Najib: Proton talks may not meet deadline

najib_tulan.jpgPerhaps we can stop counting down to 31st of March 2007 now. Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak says talks with possible foreign partners for Proton might not conclude by the end of March deadline previously set, contradicting Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop’s previous statement earlier this week that the deadline would be met.

Najib’s reasoning was that no one had presented anything regarding the deal to the Cabinet committee headed by himself. He added that it does not matter if it is missed.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• milkysusu (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:51 am

Then proton will have to wait wait n wait…but at the same time keep on having promotion like the saga for the other model to keep the production line working. If talks fail, then it will lelong all the stocks before shutting down. THat's the end.

• toxicboy (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:14 am

if proton shut down what will happen to price of other cars?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:53 pm

AhYAh, Already EXPECTED lah.

Always Talks only, No action at ALL, that's our PROTONG and G real face.

Don't expect much from them. Stay tune.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:54 pm

Najis' Face or reaction is really match the title, GOOD JOB Paul! :)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 2:37 pm

Wow according to this report they can publicly state that someone was supposed to do something but didn't do it, and they cannot decide, but it doesn't matter if the deadline is missed, furthermore it's OK to wait more?? Ini macam ka? What are Proton's cash reserves now actually?

• gonggok (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 3:16 pm

Get a grip guys,

It's a done deal – he's confused and thinks it's going to go through him and his commitee when the decision has already been made…

Khazanah chairman has already said that the decision will be announced in a few days by only the PM or the second finance minister as it is a 'national' decision with big implications.

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 3:28 pm

WAHAHAHA… WHAT A SHAME!!!!!!!!!!!! MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Delay and delay, month by month, quarter by quarter, lately become year by year..

Do P1 reliase that as they delay longer, the more impact will come to them?

• Cire (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 3:48 pm

yeah..the deal's being sealed and this guy still blur blur..or is he trying to dodge being hunted by the media for more answers.

Msia nowadays is so so so slow in everything that it does. It seems the ppl governing it is trying to make Msia looking its 50 years of age. Talk slow, work slow, progress slow, all take it easy slow, while the rest of the world are surging past, we are still not bothered about being left out or not, or we care about it. Looks like the present G is holding us back.

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:12 pm

I just want a good quality car with a reasonable price (BMW/Merc is cheap without those crazy tax). Dont care whether its malaysian made or not.

• mofo (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:22 pm

LOL – next annoucement, VW drop the talk, and P1 merge with P3 (AP Guy). or due to latest promotion, they makes some money show off the capabilities to re-negotiate the terms and conditions.

April Fool !

Take it, or leave the country.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:30 pm

Its strange how the top people at the government can screw up big time. Someone says something, and the other says something else.

• cyder300 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:37 pm

Is it too much to hope that our premier car maker will not be able to have VW expertise? I think that this maybe leading to a local joint venture or take over by ppl like Hicom or Naza? It is all abt control and ownership of the brand, how long it took Benz and Chrysler to talk and merge? or the other car companies to nego? National interest it seems is a difficult issue to address. Cheers.

• kody (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:39 pm

wahlaueh….

Typical Malaysia 'boleh' (can)…haha…. everythings delay…

how's about the tol contracts…. Uncle Samivelu…. another Malaysia 'boleh'…

How often can our G meet their commitments..??? haha… oh..i forgot…they meet their own pocket's commitments!

• shaif (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:56 pm

Look like some datuk not pleased with the current talk of proton-VW as it can shut down his unefficient spare part and components factory. For national interest or for several big headed U*No and BeeN to keep their porsche, merc and bmw..and let the rakyat suffer buying proton.

• kody (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:00 pm

wahlaueh…

hehe… Shaif…you are extremely correct! the benefits (pocket money) of someone are not met thus the deals can't go well.

