F1: Heavy downpour causes red flag at Sepang

So it was a massively wet race, one that was made worse by the fact that it was an evening one – less light to cut through the heavy torrent. Jenson Button in his Brawn GP F1 car took the top spot again, with second place this time going to Nick Heidheld in his BMW. Barrichello who came in second the last race was in 5th place. F1 big names Ferrari and McLaren continues their woes with Kvalainen retiring on the first lap. Kubica also had to retire thanks to a mechanical problem.

F1 Sepang Results
Click for larger results table

The rain was so heavy that the race had to be red flagged, thanks to visibility which had dropped to near zero. The track had also become totally drenched with water. According to Button himself, “It wasn’t like it was a river out there, it was a lake!”. Hamilton said it was one of the most dangerous conditions he had ever had to race in, and all he could do was try to keep the car on track, don’t even begin to talk about actually racing yet.

Only half points were awarded to the point winners in this race.

Jenson Button does it again, even with Malaysia’s monsoon rain!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express frustration with the timing of the race start at 5pm, citing poor visibility and safety concerns due to twilight and heavy rain, which led to the race being red-flagged. Many blame the organizers and FIA, suggesting they should have scheduled the race earlier, especially given Malaysia's unpredictable weather. Some feel the delay was influenced by European viewership interests rather than safety or optimal racing conditions. There is a general consensus that the heavy rain and late timing compromised the race experience and safety. A few comments mention the need for better infrastructure, like lighting, to handle such weather conditions, and criticize Bernie Ecclestone's decision as impractical, emphasizing safety and driver visibility issues caused by weather.

• wrongturn on Apr 06, 2009 at 6:02 pm

Read forum elsewhere adn found that the 3pm race was actually at 8.30am Uk time…and people or F1 fans there really wont mind if the race was 3pm local time!

I donno what this Bernie dude thinking?

• mystvearn on Apr 06, 2009 at 6:37 pm

I don’t get it. If Europeans can wake up 8am(7am UK) to watch Australian GP, why they cannot do the same with Malaysian GP? Its 9am(10am UK) when Malaysian started.

How about just go 2 hours back, start 3 pm, surely will not rain then. KL always rains in the afternoon, its so common.

• eezarm on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:36 pm

there's no waterways to let the water flows and make it less trapped on the track, isn't it? bout the visibility, there's nothing u can do except using a wiper on the helmet. hehehe…(innovation, isnt it?)

the day before (saturday), was raining heavily too from bangi, nilai and probably sepang. i couldnt drive properly and i could imagine what the F1 drivers felt during the racing.

• White Jack on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:36 pm

So sad after paying expensive ticket go there !

• bangkhai on Apr 06, 2009 at 8:31 pm

boring race.. where is bomoh hujan when we need him.. ciss..

• 2fast on Apr 06, 2009 at 8:38 pm

Other than the 'lakes', the race was stopped because of the diminishing visibility due to sun setting. Visibility was also an issue at the Australian GP where the race was also started late in the evening.

• Mini_Mack on Apr 06, 2009 at 9:10 pm

dude…take it on the positive side! Once the "hottest" race on earth is now the "COOLEST!" we can't fight God's will can we?

• mr jem on Apr 06, 2009 at 9:23 pm

hahaha…

you people always tend to look on the negative side of malaysian sport maa… ujan sket marah + kutuk kutuk… hahaha

everythings seem to be a joke for you guys larrr…

• Mufasa Hulaho on Apr 06, 2009 at 9:25 pm

not coolest,,,it wettest, i try to image how was all those sexy girl,,,are they wet too?

• stephan on Apr 06, 2009 at 9:47 pm

mr jem, we're not looking at the negative side.. it was stupid of the organizers to push the race time to 5pm..from 3pm originally.. this was only done to suit the european viewers.. thats the joke.. some people paid over rm1k to watch the race.. the grandstand was full by the way…

• gangully on Apr 06, 2009 at 10:11 pm

Do not blame the organisers, it is not them, but Bernie ecclestone who wanted to appease the majority of the viewers who are apparently europeans, no surprises there.

waterways on an F1 track? like drains on the side of the track? funny that…

• FOA and Bernie fault for delaying F1 race to 5pm…if we can stay up 3am to watch our fav football match, why can't they watch F1 at 8am?

• nabil on Apr 06, 2009 at 10:22 pm

not orqnizers but Bernie Ecclestone's decision to let it start late for european viewrs dont have to wake up so early due to time diference , even if the drainage system was great , the visibilty was so poor it wil still be deemed dangerous to continue…mothernature wat can we do…..bt disapointing anyway , and whatever hapened to ferrari !?

