Kia Optima 2.0 DOHC CVVT EX Novus

Kia Optima

The new Kia Optima is now available at Naza Kia showrooms. Two variants are available – the basic Kia Optima EX which goes for RM102,000 and the Kia Optima EX Novus – which used to be called the EX Premium – for RM110,000, on the road with insurance. The Kia Optima EX features a 2.0 litre DOHC CVVT engine from the Hyundai-Kia Theta engine family. It makes 145PS at 6,000rpm and 189Nm of torque at 4,250rpm, and is mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission with sequential shifting. This engine is not the same as the one in the new Kia Sportage, but a newer family.

While most think the current Optima and the Sonata share the same platform like other Hyundai-Kia models, Kia has decided to develop it’s own platform for the Kia Optima. It features McPherson struts at the front and what Kia calls in-wheel multilink at the rear. In-wheel multilink is called so because it uses a compact transverse subframe to support a rear multi-link system with twin upper arms and long lower trailing arms, plus separate coil springs and dampers. The system is tightly engineered with a significant percentage of the components are mounted within, or very close to, the interior space of the 46mm offset road wheels, which gives it the “in-wheel” moniker.

Interior space is surprisingly large, and I would say it is comparable to short wheel base versions of the BMW 7-Series. Perhaps a chauffeured car for companies with a limited fleet budget? The exterior looks rather defacto three box large sedan (which I actually like), with a rear that reminds some of a Volkswagen. The front is also a non-event but I like the smoked dark headlamps. Despite the conventional outlook, Naza Kia has specified some rather unique colours for the Optima that is refreshing in a sea of what looks like generic colours used over and over again. I like the Optima in red the best, but that colour is not available in Malaysia. There is something called Dark Red though, that looks black at first glance but appears dark red under bright sunlight. The other colours include Midnight Grey, Almond Beige, Ocean Blue, Ebony Black and Bright Silver.

I had the opportunity to drive the Kia Optima EX Novus for just over a 100km or so on the way up to Penang in a media preview. With a price difference of RM8,000 you get significantly better equipment with the car. 8 grand buys you ESP stability control, fully automatic climate control, an Infinity 6.1 audio system, some nice perforated suede and leather upholstery which include some decent premium-feeling seats, automatic headlamps which turn on automatically in the dark), larger 17 inch alloy wheels versus 16 inch on the normal EX, Michelin Pilot Primacy tyres, and a powered driver’s seat.

Also, a fully black interior with aluminium trim greatly lifts the interior ambiance, giving it an upmarket feel. I think this Kia Optima is the one Korean car I’ve driven that has broken away from the cheapo Korean interior feel. No unsightly interior with acres and acres of boring grey. Of course, the engine and transmission combo is really nothing to shout about. Rather boring. It works, but that’s about it. But I think someone looking at the Optima will not be too bothered about that. The car was quite comfortable and NVH levels was up to standards. The Infinity 6.1 audio system was somewhat of a let-down though. It’s above average but it isn’t any different from what you get in 2.4 litre versions of Japanese D-segment sedans, just that here you are able to have it in a 2.0 litre Korean D-Segment sedan.

All the basic safety features are there – dual SRS airbags, active headrest, ABS brakes with EBD. The Novus is safer of course since it has ESP stability control. Not a bad alternative to C-segment Japanese sedans, but there will be many concerns on Naza Kia’s network – dealerships, aftersales service, and of course other than that there is the dreaded reputation for Korean cars to be heavy fuel guzzlers. If Naza Kia can get over these obstacles, the car should theoretically sell. This new generation of Kias use engines that can be considered modern, equipped with features like CVVT variable valve timing. This should help alot with the fuel consumption. The Optima along with the Spectra5, and Sportage also have trip computers to help you measure your fuel consumption.

Lastly, both the Kia Optima EX and Kia Optima EX Novus come with a 5 year or 125,000km warranty and a 2 years or 50,000km free service package.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 7:35 am

a supreme large car with a 2.0L engine.
    this car was never live up in my mind.
    kia car is no1 high FC like my brother 1.1L kia picanto worst than my mother 2.0L accord.
    better go for japs car

• NiceCar (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 8:18 am

huge improvement for the quality and design cooompare to previous optima..
    which this selling price, the c/p value is high!!

to PTAllTheBest, r u sure boh the kia picanto FC worst than 2.0 accord??
    but for me, i had drive the kia picanto for almost 3 years, the FC still ok lo.. is about RM0.13 per km.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 8:42 am

yes. very sure.
    my little brother condemn that car with extremely high FC.
    cannot tahan oledi. wanna sell off that car.
    somemore auto and no power at all.

