The new 2009 BMW 3-Series Sedan facelift is now in Malaysia, a timely launch as it now faces competition from the B8 Audi A4 and the new W204 C-Class. All models are locally assembled, with one four-cylinder engine and 3 six-cylinder engines.
There’s no need to talk about the E90’s lovely handling but it promises it could be slightly better now thanks to a new rear track which is wider by 24mm.
New to the range is the 323i Sedan which brings entry-level inline-6 power to the 3-Series, range allowing many aspiring E90 owners to experience the sweet smooth-revving magnesium-alloy N52 engine instead of settling for the 156hp inline-4. The 323i’s engine is detuned version of the 2.5 litre unit in the 325i Sports, producing 190 horsepower and 230Nm of torque instead of 218 horsepower and 250Nm of torque.
The interior is largely the same except for uprated padding on the door armrests for more comfort, and the biggest change of all, the latest generation of BMW’s iDrive system, with an 8.8 inch high resolution LCD screen. It’s no longer the North-South-East-West and laggy system that it was in the past – the new iDrive system is so much easier to use and now uses a hard drive-based storage system.
The 80GB drive is used to store the navigation data and 8GB of capacity is also reserved for your personal music collection. iDrive can copy music files off your iPod, MP3 player or USB thumbdrive, or even rip your audio CDs and store it in the car so you don’t really have to bring your player around if you want to listen to your music in your car.
I tried the iDrive system and found it so much better and faster to respond as well. Navigation is now via a vertical scrolling list instead of the NSEW and stacked menus that the old iDrive had. It takes some learning but once you’re used to it you can navigate through the menus so much faster and far more intuitive.
The following are the E90 facelift models on sale in Malaysia:
Model | Power | Torque | Price |
BMW 320i | 156hp | 200Nm | RM236,800 |
BMW 320i Sports | 156hp | 200Nm | RM248,800 |
BMW 323i | 190hp | 230Nm | RM275,800 |
BMW 325i Sports | 218hp | 250Nm | RM309,800 |
BMW 335i Individual | 306hp | 400Nm | RM539,800 |
All are CKD except for the 335i Individual. The 325i and the 330i is now missing from the line-up, as are the 320i and 320d Touring (stationwagon) models which existed with the pre-facelift line-up but are now gone because of poor response from the public.
Stay tuned for a test drive report next week.
PHOTO GALLERY: E90 BMW 3-Series Sedan Facelift
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo
[cpg_album:154]
hmm…why cut the 325i and the 330i ? :(
hmmm….i remember i try to cucuk 335 (konon2)…..it just speed like hell..corner before jejantas SG Buloh (from KL b4 the straight line) he just layan at 190 maybe…coz i was 170 but still kene tingal…..200+ after that….ergh BM best……
nice features by omg, so mahal. in these bad times, how to sell?
i think its overpriced 236k for a 2L with only 156hp, if u buy a bmw, u dont buy the car, u buy the badge.. i rather get a camry or accord 2.4
the 325 stil the best car that i ever drove…
torquemonster said,
November 21, 2008 @ 4:01 pm
i think its overpriced 236k for a 2L with only 156hp, if u buy a bmw, u dont buy the car, u buy the badge.. i rather get a camry or accord 2.4
—————————————————————-
Sorry dude.. have to disagree with you. You’ll buy the best engine in the world, high quality build material and great driving comfort/handling. Drive one and you’ll know. You can’t get it in a Toyot’s or Hond’s.. ever. :)
I believe even a 320i is much better than camry 2.4. In a camry I feel uneasy when the speed get to 160kph.
Camry 2.4L is rubbish compare to even 120i.
2L with only 156hp? Easily tapao your pathetic Camry 2.4L with 16xPS
European cars don’t have low tax like those Tomyam made cheapo cars, and Tomyam cars is selling so overpriced. Swedish CBU Volvo S40 is cheaper than a Camry 2.4L, how’s that?
