Hyundai Concept Genesis details unveiled

hyundai-genesis-concept-1.jpg

Hyundai has released details on it’s Hyundai Concept Genesis, due to be revealed at the New York International Auto Show on April 4th 2007. Hyundai’s newly developed Tau DOHC 32-valve V8 powers this sedan. Front-rear weight distribution is respectable at 53:47. The 4.6 litre Tau V8 is mated to a 6-speed ZF automatic transmission with manual shifting, delivering over 300 horsepower to the rear wheels, launching the Concept Genesis from 0 to 100km/h in under 6 seconds.

Other than a good front-rear weight distribution, handling is further enhanced with a front five-link suspension featuring upper and lower arms linking the front wheels to the chassis. This arrangement creates a virtual king pin axis which reduces unwanted steering wheel kickback, improving feel and responsiveness. The rear also uses a five-link independent setup.

More photos after the jump.

hyundai-genesis-concept-2.jpg

hyundai-genesis-concept-3.jpg

hyundai-genesis-concept-4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• analyzer (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:33 am

looks like a sleeker version of a camry/lexus..i'm impressed with the design..

• maru (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:37 am

nice effort from hyundai…

but it looks similiar with the Camry

• VW (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:44 am

i like the back, like accord , camry combination….1 word …NICE!

• milkysusu (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:06 am

LEXUS have already produced such car la, that is LEXUS IS-F which is going to be launched later on…Hyundai is merely following its footsteps and copy the design of LEXUS. Hyundai engine technology still far behind of LEXUS….the IS-F with 5 litre V8 engine is capable of over 400 bhp and more than 350lb of torque and it has 8 speed transmission making BMW and AUDI worry about their M3 and RS4. Think Hyundai wont be producing this model cuz currently their sports car is still the ageing stupid lousy ugly Hyundai Coupe….everytime i see it i want to vomit…even the New PROTON Putra Neo is more sportier lol.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:58 pm

I like the side view but not the Rear, too complicated. Can't they make it simple?

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 3:42 pm

"Think Hyundai wont be producing this model cuz currently their sports car is still the ageing stupid lousy ugly Hyundai Coupe….everytime i see it i want to vomit…even the New PROTON Putra Neo is more sportier lol."

Aiyoh… ":New PROTON Putra Neo" just a photoshopping image only lah…

For the Hyundai Coupe, it still look OK for me. Hyundai Coupe also a coupe that having high C/P value and a lots of fans leh..

If the concept design of the Lexus car is accepted by the public, there is no wrong Hyundai have the same concept as long as they not copy it.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:26 pm

gosh… is it really hyundai? it looks like a BMW! wow…

• J (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:27 pm

Wow… looks nicer than new Camry ? :)

But…. concept car is way to go before can archieve mass produced car on the road.

A lot of time when it comes to mass production, the design (nice initially) has to be changed (to not so nice) in order to accomodate the realistic production method. So the end result overall look is not so impressive anymore.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:28 pm

"Hyundai is merely following its footsteps and copy the design of LEXUS. Hyundai engine technology still far behind of LEXUS….the IS-F with 5 litre V8 engine is capable of over 400 bhp and more than 350lb of torque and it has 8 speed transmission making BMW and AUDI worry about their M3 and RS4. "

OMG talking without knowing real facts is just plain bashing. There are no pure originality in design nowadays; there are always design cues which is similiar to other existing models. If Hyundai came up with new concepts, people like milkysusu will bash they copy this and that. If its an established marque; say BMW or Merc, applying other carmakers design cues in their new cars, people do not complain much. Hyundai should be given credit for designing a total new car; a rear wheel drive. Given the improvements that they've shown over the past 10 years, its highly credible.

• kody (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:49 pm

Wahlaueh…

normaluser, i agreed with you. Hyundai is good & improve fast. Not like our pampered proton…

This car really have heavy CAMRY shadow… but i really love it. It looks more aggressive than CARMY. Nice job Hyundai.

• renyeo (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:04 pm

If this drives as good as it looks, and drinks like an hybrid, Toyota Motor Corp – be very worried.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:22 pm

Hyundai has definitely come a long way.

And they have proved that with sheer determination and hard work – they can do wonders. And wonders they did.

They are indeed a powerful force in the automotive industry that we should all be reckoned with.

Personally, I simply loved the rear design. It's exhilarating and sexy.

Cheers!

• e-by (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:23 pm

It is 4.6L car, so we should compared it with Lexus rather than Camry. However, even though the car in Lexus segment, Hyundai always come out with a substantially cheaper model compared to their rivals. That is why the Sonata NF is selling far better than Accord in US.

In Malaysia, even though Sonata NF is RM20K cheaper, people are still buying more Accord or Camry. Therefore, it looks like Malaysian (medium-high income citizens) are very brand concious and don't really bothered abt the price (becoz Honda's and Toyota's are better perceived).

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:32 pm

Mindless bashers.

Knowing Hyundai, probably it will retail much less than the japanese, and far less than the Germans.

As an engineering entity, I wont say Hyundai is far behind the Japanese. Even thier mainstream Lambda 3.3/3.8 V6 is a marvel in torque delivery (of course, we dont get it here). Far better than the peaky Japanese equivalent. But will people know it? Nope, they just look at peak horsepower.

