These photos of what appears to be the next generation Toyota Prius appeared on the internet sometime earlier this month, and in a surprising move Toyota’s PR division has gone ahead and confirmed that these pics are indeed photos of the new Toyota Prius.
The new second generation Toyota Prius is set to be fully revealed in January 2009 at the 2009 Detroit Auto Show. This comes soon after Honda revealed its second generation Honda Insight concept at the 2008 Paris Motor Show.
The statement by Toyota confirming the photos did not reveal any other details about the car other than the fact that in terms of dimensions its about the same as the outgoing model but it offers better interior room and better fuel economy.
Come and sell it here lah! We Malaysian can afford it! :-(
what’s with the “nose” bulge?
first the local dugong vios has it now even the internationally available new prius has it.
is it really that nice or am i’m just the one not liking it =.=
wasnt there a connected family member of some figure awarded free APs or no tax at all for hybrid cars. of course he can still charge you the same price as with the tax implemented.
this vehicle steals alot of design concepts from the civic .
It is the true picture, not leaked
well, i mean official
Another big big Dugong on the road…
imagine both ur right and left neighbours got Vios and this Prius, then they look at ur face and say: “hey dude, where is ur pet vehicle? ”
then maybe u show them a Ferrari or Jaguar, the REAL beast, haha
It look alot better than the previous fatty Prius, more stylish….good work.
Will it have an artificial exhaust sound or maybe a rattler …
this truely not dugong,but much cuter…hmm..platipus maybe?? all haiwan terancam..toyota kan eco friendly..no wonder tiru muka haiwan..
I still see the Honda Insight Concept is more futuristic.
toyota’s direction of designs is getting weird. they’re so lost. after the yaris and vios dugongness, its getting so…transsexual…
btw, stay off the civic’s bumper style!
Its.. cute.
Not suppose to say this on a Prius!
Should add more sharp lines in it.
Refreshing and looks nice. Dugong? Sourgrape ke?
ugly, with that face.
i think between honda and toyota, i’ll take hondas.
Wah..Love it!! :-)
This is a 1st hybrid car in the world as i remember. then honda follow the concept with civic hybrid. i own new vios s specs aka yaris sedan, and i can feel the design is a bit same in terms on exterior and interior. cmon, modern should look simple .
guys..Google CEO drives this car (1st gen) and he said he loved so much.
Can this car swim like Dugong aka Vios?
Atleast this Prius is more sporty and well I like the car..the side profile reminds me of Honda Civic FD2.
not bad eh…….
haha…… quite up-to-market demand… and style as well…….
sad to get reply from Toyota Malaysia that they have no intention to bring this to Malaysia.
Uglier than current Prius design. Don’t like the way toyota going with that tapir nose
ugly…
hate prius
This is the 3rd gen Prius, not 2nd gen
dato.m said,
October 18, 2008 @ 11:55 pm
Wah..Love it!! :-)
This is a 1st hybrid car in the world as i remember. then honda follow the concept with civic hybrid. i own new vios s specs aka yaris sedan, and i can feel the design is a bit same in terms on exterior and interior. cmon, modern should look simple .
guys..Google CEO drives this car (1st gen) and he said he loved so much.
nope… honda released the insight way back before the civic hybrid came along… and actually, i’m quite sure google’s ceo drives the 3rd gen prius (if that is indeed true) because the current prius available in the markets it is sold in is in its 3rd gen, the 1st gen was only sold in japan and the 2nd i think only managed a few numbers… both look slightly different from the present all-popular prius…
As far as I know there are only 3 generations of Prius. The 1st gen was sold in Aust officially as well so as the 1st Insight. it looks very different to the 2nd gen Prius.
Toyota now has everything got something to do with yaris head…
I agree with jolly idiot, Honda Insight Concept has better looking than this new Prius..
It is the car I also want to own it, I think a lot of malaysian also want to own it, but the price is….not easily afforded by most of the people…
i know they’re trying to be friendly to pedestrian (during ped frontal impact).. but please come out with better design than this dugong wanna be..hate it~
all they did was change the rims, otherwise its still as ugly as ever, the world’s most expensive washing machine
kinda ugly lah.
im just a prius lover since i test driven it at umw toyota motor in jhr bahru!!!! its te best car i ever test driven and the most fuel effieciency and most quites car and the most eco friendly car and enviromental car!!!!! intelligent!!!! gonna buy it!!!