MITI: No plans to change AP system to auction-based

A few MPs raised a point regarding the AP system for the import of cars in Malaysia at the Dewan Rakyat earlier this week – and MITI deputy minister Datuk Ahmad Husni Mohamad Hanadzlah says the government is not planning to auction APs, instead keeping to the current system of dishing them out for free.

“Auctioning can jeopordise the business of Bumiputra entrepreneurs in the automotive sector as it will be difficult to plan ahead and make long term investments. The government introduced the AP system with the intention of developing Bumiputra entrepreneurs capable of competing and achieving progress in the automotive industry. The Bumiputra entrepreneurs would have to invest in terms of capital, showroom space, service centre, have links with financial institutions and establish a network of dealership,” said the deputy minister.

Are non-bumiputra entrepreneurs in the automotive sector somehow immune to difficulties to plan ahead and make long term investments?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 11:17 am

Sometimes, I wish I was borned as any race BUT malay. This is terribly embarrassing…..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 11:24 am

Competing fairly? Euk, that why the non-bumiputra work so hard to earn it.. kudos to those non-bp who success! Look at Naza, how use how many years to become so success?

Why don’t want to auction? Easy, coz they scare the non-bp will buy it all… :P

Well, if Proton are still in this market. Open market will always delayed to help Proton to earn more, especially now is the best earning time due to new model Persona launch… Do u think they will open it, when Proton is starting earning now? their mindset is always search for the easy road to earn more, they don’t know what is call fair competition…

This is just my though. Open market will only success when either Proton is bought over by VW or they launch the CPS model faster. So i think the fastest time when we enable us to Open market is between 2010, if lucky next year… Sorry guys, i heard some big exco guy say that the fuel price might went up to RM0.50=RM2.47 next year if the fuel price break 100us dollar perbarrel… So be prepare… Now the fuel price is around 95 dollar and still rising thx to the middle east country who are frying it…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 11:34 am

Sorry, i mention about open market coz until now the AP still not abolish… n inside the source they are mentioning about how the Proton is gonna penetrate Thailand market… If Proton already so Hebat, then why not open market it? Still so a wussy…

• bolo (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 12:23 pm

replace “bumi putra” with “umno putra” then all the logics will fall into place. this is just shameless excuse to keep the umno cronies vested interest.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 1:15 pm

not just “umno putra” buy also “naza putra”.bumi putra cannot get it because have to pay extra.this just for cronies.

• bmx (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 1:23 pm

The Malays are being cheated by the rich Malay politician themselves.
    The AP issue is only one small example out of thousands of goverment projects.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 1:37 pm

AP is non-trade barrier (i.e. quota) and is illegal under WTO rules!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 1:37 pm

Do the minister know what is he talking about?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 1:50 pm

AP is cronies passport to get rich scam!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 1:53 pm

Ahem, the statement shall read as……dishing out to cronies for free and they can sell it to genuine distributors for RM 20K to RM 50K to make quick buck …….. apa yang tak boleh in Bolehland?

• paxter (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 2:33 pm

sometimes i really malu to be a malay. This issue is really separating the harmony in this country. Then again i consider “privilage” bumiputeras as non malays cause they care nothing about the people they are stepping on, only themselves. And it is true what some other guy above said. IF you aint with the umno group of simple minded fools then u wont be getting any “privilage”

• mytouch (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 2:34 pm

some people owiz say our neighbour Lion country got “kia su” attitude,but now whos the one xtualy?Face d fact,The G now still try to cover up for their umno BP,other people miskin oso nvr mind…haiz…no wonder until now theres still no improvement btween d talks with VW…learn to give & take,then everyone will bcome stronger,tis simple theory oso donno,haiz…

• _xXx_ (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 4:26 pm

kalo tak suka, BERAMBUS (not Brabus) dari situ. Sori guys, I didn’t say this, someone else…hehe

• lpost (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 4:35 pm

AP should be abolish, and should give to any distributor of a brand, for example, honda malaysia, daimler malaysia, suzuki malaysia and etc.

To paxter,
    Last time u said u r chinese…

guys pls stop rasicm issues here…

• ojlee1 (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 4:58 pm

This is the “BOLEH LAND” version of “THE NEVER ENDING STORY”.

Now a day politician only got IQ but no EQ.
    Simply said something that don’t think of the consequences or the effect to our “BOLEH LAND” people.
    Overhere is not the issue of racist. We (Malay, Chinese, Indian & etc) live harmony here but just those politician that want to “BOIL” this issue for their ticket in the G. That is my opinion.

Somemore with the AP still overhere, the Transport Minister sure not a good position in the G, as he will try very hard to maintain the safety of our road user here. Since most imported car are well equip with well safety spec to the driver like the ABS, Airbag, EBD, VSC, HUD, HID, LED etc. Even though our “HARIMAU” car got some of the safety feature, but i stil trust those that import from JAPAN or Europe. Sorry to say that.

So let talk about our G policies not about racial.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 4:59 pm

this not about racism but more about our political sh#t.dont care any race,as long as a political,all they want is free money.at last,the victim is us.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 7:00 pm

AP is non trade barrier protective measure, what to talk about competition?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 7:03 pm

AP eventually lead to fast monies suck from rakyat! The cronies express ticket to become filthy rich. Some of AP king is billionaire. So it is understood for G to maintain this policy.

• wong (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 7:59 pm

Ap is just to protect cronies,the bumiputra stuff is just a cover up,politicians are politicians,they only give aps to their cronies to get ‘something’ in return…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 8:03 pm

By 2010, AP is likely will be phase out by FTAs.

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 9:57 pm

hehe. i do not think such a thing exists….bumiputra entrepreneurs. what a joke.

it takes a malay himself to fix up this issue and bring down the cronies. if they dont fix it up, nothing will ever improve no matter how hard other races work thier asses off. or type our keyboards to bits in any forums.

meanwhile, toyota australia is being pressured to shut down operations since the toyota thailand is so successful. thai’s conquering the SEA markets all right. just a one or two years to take down toyota australia car manufacture industry which i think has been in place for 20 or more years.