And Milkysusu, if you want to compare design concepts, why dont you look at the tail light of the past Elantra (current for us) and then the new S Class mercedes? I'm sure if you want, you can draw sinilarities there.

I'm sick of people that have nothing worthwhile to comment other than , "oh this looks like that"

I'm not a big supporter of Hyundai, but I still think they have come a long way and deserve the credit. They are indeed doing something right.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:38 pm

Wah.. another sleek looking concept. This should be replacement of Hyundai Equus. The highest end model of Hyundai currently sold only in Korea. Looks good but I doubt it will be doing well here.

If it is a Lexus LS standard but priced only at RM300K, do you think people will spend RM300K for this badge? Malaysia market isn't ready to fork out that much money for a korean badge. Just look at the New Sonata and Azera. They are great value but the badge is not heavy enough.

• Charger (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 7:35 pm

Pros: What a beautiful car.

Cons: But just a concept.

• zanggief (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 9:06 pm

Look like Lexus but it only with 6 speed auto-transmission…the Lexus with 7 speed O….but still manage to say Hyundai did a good job..

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 9:42 pm

The front has a resemblance to both the Camry and Accord, but overall the car looks better than both, i'm impressed. I like the silvery red rear lamps too, it has a surrealistic effect to it. Specs is good too. I'm impressed, Hyundai, very impressed.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:09 pm

whys that all asian cars nowaday have the same styling? i could see the comparison of this hyundai with camry, lexus IS………if someone could not see the badge, the thought that this car is a lexus!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:15 pm

well, i think this will try to compete with lexus, even his engine technology is better then P1. PPL already using CVVT technology, what P1 using? This is just concept, they will modified a bit when production. wait until they come out, i more respect the Korean Hyundai cars more then P1…

• motberg (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:16 pm

i thot Paul hosted the wrong pix… i asked myself "what is the LExus picture doing in a Hyundai topic?' then i took a second look. It is nice but it's been done by Lexus already. Hopefully they will make more changes to it to look less like a Lexus and I hope it will look alright in the end.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:31 pm

need a genuine personality,

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:50 pm

Looks great for a Hyundai.. I don't really fancy Hyundai designs but recently they are doing quite well..

• nmh (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 2:40 am

korean exterior improved recently but interior still plain boring

• transformer (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 3:39 am

great looks! ( i said its an evolved Azera )

but kind of too much blings

nice specs too! V8, 6speeder ZF and near 50:50 weight distribution… very competitive!

seems like this car is not meant to compete with Camry or Accord! but based on the above specs… smell preys for more sporty ones such as Lexus IS, BMW 3, C-Class and other EU makes… or Toyota Avensis or Mark X

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 3:44 am

At first glance, it looked like the Prototype Ford Mondeo a couple of months ago. Exterior is ok but get rid of those ugly crystal lights and tone down the chrome.

The ugly crystal lights remind me of the "ah beng" crystal lights BMW offers as an optional extra for the current BMW E60 5 Series

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 4:12 am

Park this next to camry then you be thinking which is my car. LOL

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 4:45 am

previous sonata was only a copy of the honda accord

now, its a copy of camry

hyundai cars are hardly original

however, the getz is awesome it its on way

• shimiwako (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:57 am

Now, a smaller capacity engine would make more sense for this region.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 12:23 pm

milkysusu said,

March 29, 2007 @ 3:06 am

LEXUS have already produced such car la, that is LEXUS IS-F which is going to be launched later on…Hyundai is merely following its footsteps and copy the design of LEXUS. Hyundai engine technology still far behind of LEXUS….the IS-F with 5 litre V8 engine is capable of over 400 bhp and more than 350lb of torque and it has 8 speed transmission making BMW and AUDI worry about their M3 and RS4. Think Hyundai wont be producing this model cuz currently their sports car is still the ageing stupid lousy ugly Hyundai Coupe….everytime i see it i want to vomit…even the New PROTON Putra Neo is more sportier lol.

Shut up. IS-F doesn't compete with RS4 nor M3. It's a super cruiser saloon, not track bias.

• milkysusu (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 1:52 am

ingolstadt said,

Shut up. IS-F doesn’t compete with RS4 nor M3. It’s a super cruiser saloon, not track bias.

______________________________________________________________________________

From TopGear magazine, according to Bob Carter, Lexus's boss in the USA," The intent of creating the IS-F was not to be a competitor to other performance-sport sedans." But that would just be an excuse as magazines around the world began busily ignoring him and lining up M3s and RS4s for group tests.

That is just normal comparison for such u say a "Cruiser Saloon". If this car is design for cruising, then the design cues is totally out of it. They should've designed it like Jaguar XJ LOL. Nowadays people are quite confused with the design cues of sports sedan.

• Celicazz (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 5:13 pm

couldnt be more agree that it look so much like a camry or a lexus…

copying ha?

• marcuz on Jun 18, 2009 at 2:16 pm

i really like the car it does not look like something you would expect from hunday, i think genesis its the new begining for hunday, to tell you my truth the design looks better than the lexus i understand lexus engine technology is more advanced in most case the engine dont have nothing to do with it, if the car looks nice then thats all that matter genesis its were its at, not the coupe i dont really like the coupe very much i like the 4 door genesis