Volkswagen Touareg promo price for December 2008

Volkswagen Touareg

Volkswagen dealer VW Cars Sdn Bhd is offering a special price for 30 units of the Volkswagen Touareg, in celebration of the company’s sponsorship of the Monsoon Cup for the next 4 years. The Volkswagen Touareg will be used as the official vehicle for the skippers and the VIPs attending the event, to shuttle them between the various points of the Monsoon Cup 2008 event site.

The Volkswagen Touareg normally retails for RM 433,888.00 but these 30 units will be sold for a special price of RM345,000, a huge discount of RM88,888. This promotion is for the entire month of December 2008.

“Consumers are always on the lookout for the best deals in town, particularly at a time when the country is experiencing an economic downturn. We believe that offering such an unbeatable deal helps in building customer loyalty while maintaining VW’s prestigious brand values,” said VW Cars CEO Dato’ Ilyas Mohamad.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 4:24 pm

this means the 30 units is pre-owned ….. like the BMWs used during OIC …

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Wao … so still very expensive… :/

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 4:42 pm

“helps in building customer loyalty while maintaining VW’s prestigious brand values”

wonder what those who bought it at RM438,888 are thinking about now in terms of loyalty and prestige..?

• coolguru (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 4:57 pm

anyone currently has one and overall comments of this SUV?

Paul, have you had a chance to review this ride?

• nuzzary (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 5:20 pm

wow!

one of the biggest Torque a car can have..
    wish i got the money..

• KY (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 5:43 pm

what are you waiting for already young paul!

• tikus (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 6:37 pm

Off Topic,

Hey Paul wonder went is the Japaness AFTA will be sign,last time i read is going to sign in this month….

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 7:37 pm

nice, but out of reach of a lot people. What happens after this month, back to normal price for pre-owned?Audi q7 looks better than this

• 9211 (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 8:03 pm

An offer maybe due to poor sales. RM400k price is too expensive for most Malaysian and only for the rich. Usually they will prefer Merce or Beemer. I dont know how good the car is. Maybe realy realy good.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 8:20 pm

i drove it before in the PJ branch, its a nice SUV, since it has porsche underpinnings, else the BMW X5 is the SUV that can beat it :D

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 8:56 pm

pretty cheap

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 9:48 pm

a good car. and a freaking awesome price as well.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 10:19 pm

In these times of worldwide credit crunch……. they’d actually thought giving rm88k discount will make ppl suddenly have the urge to splash on a brand new fuel-guzzler?

Eh…. alpina, u think it’s pretty cheap? I thought all cars are friggin overpriced cuz of proton? :) so what if it has rm88k discount?

a) it’s an SUV, a fuel guzzler, extremely unpopular in these times, don’t u tink so?

b) it’s not toyota or honda, which is a way of saying it’s 2nd value will drop rm88k in….a year? Next yr is just less than a month away :) ok, that’s exaggerating, but get the idea…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 11:28 pm

tokmoh said,
    December 9, 2008 @ 10:19 pm

Eh…. alpina, u think it’s pretty cheap? I thought all cars are friggin overpriced cuz of proton? so what if it has rm88k discount?
    ———————–

everyone has different levels of affordability.. just coz he thinks its cheap doesnt make it wrong.. car prices have been this way in malaysia for such a long time now, people are used to the prices. to many middle class urbanites today, a RM120k car is just right.

and you’re not entirely correct about proton.. we still have perodua, inokom and naza who get national car prices as well. so its not just proton enjoying the “protection”, or whats left of it. the koreans are pretty affordable as well today.

• csv (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 11:33 pm

wah, where they get to lose 88k on the car?!

if you have been wanting to buy the toureg, i guess now’s a good time.

• spencerlws (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 1:16 am

RM 433,888.00 to RM345,000 but still making huge $$$!!! can see how expensive the AP’s are…….

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 4:52 am

Maybe these are 2007 manufactured cars. That is normal for a 2007 SUV.

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:17 am

Please lar, most of you talk through the hole where you poop.

1) Affordability is relative: RM88k off RM433 the Touareg (20% off) is “cheap” for some, the same way RM28k off RM140k Honda CRV (also 20% off) is “cheap” for some other people. Bottom line its 20% off…

2) Talk of worrying about fuel consumption when if ur buying a RM400k SUV is b#llsh%t. Anyone who does should have their @ss kicked for considering a RM400k SUV in the 1st place.

3) Depreciation of car value is also relative; Economics 101 my friends, supply and demand. It really doesn’t matter what brand it is, it’s all about the demand for the particular model. Take for instance the 7th gen. Civic vs. the 6th gen Civic (EK). Everyone knows that the later held a better value at resale due to demand.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:39 am

banyakmasukworkshop,

haha, yeah, there’s also perodua, inokom, naza etc to protect :) But we all know alpina’s choice to bash among those :P

notorpkcuf,

I’m just being sarcastic in case u’re wondering…..

1) Bottom line is 20% off and…..? Ur point? That I’m much poorer than alpina?

2) Which is why I wonder whether slashing 20% will awaken the urge for ppl to buy suv in the first place….. they reckon it can pull sales from ppl lookin for rm300k cars, but at that price, I think ppl would prefer E200k or 523i. Now we’re talking fuel consumption, rite? And road tax? blabla?

3) Sory la that I’m noob abt econs 101, but any average joe msian knows european marques depreciate faster than japsmobiles…..

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:46 am

VW already overpriced their Touareg as compared to Spore VW selling. So the discount is just mean “back to normal” price.

• I my (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 10:01 am

or may be VW AG wan to change dealer next year? just a guess lah….

• droll (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 10:33 am

if you are complain, this post and promotion is not for you.
    if you say nothing, you don’t care.
    if you smile, you have already booked one under this promotional offer.

different folks, different strokes. some people can’t fathom spending anything more than 150k for a car. and yet, some have their tolerance level at rm50k. everyone behaves like they know something the other person doesn’t. bottom line is this: it’s a freaking 20% discount; enjoy it while it lasts!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 12:47 pm

tokmoh said,

December 9, 2008 @ 10:19 pm

In these times of worldwide credit crunch……. they’d actually thought giving rm88k discount will make ppl suddenly have the urge to splash on a brand new fuel-guzzler?

Eh…. alpina, u think it’s pretty cheap? I thought all cars are friggin overpriced cuz of proton? :) so what if it has rm88k discount?

a) it’s an SUV, a fuel guzzler, extremely unpopular in these times, don’t u tink so?

b) it’s not toyota or honda, which is a way of saying it’s 2nd value will drop rm88k in….a year? Next yr is just less than a month away :) ok, that’s exaggerating, but get the idea…
    ——————————
    its cheap compared to ze mercedes m-klasse, bmw x5 and range rover spor

• septzz (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 10:32 pm

it’s good!

watch this… http://ru.youtube.com/watch?v=lhk3VRtU5Dk

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:31 am

big torque suv.. wondering how much petrol its going to drink.

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 4:27 pm

its gulps petrol