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 10:03 pm

AP system should be abolished. if u want to become an entrepreneur or someone successful, then work your way there. not be spoonfed

BigFish said,

November 3, 2007 @ 8:03 pm

By 2010, AP is likely will be phase out by FTAs.

————————-

i certainly hope so. fair trade between countries is more important than proton alone which has no where to go but down. …..down …..and down

• DAN L (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 10:22 pm

HYPERLINK ” http://www.discover malaysia. biz/ ” \nMichael Chick

It’s been interesting to read such free-flowing comments on an all “Malaysian” free for all. While we are on the subject, how many of you have read the book entitled “Contesting Malayness”? Written by a Professor of National University of Singapore . Cost S$32 (about). It reflects the Anthropologists views that there is no such race as the “Malays” to begin with. If we follow the original migration of the Southern Chinese of 6,000yrs ago, they moved into Taiwan , (now the Alisan), then into the Phillipines (now the Aeta) and moved into Borneo (4,500yrs ago) (Dayak ).
    They also split into Sulawesi and progressed into Jawa, and Sumatera. The final migration was to the Malayan Peninsular 3,000yrs ago. A sub-group from Borneo also moved to Champa in Cambodia at 4,500yrs ago.

Interestingly, the Champa deviant group moved back to present day Kelantan.
    There are also traces of the Dong Song and HoaBinh migration from Vietnam
    and Cambodia . To confuse the issue, there was also the Southern Thai
    migration, from what we know as Pattani today. (see also “Early Kingdoms of
    the Indonesian Archipelago and the Malay Peninsular”)

Of course, we also have the Minangkabau’ -s which come from the descendants
    of Alexander the Great and a West Indian Princess. (Sejarah Melayu page 1-3)

So the million Dollar Question… Is there really a race called the
    “Malays”? All anthropologists DO NOT SEEM TO THINK SO.

Neither do the “Malays” who live on the West Coast of Johor. They’d rather
    be called Javanese. What about the west coast Kedah inhabitants who prefer
    to be known as “Achenese”? Or the Ibans who simply want to be known as
    IBANS. Try calling a Kelabit a “Malay” and see what response you get…
    you’ll be so glad that their Head-Hunting days are over.

The definition of “Malay” is therefore simply a collection of people’s who
    speak a similar type language. With what is meant by a similar type language
    does not mean that the words are similar. Linguists call this the
    “Lego-type” language, where words are added on to the root word to make
    meaning and give tenses and such. Somehow, the Indonesians disagree with
    this classification. They refuse to be called Malay…. Anyhow you may
    define it. Watch “Malays in Africa “; a Museum Negara produced DVD. Also,
    the “Champa Malays” by the same.

With this classification, they MUST also include the Phillipinos, the Papua
    New Guineans, the Australian Aboroginies, as well as the Polynesian
    Aboroginies. These are of the Australo Melanesians who migrated out of
    Africa 60,000yrs ago.

Getting interesting? Read on…

“Malay” should also include the Taiwanese singer “Ah Mei” who is Alisan as
    her tribe are the anscestors of the “Malays”. And finally, you will need to
    define the Southern Chinese ( Funan Province ) as Malay also, since they are
    from the same stock 6,000yrs ago.

Try calling the Bugis a “Malay”. Interestingly, the Bugis, who predominantly
    live on Sulawesi are not even Indonesians. Neither do they fall into the
    same group as the migrating Southern Chinese of 6,000yrs ago nor the
    Australo Melanesian group from Africa .

Ready for this ?

The Bugis are the cross-breed between the Chinese and the Arabs. (FYI, a
    runaway Ming Dynasty official whom Cheng Ho was sent to hunt down)
    Interestingly, the Bugis were career Pirates in the Johor-Riau Island areas.
    Now the nephew of Daeng Kemboja was appointed the First Sultan of Selangor.
    That makes the entire Selangor Sultanate part Arab, part Chinese! Try
    talking to the Bugis Museum curator near Kukup in Johor. Kukup is located
    near the most south-western tip of Johor. (Due south of Pontian Kechil)

Let’s not even get into the Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Kasturi, Hang Lekiu,
    and Hang Lekir, who shared the same family last name as the other super
    famous “Hang” family member… Hang Li Poh. And who was she? The princess of
    a Ming Dynasty Emperor who was sent to marry the Sultan of Malacca. Won’t
    that make the entire Malacca Sultanate downline “Baba” ? Since the older son
    of the collapsed Malaccan Sultanate got killed in Johor, (the current
    Sultanate is the downline of the then, Bendahara) the only other son became
    the Sultan of Perak. Do we see any Chinese-ness in Raja Azlan? Is he the
    descendant of Hang Li Poh?

Next question. If the Baba’s are part Malay, why have they been marginalized
    by NOT BEING BUMIPUTERA? Which part of “Malay” are they not? Whatever the
    answer, why then are the Portugese of Malacca BUMIPUTERA? Did they not come
    100yrs AFTER the arrival of the first Baba’s? Parameswara founded Malacca in
    1411. The Portugese came in 1511, and the Dutch in the 1600’s. Strangely,
    the Baba’s ere in fact once classified a Bumiputera, but a decided that they
    were strangely “declassified” in the 1960’s. WHY?

The Sultan of Kelantan had similar roots to the Pattani Kingdom making him
    of Thai origin. And what is this “coffee table book” by the Sultan of Perlis
    claiming to be the direct descendant of the prophet Muhammed? Somehow we see
    Prof Khoo Khay Khim’s signature name on the book. I’ll pay good money to own
    a copy of it myself. Anyone has a spare?

