Artist’s Impression: Proton Putra Replacement

The Proton Satria Neo already fills the “2-door fun car” segment in Proton’s model line-up, but what if Proton created a lightweight coupe from the Proton Saga chassis powered by a 1.6 litre Campro CPS engine?

Apparently something like this or other was what went through Theophilus Chin’s thoughts when he decided to come up with this artist’s impression of a Proton Putra replacement car, which he has decided to call the “Pooterror”.

The front of the artist’s impression Putra replacement concept takes cues from the recently launched Volkswagen Scirocco, the side and wheelbase from a Saga, and its rear end is from the Suzuki Kizashi 3.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 11:31 pm

haha, doesnt look protonish to me though, is that good or bad?

• mytouch (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 11:36 pm

Emm…nice sketch there,got smells & fells of European car…if can add on with a nice spoiler,then will be another “killer” on the road…but ofcoz,if & only if,this sketch is use by Proton,& i m sure by that time,Theophilus Chin’s will be ths hot topic of the town…

• DtG (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 11:46 pm

U. G. L. Y. too much hantam cut and paste, dun go together at all… if really they make the car like this proton gonna kena bash teruk teruk for being unoriginal in every inch. the side being taken from the saga makes it look budget n very UN-coupe like at all… basically looks like some cheap and lousy attempt at designing a coupe or a 2 door sports car which ended up looking like some other thing on 4 wheels, something some chinese maker would have done…

• DtG (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 11:48 pm

dont get me wrong, i salute theophilus’ photoshop skills… but designing aint bout photoshopping, its all about creating something new and good… too bad this didnt turn out as good… for me at least, design is subjective….

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:04 am

To much VW scirocco here..and the back is ugly…sorry Theo

• adil2008 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:08 am

Front is Garang, but rear is soft, not match at all, additional feature must add, such as signal side mirror, body line, crystal headlamp and civic wiper.
    overall is great, well done.

• it look sport cars to me…..why not proton putra built a v8 engine car with 560 horse power then i can use that car for a race yes i agree with you why not you put headlight dodge demon

• bmwmalaysia (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:27 am

well.. the look is great.. i hope it turn out to be like this.. make it rear wheel drive and put bigger engine.. it will be a great car..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:33 am

great effort, the basic shape and lines are shown clearly, the front is good looking, but not the rear….

change the wheels, make it into convertible hardtop, then I’m going to buy one for sure!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:42 am

The front part looks like the old Toyota Sera to me and the buttocks looks like the Scenic CC, another copy and paste work but I think this one works well.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:42 am

Oops not the Scenic but Megane.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:45 am

But the roofline doesn’t look like a coupe at all.

• shamel (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 1:23 am

No Scirocco but SAGrocco (SAGa+Scirocco). Rear design need more effort Theo.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 3:23 am

its not proportionate….rear abit like Audi TT

nice though…..the old putra is widley regarded as the best proton car to date….

• naikmotoje (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 5:12 am

nice… btw why name Pooterror (Poo + error)
    hehe nice photoshop..

• azrai (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 6:59 am

I agree with some of you. It looks ugly. By the meantime, I don’t see Syed Zainal gonna come out with a new breed of Putra. He’s concentration is into mass market product to make more money and its sounse sensible. The Putra and Neo is for niche market and I agree although Neo cannot make a mass appearance at least Proton has one good niche market Product. Please, just one, or keep losing money again.

• abtm (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 7:10 am

coupes should have a sleek smooth flowing body line, like a merc CLS, this one is boxy

• Bella147 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 7:56 am

Another copy and paste job in photoshop. Front lights and grill are directly copy and pasted from scirocco on to SAGA underlay. Make your own proposal theo..

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 8:15 am

The front end looks too wide to fit to the body of the car, the roof line doesn’t flow like a coupe, and the rear finishing is a bit raw.

However, overall the photoshop design looks neat and we should at least complement Theo as I’m sure he spent lots of time to do the image editing.

• the stik (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 8:41 am

errr just wonder y theres too many pipe eh? did u forgot to erase the saga pipe mr theo? hehehe

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 9:00 am

Nice work Theo,

But,

There is only one reason for coupe to exist. Too look good above all attributes….above utility, practicallity, cargo hauling, economy.

A normal looking coupe just says I’m a castrated 4 door saloon….:p

Seriously, Proton lacks a proper powerplant befitting a Putra replacement.They should at least have a force inducted campro.

