New Honda Wave 110i with PGM-FI launched in Thailand

Honda Wave 110i

Honda has just revealed a new PGM-FI “cub” bike in Thailand. The new Honda Wave 110i joins its bigger engined sibling, the Honda Wave 125i in the Thai market, which has already been around for quite some time. Here in Malaysia our Honda Waves are still carburetted, but maybe Honda will introduce them soon to match their all-new “green” image, as the Honda franchise here has been taken over by the Japanese themselves.

The 110cc 4-stroke engine with PGM-FI fuel injection is said to be 18% more economical than the unit installed in the Honda Wave 100. At the same time it also provides 25% more power. It can use gasohol E20, a fuel that is sold in Thailand at the pumps.

The new Honda Wave is available in 3 series and 8 designs and colours. Features include a key shutter for the ignition, and easy starting without the need of a fuel choke thanks to the PGM-FI sytem. The bike either has disc brakes or drum brakes depending on the variant you pick. It goes for 34,000 Thai baht onwards.

Honda Wave 110i

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cutester (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 2:47 pm

Nice to have some bike news, Paul.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 3:07 pm

honda moped bike is out of race now…
    yamaha conquer all..

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Nice looking kapchai but could be better.

Throw in alloy wheels instead of the spokes and monoshock at the rear will be perfect. The kick-starter looks so ugly jutting out, should be made less conspicious.

Hate the ugly looking long rear mudguard. What’s with the criss-cross tyre thread design at the rear? Any good on tarmac at fast turn ins/outs?

But like I say, a nice looking kapchai but could be better!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 6:37 pm

do more reports on kawasaki ninja’s, not this

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 7:54 pm

Will an injection bike be more expansive than a normal carb bike in terms of maintainance?

Paul Tan says: This is a good question. I will research.

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 8:42 pm

“It can use gasohol E20, a fuel that is sold in Thailand at the pumps”

do u mean it can use the biofuel ??

if yes, this means it can be considered as a green bike ..

hahax ..

• aliBaPa (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Bike news.
    I like it.

• delos3nos (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 1:29 am

mat rempit will die for tis or die wit this

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 9:18 am

mat rempit will die for this kapchai?
    i’m not so sure..

err..if it is injection type, it must have an ecu?

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 11:37 am

injection?
    wah.. i wanna experiment this to my old moped lah.. :D
    remove the carb, install the injection + ecu.. done..

erm.. not as simple as that ler..

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 11:41 am

looking fwd for more new honda bikes coming to Msia since now honda japan had taken over boon siew….pls bring those maxi-scooter ..reflex 250/silverwing..etc…i need a proven & reliable maxi-scooter from honda for commuting to work (need fast & highway capable scoot for safety & getting away from those truckers & boy racers)..

Currently we only have aprilia maxi-scoot available and i dun trust the reliability of those italian bikes….sorry to those italian bikes fan

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 8:33 pm

mystvearn said,

January 13, 2009 @ 7:54 pm

Will an injection bike be more expansive than a normal carb bike in terms of maintainance?

Paul Tan says: This is a good question. I will research.

Paul, save your time n energy. I’ve done it for you guys. Let me ask you this.
    A fuel-injected car vs a carburetted one. Which maintenance cost is higher? Both are almost the same provided you take good care of them.

As for bikes, the answer’s the same. A fuel-injected bike might even give you better fuel savings. All this provided that the workshop you send to service your bike have the proper diagnostic tool, as the ones you find in car workshops. Always service your bike/car at the recommended service intervals as stated in the manual. You take care of it, it’ll take care of you.
    Happy biking!

• Ahmed on Mar 14, 2009 at 1:21 am

I want one, but i can't find the new models here in egypt!!

how can i export it?

• Dang Ngoc Tuyen on May 14, 2009 at 5:45 am

I love wave 110i so much,but I don't know how to buy it in Viet Nam anh how much it is if I buy it in VN

• Maryam on Jun 09, 2009 at 10:49 pm

Dear Sir/Madam

Hi

I am Maryam from Rockmotor company in Iran.

We are a motorcycle company that our main work is CG125.

We import CG parts from different companies and then assemble them.

And now we want to have information about your honda wave motorcycle.

So would you pls sne dme the price (in CKD) and the technical specification of it to my mail:[email protected]

Pls inform me ASAP.

Look forward to hearing you .

B.R

Maryam

• Len Levine on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:43 pm

Will the 110i have enough power to carry two adults(approx.115 kg.)? Is the seat storage enough to hold two helmets? What does that price(approx.) 34,000 baht include? What else should I pay for(e.g. insurance, registration, etc.)?
    Is there any price competition here in Pattaya?

• As you mentioned above, Boon Siew Honda Sdn Bhd will bring in Wave 110. So may i know that whether the engine using fuel-injection or carburetted?

How much the price will sold in Malaysia?When they will lauch for this model?

Thanks for your co-operation.

Eric

• Zallie on May 15, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Hi,

Just want to know how much will it cost for a honda 110i? Your response would be of great help.

Thanks,
    Zallie

• Bought a Honda Wave 110i. Now have 4,000 km on it. So far, so good as far as the bike is concerned.

The Honda dealers I have dealt with in Thailand are evil. No after sales service, arrogant Chinese, once you give them your money they treat you like dirt.

Example: they couldn’t find the Owner’s Manual and would not get me one. The bike had only one key: they said too bad. They would not order me a blank key from Honda (no local locksmiths had the blanks)

Lost a screw from my Honda Index helmet. All dealers just said Mai mee (don’t have) and stared at me. I guess they thought I should have to buy a new helmet, these little f*ckers. THEY ARE NOT HUMAN.

The rack I bought from Honda was defective. Too bad, they said. And they had only ONE in stock in all of the city. And they have a near monopoly on Honda sales in town. (Another big problem …)

No more Hondas for me.

• i bought my honda wave 110i in Chiang Mai Thailand for 41,500 bahts on 12/28/2011. I had to purchase the 2 year theft insurance for 2500 bahts. So total was 44k bahts. I got a free basket and helmet, purchased from Nat Motors Dealership and paid in cash.

• Bought one in Chiang Mai new a few weeks ago 600km trouble free, powerful, economical, handles well. Bought basic model with painted steel grab bar, front drum brake, one tool (screwdriver) red colour but only 35000 baht including one year tax & insurance, free jacket, helmet, basket, first service. Cheaper than hiring a motorcycle for a year. Very quiet as water cooled, easy kickstart (no electric fitted) happy purchaser so far .

• tayza on May 01, 2015 at 2:54 pm

wave 110i is vietnam or thailand made.i just wanna know.and how to classified if vietnam or thailand made.just help reply me.