Proton signs pact with Chery and Jinhua

Before this, there were rumours about Proton’s collaboration with Chery Automobiles Co Ltd and Jinhua Youngman Automobile Group Co Ltd, both Chinese automotive companies. Today, we find out that Proton is actually collaborating with both companies as strategic partners.

Proton signed a pact yesterday with Chery and it’s Malaysian distributor Alado Corp Sdn Bhd to do a feasibility study that will last until 28th August 2006 on the assembly and distribution of Chery vehicles here, as well as the assembly and distribution of Proton vehicles in China.

Proton’s collaboration with Jinhua Youngman is of a different type. Jinhua wants to sell CKD vehicles in China. Associated Press reports that this partnership is actually between Jinhua Youngman and Proton’s child company Lotus Engineering, and will involve jointly designing, developing selling completely knocked down (CKD) vehicles in China. This feasibility study will last 120 days starting yesterday.

Proton targets 100,000 cars for the export market by 2008. Partnerships with Chinese and Indian companies will allow it access to more markets and hopefully help it achieve it’s 100,000 cars target.

Proton and Chery discussing two-way partnership
Proton to announce tie-up with Chinese firm this week
Proton and Chery partnership
Proton and Jinhua Youngman Automobile in partnership

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:28 pm

enough of the talking liao……..i wanna see sum real result……all this while…..alwayz announce "looking at possible JV" , "developing some models", "in discussion with other parties"………etc………( no end )……….

duno liao…….blur liao……haizzzzz…………

Cheers!!!!!

• whodz (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:29 pm

Fast act by p1, I heard they want to collaborate with Indonesian car makers also..nola..tipu only..I think P1 wants to collaborate with all car makes/assembellers a.k.a automotive companies to export their cars. P1 can't afford by their ownself, good thing that P1 aware that earlier…

• Tracks (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:32 pm

Action speak louder than words. So far all talk and not much action. Hopefully Proton had learned its lesson from the failed project in Indonesia assembling outdated Wira's and not repeat the same foolish mistake. They lost damn a lot of money in that venture.

• assimo (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:13 pm

So pity potong…too hard to find partner..or too demand?..Mmm..what happened to cheap ' Lotus' car project??…any news of that or just talking only?? :-(

• motorhead (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:14 pm

"Proton signed a pact yesterday with Chery and it’s Malaysian distributor Alado Corp Sdn Bhd to do a feasibility study that will last until 28th August 2006 on the assembly and distribution of Chery vehicles here, as well as the assembly and distribution of Proton vehicles in China."

Study 1st only la… well, better study betul2.. I am not sure msian can accept chinese cars… but until now i never see not even one cheery yet.. i donno how Datuk Alado can make money from the chinese cars bisnes…Boleh tahan ka Datuk?? but sure goin to fail la.. just like chinese bikes… buy 1 free 2 oso can not sell.. maybe oneday P1 will oso use this kind of offer… but buy 1 free 1 la…

Msian got high taste.. JAZZ or Swift for 90k, oso can buy…

• tanasi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:15 pm

Previously they've lost millions with the wrong Chinese partner. Hopefully this time they learn the lessons. I think it is a step in the right direction. Hope to hear similar deal with an Indian partner, the last time I heard it was Mahindra.

• drM (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:28 pm

motorhead, absolutely spot on.

saving proton is one thing. buying a car that fits customer bill is another. I dont mind forking out 100-150K for any proton model if only it is at par with the quality of Honda or Toyota or whatever. people can find the money. dont worry. we can buy anything we like. and if Proton can produce a good that we like, there's should be no problem. not even money. This cherry-aldado-dadu thing is ridicioulus. The Chinese product cheaper, but certainly not even moderate level in quality.

Think. think. think. what the sort of vehicle that people want to buy. Haiiyaa…they all got Datukship, Tan Sris, Tuan, Puan, oso cannot figure out aaa? that appoint me lah as CEO.wahahahahahaha

• acbc (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:34 pm

Chinese car QC is already bad… when add Proton into the picture… even worse! :(

But, given time… they (Chinese manufacturers) can improve because they have to compete in the market flooded with American, European, Japanese and Korean cars.

Proton? Nah… being protected by the G-man, they don't strive to do better… at all!

• Dogster (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:48 pm

Chery and JinHua?? I heard that the cars from China is worser than P1…. P1 gone one step back in quality assurance..

