Proton Waja CPS and Proton GEN2 CPS Spotted!

Waja and GEN2 CPS Photo

While the public attention is focused on the hot new soon to be launched Proton Saga replacement, Proton continues to test the upcoming new versions of the Proton Waja and the Proton GEN2 with the Campro CPS engine under the hood. Reader Hakimin managed to snap these shots while the cars were taking a break at the Ayer Keroh rest stop on the way from Malacca to KL.

The Campro CPS has already been unveiled in Thailand together with the new facelifted Proton GEN2. The new Campro CPS engine produces 125 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm as compared to the normal Campros 110 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000rpm.

In the meantime, wait for my full report on the new Proton BLM which will be published at 5:30PM this Friday, 18th January 2008. I know brochures and spy photos are being posted all around the internet by forums and blogs which are not under the constant direct scrunity of Proton, so this blog might seem a little “outdated” now, but paultan.org will be able to bring you the car’s most well kept secret – how the new Saga drives and what the new IAFM-equipped Campro engine feels like – this Friday! Stay tuned.

2008 Proton GEN2 Facelift with CPS launched in Malaysia
Facelifted Proton GEN2 with Campro CPS engine launched in Thailand!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 6:03 pm

Well it is good for Proton to keep on pleasing us. XD

And the waja have 2 pipes :o and love that later version rims on it.

• bash (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 6:08 pm

so paul..you can testdrive the BLM eh?

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 6:16 pm

no more bulat2 rims for gen 2..

• tolan (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 6:22 pm

so now they have 2 types of new campro.. 1 with CPS and 1 more with IAFM.. couldnt they just make campro CPS+IAFM? wonder how the performance will be..

• Paul Tan on Jan 16, 2008 at 6:30 pm

from what i understand, campro cps has VIM. IAFM is the term for a campro without cps but with VIM.

• revive (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 6:42 pm

Paul, your blog is a freaking awesome place to hang out at.keep it up!

• Alifz (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Just some comment for waja..

It need abeit lower spring..not to low…

So that it more stable and good in aerodynamics..

• engtaokia (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 6:50 pm

i like the Waja new rims design…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:01 pm

hurm.Does the front looks like the facelift in thailand Paul?

• bash (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:10 pm

MisterBenjo said,

January 16, 2008 @ 7:01 pm

hurm.Does the front looks like the facelift in thailand Paul?

yeah..no front pic ke?

• armandd (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:15 pm

i can’t wait to read the review.. =p

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:21 pm

i like this gen.2 cps front’s looking…. but waja is still similar with current model..

• Bebelon (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:26 pm

new engine fitted into old model..no suprise…

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:29 pm

sure it’s not just a sticker addon at the local ahBeng?

‘-.-

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:31 pm

sincerely feels tat waja needs a decent facelift.
    its shape is perfect for a car in dis segment, but detailings should be improved! smoother grill, sharper headlamps and rear lamps, nicer chrome bits on “number plate” PLACE.. dunno wat its called :(

anyway.. well done proton! well done!

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:37 pm

People, this is the way spyshot pictures should look like. Heh heh no more blurry crappy images, Nice!

Ummm by the way, Waja looks too old already. Perhaps they can redesign the thermometer theme light and make it some fresh and clean design. Nice addition to the twin tailpipe though, which resembles Waja 1.8.

• shamel (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:49 pm

Paul,

New CPS-ed engine mere:
    125hp 150Nm@4500rpm as opposed to old 110hp 148@4000 rpm?

This simply will translate into GAS GUZZLING new engine, huh? Why not ask Proton to adjust to this:
    125hp 150Nm@3500rpm? or at least 110hp 150Nm@3000rpm. If I’m not mistaken, in GENERAL low rpm mean low FC. Correctly me if I’m wrong. When proton anticipated to offer low FC engine, it’s easy to woo buyers, most of the time fuel-conscious one.

• bash (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:50 pm

This is the spyshot only..wait till it is launch..

Now..lets wait for 18th Jan..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:51 pm

Loved it, your blog is the best automotive blog in Malaysia.

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:01 pm

for torque, its fairer for us to look at the whole torque and power curve. besides, good transmission and many other factors determine its fuel consumption. cheers!

• BW (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:02 pm

yay new proton saga coming this friday!!!!

