IGC to start Geely assembly in October 2006

geely_car.jpg

Information Gateway Corp Sdn Bhd (IGC) and Geely will start assembling Geely cars in a plant near Kuantan in October 2006, beginning with the Geely CK sedan. This will make Malaysia the first country outside China where Geely cars will be assembled. Malaysia will be used as a base for Geely to tap the regional market.

IGC will be handling assembly, marketing and distribution of the Geely cars. Geely does not have any stake in the set-up, and are only supplying technology know-how and key auto parts like the bodies, engines and gearboxes – basically a CKD pack.

The Geely CK is powered by a 94hp 1.5 litre Toyota engine. The chassis was developed by Geely engineers together with Daewoo. Geely recently began mass production of it’s own 1.8 litre aluminium block engine with continuously variable valve timing technology that produces 140 horsepower. 50,000 units a year will be built in Geely’s Ningbo plant in the Zhejiang Province. The engine will make it’s debut in the Geely FC-1 sedan. Developing own engines is important for Chinese manufacturers, as most of them use third party engines, usually old Toyota and Mitsubishi designs.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:12 am

Eh? Kuantan? Do you know its whereabout, Paul?

Aiseh, another China product. Our government are totally desperate to bring in foreign investor into the country. They have to resprt to those lousy China automaker setting up plant here. They were eaten by their own policies, aren't they?

New Trade Minister please!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:34 am

When you have a car company with a daft name like Information Gateway Corp, you know somebody's in it for the quick buck.

We know how brittle Chinese-made cars are and to see another tonka toy Chinese so-called carmaker to enter the market is really scary.

But as said above, we need the foreign moolah so even if it means the money is for a crappy product, so be it!!

• Paul Tan on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:36 am

IGC is another Cam Soh company, same as BSA and Alado.

• maxtek (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:56 am

Stupidly, Chinese cars are REALLY annoying. Take the car above for example, the front is trying to imitate Mercedes Benz C-Class. (The front lip is the most obvious part).

Also, the problem is, Chinese cars have really low quality products (especially China Made products as labour there is cheaper than Chappati) which makes us people here very suspicious about their cars.

PS: I wonder which idiot went and bought Chinese cars… Saw a number of them on the road recently, the Chery QQ and Alado A10…

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:15 pm

where are the market for these cars? is there is a huge demand in asean region?malaysia stand a chance to cash in big time by assembling and exporting it. let them assemble and do what ever… iam sure not many malaysian would opt for geely cars!.. i just hope my friends from US wont laugh at any malaysian driving one! just pray! have u guys seen this car in the KLIMS?? goodness reminds me of the toys i used to have when i was a kid! just pay attention to the details on the car! u will laugh your guts out!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:17 pm

i wonder what is DTK. cam soh doing? i waana see him do an offical launch for this car..

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:48 pm

Malaysia = "Pasar Lambak Junk Cars"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:06 pm

IGC – Geely

Alado – Chery

BSA – Alloy wheel

I heard BSA downsizing Rawang and Melaka plant and increase production at its China plant at Fushun, as cost saving measure.

Alado's Chery having problems among other are AP and poor response from market. I think IGC importation of Geely also has the same fate as Chery.

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:46 pm

Yeah, Get the fat lady of the Trade Minister's place.

Haih, more ppl will die thanks to those lower quality cars from CHINA! Crap…

• kitman (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:22 pm

yeah ….. it looks dubbious. it's a hash of different styling copied outright from other manufacturer and it's like a rojak, engine by toyota, chassis by daewoo etc. don't think it will do well in malaysia.

BUT

look at it after 5-10yrs and it could be totally different story. geely is still in it's infancy stage (if i remember it's

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:24 pm

Aiya.. give chinese cars a chance la… 30 or 40 yrs ago what happen to Japanese cars? also like that ma… they hv to copy here n there to gain some experience… u think baby can walk as they are born a? of cos need some help ma… babies immitate actions from older ppl oso ma. N u gonna bash ur baby for immitating ur moves? say ur kid stupid? At least Geely had produced self owned 1.8 VVT engine already! Better than Proton as Proton only had its own 1.6 DOHC engine after 20 yrs!

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:30 pm

give chinese a chance please…

japanese also the same last time, this is the matter of time..

just like Korean (Even not copy&paste) but they will improve it in coming year.

currently, they want to build the industry & then focus on the development aspect. by 2020 they will produce a very quality & nice car.

what a passive statements we have here.

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:40 pm

I agree with KingKong and kitman as well. Those who keep bashing chinese cars, u try design a car without copy other models la. not that I'm siding chinese cars, but that's fact!

