Proton Persona CNG to be launched in Thailand

Proton Persona

Proton’s Thai distributor Phranakorn Auto Sales will be launching a CNG-equipped Proton Persona in Thailand tomorrow. The Persona CNG will be able to run on both petrol and compressed natural gas, a fuel which is also available in Malaysia and though limited in availability. CNG is very popular with taxis because of its cheaper price.

Following this announcement you can probably expect Proton to offer a similiarly equipped NGV Persona in Malaysia soon. Factoring the cost of the equipment needed to allow the car to run on natural gas into the hire purchase loan will take alot of financial burden off the carbuyer who is seeking to benefit from the lower price of natural gas.

The problem is refuelling your car with CNG in Malaysia is currently only limited to selected Petronas stations which are mainly concentrated around the Klang Valley. This is an inconvenience.

No prices for the Thai market Proton Persona CNG have been released yet, but as a comparison the Neo is sold for 499,000 Thai baht while the GEN2 goes for 549,000 Thai baht. The cheapest Proton model is the Savvy which goes for 399,000 Thai baht and comprises of half of all Proton cars sold in Thailand.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:04 pm

cng vs ngv? anybody could tell me the different? confuse beb!! what we have in malaysia?

• Paul Tan on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:14 pm

ngv = natural gas vehicle, a vehicle which uses natural gas. in malaysia the natural gas sold at pumps is in CNG form. the other form is LPG.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Natural_gas_vehicle

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 12:52 am

lol, n the replacement of current Saga/Iswara Taxi in kl? going to hav a ride on persona taxi..

• rexis (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 8:18 am

CNG = NGV, because the word “compressed” make people feel that its gonna explode any second so we call it NGV to make people feel safer.

LPG aka cooking gas is being used in Australia in almost every gas station. It is the green fuel there. It can go longer range then NGV/CNG due to the higher energy content(liquid > gaseous). After conversion it is being sold cheaper then our petrol here, a bit less then RM2.

– – – –

Once again, @#$%& Proton just offer a LOCAL NGV ready car dammit.

• moha774 (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 8:42 am

I suppose Thailand is more advanced in term of having better and more CNG station compared to Malaysia. That is why Proton CNG powered car are marketed there first, we are just not ready yet… we have gas, but not enough station.. That aside, I heard that the tank would be located under the seat next to the fuel tank.. so to solve the space issue, the fuel tank would be a bit smaller (you are driving the CNG/NGV powered car right??) compared to normal Persona… so you can retain the big boot for your things..

• kienchan (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 10:32 am

The difference between LPG and CNG or NGV is HUGE for the storage tank point of view. There were 2 reported NGV explosions in KL in the last 6-8 months and these were due to illegal installation of LPG or Acteylene tank. The tanks were added to boost up the storage capacity and therefore less queueing time in NGV refilling. So far so good the ideal.. However these tanks are not made to take the high pressure of more than 3,000 PSI and boooom they go during refilling….The next time you fill up the NGV watch out for the car next to you.. It may be another ignorant guy..The public must be educated about these dangerous storage tank before another explosion happens again..

• zaen (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 6:30 pm

kienchan said,

There were 2 reported NGV explosions in KL in the last 6-8 months and these were due to illegal installation of LPG or Acteylene tank.

A little bit details or facts of the reported NGV explosions please??

• kienchan (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 9:37 am

Can u google “NGV explosion malaysia” …one in Jinjang Selatan and another Cheras…? One found with actelyene tank and the other LPG tank in boot…

• moha774 (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 4:06 pm

Bro, I’ve read the news and seen the pic. the only tank that explode and rip off the car is the LPG aka cooking gas tank and not the NGV tank which is still intact although sitting next to the exploded tank. The guy just make up stories to cover for his fault..

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 6:27 pm

n8cky said,
    October 7, 2008 @ 12:52 am

lol, n the replacement of current Saga/Iswara Taxi in kl? going to hav a ride on persona taxi..
    ———————————————-
    No, i believe strategy was replacement iswara taxi with WAJA later2 lah , but in the mean time just sell iswara taxi so company will be in profit. Persona is new produt to p1, so be smart ,sell them as private/family car.

p/s . we should consider replace iswara with Waja taxi lah, my jakarta fren make joke about our taxi old model. Waja is also malaysian car, so we still rolling our money. why not?

• mokkf82 (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 1:31 pm

woa! Boom!~
    what happened to that guy after it. Major injuries?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:07 pm

for the idiotic thai people