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:21 pm

we need sifu to clarify things up. sifu, where are you???
    he said before new facellift waja (not current facelift one) is equipped with CPS+VIM. i wonder what is the difference in term of exterior between current facelift and this newly facelift. i bet the front will be differ since no changes at the rear.

seems like waja will come with better tire. same as satria neo 1.6. i hope the tranny gear ratio also changed for better fc.

• szw (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:36 pm

faster….
    i wan dat waja…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:40 pm

Paul, thanks again for updating us the Waja CPS and Gen.2 CPS. Hopefully the engine really performs well.

Seems like Proton is really busy now a days. All the best to Proton.

Happy motoring “car lovers”.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:50 pm

shamel said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 7:49 pm

Paul,

New CPS-ed engine mere:
    125hp 150Nm@4500rpm as opposed to old 110hp 148@4000 rpm?

This simply will translate into GAS GUZZLING new engine, huh? Why not ask Proton to adjust to this:
    125hp 150Nm@3500rpm? or at least 110hp 150Nm@3000rpm. If I’m not mistaken, in GENERAL low rpm mean low FC. Correctly me if I’m wrong. When proton anticipated to offer low FC engine, it’s easy to woo buyers, most of the time fuel-conscious one.

to answer your question…

actually cps in laymans term is automatic adjutable cams and valve at different engine speed/rpm

compared to the fixed cams and valve…the cps version reacts to the speed of the engine..so even if at higher rpm..with better airflow(by adjusting how much the valve travel and how long it stays open) the engine produces more power even with the same amount of fuel injected into it…so even in higher rpm the cps engine can be a efficient as the normal campro engine or maybe even more…the summary is..the amount of AIR that is directed into the engine…more air=more oxygen=better combustion=better fc+ power and torque…

hey sifu,anyone from proton R&D,

is it true proton working on their own cvt transmission??

is it true proton and lotus working on twin cps engines??

and is it true proton and lotus are working on a new campro diesel??

if its all true…its gonna be great news…but better be fast….

• jhuan (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:52 pm

This facelifted waja’s sport rims are not different from the waja I owned since year 2005. That waja 1.6A Enhanced Version is in QuickSilver Blue with the same 16″ rims as this upcoming FL model. Though the ‘Thermostate’ tail lamp and the twin pipes do not with the 2005 Enhanced Version.

Anyway, I like those rims. It gives the waja an Upmarket Look with its 16 inch and lower profile tyres (205/16/55). Also it has a better grips compared to my previous 2003 Waja with only 15″ rims (195/15/55). FC is a bit affected though.

However, one pc of 16″ tyre is costing you at RM300 (GY NCT5).

The same rims were used for other makes as well. Firstly, singapore’s grey imported 2007 Camry (USDM version) & local Kia Optima 2.0.

• jhuan (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:55 pm

The new rims for Gen2 is much much better than the current rounded rims. :)

• afroiq (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:08 pm

i think proton use the old waja rim..the 2nd version waja with gold and grey colour if i not mistaken..

waja is improving a lot..from interior quite cool with those kulit thing..to quality to performance now..

just want thing..waja need a new look..but current design is look ganas already what..

• armandd (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:22 pm

anybody want to see leaked BLM brochure email me, [email protected]

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:52 pm

Hi Guys!

Before i comment about the 2 CPS cars, there is some clarification on BLM. In the previous post, i mention that the IAFM switches from long runner to short runner at 3800rpm, thats incorrect because its actually at 4500rpm. Secondly, the maximum torque for the 1.3 Campro IAFM engine is still 120Nm and not 122Nm. I regretly apologize for the wrong numbers because i got it mixed up with the 1.6 Campro CPS data.

Looks like everyone getting excited in here! Ok, the Gen-2 FL is same as the one launched in Thailand, exterior and interior wise. Maybe got some difference in the accesories offered. For the Waja CPS, the exterior is still the same, however the INTERIOR IS CHANGED. The center-console in the dash is totally new and i can say it looks SWEET! It has the EXPENSIVE LOOK, with the NEW 2-DIN CLARION HEAD UNIT and other refinements which is hard to describe here. And another thing, WAJA CPS body has been further strengthen wtih heavier doors and stronger body, the door closes more easily now and with nice ‘basy’ thump sound to it. The seats are fully leather with better texture to the previous one.

