHIT HAPPENS. Do you see now?

Anyway, good advertising as usual from VW. Brilliant.

• paradoxx (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 11:09 am

what did ya expect… ? brilliant as usual from VW..!

makes us VW owners proud :)

• rexis (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 4:58 pm

Showing off real stars rather then saying it is thougher-then-you-thought without facts and AIR BAG.

Thanks paul for finding these educating brilliant ads!

• raptorclans (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 5:05 pm

VW RULEZ :D

• chun (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 6:11 pm

The Jetta is rated by the IIHS as having the best side impact protection of any car. Check out this cuttout diagram of the Jetta and notice that the entire side frame, doors, and side impact beams are made from ultra high strength steel. Most other manufacturers use only ultra high strength steel in their side impact beams. That's why the Jetta/Golf does so well.

http://tinyurl.com/pg7z8

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 9:05 pm

Well, makes more sense than a monster chucking a car around to prove sturdy it is. Good job VW. Vw in the haus.

• goingberserk (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 9:53 pm

Imagine this… Driver driving a potong … crusing at a neighbourhood roads.. Chatting away with front passenger. Suddenly a truck came out from the junction.. Couldnt stop. Bang !!!!!!! Loud Noise !!!!!!!! Ambulance siren !!!! lots of kapoh chi people…… newsman came, Fire bridage came….. Police came…… Reporter doing live telecast !… Police took photos.. took out body bags and stuffed the dead bodies into it..

THEN CAME THIS WORD. :-

ACCIDENT KILLS

PROTON KILLS !

• aksMs (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 1:26 am

goingberserk – If you happen to be at the scene, don't forget to take down the registration no. of the Waja. Who knows it might get 1st prize, then you can get yourself a brand new VW! LOL!

• Tracks (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 5:13 pm

goingberserk said,

May 3, 2006 @ 1:53 pm

"Imagine this… Driver driving a potong … crusing at a neighbourhood roads.. Chatting away with front passenger. Suddenly a truck came out from the junction.. Couldnt stop. Bang !!!!!!! Loud Noise !!!!!!!! Ambulance siren !!!! lots of kapoh chi people…… newsman came, Fire bridage came….. Police came…… Reporter doing live telecast !… Police took photos.. took out body bags and stuffed the dead bodies into it..

THEN CAME THIS WORD. :-

ACCIDENT KILLS

PROTON KILLS !"

I know everybody has a right to speak up but please be sensible. Have you been in an actual car accident before? Except for the Waja, Gen2 and Savvy, the rest of the Proton are very very old tech. But if you drive a Waja Premier edition with airbags and crash similarly onto a pick-up as the VW Jetta, the result would not be any worst. When you crashed into something, the energy must either be absorbed or transfered. That the law of physics.

What you people failed to understand is that in most crashes in Malaysia that resulted in death are due to the following:

1) Crashed head on with another oncoming vehicle. Speed on impact exceed 100km/h.

2) Crashed onto a solid structure. i.e. trees, poles. concrete barrier/support, tool plaza & etc.

3) Lorries, buses or any other heavy vehicle crashed into a your car.

Please get your facts right or buy a Waja and crashed onto something solid at 60km/h to test its structure.

• goingberserk (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 10:11 pm

Tracks , I hv been involved in accidents before but not that serious. FYI I have lost a mother and brother in law in Melaka ( at the junction of between Cheng & Batu Berendam) . Only my sister in law and niece survived the crash. He was driving a Proton Wira 1.5GLS 2002 model. He was travelling at about 60km and was about to reach the traffic light when a van (toyota) came from the right to turn in. Hit on the right bonnet, the car spunned and rested on the barrier. The damaged wasnt so bad. Only the right bonnet, front doors and the of course the right side of the engine. The van only suffered bumper damaged. Both of them where wearing seat belts. My mother in law died on the spot of head injuries whereas my brother in law was admitted to melaka hospital. I was at work at my office in KL when my wife called me and crying. I rushed back to fetch my wife and both of us went back to melaka . I immediately arrange to transfer my brother in law to mahkota specialist hospital as the GH of melaka does not have a specialist in head trauma. But it came too late. He passed away at 10.50pm on 24th October 2004. For those who knew of this case.. it was a big news in melaka during the time. From then onwards. that's it .. enough with all this nonsense of P1. As i said, it is not the $$ issue. it is the safety issue. So FYI TRACK please dont tell me that i get my facts wrong. ! I know my facts as i have lost my beloved one and I personally have met an accident with proton before. It was my first car. I was crusing at Senawang back to KL at abt 80-90km, the bloody car suddendly spunned, went to a ditch.

