Mazda has updated it’s Mazda 5 MPV for the 2008 model year and besides minor cosmetic changes, the new facelifted Mazda 5 now features a new 2.0 litre MZR engine with S-VT variable valve timing and an electronic throttle as opposed to a rather bare bones 2.0 litre unit previously. The automatic transmission has also been updated to a 5-speed unit, while the manual is now a 6-speeder.
On the interior, the center dash area has been redesigned to accommodate a new touch screen DVD navigation system with a 6-CD changer, Bluetooth handsfree system and aux input. The sliding doors are now optionally powered, and can open and close automatically in less than 5 seconds via a press of a button from either the driver’s seat, the door handles or the remote control key. They also stop automatically if obstructed.
The new facelifted Mazda 5 also gets new front dampers, new suspension settings and a new stronger brake booster. Other enhancements include a new multi-resonator around the fresh air intake duct for the climate control system that lowers engine noise, strengthened wheel rims and Thinsulate® insulation sheeting added to the roof liner to reduce road noise.
A few more photos are available after the jump.
Nice…but I dont think the manual version will be brought in..Sigh..
is the rear lights changed?the pre-facelift one is ugly
The frontal image (the grille and headlamp) remind me of the first version of the Honda City (of 2003) … I guess the vehicles’ designers are running out of ideas?!
any ideas where will available in Malaysia? Price? Look not bad. THinking either Grandis or Mazda5 :)
dis is my fav mini mpv…one of the highly recommended mpv over the wish and stream…dis one as good as the the leader of dis class…vauxhall zafira…
keekeee…
dis mazda 5 is one of the best and highly recommended…if u compare with the grandis…the grandis is better in term of price and space…grandis is larger than mazda…ok..my personel opinion…i will go for mazda 5…u can get the excitement more in mazda 5….dats my opinion and wut ive experience between those 2….jz wanna share wit u…
i think the vauxhall zafira is locally available as the chevrolet nabira, plus u could always pick up a 2nd hand at 60k, but yeah the mazda 5 is an underappreciated mpv, but since the stream is out its gonna be a tough competition
Love the gear position
Happy motoring!
Still prefers full size mpv which can would be more fun for family wt kids such as Ford’s Galaxy, VW’s Sharan, Renault’s Espace, Alphards,US version’s Odyssey,Elgrand, Entourage, Chrysaler’sTown & Country….but would need a diesel version or else the fuel cost would be too prohibitive….
Mazda has been making very good cars lately, but in Malaysia we still get overpriced imported models, because of no local assembly. Also C&C did not put in much effort at promoting the brand. For example, the Mazda 6 is way better than the Camry or the Accord, and very few can match the MX5 or RX 8 for sportiness and handling. The Mazda 5 will excel in many areas when compared to the Wish or the Stream.
i would luv dis as my family car…
nice nice
rationally, for safety reason is good,
the other side of it, bigger family starts to shop for mpv, (affordability count anyway),
but must be not too thirsty, not too unsafe either,
so solid piece of automobil,
-diesel option might be highly prefered-
opps its for the rear seat belt topic
No wonder the price dropped to RM 130k a few months ago,probably to clear the stocks.The grandis is better value for money if you are looking for a full sized MPV.Depends how many cars you have and who is driving it.If you have 1 car which you drive everywhere including for fun and quick trips to the supermarket then the mazda 5 fits the bill. But if you already have sedan cars to drive around and only use the MPV for outstation and full family trips then the grandis is better.Also see if your wife likes to drive such a big vehicle. My wife absolutely refuses to drive a full size MPV so I landed up with a wish. One gripe about the mazda…if you have 5 passengers to go outstation, then you will need to use 2+2+1 which doesn’t leave much space for luggage as the 2nd row middle seat(karakuri?) is very cramped and not isable for long journeys. The wish/stream/nabira can seat 2+3 comfortably with aple luggage space.All mdi MPV’s can’t take 7 people with full luggage unless you use a roof rack
yup..agree wit some of u…btw…i mean d new zafira…dat mpv quite good and fun…sadly it didnt come to our bolehland…
What is the price?
Yes, unfortunately manual version will not get enough buyers. Lots of pakcik only buying to transport their families, unless manual is a lot cheaper
Now we know where those Seterika City’s mould and stamp went to. To much resemblance to the 2nd generation City.
Price of RM130K is a misleading ads from naza motor which they advertised for Mazda Premacy, (JDM model of Mazda5), and somemore it is all 2005 manufactured. Currently C&C Mazda selling 2007 Mazda5, unlike naza or other authorised dealer in which they are clearing 2006 Mazda5.
For your information, Mazda5 scored 5 stars rating in EURO NCAP and 6 stars rating in Japan NCAP.
Zoom Zoom…
i got my Mazda 5 about 3 weeks ago (7 March 2009). i got the 2008 model from bermaz. i didn't wait for the 2009 model bcos i needed it urgently.
the engine is very quite and smooth, comfortable driving experience, spacious headroom, comfortable, 6 seats( i like this one a lot), plenty of storage compartments.
i dare to say this mpv is waaaaaayyyyyy much better than the latest and sporty honda stream or toyota wish.
if you are looking for the very best mpv, Mazda 5 is for you, hands down.
Tengku Shahraniza
Arghh. its tough to make decision.. about to buy one..mazda5 is 2006 model rite?.. so when is it gonna release new one.. if i buy today then few month they put up new model… anybody have any idea on this?
[quote comment="230863"]Arghh. its tough to make decision.. about to buy one..mazda5 is 2006 model rite?.. so when is it gonna release new one.. if i buy today then few month they put up new model… anybody have any idea on this?[/quote]
mazda 5 year 2006 4-speed while mazda 2008 onwards is 5-speed… if i am not mistaken, in the november 2008 issue of autocar for car of the year awards, mazda 5 competes with new honda stream and mitsubishi grandis but the latter ends up being the car of the year… i wish i could have bought the grandis but my budget limited up to RM150k… grandis is RM200k… that is why i didn't wait…
[quote comment="230863"]Arghh. its tough to make decision.. about to buy one..mazda5 is 2006 model rite?.. so when is it gonna release new one.. if i buy today then few month they put up new model… anybody have any idea on this?[/quote]
If u must buy, buy. Totally agree with shahraniza that owning M5 won't be a dissapointment. I am contented so far with it's comfort & power while cruising and happy when doing shopping since I don't have to open the door. But sad when it's time to pay the installment :-)
But if u must wait, wait. They probably more options for u. Problem is the cost of fund may be increased for imported vehicles!