Some Spec on the 1.6 Campro CPS with VIM:-

Max power – 127hp ( this is with EURO II Cat, the Thais got with EURO III Cat so less 2 hp)
    Max torque – 150 Nm (this the one i got mixed up with addition 2Nm with the BLM IAFM, sorry!)
    VIM and CPS switches at 3800 rpm ( this figure oso i got mixed with the IAFM, sorry again!)
    Both cars are using Mitsu trans, AT and MT but an upgraded version with better ratios and TCU mapping for the AT
    Both cars have top speed more then 200km/h
    Both cars have totally new mapping for the ECU with better throttle response.
    As for FC, i think Prem3377 explained it well. To conclude the FC depends on the driver how ‘light’ or ‘heavy’ the person is on the throttle.

For the other questions:-
    Sorry guys i cant tell anything much about the MPV, or the new engine or the trans. If i tell now, i might get sued! Hahahaha….but i can promise u guys wont be dissapointed. Eventhough Proton is late, they are reaching there.

To Paul:-
    Hope u enjoyed the test drive session in the new BLM. Hahahahaha….

Cheers!

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:58 pm

i use to hate gen-2. but i really cannot understand, after proton release persona.. gen-2 become more and more appealing.

hahhahaa dunno maybe it’s the sedan compliment the aeroback OR hari hari tengok kayu, lama2 kayu pun cantik..

BTW paul, your site is cool.. :)

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:00 pm

si-fu said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 9:52 pm
    Sorry guys i cant tell anything much about the MPV, or the new engine or the trans. If i tell now, i might get sued!

You just acknowledged they exist. ;-)

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:01 pm

Just wondering, has anybody tried Bose suspensions on Waja? and I’m so agree with Alifz, infact both of the models could go with lower springs. Maybe Proton could come out with sport model of them like the Merc E-series Avantgarde. The ride would be a little hard but it has drop dead look. One suggestion, really appreciate if Theo ‘our famous car illustrator & photoshop expect’ could come out with a real nice facelift design of the good old Waja, to satisfy our desire for a fresh new design.

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:19 pm

photoshop 1st then modfired real..hehe ;)

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:29 pm

i think ,
    first we look at savvy is somewhat to simulate continous allign with top grille and bottom intake, then gen2 facelift make it more vivid, afterthat saga 08 which is clearly into that new grille mood, and well…waja did in a way,

as i say this first half of 08 is an exicetement, along with its mpv in the making,

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:30 pm

still hiding …….(the hot hatch)

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:34 pm

damn… i hope next spy pic will be waja interior…. inspite of front pic of both CPS car. maybe brochure of those car should be more than enough. hehehhe

anyway, thanks again to Hakimin…. youva shown ur guts taking the picture. i wish u will have alot of guts than just now like paparazi and more hamedori!! good for your future. :P

• bash (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:44 pm

waiting time.. after BLM, Gen-2 FL, Waja CPS, nex gen Perdana, ..exciting years for Proton

• avanza (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:47 pm

Are they forgeting the upgrade Neo to CPS also?

• nmh (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:54 pm

No CVT plz…..proton shud consider Borgs’ simplified DSG gearbox for future AT campro

• avanza (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:55 pm

I also wonder about the Persona. Are they going to upgrade its engine to CPS so soon after its release? They really should have delayed the release of the Persona and waited for their CPS and launched it together. Then they can proceed with the engine upgrade of the Gen-2, Waja and Neo. This seems to be the more logical path. Just my 2 bits.

But I guess that’s something to do with marketing strategy. They won’t be upgrading the Persona to CPS until a facelift, probably with a modified facelifted Gen-2. That way they can generate new interest in the Persona.

• bash (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 11:07 pm

i think they will upgrade all the engine and interior..

means they are listening to us to improve p1 models..

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 11:20 pm

this Friday! Stay tuned.

way to promote your site kah???
    this time there will be no war i think. this new saga (codename BLM) received many good comments previously. how bout u BigHeadFish?