• wei_tsung (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 9:07 am

1.1L kia picanto FC rm0.13 per km works out to be 6.77L/100km. or 14.7km/L if based onRM1.92 per L of petrol. that is about same FC with my Honda City 1.5 Vtec which FC ranges between 6.5-7.0L/100km.

• wei_tsung (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 9:08 am

So it si true what they say about Korean cars, Kia in particular.

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2007 at 9:21 am

The Picanto engine is from the old generation of Kias. This Optima is of the new generation. Maybe things have changed. I’ll try to get the Optima for a test drive length of at least 3 full tanks of petrol worth of travelling time to measure fuel consumption for this new Theta engine.

• Dennis on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:04 pm

Hi Paul Tan,

Appreciate some info about Kia Optima 2008 fuel consumption. Is RM0.20/KM achievable with town + highway driving?

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 9:48 am

yeap… plz dont generalize all the korean car FC… at least they made leaps and bounds since proton last launched a sedan car… Kia is now a recognised brand among the European community and uses European marque designers to have a new design language for their cars…

and do u guys know that old generation engines + bad auto transmission + low power = high FC… try driving a kancil 660/850 auto in actual town driving and record the FC… it will be the same as the Waja 1.6 auto in town driving… so big CC is not always equal to bad FC in town…

some of the cars that have a very bad FC in the region of 20sen/km are Atos auto, Picanto auto, Kancil auto, Getz 1.3 Auto… but newer generation engines from Koreans like Getz 1.4, new Sonata NF have reasonable FC comparable to the Japs… while Proton still hasnt improve much over the last 8 years… give the Koreans a chance… drive them and then only u comment… it seems like the Koreans have new generation of engines every 2-3 years to catch up with the European market…

btw, Paul… can we get some write ups for the Kia Spectra5 as well? liked to hear more of what the 121ps 1.6L all aluminium CVVT engine can do?

• hazri99 (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 9:52 am

whu are u comparing this Optima to that Picanto..”Sekiranya anda masih lagi berkira tentang minyak/petrol kereta sebenarnya anda masih belum layak memakai kereta”

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 10:28 am

I would say, anything improves, just give it a try.

But it is sad to see it priced closed to the Mitsubishi Lancer GT, i mean its only rm6k difference and you have a peace of mind from MMM, 5 years warranty, 3 years maintenance free. So far, I trust how MMM treats its customers, much more than how NAZA treats its customers. I just hope NAZA improves its customer services, before it loses more customers. Just judging from the Naza Sutera, Naza Bestari and Naza Suria, there are reasons why it isn’t oftenly seen on the road and thru all lengths people are still more interested into buying Proton and Perodua, just my 2 cents

• BrakeFader (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 10:57 am

This would give more competition to Kah Bintang’s Sonata CVVT. Good thing that Naza didn’t dress it up with cheap accessories. I assume that the interior space is similar to NF Sonata and is pretty huge. This is a budget version of having a 7 series (as claimed by Kah Bintang on its interior space).

• ynnad (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 11:27 am

check out the bodykits from Korea for this car…

http://www.evofusionusa.com/TeamSR/Kia/06optima-fluxionkit.html

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 11:35 am

IMHO Kia Sportage, Optima & Spectra5 come with 5 years / 125,000km warranty and 2 years / 50,000km free service package. There’s also a Trip Computer in the new Kias so you can monitor your own fuel consumption and decide if all the talk is just hot air or valid. Also, take a close look at the Japanese competitors interior and compare with the Optima (plastic quality, gaps, etc.) … draw your own conclusions.

• mosfet (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 11:40 am

this model has been standard car for taxis in korea lately alongside sonata nf and azera
    i have to say it is very spacious and comfortable
    and what i like the most is its silence operation
    you can barely hear the engine’s sound

• syong888 (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 1:37 pm

ynnad said,
    September 3, 2007 @ 11:27 am

check out the bodykits from Korea for this car…

http://www.evofusionusa.com/TeamSR/Kia/06optima-fluxionkit.html

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Looks cool.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 1:53 pm

Is the new engine same family like the new lancer 4b11? I heard Kia, hyundai, GM, mitsu all use same engine…

• szw (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 1:54 pm

the techo all that inspired by 7-series ?

