Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6 coming soon

swift_sport_front.jpg

DRB-HICOM Bhd unit Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd will be introducing the Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6 litre soon. A definite time was not given but it is likely to be sometime later this year. More details after the jump.

swift_sport_rear.jpg

The Suzuki Swift Sport is a sports version of the Suzuki Swift equipped with a Swift Sports bodykit, new sporty red and black interior trim, as well as an upgraded engine stroked up to 1.6 litres. What you also get to cope with the new engine is a better sports suspension, and bigger brakes in front and disc brakes instead of drum brakes at the back. Notice the twin exhaust tailpipes from the upgraded free-flowing sports exhaust system. Those multi-spoke wheels are 16 inchers.

swift_sport_engine.jpg

The 1.5 litre M15A engine in the Suzuki Swift has been given some surgery here and the results is called the M16A. The 1.5 litre block has had it’s stroke increased to 1.6 litres, and it’s compression ratio has been increased to a relatively high 11.0:1. This means you will need RON97 petrol for this car, so don’t scrimp and pump the cheaper RM1.88 fuel into this car as you will experience engine knocking. There are other enhancements like changes to the camshaft profile, and a better free-flowing exhaust system.

This results in the new Suzuki Swift Sport having a nice powerplant making 125hp at 6,800rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,800rpm. Definitely enough to give the European-styled supermini an exciting ride. Nothing too fantastic, but definitely spirited.

swift_sport_interior.jpg

The new Suzuki Swift Sports 1.6 is expected to be introduced by Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd at a price of between RM100,000 to RM110,000. Only the five-door hatchback will be introduced, as the two-door versions are only available in left hand drive.

Suzuki Swift Sport
Suzuki Swift CKD in 2007

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 4:51 pm

Looks nice n sporty for me… I like the twin tailpipes design n the red black seats… looks sporty. But from the side its a bit strange at the back protion. no further comments…

• karheng (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 5:16 pm

Sat in the Swift Sport at the KLIMS. It was a car worth all the attention. The seats were snug and driving position was quite good. Quality of the interior was above average as well as it didn't have most of the plasticky feel which you commmonly get in protons, peroduas and kias.

However, i still loved the fabric of the seats in the Swift 1.5 It was amazing. I could just sit in it all day. Definitely the best fabric seat i encountered in the KLIMS.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 5:16 pm

We want CKD for this babe… hehe.. wonder how much for CKD selling price..RM80k+ is a very attractive price..

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 5:50 pm

argggggghhh. so expesnive. >_

• KY (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:06 pm

over 100k for this? meh..

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:20 pm

Wow.. the engine quite powerful compare to gen2, swift has nice interior oso… haiya, but i can admire onlylah… the recent 1.5 is too expensive oredi.. i respect la those who can afford to buy this 1.6…

Again.. thx NAP… finally people can make huge patriotic contribution…

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:23 pm

So expensive ooo..But don't worry..for 100k,sure got buyer punya la.. Malaysian ppl kan so generous to derma to taxland..With so many tax that Gomen suck from rakyat,this BolehLand still got ramai orang miskin yang masih menagih bantuan masyarakat dan Gomen..Kemana semua wang tax itu hilang?Hmmm..Mari kita fikir-fikirkan..

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:46 pm

jtshin said,

Looks nice n sporty for me… I like the twin tailpipes design n the red black seats… looks sporty. But from the side its a bit strange at the back protion. no further comments…

ohhh.. yeah.. Really admire the twin pipe design n color of the seats. But set off is color above the dashboard is bored grey color. Felt really comfort to sit on this babe during KLIMs, u can really feel what is quality. But it's suck the price tag!

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:50 pm

nice car, unfortunately, very expensive. at that price, there are 2 other nice options, ford focus 1.8 RM110,000 and the New Civic 1.8, RM113,000

but wow, at 11.0:1 compression.. thats very high for a standard car. no wonder it makes 125hp. makes me curious to know just how reliable this car will be in the long run.

its too bad the day of the high revving 1.6 engines like the honda b16A, and toyota 4AGE are over. Those guys made around 160hp, but they dont meet any emissions standards in any country today.

• blazerSST (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 11:16 pm

Manafacturer figures are always either inflated or measured the on flywheel. On wheel bhp figures are usually much less even more if it's an auto.

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 11:35 pm

1.6? I bet this hothatch will be ridiculously overpriced.

New Civic 1.8 > Swift 1.6

Nuff said.

