The British Dream Car

dreamcar.jpg

New Car Net did an interesting experiment – they conducted a survey on their website, allowing the public to vote for what they wanted in a car. Different elements were available – overall car silhouette, wheel design, front end, back end, engine, seats, doors – and guess what the UK buyer’s dream car is?

A four-door coupe with the front end of a Porsche Boxster, the roofline of the Jaguar XK, stretched to allow it to be a 5-seater, and has a medium sized engine, no big supercar engine, but no Tamiya motor either. Not suprisingly, diesel power had the edge of petrol as the fuel of choice.

Know what. Looks pretty much like a Porsche Panamera to me, or at least what I imagine the car would look like. This means the Panamera would like be another runaway success similiar to the Cayenne.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 1:54 pm

You are right about that,Paul

Seems like they have special kind of love toword design like Jaguar,Aston Martin,Porsche …

Why yeah?

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 2:18 pm

its a notion that the brits get frustrated or bored with its XJR and want something a rather beautiful and sporty 4dr the all new XJR (although there have some concept around),

perhaps the survey needed helping the designers to brush up their concept,

or to get some picture how stereotype people are when thinking of car of their choise so that the designer can break the norm of design. (vice versa)

• drM (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 8:41 pm

The sense of British-ness will always see praises for Aston Martin, Jaguar, and some more British manufacturers. They even hard to mention that Lotus now is owned by us and China also took a piece of Rover.

This sense of British-ness also will foreverly put 007 into Aston Martin or a Jag but it doenst matter much now as everyone knows a Jag is a reapprearance of an Aston Martin!

And I am suprise Porsche is mentioned by the British..going German again like the old days?

• BobMarley (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 7:46 am

I think its kinda ugly? it looks a little off… like an inbread fish? or something?

.. does that make sense?

• assimo (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 11:19 pm

eewwww….what is that?????..maybe after this they will come out limosine version too….like our 'cancelloh'….ewwwww…!

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:33 am

To those who cant appreciate the basic shape of a proper Porsche, the Cayman is a beautiful car. Same goes to those who hate Harleys but can quickly adore the lines of the V-Rod.

I pity the Englishmen. Their snottish behavious and eqoistic madness have gone drown the drains when Proton announced the Lotus took-over. Then came Roewe, the Chinese Rover. Whatever British-ness is left will then be within the boundaries of Mr Bean's series.

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 11:37 pm

a proper porsche is a 911. not a cayman. or a boxter. even though either one is exceptional in thier own class.

oh well, lotus in this age is already useless. we just helped finance one of thier traditional companies. who is the real loser. thats what we got to ask ourselves.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 9:06 am

like i said, those who hate Porsche can relate to the Cayman. A boxter my friend is still very much a Porsche, to me that is.

No doubt Lotus might find it is harder to market its cars now and the same goes to its engineering division, but I rather we have it than to give it away. As long as it can maintain itself, Proton should just keep it. It also helps to increase its value, just in case it decides to sell itself to others.

Though the new Lotus head is a drunkard and the company has lost many of its top honchos, the brand is still strong in many parts of the globe. If Proton knows how to stop politicking and let real businessmen handle the company, Lotus can very well succeed in the US, where the Americans are suckers for cars that can take corners at a speed equal to us driving down to our neighbourhood mamak.

• szw (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 3:31 am

weird…