Subaru Justy joins the rebadged Daihatsu Boon clan

The Daihatsu Boon, the Toyota Passo and the Perodua Myvi triplets have a new sibling now in the form of the Subaru Justy. This is expected since Toyota has some stakeholding in Subaru now. The new Subaru Justy was unveiled at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show and is positioned as an entry-level model in Subaru’s line-up.

The Subaru Justy is only available with a 3-cylinder 1.0 litre DOHC engine making 68 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 94Nm of torque at 3,600rpm, slightly higher than what we get in the 1 litre version of our Myvi – 57hp at 6,000rpm and 88Nm at 3,600rpm. This is because the Justy uses the 1KR-FE 1.0 litre engine from the Passo, Boon and Aygo instead of our Myvi’s EJ-VE. This engine is mated to a 5-speed manual transmission with no automatic option currently.

Two trim levels are available – the “sporty” 1.0S and the basic 1.0E, which to me actually look very similiar other than the wheels put on the car. The 1.0S gets 14 inch aluminium alloy wheels with 175/65/R14 tyres while the 1.0E gets 13 inch steel wheels with full wheel caps wrapped with 155/80R13 tyres.

On the inside, the 1.0S gets more airbags then the 1.0E – 6 versus 4, with the additional 2 being curtain airbags for the front and rear on both sides. Other 1.0S exclusive options are a chrome accented gear knob and a manual seat lifter for the driver’s seat. Safety features include usual ABS and EBD for both models.

Check out more photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mofo (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 5:27 am

Myvi look better than this. From picture, Myvi look wider than Justy.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 7:45 am

Sad to see the Justy lose its original quirkiness.

It was one of the first (if not the first?) to run a CVT and offered AWD in a small package…and that was 20 years ago.

• NiceCar (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 7:45 am

the car dimension is totally same as boon, even myvi…
    but at least myvi have some facelift on it and subaru seem really rebadged.. only change the badge logo from daihatsu to subaru..

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 8:32 am

No NiceCar, the dash and audio headunit are exactly yhe same as our Myvi, as Daihatsu’s Sirion is just so much more stylish.

• acbc (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 9:32 am

More choices for MyVi owners previously paying cut-throat prices for original Passo bodykit.

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 9:42 am

Hm, the Myvi looks better, somehow this Justy lacks the vow factor. And I noticed the dashboard is that of the Myvi!

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 9:43 am

AWD?

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 9:43 am

If drive this on Malaysian road, people will still see it as MyVi

• petulance (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 11:11 am

Form the article

“The Subaru Justy is only available with a 3-cylinder 1.0 liter DOHC engine making 68 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 94Nm of torque at 3,600rpm

Two trim levels are available – the sporty 1.0S”

cough, cough … sporty? with a 68hp engine? surely you are taking the piss.

4G63T DSM , AWD and an automatic transmission in a 1 litre engine car? surely that would result in anemic performance.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 11:35 am

Wow… 6 or 4 air-bags… compare to Malaysian market cars… even P1 & Perodua have max 2 air bags only…

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 12:18 pm

come on…all daihatsu, perodua gt the same dash..of course this gt it too…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 12:20 pm

Yes, it would be anemic of course. But if you are stuck in a snow drift in your driveway, you wont be complaining. Not for the local market obviously…. ;p. This is also the reason they used a CVT, a normal auto was deemed to suck too much power.

But Jap Kei cars had options with AWD (Mira TrXX) and has proven to be a pretty perky runner….that and it weights nothing….

• petulance (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 12:39 pm

4G63T DSM , you are right. Pure power isn’t the only factor. The power to weight ratio is also important.

Didn’t know a CVT would be more power efficient than a normal auto. I thought the benefit of CVT would be better fuel consumption, since CVT has an “infinite” number of gears.

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 1:01 pm

CVT used clutch to engage d gear box like manual, unlike conventional auto used torque converter, which rob around 35% power for those old auto gearbox, duno how they improved newer auto tho, so cvt still hv more power put onto wheels than torque converter :) any info pls refer to howstuffworks.com ;)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 1:07 pm

CVTs are more efficient, not for the gearbox itself, but how it manages the engine’s torque more efficiently. Technically, it always has the right “gear” for the load and speed.

With a conventional auto, the driver may end up in a “torque hole” between gears, leading to a feeling of sluggishness.