• karheng (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 11:40 pm

Make no mistake, the Swift is really a car worth looking at. Just think of the Toyota Yaris. How come nobody says it's too expensive? I'd take this over the Yaris anytime. The standard Yaris, which comes with a 1.5 engine is selling at an excess of 100k. The Swift Sports 1.6 version, which comes equipped with the semi buckets and a better tuned engine and maybe even more(the 1.5 was punchy, i'd imagine the 1.6 to be punchier than a Satria GTi) should command a price of around the same as a Yaris. The Government's form of protection to the local industry made the price of other cars increase. It will be hard for manufacturers to drop their price, despite many carmakers producing cars in Thailand. This Suzuki Swift is, mind you CBU in JAPAN. I don't think 100k is a too big price to ask for. I'd bet my pants that this Swift would be as reliable, if not, more reliable than the Yaris. Just my 2 cents.

• raverus (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 12:36 am

Suzuki swift sport in civic jazz OUT! no comment on yaris, toyota is a good brand, they just got TAX by G.

• szw (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 2:25 am

nth special .

• pinoyrocks (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 2:36 am

i see a lot of this car hitting the streets of manila and nearby provinces, and im really intrigue about the performance of this car until one morning while driving to school a small car overtakes me and it really fast, it didnt take me long to recognize the car, man! its so fast! i wish i can have one too!!

• azrai (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 3:13 am

I think this will gonna be inspered MYVI owner to rice or Ah Beng their car. Quite nice, since it came from the suzuki itself. his is a good car to have, but the second hand value of the car is not gonna good. Car is not an investment in our country, it is a need. Just make point A to point b a safe journey and comfortable is good enough.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 4:23 am

walao eh…so expensive ah??

better consider civic or altis loh..

sucking blood G..

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 7:09 am

swift 1.6?? more expensive than my house.. better buy a new house and keep one young ah moi to stay with me, lagi best!!… hahaha!!

lets boycott all cars… let NAP fail….

ps:Never see Yaris on the road yet.. finally i saw 1 alado car in kl recently…

• cnc (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 12:21 pm

Small tiny car like this with RM100,000+, ridiculous man, you can't spend money like this.

• karheng (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 5:49 pm

Would you spend 80,000 on a Smart ForTwo?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 11:18 pm

motorhead said – "swift 1.6?? more expensive than my house.. better buy a new house and keep one young ah moi to stay with me, lagi best!!… hahaha!!"

Aiyoyo …… , motorhead, your claimed of Swift 1.6 "expensive" is valid, but errrrrr ……. not a good idea ……

"don't because of 1 small pint of milk, you bring back home the whole cow", need a lot of maintenance cost, worst than P1 car …… with RM 100K, you can enjoy "endless flow (sometime "freeflow" if you are smart) of milk with all variety and taste" out there. You even can take AirAsia/MAS to Dragonland and plenty of milk. Lol, sorry out of topic …….he, he, he, ……..

• claxxion (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 10:32 pm

Joe Ooi, i cant understand what u said..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 2:19 am

claxxion – aiya, this is old man uncle story, motorhead understand enough lol, you still student and young concentrate on study …….

• raz_R (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 3:11 pm

the best thing about this small little car isnt about the engine or the look, its the handling, it will smoke civics, jazzes and others in the bends.

but wont loses out too much on the straight, thanks to the gearing tuned for acceleration instead of top speed :D

• Jamz (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:52 pm

If your looking for a Suzuki Swift Owners club, i found http://www.swiftowners.co.uk to be a great help when i got my Swift Sport!!

• Igloo (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 10:24 pm

hey is there anyone know or can provide information on contests that win a Suzuki Swift?

• gerry on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:15 am

We had a suzuki Swift 0.9 lit. engine about 1990 . Very god on fuel. 747Km on 40 lit. What happend to double o.c.s? I had one on Mazda cappela in 1970. Now I drive a V.W. Golf 1.9. T,D,I. 17 kil/ lit. I like economy. Plus will exceed 180Ks.per hour if need be. Thanks for reading Gerry.

• razked89 on Jul 14, 2009 at 4:48 pm

this car very beautiful for me & interesting…..

this car are very unique……

I like this car compare perodua myvi……

• boy89 on Jul 14, 2009 at 4:51 pm

kereta suzuki swift sport adalah kereta yang paling unik rekabentuknya dan adalah kereta yang paling canggih setanding myvi…

sy memang suka kereta suzuki swift sport..

• kalvindran on Nov 28, 2011 at 4:42 am

I will own this car one day. It will be mine…