WXX8XX said,
November 21, 2008 @ 4:59 pm
torquemonster said,
November 21, 2008 @ 4:01 pm
—————————————————————-
Sorry dude.. have to disagree with you. You’ll buy the best engine in the world, high quality build material and great driving comfort/handling. Drive one and you’ll know. You can’t get it in a Toyot’s or Hond’s.. ever.
——————————-
I agree with that except the comfort part… sat in a new 318d in europe as a passenger… u get to feel all the vibrations and unevenness of the roads… its not that comfortable as lets say camry… it tries to mute the vibrations well, but u can still feel it… it more a driver’s car… u feel everything from the road, u hear the noise of the engine if u push it, u got all the steering feel… its sportiness, engine, luxury is worth it and but the comfortness is not worth the price u pay compared with some other cars u can get… just my 2 sens…
ade manual tran x?
IsaacVky,
s40 is a bit smaller than camry. and s40 shares the same platform with ford focus n mazda 3..from there, volvo can saves lots of money.
bmw is not overprice , if u wanna say overprice , evo 10 is definitely overprice.
RM315k ?
i’ll go for 325i…
much comfortable and nicer to drive , bmw owners are one of the luckiest owners in the world…
Good update, much more pleasing design. Should check it out this weekend.
theanswer said,
November 21, 2008 @ 8:10 pm
smaller doesn’t mean it’s cheap.
Sharing platforms, Toyota the expert. Vios/Yaris? Avanza/Innova/Fortuner?
All kind of funny funny cars they can produce with one platform.
nice, but out of reach of most malaysians
never drove a bmw yet, still my wet-dream car.
the facelift is much better than before. i hated the large white reverse light on the pre-facelift. it looked stupid. i liked the special edition 3 series with ac-schnitzer like turn signal indicator white color, so it looks like white and red row, instead of red L and small white square. now this looks sporty, but cant differentiate wheres the reverse light anymore, if this car comes in red, then it would a beauty!
but i agree about bmw overprice. honda and toyota more overprice. look at the trim level of them! the NVH and soundproofing in honda and toyota is almost unfound. anyways, the better car would be the audi. waiting for the new 2.0t to hit malaysian shores. hail german power! hahahah
so what if the 320i has only 156hp??? it weights as much as the larger 2.4 camry while still easily trashing the 160hp+ camry at a straight line and also at corners.
not to mention the lovely note of the engine coupled with the smooth transmission of the beemer. that is what you pay for.
the only thing is the new audi a4 looks soooooo attractive.
if camry is so good why so many people buy lexus?? it only shows the camry is weak in many areas and not good enough.
Why are there people still comparing the camry with a BMW? Some people complain BMW not comfortable, Maybe it is. Try changing the wheels of the Camry to a 40 profile and then tell me the car is comfortable…..
xavier_lert said,
November 21, 2008 @ 3:26 pm
hmmm….i remember i try to cucuk 335 (konon2)…..it just speed like hell..corner before jejantas SG Buloh (from KL b4 the straight line) he just layan at 190 maybe…coz i was 170 but still kene tingal…..200+ after that….ergh BM best……
——————————-
what car were u drivin ????
layman said,
November 21, 2008 @ 5:51 pm
I believe even a 320i is much better than camry 2.4. In a camry I feel uneasy when the speed get to 160kph.
=====================================
definitely !!!!! i’ve got da experience of drivin a 2006 camry at 160km/h….. i really felt uneasy drivin it at that speed coz its kinda floaty at that speeed and handling was bad…. i felt the car is too light at that speed…. so i slowed it down though it can still make 200 km/h !!!! If u guyz dun believe, try it out !!!! But camry is the best car if u wish to maintain ur speed below 120km/h compared to 3-series !!!!!
it looks really good now, i just hope they won’t do anything funny to the brilliant coupe and cabriolet
nice facelift.pity the guys who just bought the “old” model.The 3 series is so different from a Camry that it is like comparing apples and oranges.One is a compact sports sedan and the other is a family saloon.The 3 series offers a spirited sporty driving experience but the Camry offers more space and a relaxed ride.It depends on what you are looking for in a car.The pricing of the 3 series is fair,since the C class starts at RM 248K. Personally I think the new Audi A4 looks the best while offering a more exclusive feel(too many 3 series and c classes on the road) but no after sales service here in Ipoh.
