New “Raptor” Ford F150 with long travel shocks and turbocharged Boss V8

Ford F150

Ford is reportedly working on a new project called the Raptor, essentially a very powerful Ford F150 with long travel shocks from Fox Racing and a turbocharged V8 from the new “Boss” family. The Fox shock absorbers are similiar to the extra long travel suspension used in Baja 1000 desert racers, and will allow the new Raptor to quickly cross bad terrain without a sweat.

The new Boss family of large V8 engines will start from 6.2 litres, and produce at least 425 horsepower and 576Nm of torque in normally aspirated form. A twin turbo Boss with direct injection reportedly produces about 880Nm of torque. The Boss V8 competes with engines like GM’s 6.2 litre Vortec.

Shown above is a standard Ford F150. The “Raptor” is expected to be wider than the standard truck.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• omar (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:31 pm

wow..
    powerful pickup..
    just look at the horsepower..

• mikerebirth (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:36 pm

wah a V8!!

• omar (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:44 pm

WOW!
    powerful pickup

• darkwizard (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:48 pm

That huge engine sure consume fuel badly and heavy. How about the drivetran (AKA Gearboxs not so high tech from what i reads in Ford forums is it true?).

This heavy trucks looks like more suitable for highway crusing then going off road as heavy offroad vehicles often stucked in mud and lost traction.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 12:00 am

will this car outsell the ford ranger if it is sold here?

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 12:04 am

tis fuel gauzer will make our government cry by paying the subsidaries
    same goes 2 the driver by paying petrol bill
    6.2L v8

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 12:12 am

absolute madness 6L + V8’s arent gonna sell… even in America. with fuel prices as they are..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 1:08 am

Depends.

Big engines dont really have to drink petrol

I had a 5.7L LT1 Camaro. On the highway it did fairly well, in fact not much off my modified Turbo Eclipse. It helps to have loads on low end torque to have it cruise at highway speeds just above idle. If I remembered correctly it was spinning something about 1200rpm at 120km/h in 6th. The Eclipse on the other hand screams at nearly 3800rpm at the same speed.

Obviously if you caned it (actually both of them) you better own an oil field.

The F150 is the benchmark that all pickup trucks follow. The tarrain that they have if much different from us. Its quite dry, but as with anything off road, ground clearance is important.

Big engines are needed there because they tend to tow all sorts of things, racecars, boats, campers, horseboxes……

If you watch the Baja races, its almost impossibly insane how fast the throphy truck classes “fly” over the desert.

• abtm (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 6:04 am

looks too clean to ‘cross’ even a pothole!

• kody (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 7:45 am

wahlaueh…

remember last trip to US, i saw a lot of F150 on the roads.

• kakilubuk (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 7:53 am

I went to Alberta Canada last few month on a meeting for Long Lake Upgrader Project. I rarely found a small engine cc on their truck. They are using 5.0cc & 5.8cc mostly at their work site.
    By the way, this Ford 150 is truely something.
    My dream now is to drive Ford Mighty Tonka. Really love that mighty looking truck.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 8:29 am

double cab king !!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 11:06 am

there are still a sizeable market for large suv’s and pickups in america. its more than just a vehicle, but its part of the local lifestyle and culture to own them.

the strange thing is, we in malaysia aren’t too clever when it comes to fuel consumption as well.. 7 seater 1.5 litre SUV is a good example.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 11:36 am

Ooooh… suits my name!!! Would love to own… and this truck is built for speed… sweet~

• szw (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 7:56 pm

ganas…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 1:04 am

just don’t care about the fuel, I WANT THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 1:29 am

use 3 months then cannot tahan, fuel cost so high