Possible revival of the Toyota AE86 in 2010

Rumours have been rife in the auto industry about the return of one particular car made legendary by a certain Japanese anime series. We’re talking about the Toyota Corolla AE86. In a scoop by Japanese magazine Best Car, they’ve reported that Toyota is indeed working on a spiritual successor to the AE86 – lightweight, great handling, and most importantly rear wheel drive. Toyota’s NZ engine family was cited as as possible powertrain, however as far as I know it is currently a FF powertrain. The FR 3SZ-FE from the Avanza sounds more probable.

A few days ago newspaper Asahi Shimbun further added fuel to the excitement, stating that Toyota and Subaru will be jointly working on this new project and Toyota could source a rear wheel drive boxer engine from Subaru for the car. A target release date is sometime in 2010. Toyota needs a replacement for the Scion tC and the Celica anyway.

Two more scans after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• òmnícp (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 1:03 am

nissan going to counter this baby with their new cheap FR (new silvia on modified Z/Skyline GTR platform) too. :D

• phylixng (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 2:02 am

the first picture of the front look is fantastic. it gave me the feeling that the car is a machine on racing track. unlike the second picture which the rear view of the car is so normal. not to say ugly but is just normal n nothing special. but when it comes to the third picture with the design is bit to curvy looking. it doesn’t good feel at all to this particular AE86 revival model. i think AE86 revival model shall remain the sharp edge kind of design. it feels like a Japanese katana which sharp and fast.

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 2:21 am

I love how they retain the original overall look of the car. Especially the red one.
    I know the AE86 is not that good looking to begin with but Initial-D has made the car somewhat fashionable. So let’s paint it white and take it to the mountain highway already.

• drifting4eva (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 2:23 am

This rumor has been going around for some time now. I’l believe it when I see the skid marks on the pavement :P

• engtaokia (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 2:56 am

Its time for Takumi Fujiwara to change his tauhu car into this one :D

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 6:32 am

Looks too much like a Celica than any spiritual successor AE86. I certainly hope Toyota isn’t doing this to cash in on the original legend.

It would be a monumental task to re-invent the AE86, let alone create a successor to it.

• J (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 7:30 am

Good in movie only la :)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 7:52 am

Looks like the old Paseo but with RWD.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 8:05 am

The Red is not the same as the one in Titanium Grey. It’s been claimed that Toyota engineers are told to keep the weight below 1000Kg, with all safety equipment included and cheap….well when it arrives here it wouldn’t be would it? Tuners in Japan and the US would be extremely excited though

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 8:07 am

Hmmm..so much like CElica, and Toyota have to face that this car will be cometing with Wankel RX8 since the price is will be almost the same.

• I my (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 9:07 am

but by 2010…. will the FR sideway still “hot” to ppl?

• badsoulfly (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 9:16 am

Toyota have no idea…just copied from Celica…and put a rear wheel drive… then become a new AE86…sometimes look like Integra DC5 body concept..
    if this model create for drifting…supercharge is enough…no more turbo

• 1178696 (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 9:30 am

i think toyota will probable engineer this car’s looks,performance and handling to match the AE86 and not superseed it for they will leave it to the modders to carry on the upgrades just like they did in the 80s and 90s.

• ab (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 9:35 am

i hope they succeed! remember, toyota it must be

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 9:47 am

i agree with you guys too. it just looks too soft. too rounded at the edges. like phylixng said, it should be sharp edged like a katana. now, it is just too much a celica in overall shape.

• levin (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 9:51 am

2010..3 more years plus another 3 years to masuk malaysia..total 6 more years.. that time my allion tinggal 3 more years to abis utang..that time all my anak sudah besar…okeilah.. can buy 2-doors one. Time to GZE the hatchi roku…heh heh.

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 9:56 am

Spiritual successor. Not replacement. Means its not supposed to be the AE86 mark II or whatever. Means its fine if it doesn’t take any visual cues from the original. The original wasn’t a particularly good looking design anyway.

What Toyota want to do is build a cheap, rear drive, great handling vehicle, in the same spirit as the AE86.

• borgning (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 9:56 am

Did anyone noticed that the headlights look similar to those of the Satria Neo? (The grey model in the second picture) Is that the new trend?