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 11:20 pm

persona keluar tepat pada masanya..
    orang ramai mula yakin dengan proton selepas pelancaran persona..
    tgk sajalah, berapa bulan waiting list..

lepas persona, tentunya model seterusnya lebih hebat lagi..
    waja CPS dengan dashboard baru, yang lebih mewah.. tentu lebih menarik minat..
    sporty gen2 (mcm thai punya), sesuai utk siapa saja..
    apa lagi yang xda?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 11:23 pm

the curent gen2 2008 has Persona interior….i tink the cps wont go to the Presona yet…as gen2 and waja wil try n go abit more upmarket and sporty catagory……the neo definalty wil get it……

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:01 am

PTAllTheBest said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 11:20 pm

how bout u BigHeadFish?
    ————
    O ya, most of my comments on BLM also positive!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:08 am

Waja already 8 years model, and already gone through at least “3 surgery” to tighten its “sagging skin”. Now they want to carry out surgery on its “internal organ” to make it more efficient. 1st facelift change the engine to Campro, later come with thermometer design rear lamp, 3rd chop off the “spander” design front nose come with VW-ish big thundercat logo, and now add additional “internal organ” aka CPS. I think this Waja is too old to call it “lady” since its ages to “makcik”.

It is time to come out with entirely new model, rather than “facelift-this-and-that”.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:10 am

No matter what P1 add to Gen-2, the sexy Persona with “buntut tongek macam semut keranga” will definitely canibalize its sales.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:12 am

The twin exhaust pipe for thi facelift Waja is no more than old exhaust design previously fix to 1.8L engine! New + Old = Old + New, whne it will come out with New + New?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:17 am

LOL! That Gen.2 CPS stuff consider outdated, coz the thai get faster then us…

Anyway hoping to see the new CPS waja.

Paul, i think the IAFM is another meaning. See this from decepticon:

http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/topic,470.735.html

• Paul Tan on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:33 am

in proton context, IAFM also includes a VIM mechanism

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:36 am

LittleFire85 said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 12:17 am

———
    It is not outdated but it is just not a new tech to most of manufacturer.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:38 am

So, the “last shot” for these facelift maybe give airbag and ABS to base line model and call it another facelift?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:02 am

thanks sifu now i know what happen to the “missing” 2HP

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:09 am

LittleFire85, i think its great that the thais are getting the car before us. shows that proton are serious about growing their export markets. the only way proton can survive in the future is to sell more cars overseas. after all, our local car market just isnt big enough.

how many cars from large manufacturers can you remember that were exclusively launched in their home country?

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:28 am

and there is a sensitive question i wanna ask.
    how much will it cost when open for booking?
    i guess 5k extra..!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:30 am

LittleFire85 said,

January 17, 2008 @ 12:17 am

Anyway hoping to see the new CPS waja.

Paul, i think the IAFM is another meaning. See this from decepticon:

————————————————————–

huh few months only already outdated??…are u refering to a computer or what…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:33 am

BigFish said,

January 17, 2008 @ 12:38 am

So, the “last shot” for these facelift maybe give airbag and ABS to base line model and call it another facelift?

————————————————————–

abs and airbag already standard in current waja…next time check first before giving a comment.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:36 am

a great start for p1 this new year…hopefully 2008 will become the luckiest year for p1…they move much faster then during jv with mitsu…those gen2 new look is so sporty interior and exterior…bet young exec will go for it…but a little bit dissapointed with waja cps…they don do anything to its exterior?…hope p1 change it a bit…but current waja looks is still not outdated just need to freshen it up with new head and rear lamp (LED mayb).front grill,etc…hmm let me guess what p1 is plan for this year…jan BLM March waja cps and gen2 cps, then june will be persona cps and neo gti…september savvy FL and MPV. disember perdana replacement model…hahaha just my fantasy…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:04 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop, I think in Japan a lot of cars are launch there before reaching other shore…

Check the new Nissan GT-R, Evo X, WRX Sti, all are sell and launch in Japan before anyone in this world. Dont tell me GT-R, Evo X & other JDM cars are first sell & used in other country?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:05 am

P1 should come out with a Gti Neo soon.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:06 am

Anyway the outdated means that the car already seen in Thailand expo. So not much excitement about the Gen.2 CPS.

What really excite is the Waja CPS + Satria GTi which said to be coming in this year!

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:08 am

iafm issue is stress more on lightweight component, and capability to push its intricate design with auxilaries beyond capability of alloy manifold, when alloy manifold is heavy, expensive, some manufacturing limitation for its compactness and comlexity)
    and all aifm is variable intake ready, of course taken place easily within it,

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:17 am

LittleFire85 said,

January 17, 2008 @ 2:04 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop, I think in Japan a lot of cars are launch there before reaching other shore…

Check the new Nissan GT-R, Evo X, WRX Sti, all are sell and launch in Japan before anyone in this world. Dont tell me GT-R, Evo X & other JDM cars are first sell & used in other country?