As i said, i no longer drive a proton. NO WAY. ! Life is too short to be gambled on proton cars. !

• goingberserk (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 10:41 pm

Dear Track !. I hv involved in accidents before though too as serious. But i did lost my bother and mother in law due to accident. They were driving a proton wira 1.5GL 2002 auto. To cut story short. they were driving at abt 60-65km ( not too sure), came to a traffic light and continue moving as it was green.. then came a van (toyota) from the oppsite direction heading to turn in to a junction on the left of the proton. The van hit the right side of the proton, front bonnet was damaged and door (as it hit the railing due to the impact), the car spun and rested on a railing. As for the van, only bumper damaged. But my mother in law died on the spot due to severe head injuries. As for my brother in law, he was bleeding profusely from the head wounds. My sister inlaw and her daugther was in the car too. They survived amid facial injuries. My BIL was admitted to Malacca GH. I received a call from my wife and rush back to malacca. immediately transfer BIL to Mahkota Specialist centre but it was too late. He passed away at approximately 10.40pm 24th Oct 2004.

FYI all of them were wearing a seat belts including the back passenger as they were carrying a baby. The car was only travelling at abt 60-65km .

according to witness at the scene . it was not fast. But the accident cost 2 lives. So TRACK ! . i KNOW MY FACTS… and i know about car safety. I was too involved in accident a couple of yrs back when i was driving a proton. HOWEVER i am not against all PROTON CARS. What digust me is that the social responsibility of P1. ! Cars that are not roadworthy SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED ON THE ROAD AT ALL yet AGAIN P1 kept on producing such cars because of DEMAND. Then they shd hv at least enhance the safety of such cars but merely passing the buck to buyers. !

• goingberserk (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 11:00 pm

Track ! i am being sensible. Of course i am not against all Potong cars. However what digust me the most is the way the shift their so called social responsibility towards the buyer. Instead of providing at least a car that meets the safety standard, they gave us kereta kerbau for us to use. Everybody knows not just P1 but same goes to P2 . but why targeting P1 ? BECAUSE P1 HV BEEN AROUND FOR BLOODY 20 YEARS and yet we didnt see drastic changes in potong car making ! They still produce SUB QUALITY CARS LIKE ISWARA, WIRA OR EVEN WAJA . This is a car which has 1.3 or 1.5 L engine on it. It could go to a top speed of 170 or above. THEY SHD HV AT LEAST MEET THE SAFETY STDS like side bars, compulsory air bags. reinforce the chasis. not a milo tin frame… THEY HV TO LEARN TO STOP PRODUCING SUCH CARS… its 20 years

common doesnt make sense at all by kept on producing these unroadworthy cars.

• cratzelogy (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 12:51 am

tracks, respect man. goingberserk, i agree with u as a 20 year old company should be like this, every 2 years come out a new car? or each year one new car? u do the math, Waja has been in malaysian market for how many freaking years? "DARE TO BE DIFF?" next word will aways be "STAY THE SAME?" Is that the only different they can come out with? Look at Chancellor for god sake, u are building a top luxury sedan or whatever u called it. and stay the same look? duh? where is the different?

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 3:04 am

Tracks,

I have been in two Proton-related accidents in my life. The first was in a Proton Wira Sedan driven by a friend and the second was in a Waja. The Wira sustained an extreme amount of damage considering it hit a lamp post at 40 km/ph. It was so bad it was claimed as total loss.

My Waja was even worse because a Honda Accord rammed into it's side at around 50-60km/ph. The doors were completely destroyed and didn't really do a good job of protecting the occupant either. You won't believe until you see it with your own eyes.

When you mentioned that in an impact, energy must be transferred or absorbed. This is correct, energy can be transferred providing the strenghtening beams are strong enough to channel the impact throughout the entire car therefore lessening the force.

It's not like we have not given our trust to Proton but when it's proven it's proven. Now, my question to you is "Have you been in a proper accident?"

• Tracks (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 5:34 pm

To goingberserk, sorry to hear that you lost someone in an accident. Shit happens and that's why we try to get safer cars. However, everyone please read my post correctly regarding my comments properly. The scenario I mentioned with the Waja was it crashed it something head-on and not something crashing into its side. I didn't comment on the side crashing because I thought you guy could figure it out. Most of you are fooled by the second video clip showing the SUV crashing into the VW.