I love how they change the rearlight. It looks more masculine now. :D
if you drive a BMW you will not want another car(i mean other brand..even merc)..but buying the 320i is not really good if already can afford one,,u must atleast buy the 323i…
i will buy the next gen bmw 3 series..cant afford this gen one..
but people who can afford camry..please go to BMW and findout about their financing..you end up playing almost the same as camry monthly..because bmw has very attractive financing structure for their car..so give it a try..
i wonder how is the gear work? it looks like normal 5 speed gear, but i saw net saying it is semi-auto type? is it with gear pad?
the 3 series is one of the most perfect cars in the world(cbu version, dono about the ckd)
I plan to buy one 3-series….Jan2010.
Worth buying or any new "facelift" inline…?
Had the Volvo S40, 2.4i for one year and traded in for a 323i……….arriving sometime the coming week. I will have to say that the S40 served me well…….speed was OK, handling was good, basically bought the car for it's safety features. I sold the S40 as the new face lift came out 3 months after I bought mine and was pretty pissed off with Volvo as the new face lift came in about RM15 to RM18K cheaper.I tested the 323i at Ingress and was very impressed with the vehicle………190bhp……..thats good enough for me. The interior is much more roomier than the S40 and of course the iDrive really sank me. I believe that we should not compare Toyotas-Hondas with BMW as it falls in a different league. I did test the Lexus IS250………power was very good but the interior kinda sucks………RM25k more than the 323i……thats why I do not compare Toyotas-Hondas with BMWs. The fact remains that If a person has that amount to spend on a vehicle…….RM265k………BMW is the choice. In addition to this, I find the RM265K worth spending for a 323i with what I get. The Audi A4, 1.8T is wicked and sexy but priced almost the same as the 323i ( 2.5i Engine ). I also managed to test drive the new Audi Q5……..very nice and for a SUV at 2.0T, the RM300K is quite reasonable. The only thing that is missing is the Navigation system………it does not come with GPS as in the 323i. Again said, we should be comparing apple to apple.
[quote comment="216424"]I plan to buy one 3-series….Jan2010.
Worth buying or any new "facelift" inline…?[/quote]
Bro,
The 323i is worth it. Get the pre-registered ones…………….they are new cars and u will get a discount of up to RM12K.
paul,
i can't seem to get to the testdrive report that you mentioned that will be out?
will you have the direct url linked here ? the related stories tag doesnt seemed to feed it out as well.
hi everyone,
I want to share something…
after a long distance to reach a peek of desire… now… i can afford to buy a new BIMMER ….. now i'm the owner of 325i sport… white color with brown seat… the price its not too expensive if we compared to the quality & performance… previously i'm the owner of Honda Accord 2.4… and…. truly.. a lots difference…. don't talk about price.. coz we know the price is double… and as you know…. the technology is there… don't mention it.. to maintain continental car its depends on your style of using it… last 5 years ago i've Fiat marea which is continental car.. every time when service needed i must spend at least 1 to 2 thounsand. after that i change my view to get japanese car… after all i change again until my eye cannot stop looking at BMW… and now…. i own 1… bye.. c u…
Mind sharing the financial plan on how to own a BMW 320 or 325?
With the price car above RM200K I'm not sure how affordable is this to most malaysian with low wages but high priced cars and houses.
Now is 6 June 2010. Still can’t afford to own any bimmer. I’ve been eyeing this machine like 2 years now and still cannot afford one. Even the APs also expensive. Damn my income to low. Now keep me thinking if I ever got to drive Non-national made cars like the rest of high earned Malaysian.