————————————————————–

a lot doesnt mean all….we got the Lancer GT first before Japan

• shamel (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 3:27 am

Thanx 4 the answer Prem. BTW we shouldn’t discount BigFish ideas. Waja is too old to receive another surgery. Within 1 year P1 should have new Waja Replacement. 8 or 9 years normally PLC of continental cars. Japanese, Koreans or American will change their model faster. We towards Italian (exception on new SAGA and FIAT/Alfa ROmeo or some extent Lancia) using different moniker for new models.

Unless P1 only thinking to discontinue WAJA after 22 years, like Saga-Iswara. :)

• wong (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 3:36 am

Waja should come out with a new design,especially the exterior, interior is okay,may minor changes will do….

• azrai (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 7:14 am

The Waja CPSs’ rim is actually the ‘recalled’ rim a few years back remember? In my opinion, Waja can get a better facelift if only Proton managed to redesigned its headlamp too. Do you realise Perodua and Proton hardly redesigned their headlamp in facelift (maybe to cut cost) except for Iswara and Kancil ‘Mata Bulat’. They usually redesigned the bumper only. they can ‘recycle’ the existing monocouque structure and comeout with a new model instead if they managed to redesign the headlamp (and forgetting) the tailgate).

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:00 am

Proton, bila mau buat MPV??

• tkp (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:06 am

Wow! now i’m getting into trouble.. which one should i target, A New Saga or A New Waja… I’ve always love to own Waja but could not managed to get one for the time being (budget constraint! :P).. so that’s why when the stories about BLM is around, i’ve changed my intention to get the New Saga instead of Waja… A new fresh looking design with cheaper price..

But now.. my heart is getting back at Waja… oh dear… it just like you have to choose one between another, like you want to choose the partner of your life… hahaha… my ‘first wive’ already worn out now.. everyday usage… in and out!! (hahaha.. its a 100cc Honda maaaa…. :D)

• tkp (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:08 am

err… spelling mistake, should be my ‘first wife’ though… sorry ;p

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:09 am

wow now waja also got cps…

but y persona no cps???

• nikolo98 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:11 am

I think its amazing for Proton to come up with an N/A engine with 125hp. It’ll be nice to see this engine in the Satria Neo. Hooray for Proton……. now the only thing left for proton is to make sure the quality of the finish is kept to a high standard…..

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:29 am

thanks paul..i can’t wait for ur BLM test drive report 2morrow..all the best!

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:39 am

ya… me too.. and i hope that is positive..

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:48 am

In the picture, that Waja wheels seem to be puny, like a 15inch one (although the design is from the old 16″ Enhanced Version).
    ———-
    jhuan said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 8:52 pm

This facelifted waja’s sport rims are not different from the waja I owned since year 2005. That waja 1.6A Enhanced Version is in QuickSilver Blue with the same 16″ rims as this upcoming FL model. Though the ‘Thermostate’ tail lamp and the twin pipes do not with the 2005 Enhanced Version.

Anyway, I like those rims. It gives the waja an Upmarket Look with its 16 inch and lower profile tyres (205/16/55). Also it has a better grips compared to my previous 2003 Waja with only 15″ rims (195/15/55). FC is a bit affected though.

However, one pc of 16″ tyre is costing you at RM300 (GY NCT5).

The same rims were used for other makes as well. Firstly, singapore’s grey imported 2007 Camry (USDM version) & local Kia Optima 2.0.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:52 am

Dear Si-Fu
    Does the Waja CPS FL has better driving dynamics & ride comfort? Care to share some? I’m sure Proton has improved its chasis and suspension set-up. So that the normal ‘kiok-kiok’ sound associated with the wear & tear of the rear suspension no longer exist.