• Aril (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 9:58 am

Like this car after initial D movie. If AE86 in yer 1986, so this car most probably will name AE10..heheheh

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 10:09 am

I think the commentors here share the same concern as me on the point of spirit of the car.

As this is only a rumour, it is usually leaked to test the reaction of potential buyers and to see whether their proposed product has any positive response. Then they will decide whether to go on with it or not, or whether the numbers will justify.

My response is that it should sell just having to be marketed as a spiritual successor to the AE86. However, to be a true people’s drifting hero would take a very finely balanced car at a affordable price to the masses. I am fully for the project if it can emulate, not to say supercede, what the previous AE86 can do. In would be interesting to see what Toyoda would want to do with their modern interpretation of the AE86, how are they going to bring it up to modern day standards.

Styling wise is subjective, from a glance the back does look overly simple and IMHO needs more lines to make it look better. Though i appreciate their effort to make it look like AE86.

Anyway, comestic is only skin deep. What really goes underneath the bonnet is the most important and the development of the handling characteristic. Give it a good base, and put some talented hands at the wheel. It should be a good mix.

Coming to Malaysia? Only if you try hard enough to get one.

• transformer (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 10:41 am

IMHO, i don’t think the new AE86 will look so sporty as above… its just a concept! and bare in mind that its not a sport car but a basic 1.6L FR Hatchback that c/w a good chassis(near 50/50 weight distribution)…
    just a simple car and let tuner to bring it to next level…

the looks will not more futuristic than any of its current Corolla, Auris, Belta, Allion or Blade… just modify one of these to suit 50/50 weight distribution and FR layout..

or else how to sell its MR2 or Celica if any….. or even that Supra….

• whodz (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 11:27 am

The top, one in the red, the A-pillar of this car remind me of civic 2006.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 11:32 am

I don’t know, but last year i already seen this news in rumor forum.. They say might came out by 2008 but somehow delayed it… The basic model of this will be using the new Dual VVT-i 1.5L engine, while the rumored high performance unit will be powered by Subaru Boxer 2.0L turbo engine mounted with either Rear wheel drive or Subaru AWD. Subaru will also use this model to came out another model for themself also.. is like sharing platform and technology together, since Toyota already bought some share in Subaru in few years before.. I would prefer to get the 2.0L boxer engine for more power and grip if got AWD by Subaru..

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 11:33 am

it still looks nice, altough i still prefer it to have sharper edge too. and really HOPE that it still affordable when it reaches us. or else its just will end up in our garage dreams.

• rave (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 11:58 am

Proton persona was just launched 5 minutes ago…………………………….

• szw (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 1:39 pm

don’t spoil the fun toyota.

• philippecr (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 2:58 pm

Takumi should change to tis model soon. lol

The grey one looks cool. :)

the car doesn’t need to be sharp like the same old car since cars tis days are getting more aerodynamic(curvy~). Dun agree? you should look at the new Skylines. :)

• philippecr (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 2:59 pm

oh ya. :) forgot to mention bout Subaru and Toyota. XD

haha XD finally the Father and Son relationship is going on. :P

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 3:31 pm

oooooOOOoooOO ;) :P

• jamsbong (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 5:24 pm

One of the criteria of this car is less than 1 ton. the 1.6 litre should be fuel efficient, so Takumi can affort it. The RWD is the jewel of this car. It is so rare to have a RWD these days that we start to think FWD is cool (example, Integra, Mini, Focus). But the real deal is always a RWD, there is no substitute.

Light weight is a must, the second thing is proper chassis setup and finally, I want a revvy engine! a Revvy engine is like an engine with hidden potential waiting to be unleashed. Lets see if that is the case.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 7:44 pm

rwd and light weight is back on the map. note hyundai has switched thier sportscar to rwd. toyota is promising affordable cars and keeping weight down. honda is keeping muum about thier answer to the tiburon i.e thier mid market sportscar. bmw 1 series coupe.

remember the price is near current corolla prices so the engine output in will be just adequate. certainly no celica or integra type r engine performance for sure. im guessing 95-110kw

i certainly wouldnt mind a s15 replacement with the Z a bit too expensive

• AMDunFreak (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 10:48 pm

looks like honda civic…..
    nowadays car looks alike….