So, how many of you have met with orang Asli’s? the more northern you go,
    the more African they look. Why are they called Negrito’s? It is a Spanish
    word, from which directly transalates “mini Negros “. The more southern you
    go, the more “Indonesian” they look. And the ones who live at Cameron
    Highlands kinda look 50-50. You can see the Batek at Taman Negara, who
    really look like Eddie Murphy to a certain degree. Or the Negritos who live
    at the Thai border near Temenggor Lake (north Perak). The Mah Meri in Carrie
    Island look almost like the Jakuns in Endau Rompin. Half African, half
    Indonesian.

By definition, (this is super eye-opening) there was a Hindu Malay Empire in
    Kedah. Yes, I said right… The Malays were Hindu. It was, by the old name
    Langkasuka. Today known as Lembah Bujang. This Hindu Malay Empire was
    2,000yrs old. Pre-dating Borrobudor AND Angkor Watt. Who came about around
    500-600yrs later. Lembah Bujang was THE mighty trading empire, and its
    biggest influence was by the Indians who were here to help start it. By
    definition, this should make the Indians BUMIPUTERAS too since they were
    here 2,000yrs ago! Why are they marginalized?

So, in a nutshell, the “Malays” (anthropologists will disagree with this
    “race” definition) are TRULY ASIA !!! (main continent and West Asia
    included)

Who is Michael Chick ? Got to website : HYPERLINK
    ” http://theunspunblo g.com/2007/ 05/10/should- unspun-or- shouldn’t- unspun/ ” \n
    http://theunspunblo -g.com/2007/ -05/10/should- -unspun-or- -shouldn’ t–unspun/

Here are some comments from Michael in answer to some Malays who have
    attacked him for penning this commentary.

Greetings. This is Michael Chick. Unlike others who hide behind “anonymous
    synonyms” I came clear with my real name. The post which I put up was not a
    figment of my imagination but the end result of 3 years extensive research.
    As such, the facts presented are clear-cut, straightforward and unassuming.
    Perhaps you would all like to chat with any anthropologist at UM before
    sending-off any flaming sparks in my direction again. These Professors
    should be as Malaysian as any of you.

The subject matter is fact-based. To Bayi, “Contesting Malayness” is available
    at Kinokuniya at Takashimaya 4th floor, Orchard road. At a cost of S$32.
    It is also available at National University of Singapore. Why ? Coz it’s their textbook. Let me repeat; “Contesting Malayness” is an NUS textbook, published by NUS Press, written by Professor Tony Milner.

To Achmad Sudarsono, calling the Malays a “race” is akin to calling the
    Hokkiens or the Javanese a “race”.
    Please do not confuse the term “orang” with “Bangsa”.
    What do I mean ? The term orang is used by Malays to describe Orang Bugis,
    Orang Acheh, Orang Laut, Orand India , Orang Melayu.
    And here is where the confusion was . . . .
    Orang Melayu merely refers to the residents of Kampung Melayu near Jambi, near Palembang . Please use Google Earth to find its exact location.

Unless you can say that all “Orang melayu” are descendants of that village,
    you simply cannot be called orang Melayu. In fact the name “Malay” has been
    traced to Lembah Bujang, where the Indian traders used to call the locals
    “Malai” (in Tamil) to describe the locals. The locals were animistic pagans
    at that time, and readily adopted Hindu practices and Indian customs. “Raja”
    and “Sultan” are Indian titles. The adat bersanding with the pelamin are of
    Indian origin. Even the “gifts-bearing” walk by the groom has its Indian
    roots. Please attend an Indian Wedding before flaming me again. Or have a
    chat with Prof Nik Hassan who is in charge of the Lembah Bujang
    archaeological excavations.

Malaya, was therefore a derivitive from Himalaya . “Sejarah Melayu”
    therefore was describing the Kampong Melayu origins. But here is where from
    pages 1-3 tell you that Kampong Melayu are descendants of Iskandar
    Zulkarnain (Alexander the Great) through the bloodline of a West Indian
    Princess. This came from Sejarah Melayu. This book is cheap. You can buy it
    at the University Malaya Bookstore for a mere RM35. It is published by MBRAS
    (Malaysian Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society). Its patron member is Tun
    Hanif (ex-IGP)

Please speak with Datuk Prof Zuraina Majid, who excavated “Perak Man”.
    She will tell you that Perak Man is a descendant of the Australo-Melanesian
    stock…. African.

National Museum of the Phillipines will verify that they came from Taiwan .
    And National University of Indonesia will confirm that they came from the
    Phillipines.

Nik Aziz (PAS leader from Kelantan) will tell you that his grandfather came
    from Champa. To all Kelantanese, please explain the newly changed name of a
    Kampong near Bachok (close to the Pengkalan Chepa airport) to “Kampung
    Champa” to our friends here.

Please also visit Museum Negara to see the exhibits on the “Dong Song” brass
    drums and Gua Cha in Kelantan near Gua Musang to see the Hoabinhian Caves .
    Dong Song and Hoabinh are in Indochina . And therefore, the locals are
    descendants from that region. The entire Northern States also have their
    roots from the Pattani Kingdom ; which today we call Tahiland. In fact,
    please visit the Kelantan WWII museum to see the article on how Perlis,
    Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu was part of Thailand from 1943-1945. Then
    walk over to the Kelantan State Museum to see the exhibit on Gua Cha to read
    their explainations of the Hoabinhian Cultures of Early Kelantan settlers.

Malaysian Archaeologists call the early settlers Proto Malay. And the
    current settlers Deutero Malay. The scientific term is actually, Australo
    Melanesian (African) and Austranesian (Chinese, or Mongoloid). This is a DNA
    and bone structure classification. Even the term Negrito transalates from
    Spanish to mean “mini Negro”.

I hope that I’ve made myself comprehensible enough. Feel free to ask any
    further questions to help clear the air. The “Malays” are NOT a race. I’m so
    sorry that you are only hearing this now. The rest of the Academic World has
    known it for years.