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:46 pm

jtshin, well said!!!

at least they try to build the industry, its better than they dont have the industry. if they want to be here, let them do it.. we still can decide whether to buy or not..

chinese market damn big.. if their own car maker can conquer slice from the market.. at least, they could be more competitive & improve their future cars

• rcv (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:54 pm

haha…. it looks like a baby S class

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:43 pm

at least the chinese car is well priced in their own country..not like Proton never grow…already 22 years but pretending to be a small kids..

but quality wise it is not so fsar compare to Proton…because with Proton "buy 1 car free 1000++ problems"

• pirate (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:05 pm

I guessed many of us here would have seen the real thing at KLIMS 06 recently.

It is commendable that the Chinese have started exporting the fruits of their initial efforts in the auto industry. Having witness their copy-cat products which may rough, tough and buff, it reminded me of the Datsuns 1100 and 120Y of the late 70's/early 80's…

Some fellow bloggers here are absolutely right: come 2020, whether Bolehland becomes a well developed nation or not, China cars would not be laughed at anymore – that I am sure!

Watch this space but Paul will be a much older guy by then! ;-)

• pirate (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:12 pm

Only pity is that our exhorbitant import tarriffs, protectionism (AP) policy and absurd 80% re-export quota (for CKD program) have made these supposingly cheap cars more pricey – deliberately and forcibly pricing them closed to or even higher than Wira, Gen.2 and Waja.

Hmmm..this Geely also reminded me of the early Skodas prior to VAG group takeover.

Give 'em Chinese 10 years +/- 5years, I bet they would be better than our silly R3s.

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:34 pm

Nice try China! But then Malaysian are sick of car which lack quality and engineering excellence. It is not a good reflection of Malaysia if we still have car of prehistorical engineering running on our roads. I mean we shouldn't expect Europe's benchmark setting excellence in engineering but then we should be moving the game forward instead of taking a step back. Our development demands so, our market demands the same.

Car like this just can't compete in M'sia's market (price, quality and viability for the average joe).

• pirate (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:48 pm

Errr…there are still loads of NEW Iswaras and Wiras running on our Bolehland's roads!

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 8:04 pm

would be interesting how the small tyres evolve in 10, 20 years time.. hehe..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 8:32 pm

I agree with jtshin, KingKong and kitman… just give those chinese a chance to improve by time… but until then i'll keep my money in my pocket first :)

about proton.. aiyakk can't say no more, give them 20+ years to improve already but still more less the same.. shame on them.. but i've to say "NICE TRY" boys, at least u've tried your best.. its good to see locals in this industries

• OvaBoost (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 8:42 pm

HATE CHINA CAR!!

Proton & perodua far more better than them! No doubt 'bout it..

I think it's an insult for us to have their car on our road, some more want to assemble their car here. Bottom line, whoever bought or maybe even have a thought of sitting behind one of china stupid car wheels, u r a complete auto moron!! Give China car a chance? Har Har Har…. no way jose!! they can keep their junk, and pile it on their great wall… or better still make a new wall out of those junk they're making!!!!

• blunt (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:07 pm

What is the issue actually..for me is simple, if they want to sell, lets them sell lah. after all the never, repeat never forced you to buy that car, isn't it.

i dont see Datuk Cam put a gun and force people to buy Cherry ke geely ke..so what the fuss. it is like a movie la..they are good movie and they are dumb movie..if you dont like that particular movie/film..just dont watch it. is that difficult. Unless you work as a film reviewer.

again, like the cheap scooter..comel lah, nitro lah…dont like, dont buy. sooner or later they eventually bungkus..buy 1 and free 1 kind of stuff.

after all, their existance will made malaysian auto meriah lah sikit..

• sowhat (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:13 pm

How old are they? Especialy in their own market? 1, 2 or 3.. or 5?

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:45 pm

LOL.. poeple say hate china cars… i want to see what happen in the next 10 years to come. China have everything from farming to Space Lauch Pad. Malaysia have wut? we only barely able to build own national car want to show our ego to those chinese lioa.

This malaysian must have not seen beijing or shanghai. come on malaysian, china's product may not be low quality for all it's product. Don just say proton's quality is better than china as all malaysian know proton's quality cause we r force to buy. China's car is still new and they r learning. i too want to know people out there complain about china's car product.. so far none i have heard. but proton… sigh… too much!!

i as a malaysian will never support proton as our national car.. cause it is a national junk to me. Proton as a national symbol should help the public and not suck money from us. Proton just don deserve our respect. Lets hope it die faster…

• szw (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:51 pm

china quality + m'sia quality

finish lar

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:16 pm

china quality + malaysia quality = what quality?? haha more less the same… at least i've never bought a proton :)

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:55 pm

the name geely = GELI.. hehhehe.. wanna geli-heli ok la..