• julian-lee on Apr 06, 2009 at 10:34 pm

nyamai, as long as got wet girls :-D

• leonardo on Apr 06, 2009 at 10:37 pm

Malaysian weather had it all. When the race started it was steaming hot. It then got to damp, wet, very wet, flooding, and finally the great lakes! Full as drama, as usual and always memorable.

Maybe this year they used a cheaper bomoh to cut costs, that why it is not so effective!

Ferrari and Mclaren have a got of catching up to do – they are only fighting with force India right now!

• the stik on Apr 06, 2009 at 10:54 pm

alang2 dh hujan smapi banjir cabut je tayar terus boleh jadik f1 power boat competition.. hujan pun mau kondem..

• [quote comment="227295"]Malaysian weather had it all. When the race started it was steaming hot. It then got to damp, wet, very wet, flooding, and finally the great lakes! Full as drama, as usual and always memorable.

Maybe this year they used a cheaper bomoh to cut costs, that why it is not so effective!

Ferrari and Mclaren have a got of catching up to do – they are only fighting with force India right now![/quote]

Lol. That's why we are teh awesomeness..

• Pingkl on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:25 pm

Bernie should "eat my shit and die" – Jeremy Clarkson

• newbie on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:29 pm

hahaha..take that bernie…we let the nature take its own course.. and we malaysian doesn't have to do anything to obejct the race time shift..

• newbie on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:31 pm

[quote comment="227295"]Malaysian weather had it all. When the race started it was steaming hot. It then got to damp, wet, very wet, flooding, and finally the great lakes! Full as drama, as usual and always memorable.

Ferrari and Mclaren have a got of catching up to do – they are only fighting with force India right now![/quote]

That's the conversation i heard from mat salleh on the lrt that day. He seems amazed that in the noon it was blazing hot and suddenlt rain comes pouring out of nowhere!

• Syn Lee on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:36 pm

F1 drivers are a bunch of morons when it comes to driving in the rain.they should get some lessons from Malaysian drivers on highway, who cruise and overtakes at above 140kph regardless of how heavy the rain is. even the Malaysian bus drivers are more competent than them.. and whenever accident happens, especially on the road to Genting, they look for scapegoats who supposedly pour oil on the road.. hohoho… to them, hydroplaning is an abstract scientific concept fabricated by the authority to deprive them of their joy of driving fast. it doesnt exist.. hohoho..

• stroller on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:51 pm

bernie idea was brilliant coz he dont know to predict malaysian weather…

• zidane on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:52 pm

they should have had the race earlier……

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:56 pm

I think until the race was red flagged, it was one of the most interesting race I've seen in the past 10 years. Passing was awesome, and you have cars sliding in turns during wheel to wheel racing. This is what F1 or (any race) should be.

Can't believe Button made 4 pit stops and still "won".

If they had the race earlier, it might still have been a good show. Having it in the evening is probably thier biggest mistake, any malaysian will tell you it almost always garantee rain.

Pity those that paid for tickets though.

• knight_templar on Apr 07, 2009 at 12:33 am

So now the Mat Salleh know about the Malaysian weather Gods and how strong they can be. There was a part one of the BBC commentators got so excited when a bolt of lightning struck. Sounded so ulu…hehehehe.

But what was with NTV7 putting two dimwits to host the show? Besides an obvious lack of knowledge of the sport Daphne obviouls doesnt have good fashion sense. What was with the hot pants…did she run out of Geylang? Anyway the most irritating part for me besides the race was the fact that after sitting for abt 40 mins to hear was the FIA was gonna do, when show cut back to the studio, that dumb Daphne said "wow, what a race!". What a clown.

• Tiadaid on Apr 07, 2009 at 12:34 am

[quote comment="227334"]I think until the race was red flagged, it was one of the most interesting race I've seen in the past 10 years. Passing was awesome, and you have cars sliding in turns during wheel to wheel racing. This is what F1 or (any race) should be.

Can't believe Button made 4 pit stops and still "won".

If they had the race earlier, it might still have been a good show. Having it in the evening is probably thier biggest mistake, any malaysian will tell you it almost always garantee rain.

Pity those that paid for tickets though.[/quote]

A true blue fan won't mind paying to watch the race and having it washed out and end halfway. But the most dissapointed people would be those watching at Mamaks everywhere…when the rain fell abes Astro, gone!