But then again, a new Putra would probably be the last thing on the development team. After all, they need all resources to bring out the MPV and to replace the againg Perdana (which is already riding on a 15 year old platform)

Previously it was easy to build the Putra, since the development costs were minimized (colt platform, same running gear and powertrain) but for Proton to develop a new car, they have to work at it on thier own. Sadly, its unlikely we will see a new Putra. The Satria Neo will carry the sporty image for Proton.

• mohdjiman (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 9:42 am

Rear Wheel Drive? If yes then it will be in my list.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 9:58 am

Hahaha… Thanks for the comments y’all. It’s call POO-terror for a reason. Yes it’s not a good looking coupe. As to ugly? Hmm… subjective.

Anyway given how similar the Saga is to the Golf (the grille), I imagine a sportier Proton could “borrow” Scirocco’s front. Borrow is in cut and paste lar! This is chop what! Not rendering, of course copy and paste lar hahahaha.

I finished the front, and had no idea what to do with that butt. Thought of the TT’s round butt though. That baby’s got back!

Just for fun guys! Cheer up!!!

Alright, clearing up my work and be going back to KL later.

• LHQ (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 10:06 am

Theophilus Chin, why u always use photoshop instead of 3D modelling program or CAD program? Is there some special reason for u to prefer the first one? Btw,
    like your works though, keep it up. Maybe someday Proton or the others get through with it and hire u as their designer ,lol.

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 10:29 am

hey, i think it looks nice…

• armandd (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 10:38 am

me too..

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 10:44 am

LHQ said,
    April 30, 2008 @ 10:06 am

Theophilus Chin, why u always use photoshop instead of 3D modelling program or CAD program?

Sigh… Because yours truly left the 3D and CAD programme world since 7 years ago. Anyway I like chopping cars using photoshop. Mine are mostly cut and paste job.

But not easy you know?! you have to find donor car of same angle, same shading/lighting, then need to “repaint” the car…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 10:50 am

not bad theo, but i hope the vw ppl dont mistaken it as their own car

i totally agree on ur effort for looking for a donor car, we all face the same crits in this line i guess, good job on this one

• Nazmier (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 2:04 pm

Ok apa! Hangpa ni buta kayu ka apa? Okla design macam tu.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 3:11 pm

lolx~ i can see your detailed effort on that not like some crappy chopping skills, but it the looks aint a looker for me though. All the best for the next chops.

• moonier (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 3:45 pm

front design like evo, rear design like old alfa romeo.. front design nicer than rear.

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 4:56 pm

if like ths..wow cun!!

• zk9 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 6:03 pm

It cannot be built based on Saga body… Saga’s chassis is too tip-toey to be carried over to a lightweight sport coupe (wide and not so tall).

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 7:39 pm

the front look like vw scirocco to me…overall..nt nice at all…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 7:41 pm

I think its nice. Rear took from Audi? Putra was a fun car to drive. No new putra?
    Where is Neo Gti?

• BW (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm

both the ass and head is very nice… But as some say here is kinda true, the front and back doesn’t match hehe… If me I’ll redesign the rear to suit the front la.. Make it more fierce looking…

• gokibin (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Looks cool to me. Maybe not too much in the back though. I dont like what P1 did to Persona’s back, a tad too much for me. Kudos Theo my sifu!

• superookie (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 5:29 pm

nice…

• rsrulz (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 4:08 pm

what if they make a 2.0 CPS engine and make the car rear wheel drive. I Hope someone from proton looks at this and decides to make one that looks better.

• afiq94 on Sep 07, 2009 at 2:54 am

this car supossed to be Proton Waja car but 5-door

• yeah…for this kind of car should be put more powerfull engine. at lest 2.0 cps.baru gempak…campro 1.6 cps not look difference with others proton cars.

• it look sport cars to me…..why not proton putra built a v8 engine car with 560 horse power then i can use that car for a race

• shivanraj on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:41 pm

superb………but when will cme.put 4 the car 2.0 engine;(BETTER)

• sport coupe lover on Nov 02, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Wow nice coupe sketch, hope this car release one day looks sport.

• Depan volkswegen scirocco…. lampu blakan mcm audi TT… JNGANLAH tiru disegn kreta org…. buat lah disegn sndiri biar no comment dri org luar..