By: HYPERLINK ” http://www.discover malaysia. biz/” \nMichael Chick on May
    30th, 2007
    At 2:44 am

To address Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Lekir, Hang Kasturi, Hang Lekir and
    Hang Li Poh…. They were all related by the family name of “Hang”. Please visit
    their graves in Malacca. Their graves are clear-cut Hindu. This was during the
    “Great Malacca Empire” when Parameswara was supposed to have converted to Islam. Why are “Legendary Defenders of the States’ ” graves Hindu ?
    They are not having the spiral headstones, or the Batu Acheh type headstones.
    Instead, they are solid concrete blocks with traingular holes for incence and oil-lamp burning.

Hang Tuah’s grave (Kampong Keling) is another “conspiracy” -.
    Please read the inscriptions on the side, “… they found a large stone marking
    a grave, and therefore it must be Hang Tuah..”.
    This grave was merely designed to be a tourist destination.
    Note that there are no names engraved anywhere.
    Just a big non-descript stone marking that a human body lies underneath it.
    Lastly, why is A muslim buried in Kampong Keling ? keling meaning Indian ?

The subsequent question is why is Hang Tuah removed from current
    schoolhistory textbooks ?

One of two suggestions come to mind. He was pure fiction (please read
    Hikayat Hang Tuah before flaming me again), or as the Bugis Museum Curator
    in Johor will insist , that Hang Tuah was Chinese. So were the rest of his
    “blood brothers”. They were all Chinese; and related to Hang Li Poh.

Let me pose a simple question to you, Why is it, that when you visit Malacca
    to see the great historical Malaysian City/ State, you see the Portugese
    “A-Famosa” gateway, or the Red Dutch buildings like Christchurch, or even
    St. Paul’s Church on St. Paul’s Hill ? Where is the evidence of “The Great
    Malaccan Empire”?

Let me help you with that answer. Published by Dewan Bahasa Dan Pustaka in a
    publication called “Melayu Journal” in 2005. “…. we had to look for an
    icon by which the Malays would be proud of..” Since Majapahit, Acheh, Lembah
    Bujang (Langkasuka) were either Hindu, on Indonesian soil, or both, Malacca
    was the only location left. The great Parameswara is, by the way buried on
    Fort Canning Hill downtown Singapore , for those of you who want to visit
    it. They call it the “Keramat” immediately behind the National Musuem of
    Singapore.

Please enlighten me by showing me ONE single piece of evidence of “The Great
    Malaccan Empire”. Even Dewan Bahasa couldn’t. Perhaps any one of you
    could…… Evidence, and not mere gut-feeling please….

Also, please consult Prof Khoo Khay Khim before inflaming me again ;
    Thank you

• DAN L (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 10:27 pm

> >
    > > *The Truth Reveal (with evidence) – Must
    > read***
    > >
    > > In June 1998, the government of Malaysia
    > had hired a team of
    > > experts from across the continent to be gather
    > here in Malaysia for a
    > > research project to compliment the history studies
    > that we undertaken in our
    > > secondary school.
    > > The objective of the research is simply:
    > >
    > > 1. To find prove and evident that show the
    > Malays are the origins
    > > of
    > > Malaysia and they are the first race and
    > religion that lands their
    > > foot in
    > > Malaysia.
    > >
    > > 2. To further strengthen their claims,
    > first they need to find the
    > > grave
    > > yard of the Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang
    > Lekiu and etc..to show the
    > > existant of their pioneer.
    > >
    > > 3. The Batu bersurat in Terengganu,
    > reveals that the islamic
    > > religion has landed in malaysia for a hundred
    > years ago which further
    > > strengthen their claims!
    > >
    > > That is why, we are taught with sejarah
    > (history of malaysia)!!!!
    > >
    > > BEWARE & OPEN YOUR EYES!!! go ask your
    > brother, sister, niece,
    > > nephew and etc. etc, since the year 1999 (if i’m
    > not mistaken) or year 2000,
    > > do they study about HANG TUAH anymore????????
    > >
    > >
    > > Why is that popular subject GONE?????
    > Missing in action???????
    > > or evidence reveals something different
    > that causes the government
    > > to stop the syllabus and HIDE the TRUTH????????
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > *Here are the Evidences of the findings by
    > the team of scientists,
    > > archaeologist, historian and other
    > technical staff from the
    > > United States, United Kingdom, Germany,
    > Canada, Yemen & Russia. *
    > >
    > >
    > > *The evidence are: *
    > >
    > >
    > > 1) They finally found the grave yard of
    > Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat and
    > > etc…, their skeleton had been analise and
    > samples of DNA had been taken
    > > with the results show: Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, hang
    > Lekiu and mates, they are
    > > NOT MALAY!!!!!! they are CHINESE (islamic)from
    > china!!! and why are they
    > > here in Malacca????? because they are in a misison
    > to protect the UNGRATEFUL
    > > MALAY from the potential attack of SIAM
    > (Thailand)!!!
    > >
    > > So Hang tuah is not malay hero!!! they are
    > the protector of the
    > > useless and ungrateful Parameswara (who is from
    > INDONESIA) landed in Malacca
    > > and claim the land belongs to him!!!
    > >
    > >
    > > The hang tuah bunch of people are all from
    > china, they are being
    > > assign to malacca because parameswara request the
    > Ching Dynasty Emporer for
    > > protection!!!
    > >
    > > This is why the Hang Tuah series of
    > history is MISSING from
    > > SEJARAH!!!!
    > >
    > >
    > > *2nd. Evidence: *
    > >
    > > The researchers hired by the government
    > found the oldest tomb
    > > stone(grave yard) in Kelantan in year
    > 2000. Suprisingly the tomb
    > > stone are at least 900 years old!!!! older than
    > the so-called batu bersurat.
    > > and the best thing is, it belong to the
    > CHINESE!!!!!!!!
    > >
    > > Being landed first in Malacca doesn’t mean
    > malay is the first in
    > > Malaysia cos during that time, the road is too
    > long for them to see the
    > > other side of the coast!!! where the chinese has
    > landed far more earlier. If
    > > you want the black and white evidence of the truth
    > reveals please write to
    > > the The Federal Association of Arc & Research of
    > Michigan, USA.
    > >
    > >
    > > Please do not ask the chinese nor the
    > indian to go back to their
    > > home country!
    > >
    > > Cos evidence shows that Malays are NOT
    > Malaysia origin either!
    > >
    > >
    > > Your ancestor are all imigrant from
    > INDONESIA! Let us unite as a
    > > nation and not divided by races.
    > >