=======
    si-fu said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 9:52 pm

Looks like everyone getting excited in here! Ok, the Gen-2 FL is same as the one launched in Thailand, exterior and interior wise. Maybe got some difference in the accesories offered. For the Waja CPS, the exterior is still the same, however the INTERIOR IS CHANGED. The center-console in the dash is totally new and i can say it looks SWEET! It has the EXPENSIVE LOOK, with the NEW 2-DIN CLARION HEAD UNIT and other refinements which is hard to describe here. And another thing, WAJA CPS body has been further strengthen wtih heavier doors and stronger body, the door closes more easily now and with nice ‘basy’ thump sound to it. The seats are fully leather with better texture to the previous one

• kington (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:13 am

Well, with this much awaited new batch of engines from Proton, it certainly looks better for them as they now have a wider range to compete in. I’m sure the CPS+VIM will make it through to the others, like the Satria Neo and the PErsona.

It’s about time they started things rolling, but with the gloom outcast of the world economy now shadowing the performance of many stocks, i hope the export plans for Proton and Perodua will not be affected by much.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:16 am

BigFish said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 12:12 am

The twin exhaust pipe for thi facelift Waja is no more than old exhaust design previously fix to 1.8L engine! New + Old = Old + New, whne it will come out with New + New?

==agreed, at least some exterior and interior to have a new refreshment. especially the exterior, can’t tell if is a new one except the CPS badge. a little dissapointed……

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:19 am

BigFish said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 12:10 am

No matter what P1 add to Gen-2, the sexy Persona with “buntut tongek macam semut keranga” will definitely canibalize its sales.
    —————————————————————-

Have you seen the Suzuki Swift sedan? That’s even worse.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:35 am

While i’m not a potential buyer of each of these 2, its about time Proton catches up.

Now, I could be tempted to buy a proton if they release this engine with a supercharger in the Neo with a proper 6 speed box. Other wise, its the same story…or I would just get a FD3S for the same money.

They should retire the Waja already and start working on an MPV or the Perdana replacement. Why would proton need to have a Persona and Waja sitting in the same slot.

• waimak (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:15 am

I love those rim on the new Gen2 with CPS, it looks ‘more lotus’. Great effort by Proton to add CPS into the new edition of Gen2, neat. A couple of fresh sporty trim would give the interior another wow factor – good work.

Waja was launched in August 2000 and was initially powered by Mitsubishi 4G18 1.6L engine. In 2006 Waja started running on 1.6L Campro engine with some facelifts. Now it’s already 2008 and we see here Waja with CPS.

I think Proton should introduce CPS for the ‘all new Waja’ model i.e. a new model and not riding on the same old Waja.

• GTI (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:28 am

at last…

proton will launch Waja FL n Gen2 FL. it’s about the time… but dun know when?.. is it launch together or else…

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:38 am

si-fu said,

Sorry guys i cant tell anything much about the MPV, or the new engine or the trans. If i tell now, i might get sued! Hahahaha….but i can promise u guys wont be dissapointed. Eventhough Proton is late, they are reaching there.

si-fu,

Any plans for Proton to introduce a ‘hot’ version of a Neo? Or a 1.8 litre CPS engine?
    Anyway, i agree that the Waja should have a totally new exterior design. The design looks quite dated to me, but it’s a good thing that they are totally changing the interior to a new design.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:02 pm

Proton Waja CPS and Proton GEN2 CPS Spotted!

Dear Paul,
    Only spotted eh? No Spot and Win?
    Come on, be nice to those contributors!
    Maybe a BLM?

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:07 pm

Though i’m not a big fan of P1, but donno why i feel excited !!!

• gtmaniac (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:22 pm

In my opinion, proton should change the Gen2 name to Persona Aeroback. Basically a same car with different bodystyle.

• gonggok (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:25 pm

MPV?

Last year, Proton staff were shown full scale clay model of the MPV and several alternative interior mock ups to get feedback on seating arrangments/dash etc.
    At least they are listening to people instead of everything on the whim of one person…

The most interesting thing was that questionaires were passed along to be given to the general public regarding a TURBO engine. When pressed I found out that one of the engine proposals for the MPV was a turbo campro. This will be similar in concept to Volks TSI and Ford’s ECOBOOST, namely to give big engine peformance with the economy of a smaller engine.

We know Proton has a Turbo campro runnig around for a long time – remember that pic of a prototype Neo with the intercooler? Maybe a lower boost version with engine mapping optimised for torque and economy.