If you guys observed closely, the frontal area of the SUV is must larger compared to any sedan on the road. When the SUV crashed into the side of the of the VW, the energy could be disperse into a larger area hence force per area is reduced and not just concentrated into one area alone. One more thing everyone should take note is that side impact testing for EuroNCAp are conducted at 50km/h only and the frontal size of the impactor is 0.5m(h) by 1.5m(l). Secondly, the car was equipped with side & curtion airbags and most importantly the occupants was wearing a seat belt. Most of the occupant of in a vehicle who died in a side collison are due to severe head injuries especially if the vehicle suffers more than one impact. That why car manufacturer provides side airbags and curtain airbags. Therefore, you all should also be bashing other manufacurer as well to provide these additional feature as well that is currently available only in sedans above RM150K.

cbljkkj said,

May 4, 2006 @ 7:04 pm

"My Waja was even worse because a Honda Accord rammed into it’s side at around 50-60km/ph. The doors were completely destroyed and didn’t really do a good job of protecting the occupant either. You won’t believe until you see it with your own eyes."

To cbljkkj, I believe was you said about the damage to your Waja but read my above comment on why it is so badly damaged. The frontal area of the Honda Accord is must smaller than that of a SUV and ofcourse even smaller compared to the impactor used in the side collision test for Euro NCAP, therefore the greater the damage to a specific area. Furthermore, if a bigger/heavier vehicle with a small frontal area crashed into the side of your smaller/lighter sedan definitely the damaged would be severe.

Advertisement are prepared to somewhat fool people into believing things which are not always true, i.e the ridiculous advert for Savvy. Use your own judgement when considering to purchase a vehicle. Buy the best that is within your budget for safety, economical and styling. Stop commenting on very very old cars like Saga, Wira, Kancil and so on because we all know that it's not safe already long ago, and it's an old story that has been going on and on. Life is dictated by choices so choose wisely as we can only live once. Drive carefully and I wish us all a safe journey wherever we go.

• goingberserk (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 6:28 pm

I do agreed with Tracks on on the scenario of impact between smaller cars and larger ones. However having said that, it is still the responsibility of all parties particularly the G, and car manufacturers to produce at least a car that has the minimum safety standards. If P1 or P2 has taken the initative of reinforcing the chasis of their older models with stronger materials especially on the centre and roof frame with some slight increase in prices to buyers (if they dont want to absorb the additional cost), I am sure te death rates due to accident will be much lower. i reiteriated by saying the only way forward is the G. G has to make it a compulsory for manufacturers to adhere to safety standards. If we leave it to irresponsible car manufacturers, i bet we will lose more lifes due to accidents. Standards doesnt has to be a european std but can be set higher. Mind u tht, Malaysia is the biggest car market in SOUTH EAST ASIA. With that in mind, the ball is at the hands of G. But do the G do ?. Nothin… talk cock .. . then since G talk cock.. what did our national car maunfacturers do… eat shit. Remember the beetle car by VW? Why is it still in production esp in Mexico even though it is over 30 yrs ? . Why ? I can tell u why. ! It does not have any of the high tech gadget that modern cars have but it do have a solid steel and robust chasis which withstand over the years. ! And this is a car with over 30 years history.

• Tracks (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 1:42 am

The government is currently trying to encourge people to put on their rear seatbelts and also to make front airbags as compulsory. However, we all want more safety but most of us could not afford to pay the price. Having a stronger chassis help but without additional side and curtain airbags, occupant still suffer from serious head injuries especially during side collision. Sure the new Honda has four airbags, but all for the front driver and passenger only.

We have other family members & friends onboard our vehicles that are always not given the same amount of protection. The new Hyundai Sonata NF costing RM150k has 10 airbags, including one in each pillar. Now that's a bargain for safety and protection but I could not afford it. At RM80K, no brand new car on the road in Malaysia could offer that level of protection as compared to a Hyundai Sonata NF. If Proton made an all new Perdana with a minimum of 8 airbags, stronger chassis but costing RM120k would you buy one. I would but I couldn't afford it and sadly so do many malaysian. I know many out there would like to mentioned again that this or that car only cost much less elsewhere but lets face it, we are in Malaysia. Unless we moved to another country, Malaysia would change but gradually as higher standards ultimate cost more money and our current standard of living are still below par compared to many other country. Please don't compare prices of cars in Indonesia or Thailand as we have to take into account of other issues as well for comparison.

• harry potter (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 3:13 pm

IIHS volkswagen JEtta

www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?id=353

It got GOOD in frontal crash
    GOOD in side crash
    MARGINAL in Rear Crash Protection

• harry potter (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 3:18 pm

VW Passat crash video

www.youtube.com/watch?v=NArsWP6GByg