• DAN L (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 10:31 pm

It’s been interesting to read such free-flowing comments on an all “Malaysian” free for all. While we are on the subject, how many of you have read the book entitled “Contesting Malayness”? Written by a Professor of National University of Singapore . Cost S$32 (about). It reflects the Anthropologists views that there is no such race as the “Malays” to begin with. If we follow the original migration of the Southern Chinese of 6,000yrs ago, they moved into Taiwan , (now the Alisan), then into the Phillipines (now the Aeta) and moved into Borneo (4,500yrs ago) (Dayak ).
    They also split into Sulawesi and progressed into Jawa, and Sumatera. The final migration was to the Malayan Peninsular 3,000yrs ago. A sub-group from Borneo also moved to Champa in Cambodia at 4,500yrs ago.

Interestingly, the Champa deviant group moved back to present day Kelantan.
    There are also traces of the Dong Song and HoaBinh migration from Vietnam
    and Cambodia . To confuse the issue, there was also the Southern Thai
    migration, from what we know as Pattani today. (see also “Early Kingdoms of
    the Indonesian Archipelago and the Malay Peninsular”)

Of course, we also have the Minangkabau’ -s which come from the descendants
    of Alexander the Great and a West Indian Princess. (Sejarah Melayu page 1-3)

So the million Dollar Question… Is there really a race called the
    “Malays”? All anthropologists DO NOT SEEM TO THINK SO.

Neither do the “Malays” who live on the West Coast of Johor. They’d rather
    be called Javanese. What about the west coast Kedah inhabitants who prefer
    to be known as “Achenese”? Or the Ibans who simply want to be known as
    IBANS. Try calling a Kelabit a “Malay” and see what response you get…
    you’ll be so glad that their Head-Hunting days are over.

The definition of “Malay” is therefore simply a collection of people’s who
    speak a similar type language. With what is meant by a similar type language
    does not mean that the words are similar. Linguists call this the
    “Lego-type” language, where words are added on to the root word to make
    meaning and give tenses and such. Somehow, the Indonesians disagree with
    this classification. They refuse to be called Malay…. Anyhow you may
    define it. Watch “Malays in Africa “; a Museum Negara produced DVD. Also,
    the “Champa Malays” by the same.

With this classification, they MUST also include the Phillipinos, the Papua
    New Guineans, the Australian Aboroginies, as well as the Polynesian
    Aboroginies. These are of the Australo Melanesians who migrated out of
    Africa 60,000yrs ago.

Getting interesting? Read on…

“Malay” should also include the Taiwanese singer “Ah Mei” who is Alisan as
    her tribe are the anscestors of the “Malays”. And finally, you will need to
    define the Southern Chinese ( Funan Province ) as Malay also, since they are
    from the same stock 6,000yrs ago.

Try calling the Bugis a “Malay”. Interestingly, the Bugis, who predominantly
    live on Sulawesi are not even Indonesians. Neither do they fall into the
    same group as the migrating Southern Chinese of 6,000yrs ago nor the
    Australo Melanesian group from Africa .

Ready for this ?

The Bugis are the cross-breed between the Chinese and the Arabs. (FYI, a
    runaway Ming Dynasty official whom Cheng Ho was sent to hunt down)
    Interestingly, the Bugis were career Pirates in the Johor-Riau Island areas.
    Now the nephew of Daeng Kemboja was appointed the First Sultan of Selangor.
    That makes the entire Selangor Sultanate part Arab, part Chinese! Try
    talking to the Bugis Museum curator near Kukup in Johor. Kukup is located
    near the most south-western tip of Johor. (Due south of Pontian Kechil)

Let’s not even get into the Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Kasturi, Hang Lekiu,
    and Hang Lekir, who shared the same family last name as the other super
    famous “Hang” family member… Hang Li Poh. And who was she? The princess of
    a Ming Dynasty Emperor who was sent to marry the Sultan of Malacca. Won’t
    that make the entire Malacca Sultanate downline “Baba” ? Since the older son
    of the collapsed Malaccan Sultanate got killed in Johor, (the current
    Sultanate is the downline of the then, Bendahara) the only other son became
    the Sultan of Perak. Do we see any Chinese-ness in Raja Azlan? Is he the
    descendant of Hang Li Poh?

Next question. If the Baba’s are part Malay, why have they been marginalized
    by NOT BEING BUMIPUTERA? Which part of “Malay” are they not? Whatever the
    answer, why then are the Portugese of Malacca BUMIPUTERA? Did they not come
    100yrs AFTER the arrival of the first Baba’s? Parameswara founded Malacca in
    1411. The Portugese came in 1511, and the Dutch in the 1600’s. Strangely,
    the Baba’s ere in fact once classified a Bumiputera, but a decided that they
    were strangely “declassified” in the 1960’s. WHY?

The Sultan of Kelantan had similar roots to the Pattani Kingdom making him
    of Thai origin. And what is this “coffee table book” by the Sultan of Perlis
    claiming to be the direct descendant of the prophet Muhammed? Somehow we see
    Prof Khoo Khay Khim’s signature name on the book. I’ll pay good money to own
    a copy of it myself. Anyone has a spare?