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:24 pm

You'll damn right. :)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:25 pm

shaif said,

March 29, 2007 @ 8:56 am

Look like some datuk not pleased with the current talk of proton-VW as it can shut down his unefficient spare part and components factory. For national interest or for several big headed U*No and BeeN to keep their porsche, merc and bmw..and let the rakyat suffer buying proton.

well said shaif, and the not so strong in economy and decision making 'rakyat' will buy the trickly cheap saga (it is not cheap , 27k is starting price only).

the vendors will keep their supercars, their yachts,helis..and 'rakyat' will buy new but old technology ,milo tin on wheels without safety and power steering come standard with power window problems and water leak and you have to Open Door When Pay Tolls.

• xlarge (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 6:14 pm

Government decision = government service. Either delay or slow.

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 7:15 pm

Yup.. totally agree. They just concern their own "pocket" but not "rakyat pocket".

Is related to human attidude, since if I'm the P1 main supplier, sure I plan to suck as many money as I can, who cares the P1 future.

Unlike some family business, their grandchild will keep improving and having long term paln instead of short tern to make sure his ancestor business will not destroy in their hand.

• xg9 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 8:45 pm

LOL HIS FACE!!!!

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 9:44 pm

What does he mean it does not matter that the deadline is missed? It matters, so many people are anticipating the results. Darn, typical delay again.

• kohbk (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:00 pm

look at his face and you wonder if he knows what he is talking about ! haha…of coz he dont give a damn if P1 survive of not, all he cares is if he can get something out of it.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:12 pm

delayed again?! im sick of waiting the news!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:12 pm

[ADMIN EDIT: Your post has no proof, thus can be considered as slander in legal terms. To protect both yourself and myself, I've removed this part of the comment.

Kanasai G and P1, want money in their pocket only.. never think of his own ppl… Selling the 15 year old saga made me felt so shame to show to the world how Malaysian technology development. that why last time ppl say Malaysian ppl stay on top of trees! HAHAHA…

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:25 pm

littlefire85, so why did you even work with proton in the first place? dont tell me you were young and naive then, and werent wise to the ways of the world?

btw, i think you got deleted because you're posting up some serious allegations, and without any facts or proof to back up what you're saying.

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:28 pm

and i predict your postings will be deleted again…

• ysyslys (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:38 pm

too much hope v put on P1 + VW…..that y v comment / feedback here. V wish everyone know what is their effeciency to drive Msia……and do they deliver right value to rakyat ? Then reserve your right and do it right in the coming election.

• motberg (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:10 pm

actually it all makes sense… if i was VW i would want to delay it as long as I can since I know Proton is suffering losses. It all boils down to dollars & sense. The more broke the company I am taking over, the more bargaining power is in my hand. Remember when VW first made its bid and Proton still say they wanted the controlling stake? Then VW pulled out and left Proton to rot. Now that Proton is asking VW again, do you think VW is going to let Proton have it easy? If I was VW, I would make sure Proton play by my rules this time round. I beleive Proton is making impossible demands again and VW is just bidding its time.

• darren0900 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:23 pm

hoo…rey…malaysia boleh delay…many excuse

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:47 pm

sigh~~~ Looks like the G doesn't have any plans of selling it… it's just a show? maybe.. Anyway, G still can shove money into Proton if it really goes bankrupt.. like what they did to MAS. so.. don worry la… Malaysian G is gonna use tax payers money to save Proton soon…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:59 pm

MAS cannot be compared to Proton. Its a tough time for airline, even established ones in North America are running into trouble.

One is a service provider which provides sevice that the nation depends on. It runs loss flights to provide service.

Proton is a manufacturer, whitout it, someone will still be producing cars.

But I hope Malaysians aren't that naive. Even if proton dies, the higher ups will just find somethign else to leech off the rakyat. You think prices of cars will drop? APs anyone?

The problem is not PROTON, the trouble is with the ruling party.

• acbc (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 1:24 am

As expected already. Proton better close down fast and give the employees VSS.

