Parade of 273 Evos set Guiness World Record!

Click for high resolution image

Remember these bunch of Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution owners who wanted to set a Guiness World Record? Good news, they managed to do it! A total of 273 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolutions from all generations was at the paddock of the Castle Combe Racing Circuit in Wiltshire, England on the 12th of July 2008 and got into the track grouped together by colour to begin a 2 mile parade drive on the circuit at a constant speed, as you can see from the photo above.

At 5:27pm Guiness World Records official Laura Farmer confirmed the record and presented a certificate to the event manager Ian Corcoran shortly after the parade. The event managed to raise £7,459.27 for the Richard Burns Foundation.

One more shot of all the different Evos parked in formation after the jump.

Click for high resolution image

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 12:52 am

HOLA PLAYERZ!!! how to spell C-O-O-L ???

gimme a C and double O and L, boy oh boy!!!!

looking at these photos is enough for me to prepare for a sleepless night….

273 evos at the same venue, at the same time!!!! OH GOD…..!!!!!!!!!!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 1:50 am

That is a lot of evos. No wiralution in that list:p

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 2:02 am

i think malaysian can do better.

• kocain_buster (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 3:31 am

I think I see a red Evo10 in the second picture! Holy crap!!

• blazerSST (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 6:59 am

I wonder what was the total accumulative horsepower at that same time

• azrai (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 7:24 am

I like the way they grouped the cars according to its colour. now Malaysia Boleh time. Wira/Waja EVO wannabe parades to KL this weekend (due to roadblocks).

• abtm (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 7:42 am

the parking shot looks like a fast and furious police depot sieze up

• haroldz (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 8:06 am

and they on managed to raise only 7+++K UK pound?!

• ganz (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 9:46 am

hahaa.. back 2 years ago.. when i was part of GEn2 club.. they do plan for this.. :D.. i wonder they try to gather more than 500 owner malaysian wide.. parade to Sepang Track…

i wonder what happen to that plan.. :D

• Sharmz (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 11:09 am

Alfa Club had over 240 Alfas on a parade at Kyalami, SA a week earlier but that was not for a single model like the Evo. All sorts of Alfas were involved

• hypermount (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 11:09 am

A big so what – it’s like trying to make the biggest roti canai ever just for the sake of entering record.

• mrbola2 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 12:02 pm

ahh…. evos only in blue, yellow, red and white in colour. they make me colour blindness. are they in other colurs like black or green or silver or grey……..?????

• BW (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 12:11 pm

EVO RULEZ!!!!!

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 2:31 pm

Same thing “M’sia boleh” can do ah. Put all the kancils or wira and see! what kind of records also can….
    Ha!~

• hamster (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 2:50 pm

i agree wit mokkf82…tats an ez record to beat..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 5:56 pm

did they make sure there were no rebadged proton wira’s there?

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jul 20, 2008 at 3:15 pm

A tribute to the past Evos.

• syahruddin (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 3:35 pm

mokkf82 u right ermm lets all perodua owner had gathering see how evo can beat them heheheh love malaysian product………