More details on Proton-Volkswagen deal

The Edge has more insider news on the Proton-Volkswagen deal that surfaced earlier this week. According to The Edge, it’s sources have informed them that the Proton-Volkswagen deal now has an additional detail to it – Proton will control it’s domestic dealer network, but Volkswagen will control the international network.

As previously reported, a new company will be formed to hold key Proton assets and both Volkswagen and Proton will have shareholding in it – 51% to the German company of course. This share comes at a price – a few hundred million ringgit as working capital to get the company going.

The 49% Proton-held equity will be represented by the key assets that it will be bringing in to the new company – R&D, engineering, manufacturing and the Lotus Group.

A government source also revealed that a successful deal with GM is unlikely because of Proton’s relationship with Iran, something GM has said is not acceptable if anything were to happen between the two companies.

So Volkswagen it is, and hopefully fast!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:00 am

just do ur best proton

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:38 am

Volkswagen is the best for Proton among the Peogeot-Citroen PSA Group (high maintainance costs, don’t think people will love it), General Motors (produce some nice cars but losing money company which is not a good deal, might make Proton worst), DRB-Hicom, Mofaz (they know how in business but not really in technical in manufacturer cars) and Naza (is a NO NO as they only rebadge and assembler cars from foreign companies like Peogeot and Kia)

So, Proton and Volkwagen is YES. Hopefully everything is going well.

Happy motoring to all.

• rexis (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:43 am

Hmm, they convinced VW to take the virtually non-exsistance international market? We can expect a hell of improvement then… gogogo ProtonVW.

• rosdi (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:58 am

Show me RM60,XXX Golf GTI and I will believe it!

• rexis (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 9:00 am

Prolly we will get a golf-tuned neo gti…

• moha774 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 9:17 am

As long as they can make or turn Proton into another Skoda or Seat it will be just fine… further more Proton’s Trump Card is Lotus… but they rebuild Skoda and Seat from scratch…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 9:26 am

As expected, P1 will control the sales market of domestic.. Ehm.. I felt that maybe cars may not as cheap as i think.. P1 is now act like middle man to sell VW cars.. VW only want to control the factory, he don’t care about P1 after all.. since he already got some dealership selling his car in Malaysia, he can just ask them to sell it also.. So P1, i think u also got a lot of competitors also, don’t be happy too early.. Hmm… but maybe lotus next time will have a 2.0TSI turbo engine in it? Wow.. Should be more better then the Toyota engine.. European should support European technology right?

• superman (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 9:37 am

keeping fingers crossed and hoping it happens sooner than later.
    this deal has ben ding donging for soo long..

buying an EPL team is easier.

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:12 am

Even buying Chrysler from Mercs is much more easier, no patriotic and pride talk!

• szw (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:12 am

i wish it would be faster too.

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:26 am

successful deal with GM is unlikely because of Proton’s relationship with Iran, something GM has said is not acceptable if anything were to happen between the two companies.

• timber8115 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:27 am

Can The edge source be trusted anymore since there are so many doublts on their report on the proton-volks talks and the scrapping policy….. I doubt the truth of the news……

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:43 am

Their news is useful to market share! Speculation is first, trust is secondary!

• ys (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 11:28 am

dont really care anymore.. talk talk and keep talking…
    maybe this talk will drag until 2020..

anyway, I really looking forward to try VW technology. my singapore friend own a passat which he travel at 200km/h at plus highway without any vibration. the car goes so smooth and steady.
    hope to own 1 soon. dun can is made of P1 or VW.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 12:14 pm

Ergggghhhhh……….The Edge source again……….

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 12:21 pm

hameed koyakuti said,
    July 27, 2007 @ 12:14 pm

Ergggghhhhh……….The Edge source again……….

LOL :).. rileks bro, maybe they got it right this time…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 2:26 pm

I think The Edge is always giving us the blunting edge news rather than the cutting edge news kekekeke. They even got the car scraping policy wrong totally lolz

• nescartel (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 2:52 pm

wow, really looking forward into this jv.
    hopefully proton can get benefits and learn from the deutsch.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 4:32 pm

I tot VW is from German..