What!? 1.5 = 94hp only ? aiyyaa.. poor car.

better buy proton laa. they already improved after savvy..

• motberg (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:14 pm

2006 – China cars? hahahaha stupid lah… craplah… copy here copy there. pui!!

2026 – China cars? I just can't wait to get my hands on it. Sleek, sporty and powerful….

2006 – Proton? Aiyoh, so many problems, overpriced, under engineered and those 'thermometer' lights!! Aaaarghhh

2026 – Proton? If I am not wrong that was the national car maker of Malaysia many years ago. They closed shop when they got invaded with cheap China cars that people laughed about. But look at where China cars are today. And look at where Proton is today.

I am just making my bold prediction of what the future transpires…

• avanza (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:31 pm

Malaysian will continue to buy Kancils, Iswaras, Geelys and other sub-standard cars.

The fact is that Malaysians are not concerned with safety. How many times have you seen children sitting (worse, standing) on the front seat without using seat belts? How many time have we seen children crowded at the back of a car with the windows down and without being secured by seat belts? And those who put their baby on their lap behind the wheel? To them, they think "It won't happen to me!".

And to many the Kancils and Iswara is better than the mopeds (kapcai).

So what's with cars from China?

Do you how many products we have in Malaysia that are made in China? Almost everything!!! Even your Nokia battery!

Sadly, I think China will eventually swallow up the economies of small ASEAN countries. Just mark my words. Excuse me, I better go learn Chinese first!!

• armandd (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 2:49 am

i feel so 'geli' looking at china cars… but who knows in 15 years time maybe they will even surpass the koreans..

• sarawakguy (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 4:41 am

correct me if i am wrong;but isnt there is a malay saying talking something about suffer first ,enjoy later? Susah2 dahulu,senang2 kemudian? did i get it right?

I think i agree with some of our "well established commentators" here…Y dont we just give everybody(carmakers) a chance to proof themselves….P1 and P2…theres already "few new kids on the block"…..isnt it time to do something different?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 4:56 am

even the front wheel in pic looks off camber!

gees man…any potential buyers out thr? japanese and european marks made their name in decades…so to expect china cars to invade us is very far fetched…n with the ever rediculous designs thy have..fat chance..wen ever i hear about those chinwse manufactures…its the only time i tell myself "THANK GOD WE HAVE PROTON" !

• freeze (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 5:49 am

Maybe they bring in China cars to give Proton a better name.

Those who drive china cars may complain that "even Proton is better" also to give the impression that Malaysian cars are still not that bad.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 6:18 am

no crappy car again…GOSH

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 6:32 am

Public perception on Datuk Cam Soh now maybe negative.

but wait next 10years, he going to make a lot of money from the business.

Zhonghua & Cherry currently use Pininfarina to design their high-class line-up model which is nearly on par with Korean.

i'm optimistic that in 5-8years from now they will become one of the asia high-quality cars producer.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:28 am

Eh, a lot of people complaint and some even say P1 better than Chinese car. Remember, China conduct biz on the principle of "you get what you pay". How much they sell, for this kind of car, I heard they are selling below RM 30K in China. So 2 x Geely = 1 Waja!.

But our Bolehland way of doing car biz is 1 import car = slap ED + sales tax. Then 1 Geely > 1 Waja.

So, if no quality, they can fight on the price. Just imaging Waja export to China and slap with similar NAP tax = RM 100K ++ and have to fight with Camry, Accord, etc. Who buy Waja?

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:51 am

we should stop messing around with proton and just scrap that 20 year old (instead of 10) company that's making losses and give people with 15 year old proton rm 5000 in cash if they want to buy new car. free choice.

scrap proton and get on with doing things that will help us prosper along with china. or at least minimize the affects of having all the jobs and industry thats gonna come under fire since china is becoming a big economic power. SEA should have been better equiped. now i only see singapore as the sole country that is able to weather the storm.

i'll group these china cars along with proton in the trash car category. until either one of them makes a model that i actually like. a good quality one. which i dont see happening anytime soon or in the next 10 or 20 years.

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 4:57 pm

China automakers learning curve had been very steep over the past few years. Looking at that, they would be able to deliver products with better quality and design in the near future. My prediction would be in the next 5 years or so.

However, the China made cars that I came across at the moment has poor quality escpecially in the trim and fitting of the parts. I personally would not buy any China cars at the moment.

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 5:40 pm

Hmmm….I personally think that we are a dumping ground for old tech China made cars.The Geely CK sedan it kinda outdated already has the Chinese have better tastes for bigger cars.

China has made tremendous improvements in car design. I vividly remember seeing an internet picture of a car made by a China car manufacturer Brillance Auto..something and it looks like a BMW 5 series.