But will it be fitted to the MPV? Depends on what the survey reveals I guess.
    I bet a lot of people on this blog would say yes, but Proton has to take into consideration the opinions and perceptions of the average joe on the street.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:35 pm

LittleFire85,

you only mentioned a few niche japanese performance cars.. there are hundreds of other cars out there in the market. another good example is the camry, launched in the US first.

nizam80
    if i’m not mistaken, a satria neo R3 is already “on sale” with some people already paid money to book the car. as usual, limited run only

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:59 pm

naikmotoje said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 8:00 am

Proton, bila mau buat MPV??
    ——–
    Cakap-cakap nak jual tahun 2009. Sabar sikit, mungkin P2 2009 model jugak MPV, biar mereka lawan, kita konsumer yang menang.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:03 pm

This CPS thingy, P1 shall launch it with all new replacement model for Waja/Gen-2. Facelift-here-and-there never ending …………. Waja/Gen-2 already in the market for at least 5 years, its time to come out with new model if P1 really want to compete in export market.

Existing model say Gen-2 export to China may can claim “new” to this market, but they are spoilt for choices, what a big deal for CPS say in Thai market if the competitors have same features long ago?

• cc (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:03 pm

4G63T DSM said,

January 17, 2008 @ 9:35 am

………
    They should retire the Waja already and start working on an MPV or the Perdana replacement. Why would proton need to have a Persona and Waja sitting in the same slot
    ______________________________________________________________________________

dont need to retire the waja.. make it 1.8 only,

• xstan (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:47 pm

oh Boy..CPS thingy revise again…interesting. many almost gave up hope on the rumoured launched in Nov 07. Dealers was unsure of the launched of this Waja CPS . Any expectation of its launch date??

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:54 pm

is that this 2 cars is for replace current model or just an additional model…
    pls answer for those who knows about this…

• napps (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:15 pm

dudes, i test drove the BLM already (seriously). the MT is not as good as the MT savvy, but surprisingly the AT is very responsive and smooth. plastics slightly better than savvy laa, but for RM30K-RM40K price range, u can’t complain. i see a lot of potential for after-market mods.

• napps (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:25 pm

waja replacement next project after mpv. perdana replacement will probably be a re-badged car. mpv styling cues from current mazda mpv, but much better.

• cetait (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:31 pm

Uh, that’s because the US is the main market for the Camry, they hardly sell any in Japan. Littlefire’s examples aren’t just “niche” cars, they are the “prestige models” of the manufacturer, with the newest technology. The best the maker has to offer. Who cares who gets boring mid-level content first? The point is that other carmakers don’t offer their best tech overseas first. They take care of the home markets that got them where they are. VTEC wasn’t launched in Mexico.

CPS is about as close to prestige as Proton gets, that’s why it’s insulting for them to launch it in Thailand when they’ve been falsely promising it to Malaysians for years now. Especially when they’re still pushing non-CPS ticking-depreciation-bomb Gen2s in Malaysia as we speak.

And there’s no need for Proton to demonstrate preferential treatment to exports anyways, everyone already knows it. UK-Spec Waja anyone?

• adunadun (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:34 pm

napps said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 2:15 pm

dudes, i test drove the BLM already (seriously). the MT is not as good as the MT savvy, but surprisingly the AT is very responsive and smooth. plastics slightly better than savvy laa, but for RM30K-RM40K price range, u can’t complain. i see a lot of potential for after-market mods.
    ————————————————–

interesting!! is this the same engine as neo 1.3?

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:46 pm

Just found out that New 2008 Altis 1.6 with dual VVT would have about 124hp but slightly btter torque of 157Nm/5200rpm… so new campro with CPS is not that far behind after all… only the bodyshell is outdated

• ed0r (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 3:42 pm

I’m like most of us too.

I hope they come out with an all new waja, no more waja facelift or that old waja design. New waja new engine, sounds better?

Same with jhuan; the rims of that waja looks the same as waja enhanced 16″ rims. The gen2 has no more that ‘kuih keria’ ala alfa kind of rims. Better rim designs, pls?

• adam_rulezz (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:39 pm

in the previous time..accent is competing directly with old elantra in term of size…but now…the elentra is totally competing in the new segment i assume…so..lets hope proton will do the same!!

a class = savvy
    b class = BLM – Saga ( the rear-side skirt kinda weird!! – but overall ok!)
    c class = Persona/Gen2 = = Accent = = Vios = = City
    d class = Waja!! = = Altis = = Lancer = = Elentra
    n then perdana to compete with accord,camry and sonata!!

just my 2cent….