• wong (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 4:40 pm

The Edge with their edgy reports…but if true..well done

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 6:32 pm

Deutschland is German

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 7:27 pm

Yeah make it comes true..will be a new rejuvenating phenomenon in Malaysian automotive industry hopefully.

By the way, the Edge sir. You have been talking so much and most of your report publicized previously were gullible and nonsenses. Thus it’s rather hard for me to give any trust on your words. Next time, should you want to touch any coverage pertaining VW-Proton’s deal, this is what i only want to see, hear, and read => VW-Proton’s Deal is sealed. And that is really what it is.

Please no more bullshite, manipulation and speculation. Well, anyway what more can i say…The Edge, is well known more for its speculative report. Certainly something to do with the S_OCK _Xc_a_ge .

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:21 pm

wait new car come out first, then see how good financial quarter. BTW, where is PAK LAH? MIA? Long time no see

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 11:47 pm

I tot it is dutchland.. lolz.. Anywayz VW is from Wolfsburg, Germany. Means: “people’s car” in German, in which it is pronounced [ˈfolksvagÉ™n]. Proton, is a kind energy in the atom.. Hmm… I wonder who gave proton the name? VW name is more to cars..

• Charger (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 1:25 am

How conservative would VW be when sharing their tech to Proton?

Would P2 freaks out, for having 1 of the biggest motor maker in the world to back P1? Interesting. :)

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 2:00 am

If the deal is sealed, then i will most likely question whether VW WILL be sharing it’s drivetrain technologies with Proton? I don’t mind if Proton rebadges some of VW cars for the intention of slightly expanding Proton’s product line up.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 7:40 am

To me two matters matter:

1. If I can get a genuine VW Passat 2.0 FSI for about 110,000 with cruise control.

2. Will car prices be fair? E.g. Camry 2.4 selling for 100,000 as this is the price for lanjawi.

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:10 am

For Langkawi price, waite till FTA come in!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 11:16 am

LittleFire85 said,

I tot it is dutchland.
    => Dutch is implying Holland or Netherland whereas Deutch means German. In Japan, basically it’s Deutch (ドイツ) which is being widely used rather than German. The pronunciation is likely to be such ” douits”
    =================

Charger said,

Would P2 freaks out, for having 1 of the biggest motor maker in the world to back P1? Interesting.
    => Haha..i don’t think so mate, since P2 also has one of the biggest and powerful giant in the said arena behind it’s back. Anyway yup, this is going to be such an interesting progress hopefully. Leastwise it might spark rather healthy competition within Malaysian automotive industry.

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 4:49 pm

Let big players back up P1 & P2, we as consumers enjoy the value for money products!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 5:42 pm

Wouldn’t be Surprised to know SOMEone might come up and SAY “NO SUCH THING, All is RUbbish”…..The news from the EDGE is really GORENG news.

Good luck PROTON!

• floyd (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:29 pm

please show me the EDGE news which you said was GORENG-ed!
    date published if possible.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:38 pm

VW might only interested with P1 production facility and Lotus Engineering only….

Hope its goes smoothly….

then we might see a Lotus Esprit with an VW engine or from its cousins, Audi… say that 4.2L V8 from RS4…..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 11:47 pm

i think i rather read the news from theedge anyday, rather than your own “goreng” auctioncenter2u.

transformer, i think for lotus in terms of engine choice, whoever partners proton would have no bearing anyways.

for example, current elise uses toyota engines. mk1 elise was using rover.. and the europa uses a GM derived turbo engine. lotus is probably one of the most versatile companies today as it is.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 12:14 am

I think the new or real Campro engine wif CPS wont be arrive until 2009.. read this news.. http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/7/28/business/18435497&sec=business

“One of it will be the MPV that will be launched in 2009. Enhancement would also be made to the Campro engine.”

What Enhancement? CPS?!? Uhh… Wait so long for CPS.. Louzy company.. Better let VW bring in the 1.4Tsi twin charge engine and makan the Campro..

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 11:52 pm

The Edge again? Haha, taking it with a pinch of salt this time. Hopefully it’s true this time round

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 11:02 pm

if its true….very bad news for the malaysian car industry. proton basically sucked thier way….hard…. to a new lease of life to siphon money from the public for another 10-20 years.

must have been a strain in the neck.