So, how many of you have met with orang Asli’s? the more northern you go,
    the more African they look. Why are they called Negrito’s? It is a Spanish
    word, from which directly transalates “mini Negros “. The more southern you
    go, the more “Indonesian” they look. And the ones who live at Cameron
    Highlands kinda look 50-50. You can see the Batek at Taman Negara, who
    really look like Eddie Murphy to a certain degree. Or the Negritos who live
    at the Thai border near Temenggor Lake (north Perak). The Mah Meri in Carrie
    Island look almost like the Jakuns in Endau Rompin. Half African, half
    Indonesian.

By definition, (this is super eye-opening) there was a Hindu Malay Empire in
    Kedah. Yes, I said right… The Malays were Hindu. It was, by the old name
    Langkasuka. Today known as Lembah Bujang. This Hindu Malay Empire was
    2,000yrs old. Pre-dating Borrobudor AND Angkor Watt. Who came about around
    500-600yrs later. Lembah Bujang was THE mighty trading empire, and its
    biggest influence was by the Indians who were here to help start it. By
    definition, this should make the Indians BUMIPUTERAS too since they were
    here 2,000yrs ago! Why are they marginalized?

So, in a nutshell, the “Malays” (anthropologists will disagree with this
    “race” definition) are TRULY ASIA !!! (main continent and West Asia
    included)

• DAN L (Member) on Nov 03, 2007 at 10:32 pm

Here are some comments from Michael in answer to some Malays who have
    attacked him for penning this commentary.

Greetings. This is Michael Chick. Unlike others who hide behind “anonymous
    synonyms” I came clear with my real name. The post which I put up was not a
    figment of my imagination but the end result of 3 years extensive research.
    As such, the facts presented are clear-cut, straightforward and unassuming.
    Perhaps you would all like to chat with any anthropologist at UM before
    sending-off any flaming sparks in my direction again. These Professors
    should be as Malaysian as any of you.

The subject matter is fact-based. To Bayi, “Contesting Malayness” is available
    at Kinokuniya at Takashimaya 4th floor, Orchard road. At a cost of S$32.
    It is also available at National University of Singapore. Why ? Coz it’s their textbook. Let me repeat; “Contesting Malayness” is an NUS textbook, published by NUS Press, written by Professor Tony Milner.

To Achmad Sudarsono, calling the Malays a “race” is akin to calling the
    Hokkiens or the Javanese a “race”.
    Please do not confuse the term “orang” with “Bangsa”.
    What do I mean ? The term orang is used by Malays to describe Orang Bugis,
    Orang Acheh, Orang Laut, Orand India , Orang Melayu.
    And here is where the confusion was . . . .
    Orang Melayu merely refers to the residents of Kampung Melayu near Jambi, near Palembang . Please use Google Earth to find its exact location.

Unless you can say that all “Orang melayu” are descendants of that village,
    you simply cannot be called orang Melayu. In fact the name “Malay” has been
    traced to Lembah Bujang, where the Indian traders used to call the locals
    “Malai” (in Tamil) to describe the locals. The locals were animistic pagans
    at that time, and readily adopted Hindu practices and Indian customs. “Raja”
    and “Sultan” are Indian titles. The adat bersanding with the pelamin are of
    Indian origin. Even the “gifts-bearing” walk by the groom has its Indian
    roots. Please attend an Indian Wedding before flaming me again. Or have a
    chat with Prof Nik Hassan who is in charge of the Lembah Bujang
    archaeological excavations.

Malaya, was therefore a derivitive from Himalaya . “Sejarah Melayu”
    therefore was describing the Kampong Melayu origins. But here is where from
    pages 1-3 tell you that Kampong Melayu are descendants of Iskandar
    Zulkarnain (Alexander the Great) through the bloodline of a West Indian
    Princess. This came from Sejarah Melayu. This book is cheap. You can buy it
    at the University Malaya Bookstore for a mere RM35. It is published by MBRAS
    (Malaysian Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society). Its patron member is Tun
    Hanif (ex-IGP)

Please speak with Datuk Prof Zuraina Majid, who excavated “Perak Man”.
    She will tell you that Perak Man is a descendant of the Australo-Melanesian
    stock…. African.

National Museum of the Phillipines will verify that they came from Taiwan .
    And National University of Indonesia will confirm that they came from the
    Phillipines.

Nik Aziz (PAS leader from Kelantan) will tell you that his grandfather came
    from Champa. To all Kelantanese, please explain the newly changed name of a
    Kampong near Bachok (close to the Pengkalan Chepa airport) to “Kampung
    Champa” to our friends here.

Please also visit Museum Negara to see the exhibits on the “Dong Song” brass
    drums and Gua Cha in Kelantan near Gua Musang to see the Hoabinhian Caves .
    Dong Song and Hoabinh are in Indochina . And therefore, the locals are
    descendants from that region. The entire Northern States also have their
    roots from the Pattani Kingdom ; which today we call Tahiland. In fact,
    please visit the Kelantan WWII museum to see the article on how Perlis,
    Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu was part of Thailand from 1943-1945. Then
    walk over to the Kelantan State Museum to see the exhibit on Gua Cha to read
    their explainations of the Hoabinhian Cultures of Early Kelantan settlers.

I hope that I’ve made myself comprehensible enough. Feel free to ask any
    further questions to help clear the air. The “Malays” are NOT a race. I’m so
    sorry that you are only hearing this now. The rest of the Academic World has
    known it for years.

By: HYPERLINK ” http://www.discover malaysia. biz/” \nMichael Chick on May
    30th, 2007
    At 2:44 am

“Great Malacca Empire” when Parameswara was supposed to have converted to Islam. Why are “Legendary Defenders of the States’ ” graves Hindu ?
    Instead, they are solid concrete blocks with traingular holes for incence and oil-lamp burning.

