New Mercedes-Benz CLC-Class unveiled!

New CLC-Class

Yes, this looks like a new car, but it is in fact the old Mercedes Benz C-Class Coupe given a new name and a new skin, together with over 1,000 component changes. What you get is the left hand drive only, European-only Mercedes Benz CLC-Class. It rides on the old W203 platform but styling has been updated to match the new W204.

The new CLC-Class is available with a choice of 6 engines – 4 inline-4 and 2 V6, and the most popular will undoubtedly be the M271 Kompressor engine in the CLC200K which now produces 184 horsepower.

More photos after the jump.

VIDEO: Mercedes-Benz CLC-Class on the move!

New CLC-Class

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mdjqs (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 1:00 am

interior almost the or the same as the old model!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 1:19 am

Thats why its only a facelift. I don’t really like the rear lights…

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:10 am

the headrest looks like M&Ms.. hehehe…

• chun (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 3:57 am

I am really puzzled as to why Mercedes decided to go with a C Class coupe based on the old platform when BMW has their new 3 Series coupe and Audi has their A5, both based on new platforms. Was it due to budget constraints, or just bad product planning?

• kakilubuk (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:58 am

Mmmm! I’ve driven this car once. In my dream.

• armandd (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:52 am

the back looks just like e46 lah!

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:03 am

Nice to see nice to hold…still can never afford until i’m old

• McPadey (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:14 am

rear look like volvo 850

• abtm (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:00 am

the rear looks abit jacked up

• cutester (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:33 am

corolla_KE70 said,
    January 30, 2008 @ 2:10 am

the headrest looks like M&Ms.. hehehe…

Ya lah…. Put the letter “M”… hehehe. Cute

• csjm88 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 12:07 pm

I don’t see why Merc would make it based on the old platform. I know they had thousands of new improvements on this one but its still…one would feel a bit unsatisfied driving it because as much as it looks like a new C, you know deep down somewhere that it’s still the old W203…

• nmh (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 1:12 pm

This is just a heavy modification of the old one to make it looks like the new c-class. Pathetic. The interior is taken directly from the old c-class. This is the greatest lie of the century. I think they just squeeze B-class tail lamp on the butt of this car. Its not CLC-class, Its RECYCLE-class. Demmit merc

• hasif63 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 1:34 pm

i hate the rear end. The front looks good.

• carsut (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 1:45 pm

i would say it ugly little merc..

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:02 pm

eiye…bad is so ugly..the rear lights down’t fit with the bodylikes at all man.. :/

• bavarian (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:44 pm

the first picture make me think of the bmw X6
    the rear lamps make me think of the lexus LS460
    the rear part in too high
    i will not say that its a good looking car

• hasif63 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:56 pm

i would take the rims rather than having this car

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 4:08 pm

ugly taillights……

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 5:03 pm

hurm this is a rare ugly merc…look weird

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 8:17 pm

I like the new front, but the rear lights… WHYYYY????? :(
    Cool facelift tho, imho they shud make a new model~

• szw (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:14 pm

wth is that ?

• Fireball (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:29 pm

Taillights look like previous camry back… overall looks just like an old C-class coupe…wth…

• nmh (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:29 pm

Can u guys try to imagine we change the badge to VW, I looks like a new vers of cool VW from 90s, i dont remember the name.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 1:27 am

Sad that Mercedes has just only facelifeted the car. But knowing htem, i’m sure quite a bit of work went into parts you don’t see. Only by driving it one will know.

However the original was a dissapointment. Quality of materials, fit and finish was off what you expect in a car that price range (even then, it was selling for under 40k CAD) for the C230K. As a sporting machine targeted at a bimmer, it trailed even further, steering is numb and imprecise, the manual shifter is rubbery and vague, seats don’t hug you enough (ok , maybe they are designed for big framed gwailos), and the engine felt heavy and rough pushed to the upper rev limit…..

It does however, courtecy of the supercharger, gives a bit more ommph than the similarly priced base Bimmer 323. But seriously, both the 230K and the 323 felt underpowered.

Its about time mercedes drop this almost decade old model.

• BMW fan (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 10:16 pm

Looks like the old Sentra too at the rear! Totally ugly!

• RosLee on Aug 27, 2009 at 10:42 pm

Hey…I saw this car here in KL recently. Driven by a lady. Looks hot indeed. If you talk about anything Merc Sports !!…it must be a hot car. The first CLC in the country mamm… Guess who the lady driver is… the HybridCar Tycoon's baby sister…Mofaz millionaire…Dato Nik.