• Too bad it is rain, can only see half the race…

It floor in Sepang circuit (mall area) too, when we left, there is some flooding on mall area…

The parking we paid is RM50, only can park on the "Kelapa Sawit" parking, so wet and so dirty because of the "Tanah"…

• knight_templar on Apr 07, 2009 at 12:41 am

The race was just average by the way. The overtaking and spins were not box office entertaining. This is supposed to be the pinnacle of motor sport. It really became a soap opera after that.

• actually the rains make it interesting for an otherwise dull as usual F1 race……we should bring in the WTCC instead of this! that's what "real racing" wt "real car" is!..instead of this airplane wt wheels

• wrongturn on Apr 07, 2009 at 1:35 am

Why cant those Europeans wake up a little early….if you want a formula 1 become a world event, then you should understand the time difference! Otherwise, just race them in Europe…or in your own backyards! It wont be a world event then???

I never complained if the EPL in the whee hours of the morning….if i want to watch I sleep early and wake up at 2 or 3am…such a small sacrifice!

Night race…what a joke!

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 07, 2009 at 3:02 am

if it didnt rains, i think that will be a fantastic event ..

the sun, the noise from the v8 engine, the cars ..

• zidane on Apr 07, 2009 at 3:05 am

it was a drifting event at the end of the race…..

• Don't u realise how easy for an F1 car to spin? Even if it's not raining. If you given a chance to drive a F1 car probably you will spin at the very first corner only if you ever get it run without stalling.

• CocoBear on Apr 07, 2009 at 4:29 am

F1's McLaren and Ferrari have V6, not V8.

I have regretted watching F1 race again. @#$% Dumbass FIA stewardess are sissies when making a decision like this. I remember there was once FIA ordered the race to be restarted after a Ferrari crash. It was an immediate action . Now they took 45 minutes. Plus, they are still biased to Ferrari.

Late 5.05pm start is unacceptable because the sun will be too glaring and the race time will be limited to 2 hours to end at 7pm. If there's multiple accidents, can the race be finished properly in 2 hours? It's all have to blame the European FIA officials. Last time every races used to start in early afternoon of the local time. Now they adjust the time to suit them best. Can't blame it bcos most viewers are Europeans.

Now I bet on BrawnGP. The car body looks good and the design theme is nice. Last time the earth theme sucks. Both drivers are so so only..if u know what I mean…

• luckily me a lect in limkokwing, sepang invited 200 students to watch for free at grandstand.. =) too bad, the race only had 33 laps.

• they started race at 5 bcuz they dun wan msia's striking heat weather in the afternoon – the tyres get destroyed too fast and each tyres cost how much? drivers complaints about it during previous race in sepang, not bcuz of UKTV time. and by FIA rules, a race can only have 2 hours max not more than that eventho they didnt finish all teh laps. thats why they end it after 30mins of red flag. plus dark, plus sepang no spotlight to race at nite, plus driver actually dun wana race with the weather. safety first, its too dangerous.

• drgn86 on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:07 am

our organisers should also be blamed, for not convincing dumb bernie that m'sia has one of the most unpredictable weather occurrences in the world… i think i know who's the culprit who agreed with dumb bernie's suggestion, 4th PM punya anak la, who else? also, m'sia will get dark at 6.30 already, somemore with the torrential rain… on the other hand, no backup lighting pulak for situations like this (stupid or kedekut i also tak tau) still wanna start at 5pm…

• aksMs on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:43 am

Hehehe. I think SIC has already hired a bomoh hujan to hold back the rain. But maybe…just maybe, the bomoh did not recieved the schedule update. He already move the rain back from 3pm to 5pm, by SIC's request but he didnt get the update that Bernies has move the race back to 5pm! Maybe Maxis and Celcom has screwed up again. No connection, hence, no sms update. There goes his job for next season. Hahaha!

Job opening for Malaysian F1 GP 2010. BOMOH HUJAN. All registered bomoh are welcome to apply. XD

• Bernie Ecclestone on Apr 07, 2009 at 7:07 am

After reading all your comments, I think FIA should not allow Malaysia to ever hold a F1 round here anymore! Better go else where! All you people can do is complain!

• f1fanatic on Apr 07, 2009 at 11:15 am

damn did u see raikonen with the magnum ice cream btw.. the ice man doesnt mind an icecream when its raining like hell haha..

• azrai on Apr 07, 2009 at 3:58 pm

If it is push even to 10 a.m. if god will a thunderstorm it also can be happened. A sign for najib maybe?