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 11:25 pm

If this will result in a next gen Initial-D, I bet Takumi won’t be carrying tauhu anymore. It has got to be pirated DVDs or something… :)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 11:29 pm

I think the combination of Subaru and Toyota seems a bit like the Initial D takumi.. He first drove his father AE86 and later drove the Subaru WRX Sti… Hmm… Combine the best of both and come out this model.. Hmm… Coincidence?

• ZZT231 (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 12:15 am

from the scans, this car looks like a celica makeover. The rear, side and roof lines are those of a 7th gen celica. The prints are really small so i can’t really read them clearly, but it says the styling design is based on a theme for “simple and stylish”. Engine output is at 120ps, but wat gets my attention is the pricing at 1500000 yen! Its abt RM50k if you convert it.

But then again, if you bring it to Malaysia, the price would’ve double up. Hope Toyota dealer here will also follow suit to introduce an “affordable and sporty car to young buyers” and bring it in with a reasonable price for local buyers.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 2:17 am

yup. rwd for current corolla prices plus maybe 5-10k.

i didnt know takumi drove his dad’s sti already. haha gota catch up. sounds to be like takumi is cheating already. hehe

• krzbne (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 8:42 am

AE86 is Reborn.. :P

• I my (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 9:21 am

btw.. the car in the cartoon is a 22B sti.

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 11:18 am

Most exciting piece of automotive news I’ve got in ages! Something new, fun, and most important, affordable!! Yea it’s gonna be heavily taxed here la, but it’ll still be affordable to normal income ppl if it’s meant to be a cheap car.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 9:26 pm

yup aesthari. u got the KEY WORD. AFFORDABLE. toyota should keep this car simple. it may not look like it’s illustrious forebear but it should have the same spirit. AFFORDABLE (to malaysians too, so get it assembled in ASEAN), LIGHTWEIGHT, WELL BALANCED CHASSIS and RWD.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 9:30 pm

Yup Aesthari. You got the KEY WORD! AFFORDABLE. It may not look like it’s illustrious forebear but it must have the same spirit. AFFORDABLE (to malaysians too so toyota, please assemble in ASEAN), LIGHTWEIGHT, SIMPLE, WELL BALANCED CHASSIS AND WEIGHT DISTRIBUTION and RWD.

• observerV (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 11:32 pm

i saw the info on the first pic..
    went through and i think its the specs if im not mistaken..
    the engine is 2NZ-FE? currently the vios is an 1NZ-FE..
    dual VVT-i?

• thonylvs (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 10:34 am

the rear lamp almost same with the toyota celica lar…
    but this model more sporty than celica~

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 8:14 pm

This is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t believe my eyes!!!!!

This car (3rd pic) is very very NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Don’t give a damn about the performance yet, lets go DRIFTING!!!!!!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 2:04 am

sort of like a 350z. or maybe 150z by toyota.

• b4nd3r (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 2:01 am

c’mon toyota … live it up ! .. but please re-design the rear the lamp .. it looks too plain … almost the same as current celica …

• truth_finder83 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 2:34 pm

To good to be true!!! at last the fanatic fan of AE86 will crying-asking his papa to buy them one of this car so called “AE86” (so sad to see this fanatic, willing to go deep to the kampung and begging pak lebai to sell his TE70 to them BUT DON WORRY!! now there is a hope to you all. Anyway dont get mad ah what i said just now, its reality maa..me worst, driving Kancil tofu car hehehe).

But what still bothering my mind, its too good to be true when a Civic 2006 look-alike car, with 5 nat rims, and RWD (use axle ma..besi mahal oo) will only cost you $16,000 = RM55,xxx. (Slightly same with waja price)….hmmm…im afraid if this car is the next toyota FAIRLADY 350z then forget it la..murah-murah pun this car I believe will cost you RM100,xxx!!! only itu anak taikun saja can afford this car..if that so better stick to your wira or old KE70 saja la..

that is first matter..

