New Hyundai i20 (Getz) to be built in India

Hyundai i20

Hyundai has launched the new Hyundai i20 in India. India will be a production base for the new i20, and i20s from Hyundai’s plant in Chennai is already being exported to locations around the world, which could include Malaysia as well, when Sime Darby gets around to bringing the car in. The recently launched Inokom i10 also came in as a CBU from India initially, but is now built from CKD packs sourced from India.

The new Hyundai i20 replaces the Hyundai Getz in Hyundai’s line-up, and will likely become the new Inokom i20 here in Malaysia. The Indian model only comes with a 1.2 litre all-aluminium Kappa engine producing 80 horsepower mated to a 5-speed manual, but the i20 is also designed to take a 100hp 1.4 litre, a 126hp 1.6 litre, and a range of diesel engines including two 1.4 litre units and two 1.6 litre units with outputs ranging from 75hp to 128hp.

Malaysia will likely get at least the 1.4 litre petrol, as with the current Inokom Getz.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=49]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:48 am

Looks like Malaysia is losing out as good choice for car manufacturing/assembly.

• DtG (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:52 am

looks quite ok but rather boring as hyundai are showing no bursts of imagination with their current batch of 'i' cars.. the i30 was very decent, then came the i10 which looked ok too, with those 2 already on the roads, the i20 has no sense of originality, it just looks like something with an in-between size to fill the gap and that's it… the original Getz' design had a way better sense of individuality and character… and well, that comment is just based on looks only, could be a really good car beneath.. who knows..

• 8918 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:57 am

I doubt the i20 will be coming in as Inokom that soon cos the inokom getz just got into production not long,if they bring it so soon then how are they going to profit from their existing production line?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 1:06 am

They look the same as the new Corsa, like the new Accord has the 7 series design theme… no originality at all…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 1:13 am

DtG said,

December 30, 2008 @ 4:52 pm

the i20 has no sense of originality, it just looks like something with an in-between size to fill the gap and that’s it… the original Getz’ design had a way better sense of individuality and character… and well, that comment is just based on looks only, could be a really good car beneath.. who knows..

—————————————————————-

Yup, I could agree no more.

• 707 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 2:53 am

its high time the getz receive a facelift. Lacking in originality or not, at least there is progress compared to proton

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:23 am

i10 is the best selling compact segment in Germany, i20 got to be real good too.

• painsama (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:39 am

Quite cramped sitting in the back as it seems from the picture.

• csv (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 8:29 am

looks decent. whats the pricing if brought here, tho i doubt it can fight the myvi.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:04 am

White Jack said,
    December 30, 2008 @ 4:48 pm

Looks like Malaysia is losing out as good choice for car manufacturing/assembly.

i dont think malaysia is losing out at all.. i’m guessing the reason india is chosen as the base, is coz they expect to sell more of those cars in india than anywhere else in this region.

but if it comes to malaysia as an inokom, it will still be locally assembled, so malaysia doesnt really lose out totally.

• haroh on Jan 01, 2009 at 5:30 am

mayb getz will be out-phased

replace by i20 (the price could be more/less d same)

another alternative if u want a compact car

• how much it costs here in malaysia? is it cheaper or more expensive then getz se?

• ji bai lah 2month wait i 10 1.25 nocame yet i 20 2020 lah

• TYPE-RR on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:31 pm

Paul, do you likely know when i20 coming here in malaysia….and do u know estimate price? Bcz willing to buy one of it… i like compact cars. Hopefully it is not above 60k..
    By the way thank you.

• c2pig on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:54 pm

Walao, still dun want come to malaysia, when will it arrival. Planing to change car this year.