• adam_rulezz (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:40 pm

to do that we need a NEW waja!!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 6:19 pm

adam_rulezz said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 5:39 pm

a class = savvy
    ———–
    In term of car segmentation, what I know are:-

a segment – none
    b segment – Savvy, BLM (Saga), Persona, Gen-2
    c segment – Waja
    d segment – Perdana

So, BLM and Persona definitely will eat into already less than impressive/poor sales for Gen-2 and Savvy. To increase overall sales volume for Proton? Look at their website, it is not much improvement.

• radd (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 6:42 pm

tkp said,

January 17, 2008 @ 8:06 am

Wow! now i’m getting into trouble.. which one should i target, A New Saga or A New Waja… I’ve always love to own Waja but could not managed to get one for the time being (budget constraint! :P).. so that’s why when the stories about BLM is around, i’ve changed my intention to get the New Saga instead of Waja… A new fresh looking design with cheaper price..

But now.. my heart is getting back at Waja… oh dear… it just like you have to choose one between another, like you want to choose the partner of your life… hahaha… my ‘first wive’ already worn out now.. everyday usage… in and out!! (hahaha.. its a 100cc Honda maaaa…. :D)

woww!! we have same story here. u know what my plan? i buy this saga, then when waja cps launch i gonna ask my wife to buy that one then we switch la. but im not marry yet.. haha

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 6:52 pm

adam_rulezz said,

in the previous time..accent is competing directly with old elantra in term of size…but now…the elentra is totally competing in the new segment i assume…so..lets hope proton will do the same!!

a class = savvy

just my 2cent….

==r u sure ur class specifications? how u classified it? hmm………..

• MrDDR (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 11:10 pm

tec96248 said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 6:52 pm

adam_rulezz said,

a class = savvy

just my 2cent….

==r u sure ur class specifications? how u classified it? hmm………..

…………………………………………………………………………………….
    i don’t know either. how to?

• kingglim (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 11:43 pm

Finally, Proton is giving dear Msians the CPS and VIM that we all derserve…that we should already have it since 2004.

Sad part, they use CPS+VIM to keep the Waja alive. Waja is already some 7 years old model, 99% of Msians are already bored by it, no point keeping it anymore. Persona got better chasis than Waja, they should instead put the CPS+VIM in an R3 version of Persona instead…cut down no. of models and save $$.

• cyrixMX (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 10:15 am

welcome back to 1988 :)

the era where VTEC were launched by Honda on the EF9 Type-R Civic.

anyway, i think we’ll also see an R3 version very soon .. expect soft-turbo + CPS to generate some 160 – 180ish bhp

• adam_rulezz (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 10:53 am

em? just my 2 cent..thanx big fish for ur comment…but i believe that the new MD/CEO will change PROTON future…

• hotwheeler (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:21 pm

at least, we can see syed zainal is doing his job very well, not like previous…

• adlanar (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 9:06 pm

MrDDR, tec96248 & adam_rulezz

usually (not exclusively) cars are segmented based on their platforms. so BigFish is almost right;

a segment – none
    b segment – Savvy, Saga
    c segment – Persona, Gen-2, Waja
    d segment – Perdana

i guess proton used a more upmarket design, option & trim levels to differentiate waja from gen2/persona. it would be better to relaunch waja in higher segment than persona gen2 but this also meant development of new platform.
    satria neo is based on the older satria platform which i’m not quite sure which segment it was, b/c?

• adlanar (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 9:10 pm

cyrixMX said,
    January 18, 2008 @ 10:15 am

welcome back to 1988

the era where VTEC were launched by Honda on the EF9 Type-R Civic.

anyway, i think we’ll also see an R3 version very soon .. expect soft-turbo + CPS to generate some 160 – 180ish bhp

————————————–

for a relatively new car company (25yrs+) to be only 10yrs behind honda is a good achivement i would think. can sumone clarify if vtec has similar to VIM when it was launch? if not than its actually better than 10yrs behind.

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Jan 19, 2008 at 12:41 am

aiyark..

No facelift? Common, we need some new exterior design. This is the old model. Reborn it as a nice.

I hope Proton will install this engine into Persona. Big Deal!

• cetait (Member) on Jan 19, 2008 at 3:27 pm

2008 – 1988 = 20 years, not 10