• mr jem on Apr 07, 2009 at 4:28 pm

[quote comment="227467"]After reading all your comments, I think FIA should not allow Malaysia to ever hold a F1 round here anymore! Better go else where! All you people can do is complain![/quote]

Hahaha…

Guess u are right bernie. And guess what, i can bet u that not even half of this people watched the race live at sepang. All they did was watched it at home. Goyang goyang kaki and then complained! Perhaps, all the comments will be different if suddenly, the Monaco GP tetiba bleh banjir… hahahaha

• i wish on Apr 07, 2009 at 4:41 pm

what if starting the race @ 7:30 am…

• bmpower on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:35 pm

[quote comment="227364"]The race was just average by the way. The overtaking and spins were not box office entertaining. This is supposed to be the pinnacle of motor sport. It really became a soap opera after that.[/quote]

Yess.. it's an box office entertaiment for me if the spinning one are ferrari's car, better more if they spinning while they lead. Absolutely stunning. hahaha

Pity and poor kubica.. since autralian f1.

[quote comment="227467"]After reading all your comments, I think FIA should not allow Malaysia to ever hold a F1 round here anymore! Better go else where! All you people can do is complain![/quote]

Oh yeah? Bernie the Ferrari lover??

there's another 9 team and car those not ferrari!.

The best thing for now is… no more ferrari on top! yesss..

Even God cursing ferrari now.. upcoming all the stewardess cursed too…

• I hax ur pc with mW! on Apr 07, 2009 at 6:36 pm

[quote comment="227448"]our organisers should also be blamed, for not convincing dumb bernie that m'sia has one of the most unpredictable weather occurrences in the world… i think i know who's the culprit who agreed with dumb bernie's suggestion, 4th PM punya anak la, who else? also, m'sia will get dark at 6.30 already, somemore with the torrential rain… on the other hand, no backup lighting pulak for situations like this (stupid or kedekut i also tak tau) still wanna start at 5pm…[/quote]

wow blame the Malaysian yeah?

go to all F1 forums in the internet & see who they blaming on?

guess what…

they all say bernie sucks!!!

typical stupid malaysian

• I think the SIC wants to change the schedule from 5pm to 4pm or maybe 3pm on next year, but it is really hard to predict the weather because if the race falled on April, then we still face the same rain problem…

Too bad, next year will not go again, ticket is not cheap, parking is not cheap…since it is an "International" event, so everything expensive…

• Mini_Mack on Apr 08, 2009 at 1:27 am

ermm…if i'm not mistaken, all these complaints are of the race beginning at 5pm rite? not because of the rain kan? rain is God's will what! and to add insult furthermore,this is all because it rained on the 5pm race day in the month of april rite? will all you complain still if the race starts at 5pm still but say during malaysia's hot season?

will you all still complain?

pphhhtttt….

• wrongturn on Apr 08, 2009 at 8:46 am

it wasnt just abt the rain….racing very close to twilight period can be dangerous thing to do since the land gets darker faster than the sky….making visibility very poor!

On normal road, people switch their lights at twilight not to 'suluh' the road but to be seen by others….and in F1..they only got rear lights..watabout those coming from behind! Sure cannot see from their tiny rear view mirrors…

• SIC too optimistic to commit for the 5pm race actually. Betting on a good weather. Not prepare that if it rain, they may not have enough light source around the track.

The extra one million European viewers could be regular who read the news about Australian race and tune in, only the whole year viewership statistic can tell whether or not SIC has made a good decision on 5pm in getting more viewers.

If you have driven in the race track without knowing where about the braking points under poor visibility and chances are you may end up in front of another car or got off track. Whats more with heavy rain as this? Race steward has made a wise decision in stopping the race, except they caught up in 2-3 place result for too long.

Driving on the road and racing in the racetrack is 2 different thing all together. Meantime just enjoy the remaining race or the year and Honda is banging balls again.

• INDYracer on Apr 09, 2009 at 9:39 am

FIA should makes total revamp on the F1 car design & merge the race into FIA GT Championship under new category as Grand Turismo Ptoyotype Series similar to LeMans LMP1 & LMP2.

Makes headlights & wipers compulsory on F1 cars.

• bmpower on Apr 09, 2009 at 5:13 pm

It's not SIC those set race start at 5pm. It's FIA!.

If the race just start up at 3, then raining like hell.. The race can continue back at 5pm is just fine.

However, because of the race start at 5pm, rain at 6pm.. 7pm to continue the race is unsuitable.. because it's just getting dark!..

Understand?

About the rain… it's just 'a damn too super heavy rain'.. not usual kind of rain. It's not their sewerage system.. it's about 'too many water'.

Understand?