Mitsubishi i MIEV Research Electric Vehicle

miev1.jpg

Mitsubishi has developed another vehicle for electric vehicle research, the Mitsubishi i MIEV. Mitsubishi took the Mitsubishi i, and installed a lightweight motor into it, hooked up to a pack of high-energy density li-ion batteries, retaining the rear-midship layout. The Mitsubishi i’s rear-midship engine location allows the new motor and battery packs to be placed in front of the rear axle line, which ensures ample cabin space for passengers. The Mitsubishi i MIEV is also equipped with an on-board charger which supports charging from ordinary electric outlets – plug-in capability!

Mitsubishi will begin joint research with the Tokyo Electric Power Company, and The Chugoku Electric Power Co., Inc., in November 2006 and with Kyushu Electric Power Co., Ltd, in January 2007. MMC will provide each power company with Mitsubishi i MiEV cars. The power companies will evaluate how fast-charge infrastructure can be developed for electric vehicles. Fast charging will allow the Mitsubishi i MIEV to be charged in about 20 minutes, compared to the hours it takes now.

After this first phase, fleet testing will begin in Autumn 2007 in order to verify the vehicle’s technical capabilities in daily use and to evaluate the commercial acceptance in collaboration with the power companies above along with, the Kansai Electric Power Co., Ltd, and Hokuriku Electric Power Company. The data collected from the test of daily use shall be used to assess the commercial viability of EVs in the market place.

The 1080kg electric vehicle is powered by a permanent magnet synchronous motor developing 63 horsepower and 180Nm of torque. This motor spins up to 8,500rpm, which translates to a top speed of 130km/h. This is hooked up to a pack of 330 volt lithium ion batteries which will have a 16 kWh capacity at first, but is expected to be 20 kWh during the fleet test phase. With a 100V power supply, it charges in 11 hours to 80%, and with a 200V supply it fills up to 80% capacity in 4 hours. And did I mention it’s rear wheel drive? I just did :) Check out Mitsubishi’s other electric vehicle, the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution MIEV.

One more diagram after the jump.

miev2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• asimo (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 1:31 pm

hhehehe..no 1…

• jtshin (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:12 pm

cool…. hope it can be really successful and get into production quickly..

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:17 pm

Sooner ot later we'll see high rise developers provides charging socket ready at their car park.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 3:49 pm

Hey Paul,

Do you notice that, "MiEV" is Not the same as "MIEV" to Mitsubishi?

Actually, "MIEV" is means "Mitsubishi In wheel Electric Vehicle"

and "MiEV" is means "Mitsubishi Innovative Electric Vehicle", two different kind of Concepts. Please read Mitsubishi Official Press Released sorry in Japanese.

Also, they had made some comparison on Current Gasoline engine "i" and EV "i" too. The max. torque for Gasoline "i" is 94Nm (7500rpm max) but the EV one got 180Nm (8500rpm max) almost DOUBLE of it.

I guess the price is around RM40k to RM50k each at Japan. If selling RM45K in Malaysia I am planning to buy one of these.

Check this out -> http://www.mitsubishi-motors.co.jp/pressrelease/j…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:02 pm

180 Nm Torque …and typically on electric motors….at 0 rpm. oO

I'm sure bolehland is not going to follow most industrialized countries giving tax exampt status on environmentally friendly vehicles. Some countries actually subsidize these vehicles, trying to bring it in cheaper than what it would cost, on top of the manufacturers selling these vehicles at a loss.

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:11 pm

Electric cars dont really make sense in malaysia currently. we still need to plug it in, charge it, and some powerstation somewhere will still have to burn fossil fuels to charge up your "clean" zero-emission car. Sure, we have hydroelectric power also, but its only a small percentage of our countries power generation. I believe many other countries also face the same problems with this dilemma.

• rexis (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:43 pm

and the most beautiful part is that JPJ will say this car is illegal because it is non applicable to any road tax amount because it do not have any CC of petrol or diesel.

huhuhu, how much will the battery cost if it kong ahh?

• blackfox (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:43 pm

wow cool~~ how much $$ ah?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:42 pm

woah , so much torque in this litle car…mus be so easy to drive t…with this much torque , u can start the car n go in third gear! ya its not feasible here…public and G not that educated yet for us to use and for the G to fascilitate

• demio121 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 6:56 pm

everytime i read about electric car, i just wonder when will we get one here??? Electric car is no longer sci-fi stuff like in the 80s or early 90s.

Best of all Mits's i have a household plug-in capabilities. Its like charging an oversize handphone now.

I remember TNB did some electric car research some time ago. Then this InventQ sumthing oso was saying they got an electric car at final stage of R&D.

Whatever happen to those fella???

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 7:48 pm

nice! some more RWD, could this be a drift car?? :D

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 9:44 pm

Nice car, I love it but in real life its a bit too narrow and tall. Should be lower and wider!

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 12:16 am

Nice looking car, what's more it has ok power and rear-wheel drive, sounds fun to drive!

• renyeo (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 2:06 am

If the price and battery range is right, it makes sense in Singapore. Will buy one :)

• acbc (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 3:16 am

Given a choice, I would rather buy the Evo MIEV for weekend and i MiEV for daily drive. Better pay more for electricity than petrol.

• Celicazz (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 3:46 am

EV in Malaysia? ahh…not until I become the PM…

• Mike V (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 4:35 am

Just hope the batteries are better than the ones in Dell notebooks …. :-(

Wouldn't want somethin' that size to explode while charging ….

• szw (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 4:49 am

i… don like dis car

its too long 4 its size

• V_NoZ (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 5:19 am

GO ELECTRIC!!!!

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 4:28 pm

remember the numerous cases of notebook battery recalls after some notebooks exploded (literally)?

I wonder how an exploding car sized li-ion cell is gonna look like. Hehehe, and the lithium flame cannot be extinguished by conventional means. Water wont work.. even CO2 based extinguishers will have problems putting it out.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 1:14 am

im not like all electric car..

because i personally think.. if there is no exhaust sound (exspecially sport one), that's a car without soul. :D

Electric mean, no more turbo.. no more tune for HP. (but tuning for more megawatt?: OMG.. i dun like it.)

In anyother way.. electric car main problem is , it;s take to much time to charge the battery.. if only take few seconds, i wanna the one those wanted to open couples of "Electric Station" in Klang Valley.. :D

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 10:36 pm

Actually electric car if ever become future mode of transport, it will reduce a lot of Ah Beng cars on the road as most of them modified on exhaust pipe, vroom sound, hp, etc. Same will happen if this tech introduce to motorbike, then will reduce Mat Rempit on the road as well!

• rexis (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 4:58 pm

bmpower, indeed, people will be missing the traditional raw muscular vroom vroom flesh. How could tuning an electric car could be? Add supercap for short burst(simliar to Nox Injection and its rechargable)? Extra wide wheels for the huge torque? Whats else? Nothing much!

• Daniel on Sep 22, 2009 at 7:55 pm

Haha…looking at some comments made 3 years ago…it is sad to see Malaysians looking down on their own country…bunch of silly people! Don't believe it will ever come to Malaysia? Well, Proton going to sell an EV earliest in 2010. Haha…trully Malaysia is a land that is full of wonders…development so advance even their own citizen couldn't forsee its future growth hahahaha!!!

Get a little life by shutting-up…just ride with the technology ppl.