Hang Tuah’s grave (Kampong Keling) is another “conspiracy” -.
    Please read the inscriptions on the side, “… they found a large stone marking
    a grave, and therefore it must be Hang Tuah..”.
    This grave was merely designed to be a tourist destination.
    Note that there are no names engraved anywhere.
    Just a big non-descript stone marking that a human body lies underneath it.
    Lastly, why is A muslim buried in Kampong Keling ? keling meaning Indian ?

The subsequent question is why is Hang Tuah removed from current
    schoolhistory textbooks ?

One of two suggestions come to mind. He was pure fiction (please read
    Hikayat Hang Tuah before flaming me again), or as the Bugis Museum Curator
    in Johor will insist , that Hang Tuah was Chinese. So were the rest of his
    “blood brothers”. They were all Chinese; and related to Hang Li Poh.

Let me pose a simple question to you, Why is it, that when you visit Malacca
    to see the great historical Malaysian City/ State, you see the Portugese
    “A-Famosa” gateway, or the Red Dutch buildings like Christchurch, or even
    St. Paul’s Church on St. Paul’s Hill ? Where is the evidence of “The Great
    Malaccan Empire”?

Let me help you with that answer. Published by Dewan Bahasa Dan Pustaka in a
    publication called “Melayu Journal” in 2005. “…. we had to look for an
    icon by which the Malays would be proud of..” Since Majapahit, Acheh, Lembah
    Bujang (Langkasuka) were either Hindu, on Indonesian soil, or both, Malacca
    was the only location left. The great Parameswara is, by the way buried on
    Fort Canning Hill downtown Singapore , for those of you who want to visit
    it. They call it the “Keramat” immediately behind the National Musuem of
    Singapore.

Please enlighten me by showing me ONE single piece of evidence of “The Great
    Malaccan Empire”. Even Dewan Bahasa couldn’t. Perhaps any one of you
    could…… Evidence, and not mere gut-feeling please….

Also, please consult Prof Khoo Khay Khim before inflaming me again ;
    Thank you

• armandd (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 12:26 am

i’m in a state of shock. somehow a post about AP issue had triggered someone to post history lessons here! =p. thanks for the post though, now i must get that book..

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 12:32 am

wohoo thanks DanL for the info, i’m suddenly refreshingly enlightened, gonna go get the book too..

brought back memories of history class a few years back when i was still in my secondary school…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 12:53 am

Already know the Hang tuah issue a long time, just the Malays don’t confess it due to face problem… Some even say it is some big pahlawan son from Melaka… DNA test is the real evidence, even if it is big pahlawan son they might be just Chinese who converted to islam.. Anyway last time parameswara are from java and that time mostly are hindus or buddha. He converted to Islam due to marrying an Islamic gal if i not mistaken, and he is not a good person also.. kill a lot of ppl during it’s way to melaka especially the menteri besar of singapore n being persuade by Siam army… So, for help sure ask protection from China. In return, sure China will sent some army for Melaka. Just think wif ur mind, if he just went to China and come back for nothing, i think Melaka already in the hands of siam already…

Anyways this is the AP issue and not race issue… I think u should post it somewhere… If this AP is still in this country, the cronies will always be rich while the poors will still be the same… If u Kampung people can bangun, pls tengok menteri-menteri besar in UMNO, berapa mereka membantu mereka yang miskin? Can drive merc, bmw & sport car, live in bangalow… while the kampung folks still live at their old home… What they help is just a little percentage, if the money from AP is into the fundings of G in development then i will 100% support, but now is the AP earnings are into personal pocket… Cronies, u will be punish by God & Karma will hit u back! PM! Pls Wake up! Dont always ZZzzz… >.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 1:33 am

Reinforcing the reason to bring back a car using student AP

• infinity (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 1:41 am

from my view…AP issue is a racial issue…in the first case, the AP was created to help the bumiputras, which does not include the chinese and indians, but strangely includes siamese and portugese …regardless of weather the “Malay” race exists or not, they r the main bumiputra…at the end of the day, if AP is to help the bumiputra, then AP issue is a racial issue…get it?

• bmx (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 2:18 am

AP issue is originally a racial issue, BUT after being mishandled, it became rich Malay poor Malay issue….got it?

• armandd (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 2:41 am

yeah, it’s only fair to blame the umnoputra cronies (regarding the AP issue).

• spidermutu (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 3:26 am

AP is just to protect selected rich bumiputra,thats it..majority benefit nothing at all from AP..yes non bumi is already immune to difficulties..a long term gain…

• acbc (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 3:26 am

Help bumiputras? They must be crazy! So far, they only helped Naza to be richer and richer… I bet some ministry officials also earn some cut from deal too. What about other bumiputras?

AP is a system for making money to UMNO-Putras ONLY! Nothing else!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 7:50 am

Once you tasted the sweet of HONEYDEW who wanna to drink WATER.

AP system is not for MALAYSIAN it is for SOME rich malay to be richer!

Paul, are you planning to Join DAP soon?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 9:02 am

DAN L said,
    November 3, 2007 @ 10:32 pm

————-

Dude, the above statement if any, likely written by historian, not scientist who are expert in DNA. The above statement is “scientifically inaccurate” as far as DNA is concern. Race or bangsa is just a social concept to a large extent influence or identified by language, culture, believe, way of living, etc.

DNA or Deoxyribonucleic acid on the other scientifically prove bangsa or race is “non-existence”. Log on below for DNA info: –

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DNA

DNA scientifically able to proof the relationship between father and son, etc or those from same family blood line but nor RACE, since they have similar DNA sequence.

So, don’t take what historian talk as all truth, there are lot of crap and bullshit as well.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 10:14 am

Again u guys got to blame yourselves. Did anyone force u to buy cbu car? If no one buys, the APs are just as good as toilet paper.