• rafreez (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:51 pm

Proton always try to look for something that is profiting but honestly, they look at the wrong place. Chinese have a big market…but only in China…they produce alot of things and export it but all the export stuff has a european or us badge not their own. If proton wanted to do this unless they have a brand well known for its quality or whatsoever tat is great then I think this is a good move but since proton has a very bad reputation, this partnership is a grave digging move….just my 2cents…

• mystvearn (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 9:36 pm

why Dragonland. How about study with Deutschland

• jtshin (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 9:46 pm

Well, hope P1 really can do the study well.. n hope they can wake up in 'mummy's arm' n start to walk by itself… like what i read in the newspaper today, Najib said tat the G-man is not going to pull of its protective umbrella so fast to let P1 walk by itself… hmm.. stupid… if continue like tat, even collaborating with chinese automakers won't improve anything… compare to Hyundai which is nearly the same age as P1, it had exported damn lots of cars overseas n set up numerous plants out there… with qualities that can be trusted by westerners… while P1… shame… 21 years for sales keep on dropping in its own kampung n not selling well outside… with no feasibility studies at all… n no safety test… i wonder the Savvy TUV cert is true or not… hmmm… maybe only the unit send to TUV for testing is good in quality… China is a big market, so Proton's aiming is not bad, but how long can it survive in the land that is full of quality cars from other country and damn cheap chinese cars? lets see wat it can do at the big land….

• rexis (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 10:10 pm

-_-" again?

• Bigjoe (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 10:16 pm

Its simple to see why Chinese car makers want to sign distribution agreement in Malaysia with Proton but why would Chinese car makers want distribute Proton in China? They already have better car in the same models in China. Unless the Chinese car makers can get away without actually succeeding to distribute Proton in China, I don't see this making any sense. My sense is that its Datuk behind Alado manouevering to sell more Chery in Malaysia.

China fast growing market may look like an opportunity for Proton but its all about execution and in the end, the Chinese will find Malaysian car makers unable to execute as fast as they can and give up. I really can't see the Chinese being long term partners with Malaysian car companies – much too slow to execute for them and Chinese manufacturers are crude, impatient people.

• jtshin (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 12:09 am

Like Bigjoe said, chinese manufacturers are crude, impatient people… why? Bacause they have big markets out there… time=money. if they slow like proton… they close door go back to village plant their vegetables liao… haha… It's really a shame that the Malaysian government keep on not wanting to sell its share to VW… keep on 'want face' but do they think Proton can compete with such lousy directors and lousy qualities? If VW take over Proton, I can say whole board of director ppl will be changed and all the models will be renewed with better ones with those hot selling models like SUV etc… and of course using better materials in the car comparing with the rubbish plastic which can break easily like those in Wira nowadays n Waja…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 4:20 am

i think they take a long roadla…it shouldnt b happen…:(

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 6:37 am

Alado (is personaly own by Datok but other biz involve making alloy wheel) having problems on import Chery car and some stuck at Port Klang. So, what is the "strategic partnership" P1 can achieve with Chewry and Alado except utilize its privilege and connection to "smoothen up" import of Chery cars into Malaysia?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 7:28 am

what can p1 get from jv with these dragonland companies? Didn't they read the news about a 7-yo boy brutally murdered bcos the beast who happened to be his brother-in-law befriend a fox from dragonland? mere coincidence…or omen?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 7:29 am

VW kasi tak mahu…P1 bungkuslah

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 9:01 am

Haih…..why ar why???? Jinhua is almost same as P1, assemble cars, with 10 – 20 years technology. Not long ago, if i m didn't recall wrongly, they just being sued by Honda and Audi i think….Sigh plz la P1 and the G, what is your national pride damn it ? being superior in being copycat? Last time there is VW quickly sell it to them and get the sum of money and let them control la, P1 u know "chun toi" meh? even a lay man in the street could tell what is the future after getting hooked up with VW and the consequences of failinf to do so.

• sheridansulik (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 5:24 pm

Chinese Car manufacturer is known as the COPYCATS….Chevy becomes Chery …and we see Mercedes being copied straight forward!!… What will PROTON be in China?..PRATA??..

PROTON needs to play well in this CHINA Market..or else the New Lotus Exige will get copied by the Chinese..

• jtshin (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 3:29 am

Speaking of Lotus… why there are no new models coming out? only seen 2 recent models for few yrs already n look alike… Elise n Exige… hmmm…

China automakers? give them some time I think… they'll rush up P1… P1 only eat rakyat's money while chinese automakers even though they copy but one day they will succeed… like hyundai… age nearly same as P1 but their cars are selling like hot cakes in US markets nowadays… n European market as well… Hyundai even got Kia as its subsidiary with nice looking n quality cars around… No matter who P1 is joining… tengoklah sendiri… headache eat 'lao sai' medicine… how to cure… hmm…