• nmh (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 2:36 am

April Fool from G…..clear old stock first…..then came the result

• StingRayINC (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 3:29 am

Sigh, even Lamborghini, Ferrari, Aston Martin, MG Rovers, Seat, also being owned by someone else laaaa. What does a Proton worth? Does it have it's good will? No. What is National Pride? Still want to negotiate and play hard to get, The announcement make me wanna vomit. Proton is just a assembly plant for assembling rojak cars. Sell it all quickly la, sigh can't imagine being a high rank doesn't think rasionally.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 4:11 am

This rock(P1) will never become a diamond over time and this one is changing from rock to poo

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 4:51 am

[ADMIN EDIT: Your post has no proof, thus can be considered as slander in legal terms. To protect both yourself and myself, I've removed this comment.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 4:59 am

Say No to Power window failure, say no to open door pay toll but say yes to VW take controlling stake in P1! Viva, 1 April fool from G …….

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:01 am

IDEALLY, let say proton is 'up to the standard interior and engine or the car as a whole'

…and the market is opened,

does making car here has an economic value (profitable) regarding the long existing auto industries and currency exchange of the SEA reigon,?

• 707 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:10 am

typical malaysian politics lor

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:22 am

I blame potong for giving the thailand the name of 'Detroit of Asean'…

I blame potong for giving us the hard time to buy a decent car…

I blame potong for not giving standard safety not until now…

I blame potong for motorist deadly accident rate, they should sell their saga 27k long long time ago, so malaysia has less motorist, less deadly accident, at least save some lives…

I still fed up with gov for giving us these ridiculous expensive car, high

toll fee, etc… too bad, we don't earn enought to support these cars…

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:25 am

Already predicts gov will delay the announcement, it is hard marriage, no

one want potong, and potong still act elegant…Potong, you deserve it…

Frankly, I don't see any benefit to us from this marriage, at least gov has excuess to impose heavy duty on non-national car, we want to protect national pride…too bad…I have tired to drive my problematic wajunk…

• pw (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:49 am

Maybe the latest promotion is a scheme !!…..

Last chance to grab the deposit money …. and lingkup the company and cabut……

I heard 10000 order placed for that old proton car model.

So assuming deposit $1000 x10000 cars = $10,000,000 received … enough kah ??

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:52 am

i dont mind the delay,i jus want proton to be in good hands,properly managed bt ppl who know how to manage…dats all..plz kick all politics out of proton,it wil prosper in no time

• intermilan (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:17 am

Littlefire85,

even thou your english 'could be improved', we get your story.

at least someone that has had connection with potong dare to admit about it and exposed a glimpse of what is happening inside.

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:59 am

whoever they manage to hook up with and rip the people of msia off again……i still hope proton fails miserably. if they hook up with VW i'm sure they will go down the drain as well….well at least thier investment in proton….

im not suprised we gonna see them selling saga into the next 10 years.

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 8:02 am

u know….seeing that face makes me think of those proton owners…..:"oh no, not another broken electric window….just got it fixed last week."

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 9:47 am

It doesn't matter? He's so gonna 'kena' from millions of frustrated Msians out there…….

What does he know? If we complaint PW, expect us to 'change our lifestyle' again? Dun use window anymore, just open/close door nxt time?

I'd better stop this post, before I'm rly gonna lose my head n spam this post with all kinds of curses I know. I've had enough…………

• 707 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 4:41 pm

i wonder whats the big deal with potong anyway. why they die die want to protect this company.

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:50 pm

"I blame potong for motorist deadly accident rate, they should sell their saga 27k "

mits27, its a well known fact that almost 70% of fatal accidents are contributed by motorbikes, not cars. Maybe they should ban all motorbikes, close down honda, suzuki, yamaha, and our local bike companies also.

707, the big deal with potong is, the govt based practically the entire industrial master plan on it in the beginning. its not just about a car company called proton, but the whole country. proton effects approx, 100,000 peoples livelihoods directly and indirectly. thats not a small number. so its not as simple as closing proton tommorow.