Second matter…IS IT REAL??? maybe the Japanese graphic designer only playing with your heart maa kekeke…please be honest la to all the AE86 fanatic…dont give false hope. Why dont re-produce AE86 car, put the price RM40,000 young people sure buy punya la. Boost Toyota sales also. Aiya..i dont understand la this toyota company. they dont do research ka?? they dont realize ka after the Initial D movie, lot of youth got Drift Fever and they somehow become stupid when buying the 20 years AE86 for RM40,000!!! The toyota company dont see this ka???

But if this is true, when 2010 this come and Toyota announce this AE86 car price is RM55,xxxx…..MY MISTAKE!!! THOUSAND APOLOGIZE TO ALL OF YOU AND TOYOTA COMPANY…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:08 am

new car for tokhoi

• zero13343 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:24 am

im really hoping that toyota remakes the ae86, this has been my favorite car of all time, all my other friends drives civics cuz they dont know anything about this great car. I have two of them and they are alot of fun to drive, to remake it for 2010 the only thing that comes to my mind is “will i have enough money to buy one when it comes out”. Im so happy and i hope this isn’t fake cuz i would love to see this great car reborned.

• burton5995 on Mar 25, 2009 at 4:45 pm

fuckin looks like a goddamm civic only thing different is lights

• Norman on Apr 16, 2009 at 10:01 am

I just hope they don't decide on celica as being the final name for this beauty. they should call it the Trueno.

• Shaddique on Apr 23, 2009 at 4:00 am

hey.. if toyota wanna make suthin nu.. put on sum nu name..

i really thought dat dey gonna re produce n continue the production of the old ae86 dat got flippin headlight.. its really hard dowh to find dat model rite now..

i really wanna convince ma dad to get me dat kind of model..n tell him its n old car.. n im tryin 2 be humble with dat old car..

u know..

and 1 more thing bout dis flippin headlight ae86.. dis is da model dat gave birth to great drifters.. n da greatest is tsuchiya him self drove ae86 when he got his drivin licence.. and the famous prince of drift from Malaysia, Tengku Djan drove his white hachi roku..beat a USA drifter at d1 championship..

dat is da prove dat ae86 with fh is da best..

n curvy~~ n Gro0vyy~~ cars dint look pretty when driftin'..

sharp n edgy car balence da hole thang.. u no wat i mean..

straight line slide in creating a curveyy~~ skidmarks..

its yin n yang.. fire n water.. hot n cold…

dey balnce each other..

well im donn wanna give u guys a lecture or anything but the new ae86 pissed me off.. find a new name.. i bet if da new is born.. the old 1 will be forgotten.. dats wat im afraid of… ae86 is not history.. ae86 is a lagend..

if anyone got any information bout ae86 with flippin' headlight…

plz.. plz.. tell me.. i really need dat car…

if ur in malaysia my phone number is 013-2833997

if u dont fellin like collin me.. e-mail me at–( [email protected] )–

ok.. see u guys later…

• This isn't half bad.. but I enjoyed the original shape far more than this newer rounded piece of generic bullshit.

Thumbs up for article, thumbs down to car. I'll stick to my FC thank you very much.

That is.. unless I'm able to find myself a real 86 I can restore.

• bleh tahn…ae86

• re_born on Aug 12, 2009 at 7:10 pm

I can't believe how smooth the grey Levin looks! The body flows perfectly from front to rear. The small strip of carbon fibre on the front bumper is like that of an R31 Skyline. The small strip between the headlights is a great contrast to the rest of the body design. The cabin is essentially that of an R35 Skyline. The small vents highlight the sides of the front bumper beautifully. I want to see a pic of the rear!

The red and black Trueno has been favourited by one of my friends. He is set on getting one when it's released. He says that although there isn't any black along the side – which there should be – it represents the old Trueno well, but should be a bit lower in the rear. He also would like to see it blockier, like the original.

• 2jzge on Jan 17, 2010 at 9:45 am

Lets C when it is on road. Toyota has already stoped the production of SUPRA though the class and origin is completely change but this indicates a full-stop to modern racing era due to the world economic condition. AE86 was a gr8 combination of balance, power and economy lets C if the Toyota has this same concept behind this car.

• driftmania on Feb 16, 2011 at 2:39 pm

It’s look like shit and scrap. Better Toyota reproduce the original look with additional new features in it and not the body