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 11:39 am

Yes,agree with bigfish,..all started from Adam and Eve….all this racist crap should end

• cyborgx (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 11:54 am

If you dont want to support AP system then DONT buy car from Naza. Naza is a bloodsucking cult.

• bmx (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 12:35 pm

Adam and Eve?
    Science shows prehistoric man are ugly, hairy and unintelligent. By the way are they black, white or chinese????

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 1:49 pm

extremely LAME!!!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 3:27 pm

90125 said,
    November 4, 2007 @ 11:39 am

Yes,agree with bigfish,..all started from Adam and Eve….all this racist crap should end
    ——————
    If use DNA as a tool to prove the existence of race, it is none existence. Means Chinese, Siam, Indian, Malay, Dayak, Moro, Javanese, Japanese, Alisan, British, German, Spanish, Italian, Slav, Arab, Jews, etc are all scientifically non existence. It is merely social concept and perception of different group of people to differentiate each other.

Michael Chick just give Euro-centric view on social perspective about “race”. Not only science prove “race” non-existence, my friend who are very religious told me that the religious teaching just refer to Muslim and non-Muslim, and never refer to Malay or non Malay or Chinese vs “barbarian”. So scientifically and religiously, race is proven non-existence!

So Michael Chick is not Caucasian, gwai low or the like or any race as we can see in social context. He is just normal human being who are foolish enough to conduct equally “3 year con men extensive research”. Those who attempt to prove existence or non-existence of any race is racist or no better than Hitler who want to create Aryan race!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 3:32 pm

Back to biz – AP should abolish – it is the most sin-nest monies just like cigarette, alcohol or gaming! Car industry do not need AP King!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 4:02 pm

DAN L said,

————-
    The above are another piece of crap from Michael Chick: –

1. The Hang-s are all Chinese Muslim, why described them as Hindu.

2. “Solid concrete blocks”!!!! He, he, he, he, keh, keh, keh ………….

Log on below: –

http://inventors.about.com/library/inventors/blconcrete.htm

Michael Chick is really Dr. Spin, he talk at his whim and fancy to suite his taste. Concrete invented by the British in 18 and 19 century. All these graves belong to Hang-s and Parameswara were dated back to Renaissance Period (15 and 16 century), where got concrete blocks? Got meh …… only moron people like DAN L believed this Dr. Spin blindly!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 4:14 pm

DAN L, better do your own “research” first, rather than being blind believer!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Not only Umno putra. Barisan Putra. You think Sami Velu or Ong Kar Ding are all clean? Rubbish.

This party is increasingly ignorant of Malaysians, anyone who opposes them are dubbed people who doesn’t love the country. Who are they to represent our country? We civillians, malay, chinese, indians gave them the opportunity to serve us, I believe we must take it back.

How many embarassing stuffs would they want us to endure before we leave the country for good?

Angkasawan? Nation’s Pride? WTF….. Space Tourist called Astronaut. We’ll I did snorkeling as well, might as well call me Deep Sea Explorer.

• DAN L (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 6:18 pm

#
    BigFish said,

November 4, 2007 @ 4:02 pm

DAN L said,

————-
    The above are another piece of crap from Michael Chick: –

1. The Hang-s are all Chinese Muslim, why described them as Hindu.

2. “Solid concrete blocks”!!!! He, he, he, he, keh, keh, keh ………….

Log on below: –

http://inventors.about.com/library/inventors/blconcrete.htm

Michael Chick is really Dr. Spin, he talk at his whim and fancy to suite his taste. Concrete invented by the British in 18 and 19 century. All these graves belong to Hang-s and Parameswara were dated back to Renaissance Period (15 and 16 century), where got concrete blocks? Got meh …… only moron people like DAN L believed this Dr. Spin blindly!

—————————————————————-
    so big fish or Dr bigbullshit …!
    ———————–
    whit just a small research u can tell all u thing o other r moron then …!
    so what a different u whit a stupid gov policy coz u r the same type of moron who never understand n see in mirror of your own self …n history who bring u up , not a blood sucker or spoon feeding , sucker who like a pirate that u r.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 10:07 pm

DAN L, look like you are very upset! You are good in cut and paste other people statements. When come to your own statements, you are good in scolding other without basis. No more than ranting and whining wihtout direction!

Huh, huh …….you must be very emotional interference!

• qayyum abdullah on Apr 27, 2009 at 10:24 am

cool.. blog paultan dah jadi blog sejarah.. semua org berasal dari satu keturunan… dan ingatlah… selepas kita mati.. kaum, bangsa, keluarga dah xpenting lagi.. hanya amalan masa di dunia sahaja….

• qayyum abdullah on Apr 27, 2009 at 10:26 am

jangan bergaduh banyak – banyak.. tak baik… =).. cakap elok – elok..ramai yang baca blog ni…

• barca on Apr 28, 2009 at 12:25 am

[quote comment="120483"]Angkasawan? Nation's Pride? WTF….. Space Tourist called Astronaut. We'll I did snorkeling as well, might as well call me Deep Sea Explorer.[/quote]

hehehe…this cracked me up.

well, based on the statement by the minister, i'm truly 'malu' to be categorized as a malay. i should've been born a spaniard/catalonian/andalusian. don't ask me why i wanna be a spaniard, maybe it's the "barca" factor :)

• AROLE on Apr 28, 2009 at 1:40 am

Wow..Malaysian history reveal…ekeke..but something fishy in the above statement..as far as i remember..the grave of hang's brother had never been revealed and located. Some said it is just a hikayat..which is story pass from generation to generation about the old Melaka story..then again..how they do the DNA analysis? Mind to share where the source come from?

I think it is not good if you just copy and paste other peeps article without knowing whether the source is reliable or not. Reading and rational thinking cannot be separated.

it up to you whether to decide if it is true or not.

Cheers