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 2:48 pm

yo, syong888 dast some cool bods, especially those nasty lookin’ eyelids….yeah….but aint my type of car though..hehe

• gogo2 (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 2:58 pm

yeah, price same as Lancer GT cbu in Japan. but in terms of luxury, I think optima wins. in terms of everything else, Lancer wins :P

• petulance (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 3:50 pm

A few things to note.

A bigger engine does not necessarily equate to higher fuel consumption. Fuel consumption depends on how hard the engine is working, so for example, a heavily worked 1.6 litre engine with 4 adults + luggage in the car should consume more fuel than a 3.0 litre V6.

Second, the Lancer and Optima are aimed at different markets. Over here in Oz, the Lancer is a small car for singles/couples/grandmas/small families while the Optima is a medium-sized car targeted at families.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 4:34 pm

interior looks for pickup truck

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 5:36 pm

Never have a heart for Korean cars except the latest Hyundai coupe. Like Clarkson said, ‘petrol is cheaper than milk’, if its really unbearable lets save the milk money for petrol and hop on the commuter…

• nmh (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 5:49 pm

How bout driving dynamic…did the driver really connected to the car. My spectra sucks and i really hope this one improved (i know its not in the same segment). And one good thing, the interior looks better than the new overpriced sonata. The exterior…the rear is very european and the front is hideous..hope they redesign the front lamp and grill

• albagmane (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 6:02 pm

i have no idea why the korean car makers can chase up with the jap car makers… look at the metre display, its juz like from the early 90’s era!!! and how brilliant is honda able to create such a nice looking metre display for their civic while Kia… ehhem!

• digiman (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 6:37 pm

paul, did Naza mention anything on the Fuel Efficiency?

• jackson91 (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 9:45 pm

hi paul,
    190KM/H at close to 5000 RPM.

how did the car felt at that speed? solid, floaty, able to go faster?

• nmh (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 12:13 am

Add a few thousand and get yourself a new Mitsu Lancer 2.0gt. of course its better and good looking.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 11:16 am

Yeah exteriorwise perhaps but what is your definition of ‘better’? The interior plastic fit and finish sure isn’t. Go check them both out for yourself and draw your own conclusion.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 3:17 pm

I had seen this Optima ’07 & Sonata NF are used as Taxi in Singapore…

can take a ride in these if you want know more…

• Charger (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 7:57 pm

My friend’s Sonata NF 2.4, highway travel can reach 700km for full tank.

It’s the same engine (and gearbox?) as this Optima. Go figure! :P

• tommy73 (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 9:27 pm

Naza Kia has probably been caught off guard by MMM. At RM 110k and compared to Lancer 2.0 GT RM 115k, I’ll be surprised it can sell. If I consider engine technology, performance, styling, brand image, after sales service, Lancer GT will beat this Optima hands down. Maybe RM 90k, maybe not.

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 1:29 pm

emm.. good pricing.. the price suits da car.. i wonder why the dashboard look like suv’s.. like old santa fe if im not mistaken.. =)

• Parvin on May 18, 2009 at 11:17 pm

I required Kia Optima Ex, 2.0L 2006 model, complete engine, automatic transmission, petrol. I need to change in my car and having problems to loacte one.

Can anyone help with this, email me on [email protected].

• val_h4 on Oct 11, 2009 at 6:48 pm

My husband just purchased this Kia Optima Novus 2.0L 2009 model a few days ago at a steal.

Paul, have you managed try test driving the car for its FC?

My only concerns for this car is the CF, performance and maintainance (break down in electronic parts)

• i bought kia optima recently…it doesn’t have aux and sunroof…..how the hell???

• carlito on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:09 pm

I just bought a 2007 used kia optima novus for RM62k. Only two words, value 4 money! Superb car. no regrets at all. more classy then kia forte, which is too sporty for my taste. The new kia optima TF is going to be a cracker.

• waldos78 on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:26 am

bought optima in 2007….still using the same car….no problem so far….still happy using the same car…

• Boddin on Sep 23, 2011 at 3:18 pm

waldos78, yes you are right! I drove a five year old model rented from KLCC to Pagoh – full tank. Top-up fuel at Pagoh Esso station continue cruising to Danga Bay, JB for only RM45.00 compared to my Camry 2.0 RM55.00 and Honda Accord 2.0 RM50.00. Pickup was obviously awsome compared to both models mentioned here with “superb” handling when overtake “cruising” express buses and long body highway trailers! Tested “cruising for maximum speed” at 170km/h with no engine roaring heard! Maybe this model almost met the performance of my old 97′ W124 masterpiece! Heh heh heh…..