The Volkswagen Bora for the Chinese Market goes on sale today, priced between 107,800 to 143,00 yuan, which translates to about between RM55,900 to RM74,570. This particular Bora was designed for the Chinese market and is about the same size as the Volkswagen Jetta it is based on.
Volkswagen says the car’s design is inspired by Chinese elements such as the front end of the car which is apparently inspired by the Chinese lion dance. The Bora is 4540mm long, 1775mm wide and 1467mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2610mm and a boot space of 450 litres. It will be produced by Volkswagen’s JV partner First Automotive Works.
Two engine options will be available at launch – both gasoline engines. Either a manual or a 6-speed automatic is available. Two equipment levels are available – a Trendline and a Comfortline. Standard features on the Trendline include ABS, dual front SRS airbags, power steering, power windows, climate control and a MP3 capable CD player with radio.
The Comfortline package adds 15 inch alloy wheels, a sliding sunroof, a chrome trim package, an alarm, cruise control, and parking sensors. An additional “highline” package can be specified which includes leather seats, side and head airbags as well as a GPS navigation system.
Look after the jump for more photos of the new Chinese market Volkswagen Bora.
interior??
bora?
bora = BORING…
suitable in china like “made in china” product…
LMAO! SO TRUE!!!!
BORA=BORING …….LMAO!
whut?? design ques similar with persona???
watta….a rebadged persona or what?!!
looks too ‘china-nised’ even the name written in chinese…terrible effort
inspired from china copycat car
front lights looks like gen2/persona….
wonder how the interior looks like
not bad looking car for a RM56 to RM76K car ……certainly better looking than cars price in this range in Malaysia. How come cars in China also cheaper than Malaysia …. what’s going on ?
On first glance, i thought it was a bloody Gen-2..
Then there was the VW logo, my sanity came back.
VW Chinese R&D there are quite different with their design compared worldwide models.
Note: Did you guys realise that the rear car emblem is written in chinese characters?
That’s a 1st.
front looks like persona
back looks like new mitsubishi lancer….
hahahahahah volks actually copied malaysian design for thier car …..for once
proton can be proud of it ,,,,,, orrrrrr …. proton had copied thier idea b4 they produce this car ,.,,,? hahahahahah…. tell me ! not nice at alll
well here we only can buy a protong car and still its come with a fish tank in the bonnet for free of charge, plus power window which close half way and without extra cost.
Our boleh Gorverment think we are stupid or maybe they making us look like stupid or they are too smart or we are too stupid cuss we still buy it anyway
I too thought it’s a Gen2 or Persona. Jetta definitely looks waaaaayyyyyyy better, and of course, the oh-so-stunning Passat.
those headlights!!!! came straight out from Gen2/persona!!!
lame…
wah proton design so “maju kedepan” even other car manufacturer start to copy the design… next pls copy proton new saga design too… hehe
so its VW Polo (front) and EOS (back) stuck together to make the Bora.
boring design, but better than our ones here. lol.
hmm..not a “refreshing” design.
Persona, please copycat the rear lamps of this car and modify a bit :) The rear lamps for Gen2 and Persona is not that nice. The ones modified by some Ah Bengs look better.
its one of the ugliest volkswagens, but its better than any of the protons
Note: Did you guys realise that the rear car emblem is written in chinese characters?
That’s a 1st.
________________________________________–
almost all the cars in china do that.. with a population of 1.3billion who all speak and write the same language, it starts to make sense why they do that.
oops.. forgot to comment on the car. looks a little strange though. personally, i think its better than the regular old bora, but its not much better than other cars on the market.
from the front, i prefer the gen2 facelift anyday if we’re comparing with malaysian made cars.
BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
October 23, 2008 @ 11:57 am
almost all the cars in china do that.. with a population of 1.3billion who all speak and write the same language, it starts to make sense why they do that.
Thanks for the info.
“looks too ‘china-nised’ even the name written in chinese”
Uh maybe because it’s for the China market, where people read and write in chinese, bright boy…
Really so much nicer than what you can buy here for the same money. more technologically advanced, more standard safety features.
funny to see the typical dimwits trying to find fault just because its chinese, lol. face it, you’d all be creaming yourselves if proton sold that, and you know it.
gen 2 lights…
with all the equipment included and price below RM75K….also 6speed autobox its really interesting and price wise if its sold in malaysia..
gen-2 ur head, proton copied the volkswagen polo’s lights
free from melamine?looks cheap…wheres the real vw?
i prefer gen2 over this
i’d have this over the gen 2 anyday
stop talking avbaout melamine…….
not bad, really…
bring it here and sell below 100k, sure laku…..
guys, why every topic also must relate to Proton?
dono, because its an awful car?
e-nabilll said,
October 22, 2008 @ 8:41 pm
looks too ‘china-nised’ even the name written in chinese…terrible effort
Wake up buddy, most car in sold in China has chinese name written on the back, even BMW, Honda, Toyota….etc
wat bout our Proton written in malay name? not a terrible effort?
this new bora looks like a fully modified jetta, and tuned like a shit.