A CVT technically have fewer parts too, and as you know, less moving parts (especially those swimming in viscous fluid), less loss. It is technically possible to build a CVT wihout a torque converter, therefore removing one potential loss.

I still dont quite like a CVT though, dont know about the newer ones, the last one I drove was in 98 in a Civic. Felt too “rubberband”ish.

• I my (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 1:20 pm

Aiya… not boxer engine?? or turbo in it from subaru? & also 4WD too…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 1:29 pm

Toyota has a 4WD Passo.

Baffling as it is, 4WD is only available with the smaller 1000cc version and not the 1.3.

go figure…….

• szw (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 1:33 pm

wats da point ?

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 2:27 pm

LittleFire85 said,
    September 17, 2007 @ 11:35 am

Wow… 6 or 4 air-bags… compare to Malaysian market cars… even P1 & Perodua have max 2 air bags only…

i heard a joke once; what’s the use of airbags if u have a ‘soft’ bodied cars? if accident, ur head is saved and still handsome but ur body ‘hancur’. hahahaha…

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 3:45 pm

haiya…y now there a lot of cut paste dsign ar??subaru dah x de idea ke?? wat a crap!! hmm they got 8 airbags??y?? still not enough ka??if the car have 10 airbags pun..kalu body cikai.. x de maknenye…kalu introduce MYVi 10Airbags edition pun…huhu..baik ambk bantal kat umah tempek kat stereng je..jadi pillowbag..haha

proud2BMalaysian said,

September 17, 2007 @ 2:27 pm

i heard a joke once; what’s the use of airbags if u have a ’soft’ bodied cars? if accident, ur head is saved and still handsome but ur body ‘hancur’. hahahaha…

i agree la…2 airbags pun dah memadai.. takut nanti mati lemas dlam airbag plak..ahaks…

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 3:52 pm

i just remembered 1 myvi accident with MBSA van, the driver of the myvi has no head or upper body injury but shattered both knees.

• happymeal (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 4:08 pm

cant never have enough of airbags.

for the hancur-ed knee, they have knee airbags for u… and a properly designed, good material dashboard.

clever idea to put the glove box at the top panel of the dashboard, rather than the lower like the myvi, keeps hitting the knees of the occupant.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 4:21 pm

Do u know what the function of air-bags does? That why i say in this is low educated country, Dont even know what is call safety technology… Even smart for 2 & Passo can have 3 star safety.. In Malaysia the only can have 3 star NCAP is WAJA (still they have 4 air bags when tested)… So u think this car is more fragile then Waja?

Side impact air bags are design for side collisions to protect ur internal organs, while the curtain type air bags are design for ur head u moron… U always think front 2 are enough, but when side collisions, ur front may not open! Even open ur internal organs already gone! Some of u say this car is milo tin, why not u kick it with ur leg until it pecah? I think ur leg break first… That why until so many years of local car industry, even VSC, ABS, BA, LSD, 4WD, SRS Air-bags REAL function & Full NAME also don’t know…

http://automedia.com/Explosive_Safety/dsm20040501es/1

This is for noobs who don’t know what air-bags does in real world…

And for some ppl who take bantal into ur car, just take it and dont sleep on it… When collisions remember to hold tight to ur bantal ok? funny guy driving.. thinking bantal are air-bags… pity on u…

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 5:23 pm

Its not fair to call this car milo tin,but tin susu..I dont like or hate this car but I’ve seen some people putting pillows,anak patung..I wont laugh because it really suits this car design..

• heavymetal (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 5:54 pm

kereta ni bentuk kembang semacam,dulu banyak habis duit kat bodykit,bentuk tetap macam manjalara,..nasib baik dah jual..hehe..kereta kembang semacam

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 5:57 pm

suzuki, daihatsu, ….

• wong (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 6:11 pm

AH BOON!!! youre the master of disguise!!!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 6:14 pm

aiyaa..katak beroda brand subaru…

• altis_fan (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 9:18 pm

Yo bro, they are adik beradik, that’s why same looking.
    Those who don’t like air bag idea can try this one – pakai air suit like
    astronaut. Save money ma. No matter from which side you are hit, your
    organs are still protected by this air suit.

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 9:37 pm

#
    proud2BMalaysian said,

September 17, 2007 @ 3:52 pm

i just remembered 1 myvi accident with MBSA van, the driver of the myvi has no head or upper body injury but shattered both knees.