• my accord was gone.. (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 8:03 pm

LOL

Once again malaysia product the LOW QUALITY CAR

BUT GOOD ALSO CAUSE THAT LOW QUALITY CHINA CAR WILL PROOF PROTON A GOOD QUALITY CAR!!!!

SO malaysian will angry why let that poor car product in our country,

BUT proton should say "thanks u" to the pooooooor quality car".

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 10:32 pm

I just want to let every one here know that for RM10,000 you can get a very good family sedan in China. Our Bolehland policies force us to buy our inferior expensive lousy nasty cars which have been manufactured in a jungle clearing. Wanna buy a good car? A Nissan maybe? Pay 80+K ringgits. Wanna buy an affordable car well we have 35K ringgits Iswara which is now being sold inIrag for USD5K only. What about a small nasty kelisa? In bolehland we pay close to 40K ringgits.In Uk we pay GBP4842 only.

So I say let China cars come in. So many of you bolehlah submissive slaves say that china cars are nasty lousy toy cars,bla bla bla…..whatever,thats why bolehland ministers thrive here,we malaysians are bolehlah people.

Buy inferior expensive nasty lousy crappy protons just because we have to. I remember many years back a Nissan Sunny costs below 10+K ringgits till Proton was born then all cars suddenly became more and more expensive to protect proton. Make your choice bolehlah people….I am buying my next car in thailand and save 50% minimum.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 12:04 am

bmpower said,

August 23, 2006 @ 2:55 pm

the name geely = GELI.. hehhehe.. wanna geli-heli ok la..

What!? 1.5 = 94hp only ? aiyyaa.. poor car.

better buy proton laa. they already improved after savvy..

dear Mr BMW POWER….

Please not advice to buy Proton..dont like Chinese Cars..buy japanese..or continental…

BTW PROTON is not car , it just a jointly cheap metal with tyres use by the G as very big source of income.

stupid PROTON is an ongoing nightmare for MALAYSIAN…is the another version of MALAYSIAN football team..ranking no 148..crazy..and stupid PROTON.

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:23 am

Whopper,

Brillance Auto actually produced BMW in China.

but they use Pinifarina to design for them even with little BMW stylish.

but it's a nice step by Brillance & the quality acceptable compare to Proton.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 11:28 pm

if you travel to us,stop at any dept or souvenir store,chances are the products you bought are make in china,not too many years ago,china tv 29 ins flog our shore,although its quality are lousy and not reliable,but for 500 ringgits,you get a 29 ins tv,even it just last few years,many still claims worth the while,if spoilt,just throw it away,they said.then come china motorcycles,my god lot of complain,poor quality ex5,now china make cars,my vote is clear,no comfindence.

• slippers (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Geely has produced another model called …. (drumroll)…" KingKong " ?!?!?!

…what a car to be proud of…

http://www.geely.com/ad/lglg.htm

• irosand339 (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 5:41 pm

As we all painfully know, nearly everything is made in china, and duplicated over and over again in china, we also don't like it, we get made and say its all junk, yet who buys chinese stuff? the US and who is selling it? US companies. and what will happen next? a car that gets around 20 mpg or better for a price someone can afford will buy it, because they can afford it…bitter as each person who watches a job leave and a made and china stamp return, as tempting to call it all junk, fact is we will buy this stuff, why? same reason I am happy to buy a cd player for 25$ today instead of the 300$ I paid 10 years ago. china will sell cars simply because it will cost less.

• JDMfreak (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 12:03 am

Geely = Geez… really!!

=P

Well yes at the moment all chinese made cars have ripped-off designs and using old engines, but i hope to see that one day they'll gradually come out with ORIGINAL and ACCEPTABLE-looking designs, along with engines with good technologies they can proudly call THEIR OWN. Trouble NOW is that the chinese automakers are just out to make quick $$, with absolutely no or little concern with customer value, that's why they copy here and copy there, dont care if crash occupants survive, as long as they make business.

Its a matter of fact that they are still learning(hopefully) the very basic ropes of car-making; still in their very primitive stages, that's why we all love to poke fun at their current models, how crappy their copycat-influenced fusion designs are, how lame their naming sounds and what not.

This is what happened to the Japs and Koreans initially also. But what makes them shine now today is their willingness and ability to put heart and soul in their cars over the years. China can shine in the future if they want to. However, they can also remain stagnant and make little progress and eventually they'll collapse cause the cars speak for themselves.

If brands like Chery and Geely want to have established reputations in the car industry 10-20 years down the road, they must prove it.

For now, no QQ for me, and I won't own a car that makes me go "Geez.. really!" everytime i see it. Not when I know these cars were made just so that some inhuman chinese businessmen can make a quick buck.