Perodua Myvi 3-Door Photoshop

Here’s another piece of work by Theophilus Chin, this time a Perodua Myvi has had it’s rear doors chopped off for a 3-door tall hatchback look, ala the Getz 3-door.

Here’s what he did to the Myvi:

1. Lowered roof
2. Reshape side window
3. Wider front door
4. Reposition rear lights
5. Black piece between front and rear wheels
6. Black B-pillar
7. Reshape rear hatch (less upright)
8. Bigger and wider wheels

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 10:33 am

Nice job! Not really up for the lowered roof, and perhaps a 3-Door Myvi should be shorter?

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 10:48 am

Trust me.. it wont sell as good as it does now.. there is a whole bunch of ppl choose myvi coz main point is that it has 4 doors….

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 10:57 am

Rear side window kinda weird

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 11:33 am

Looks pretty cool, like a 3 door station wagon. Thing is though, the rear is a little too long like aesthari said. Other than that the photo-shop job is great. No anomalies found in the rear section of the car. Very nice. Could you mentor me Theophilus? Need to refine my skills lol.

• narrowband (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 3:03 pm

Myvi's kinda big actually. Too big to be a hot hatch.

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 3:51 pm

Not bad at all.

As aesthari & Capt Shopalot said, if the car become shorter, then the rear window area will also smaller and subsequently the overall may look better..

Hehe.. say is easy.. dunno how hard to design it for Theophilus Chin..

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Yeah, agree. It looks a bit long for a 3 door. Somehow looks more like van due to the extra stretch.

• ularsawa (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 5:06 pm

if p2 were to follow what toyota did with the 1st gen of the 2-door RAV4 series then it would be great.

shorten the myvi drastically and make it a semi 2-seater.

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 6:01 pm

HAHAHAHA…..I would register this as MPV. Look more like a mini van now. Remind me of the MINI 'Mayat' one. You know the one used by people selling roti (back in the 70's).

• renyeo (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 6:08 pm

Brilliant! Make it…

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 6:54 pm

Theo, would it be possible to incorporate the back sliding door (similar to the Mazda5 or the Estima)? I know the Myvi is supposed to be a budget car but hey that doesn't stop us from day dreaming, right? Therefore in this picture, a slightly elongated body might look like an MPV (however the seating might be a little low/short for an MPV) plus back sliding door (I think there is a better name for "sliding door").

As a hothatch, the back half of the car looks a little long, maybe off by 3" – 5" plus minus.

Once again, kewl stuff.

• avanza (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 7:20 pm

Looks weird. The front door should have been wider as with all 3-door compared to its 4-door cousin. The longer door is to facilitate better access to the rear.

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 7:59 pm

hey tats nice… the adjusted rear lights really fits the back though its higher… nice job…!!!

• seancheaw (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 7:59 pm

i would suggest that keep the high roof but make it slope towards the end,someyhing like the savvy, then u can have a less upright hatch. to make it with more emotion styling, the rear window can design with odd shape, something like the murano. agree with me?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:10 am

Looks good!

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:12 am

i agree wiht seancheaw, but well done!i like the repositioned rear lights, looks way much better!

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:13 am

Looks ludicrous. I almost fell off my chair LMAO at this pic…….

Sory Theo, don't mean than u did a poor job, I appreciate that u put the effort, bt a funny pic, will remain as a funny pic.

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:29 am

how delicate is your work, theo

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:36 am

Renault Clio V6? Oh, just a Myvi….

Higher roof should be just perfect!

And please, the wheels are BORING……….

But no matter how nice, rakyat still prefer 4-door.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 1:04 am

One man's meat is another man's poison. Having my work posted here is exciting for me, as well as the feedback each chop gets.

Some comments can be harsh, and there are compliments too. Oh well, freedom of speech.

• gtmaniac (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 4:51 am

How about making the C-pillar a bit thicker, so that the rear-side window will be shorter and won't looks too long & weird.

Other than that, good as it is. (why Myvi's alloys always looks like they lost the centre hubcaps..?

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 5:01 am

Nice job, but will not be popular. The reason you buy Myvi is for its MPV, not its 2 doors

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 8:29 pm

Really like the look of it, but then:

Have exactly the same feeling as most others. It looks great, just that I wouldn't buy it. It doesn't seem as practical as before and that seems to be the only reason why people buy Myvis. So people that buy Myvis are boring???

Two proposals to make it more radical in either direction: make it into a sports coupe or make or into a micro SUV, why not?

• transformer (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 4:01 am

Nice! but for EU market! not in Bolehland!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 9:04 am

Theo, I got one suggesstion, try to chop Waja for "2nd generation Arena", see you canibalize its backside and how it look like! he, he, he, …… just my suggestion!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 1:15 am

Waja based Arena replacement? Well if I get high resolution image of the Waja I just might. Paul?

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 6:20 am

what a radical change! waja based arena? cannot visualize it……..well all i can think of is unque.

• darkteror (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:08 pm

=.= wats that