Then he should be grateful. He could have lost his life if his head weren’t protected.
    (Wanna try wrapping a pillow around your head while riding a bike?)

• unlogic (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 11:14 pm

I don’t know the rational they made another variations of this car (Toyota and Daihatsu). To boost Subaru overall selling statistic? I know Toyota is good as a company but I feel sad when Toyota took over Subaru. Subaru will loose it identity slowly and will become Toyota “boring” global cars.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 11:27 pm

#
    unlogic said,

September 17, 2007 @ 11:14 pm

I don’t know the rational they made another variations of this car (Toyota and Daihatsu). To boost Subaru overall selling statistic? I know Toyota is good as a company but I feel sad when Toyota took over Subaru. Subaru will loose it identity slowly and will become Toyota “boring” global cars.

i agree with u..maybe in the future other car makers only produce rebadge toyota car…lol

• ICER (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 11:28 pm

Is that Toyota want cut cost ar?
    Almost using same design, Toyota>Daihatsu>Perodua>Subaru….

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 12:22 am

fastcx said,
    September 17, 2007 @ 1:01 pm

CVT used clutch to engage d gear box like manual ……any info pls refer to howstuffworks.com

You yourself go read and digest before ‘teaching’ k? CVT had no gears! clutch pulak…. pandai pandai cakap memandai…

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 3:33 am

myvi looks better

• azrai (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 6:56 am

MyVi with Persona’s grille. Wow, wonder a boxer engine will come after this. A plain Boon. But a Subaru badge? Great. :)

• kerelbort (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 11:26 am

SHAME ON YOU SUBARU!

Get ready to get Forester replacement. a Subaru Fortuner.
    and get ready for Subaru Avanza, Subaru Innova, Subaru Hilux,

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 2:07 pm

#
    kerelbort said,

September 18, 2007 @ 11:26 am

SHAME ON YOU SUBARU!

Get ready to get Forester replacement. a Subaru Fortuner.
    and get ready for Subaru Avanza, Subaru Innova, Subaru Hilux,

_____________________________________________________________________________

haha..u think when toyota want to copycat from subaru?maybe there will be toyota impreza…haha..

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 3:13 pm

air bag ke apa bag ke dah nak mati mati jugak. letak penuh ngan airbag pun tak guna klu betul airbag tu penyelamat mesti kapal terbang pun pakai gak hahahahahahahha

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 4:51 pm

Siapa kata kapal terbang tak ada air-bag?

SEE THIS LINK!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sn/tvradio/programmes/horizon/broadband/tx/survivorsguide/airbags/

“Having an airbag fitted on the seat you’re in could help you survive the impact in a plane crash.”

Only budjet aeroplane who don’t have it! MAS also don’t have lolz…

• neurra (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 6:26 pm

*cough* i wonder where’s the uniqueness in this model anymore

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 7:02 pm

Hey guys, I’m sure you guys read that a Chinese company is going to produce Proton Gen2 and rebagde it as Europestar (ref. http://paultan.org/archives/2007/07/), doesn’t it makes you wonder – its alright to do that.

Surely, this will give an idea to those rally enthusiast to slap an impreza engine into their myvi for a drive around the plantation.

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 7:03 pm

ingolstadt, so did u digest it? CVT uses clutch to engage d roller tat connects to the crank. So check before you make such a statement

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 7:05 pm

o and ingolstadt, clutch not just use in manual gearbox, it exist in ur aircon compressor too! so when u arent educated, stop using ur mouth like ass hole ok? stop spitting shit

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 7:06 pm

here is a page for what’s the use of clutch http://auto.howstuffworks.com/clutch2.htm

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 7:08 pm

And Paul did state, this rebadge only come in manual transmission

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 2:59 pm

Myvi WRX…..

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 5:08 pm

Perodua should use back the animal names as a trademark,so this one should be called Perodua Katak..and so many different katak..puru,hijau …or katak yg pandai main roda..

• ab (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 5:40 pm

Is it 4WD like any scooby? Prefer the myvi lights.

• supernan9 (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 10:05 pm

They saving hundred of millions by just ‘rebaging’ one particular car.a few adjustment from the exterior,the car is ready to hit the road.welcome subaru to toyota,daihatsu and perodua family.what a happy family…

• kampung boy on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:55 pm

its an insult to the great name of subaru!!!