Golf GTI W12 650 Engine Bay

Remember the monstrous concept Volkswagen Golf GTI W12 650 you saw earlier? Sure, it looked cool, but there were no photos of the actual engine sitting in the rear of the car. Volkswagen has finally released images of the W12 engine sitting in it’s specially designed glassed off engine bay in the rear of the Golf GTI. Check out the vast carbon fibre surfaces.

More photos after the jump.

Volkswagen Golf GTI W12 650 Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• moreno007 (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 8:36 pm

wah….looks like the fan like my pc pc cooling fan!..kewl man!

• Vengeance (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 9:33 pm

oh my, a v12 on a 2 door hatchback? that's gonna fly!

A compact supercar, new category?

• aesthari (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 9:48 pm

When a car looks this awfully good inside out, it cannot possibly be bad. I bet that the undercarriage of the car is beautifully laid out too! I'm in love, I truly want one of this! Supercar performance while not looking too out of place in everyday traffic.

• aaron_38my (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 9:50 pm

correction to the comment; its a W12 not a V12.well, the block is V but the cylinders are variably laid out in V.

damn, a W12 in a GTI, i've heard of VR6 in a GTi but a W12?OMG, this is definitely going to be a kick-a$$ GTi.Not to mention its mid-mounted and the beautiful exterior.

D^mn…only vulgar words can describe it casually.Beautiful…simply beautiful….

• layman (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 10:11 pm

In the Star Paper today, Pak Lah says 'Try using less energy and buy cars that use less petrol. If we do this, we will be able to manage our expenses even without salary increases'.

Putting a 6L engine in this car is stupid and not helping the environment, and it just a poser act.

• tbcheese (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 10:12 pm

gawd that interior is shite. certainly doesn't live up to the usual VW design. this looks much hotter on the outside compared to the clio v6 though

• hafreze (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 10:22 pm

if laa proton can design a new car like this…price range around rm30k-rm40..I would surely buy…I dont care the performance..enuff to get 1.3 cc engine..why proton don't want to design like this arr..got a lot of designer here maa…hire them and give us cool and exotic design lor..

• kei9 (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 10:42 pm

im drulling over it…….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 10:54 pm

4 exzos pipe, wow really so powerfull ah!

• kei9 (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 11:00 pm

BTW thwe turbine fans really look great……whuuuu!

• motherker (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 12:48 am

just wanna ask u guys, the current golf gti at msia, the 2.0FSI version, is it all wheel drive or FWD only?

• Charger (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 12:52 am

motherker: FWD only.

• Dogster (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 1:14 am

I am gonna copy and paste the design into myvi !!!!!! :P It will be a killer!!

• drM (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 2:38 am

sicko germans.

first they did that rear end engine placement.

then they put into several hundreds of horsepowers and torques.

like i said, this german is sick

• armandd (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 3:05 am

layman said,

May 26, 2007 @ 2:11 pm

"…Putting a 6L engine in this car is stupid and not helping the environment, and it just a poser act."

—————————————————————–

i beg to differ. people who buy this kind of performance machine couldn't care less about fuel consumption. also, i think all euro cars must pass strict emission standards right? think about it this way; as the oil reserves around the world deplete, we should enjoy the glorious sound of these amazing engines while we still have time, heheh..

• ab (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 3:41 am

Oooh, those sexy rear turbines….they should call it the Volkswagen Golf GT-RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 3:45 am

Armandd is right, all european cars must pass strict emissions test to make them road legal. Even exhaust sound decibels are measured and properly regulated to make them ear friendly. If they were to market this car, they would have to adhere to these strict policies to sell them to the general public.

Point is, the Bentley Continental and the Volks Phaeton too have W12 engines but you dont see them being banned do you? Even the Veyron which has a W16 engine is out prowling the streets. I'm no anti-enviromentalist but creativity is what makes the world go round, concepts push us forward so we can gain more knowledge and data.

If everybody was so pessimistic, the whole world would look like a giant Toyota Prius. Without motorsports knowledge, would you think we would have gotten VVT-I? Sometimes people have to take a step back and analyze so we can make amendments for the future.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 4:03 am

i dont think this car will be mass produce… only a few limited version will come out… Even the price tag wont be cheap.. W12 6.5L engine? Even road tax already kill us in Malaysia… How about insurance some more… Haiz.. I think only the Datuk's and high officer can buy in this Boleh Land…

• mmcwei (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 4:38 am

good job VW…

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 5:03 am

6.5l w12???

like the veyron, it sucks up all the petrol in your tank within 12 minutes.

• alpha0201 (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 7:01 am

Question here. From the looks of the fan, it supposed to suck air in. I know the reason why they have a huge "mouth" at the back of the car to move the heat away. The side vents is to suck air in but where does the fan gets the air to blow the engine in a closed quarters?

• transformer (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 7:48 am

the Ultimate Frog !

an engineering master piece but please don't mass pro this!

CO2 would choke our earth!

• jonnyblaze (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 8:20 am

"Question here. From the looks of the fan, it supposed to suck air in. I know the reason why they have a huge “mouth” at the back of the car to move the heat away. The side vents is to suck air in but where does the fan gets the air to blow the engine in a closed quarters?"

Can't know whether a fan suck or blow air just by the look of it.

By the look of it, if the fans spin anti-clockwise, then air will suck into the cabin. If the fans spin clockwise, then air will be sucked from the cabin and blown down below the carbon bodywork and exit through the big opening in the rear bumper. The latter makes more sense. Cool air-cond air will helps the W12 maintains operational temperature.

Apparently, there's a gap between the c-pillar and the rear glass window, which acts like an air scoop to draw in cool air for the fans to suck on.

Wonder whether the driver will experience difficulty in breathing once those huge fans start spinning.. :)

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 12:51 pm

PTAllTheBest

The Veyron's displacement is 8 liters not 6.5 and is a W16. The fact about the petrol tank being emptied in 12 minutes only applies to the Veyron at full speed at 253mph. I doubt the Golf W12 650 can go that fast because of it's significantly different aerodynamic properties and power which is marginally lower by 448hp than the Veyrons 998hp/1000ps.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 1:17 pm

i know that the veyron has w16 engine

i know that the veyron has 8000cc

i know that the veyron has quad turbo that the 16.4 stands for 16 cylinder equip with 4 turbos which produce not just 1000hp but 1001hp.

but i think this car would be similar but just it is a smaller car and less sensational than the veyron.

• AMDunFreak (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 4:52 pm

look at the air vent at the side of the car…

look at the rear bumper……

it's really a masterpiece of design…..

what is sucks about our national car?

we can't design engine, it's ok, maybe engine is too complicated.

we can't design exterior also? well, that not really too good if we can't design exterior……

• layman (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 6:44 pm

armandd said,

May 26, 2007 @ 7:05 pm

we should enjoy the glorious sound of these amazing engines while we still have time, heheh..

————————————

Yeah you are right, and leave the $hit to the next generation.

• blazerSST (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 7:34 pm

Those fans itself must be drawing at leat 2-3 HP each.

• kei9 (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 8:34 pm

hahaha ! if you stamd too close to the fan…..you'll get suck in to it! ugh1 grusome…