New Alfa Romeo models launched in Malaysia, including the Alfa 159 finally!

Alfa Romeo 159

Alfa Romeo is back alive and kicking with a launch of 4 new models in Malaysia all at once. Spearheading the list and expected to the the company’s volume seller here is the long-awaited Alfa Romeo 159, priced at RM 188,888.

Under the hood is a 2.2 litre JTS inline-4 twin cam engine mated to a 6-speed Selespeed automated manual transmission. The JTS (Jet Thrust Stoichiometric) is a direct injection lean burn engine that puts out 185 PS at 6,500rpm and 230Nm of torque at 4,500rpm, which is quite torquey for a 2.2 litre unit.

Alfa Romeo 159

The 159 has a decent level of equipment. We’re talking about a total of 9 airbags for the front, rear, side and driver knee, and there is also a front passenger airbag deactivation feature. Creature comforts include bi-xenon headlamps with washer, auto dimming rear view mirror, auto driving light control, follow me home headlamps, keyless ignition, rain sensor wipers, paddle shifts, stability control, an 8 speaker sound system, a sunroof, and full leather upholstery.

Internationally, there is a new engine for the 2009 model year and it would be nice if Sime Darby Autoconnexxion has plans to bring it in for future variants if they deem it suitable, we’re talking about the TBi engine, which is a 1.8 litre engine with direct injection, turbocharging and variable valve timing for both the intake and exhaust. It put outs 200 PS and 320Nm of torque (a 230 PS variant is also available for the Brera/Spider), so the two models could be differentiated like the Audi A4 1.8 and 2.0.

But in any case it looks like those who have been buying the Accord 2.4 and Mazda 6 2.5 (don’t think Camry 2.4 buyers are in the same category!) can now opt to shell out a little more and enjoy a sexy Italian beauty!

Alfa Romeo GT

Next up is the Alfa Romeo GT Blackline Coupe, powered by a 165 horsepower 206Nm torque 2.0 litre JTS engine mated to a 5-speed Selespeed, priced at RM 218,888. This sleek coupe never fails to turn heads but mechanically it is not very different from the Alfa GT sold by the distributor’s previous incarnation, Sime Darby Auto Italia.

The GT is equipped with a BOSE Hi-Fi system with amp and subwoofer, a CD player with MP3 capabilities, xenon headlamps, 8 airbags, stability control, and sports seats.

Alfa Romeo Brera

The Alfa Romeo Brera Coupe is priced at RM 308,888 and is powered by the same 2.2 litre JTS engine as the 159 sedan. You’ve got 7 airbags, stability control, 6 speakers, rain sensor wipers, keyless ignition, bi-xenon headlamps, 8-way electrically adjustable front seats with heating for the driver’s seat, and leather upholstery.

The flagship and most expensive car is the 2-seater Alfa Romeo Spider, also powered by the 2.2 litre JTS and 6-speed Selespeed. It’s priced at RM 318,888 and is essentially a soft top convertible version of the Brera.

Alfa Spider

The Spider’s equipment includes keyless ignition, rain sensor wipers, cruise control, paddle shifts, 6-speakers, bi-xenon headlamps with washer, heated driver’s seat, stability control, and 5 airbags for the front and sides of the 2 passengers including a driver’s knee airbag.

There is more coming. The cute little hatch called the MiTo will be coming later this year to give the MINI Cooper and the Fiat 500 some competition. Look after the jump for full galleries the bellas, including a few promo videos of the 159 and GT.

Alfa Romeo 159

[zenphotopress number=99 album=144]

Alfa Romeo GT Blackline

[zenphotopress number=99 album=272]

Alfa Romeo Brera

[zenphotopress number=99 album=273]

Alfa Romeo Spider

[zenphotopress number=99 album=274]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cool!

• daus_usop on May 10, 2009 at 6:10 pm

wah, really nice… i really like Alfa Romeo design since I was schooling, combination of Italian art and automotive technology.

• Thomas on May 10, 2009 at 6:30 pm

OMG! I can't believe it!

• mitlanevo on May 10, 2009 at 6:34 pm

the GT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! damn sexy…………..

• touftouf on May 10, 2009 at 7:27 pm

is that this car that they used in James Bond's film Quantum of Solace? superb!!

• Roti naan on May 10, 2009 at 7:56 pm

I already have those cars…..die cast models that is.

hell, these cars look great even when they are die casts….

• i wonder when would proton transform their Perdana with this kind of stuff like…. stability control, 6 airbags, rain sensor wipers, keyless ignition, bi-xenon headlamps, 8-way electrically adjustable front seats with heating for the driver’s seat, and leather upholstery. HEHE….

• theanswer on May 10, 2009 at 8:24 pm

the engine should be bigger at least for brera,spider and gt. 2.2 for a sports car..kinda weak. but the design..the aura..thumbs up!

• afroiq on May 10, 2009 at 8:32 pm

2.2l for 230ps is good enough..at least for me..finally we can see brera on our road..

• Arriving our market very very late…

• Javanese (Member) on May 10, 2009 at 8:53 pm

What a colossal waste of money… speaking from resale value POV of course. But the cars are sex on wheels…. *sigh* why am i not rich enough.

• Dracryst on May 10, 2009 at 9:19 pm

I also can't believe they released the new models here. BRERA!!!!!!!

Now I hope they bring in the Ford Focus RS *hehe*

• raybrig85 on May 10, 2009 at 9:26 pm

[quote comment="237238"]the engine should be bigger at least for brera,spider and gt. 2.2 for a sports car..kinda weak. but the design..the aura..thumbs up![/quote]

yess…if they bring the 3.2 model..the money oso big 1..hehe..btw..nice…now i jz onli stare at 159 onli coz of their late arrive in bolehland..i canceled and bought the a4…btw…go go alfa…

• oh yeah….say no to expensive honda ant toyota……..cheers…..

• Perotiga on May 10, 2009 at 9:39 pm

the savvy rear design…

• nabill on May 10, 2009 at 10:30 pm

very hard to resist . this purchase is purely based on heart rather than mind !

• Tezza on May 10, 2009 at 11:04 pm

The Sexiest ever car..abosultely irresistible cutting edge exterior design of alfa romeo brera..damn fascinating…..lolz..

• Chris Chong on May 10, 2009 at 11:06 pm

Hopefully the Selespeed gearbox won't keep breaking down like the one in the 156 – my dad had one and the gearbox totally ruined the car for us; we had to send it back the Milan Auto about twice a month to fix and we once caused a massive traffic jam in Jalan Ampang when the gearbox died during rush hour…

• Shiang on May 11, 2009 at 1:15 am

Can't wait to see one of these on the road.

• mystvearn on May 11, 2009 at 3:03 am

Brera is damm good looking. Only pitty price also damm good looking :P I don't really think the Mito has any good looks. The radiator is weird. Even though its still the snake skin themed, looks weird on a car with that big nose.

• b4nd3r on May 11, 2009 at 3:14 am

Paul, I couldn't get it. Why are you saying "But in any case it looks like those who have been buying the Accord 2.4 and Mazda 6 2.5 (don’t think Camry 2.4 buyers are in the same category!) can now opt to shell out a little more and enjoy a sexy Italian beauty!"? It is because of the performance wise?

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 11, 2009 at 3:31 am

It's a matter of taste… but i will go for Mazda 6 2.5 every time.

• Paul Tan on May 11, 2009 at 3:34 am

The values that a Camry buyer is looking for in a car goes against the Alfa Romeo brand.

• sick and tired on May 11, 2009 at 4:24 am

i have had the privilege to sit in a Alfa GT, and let me tell you, the pictures doesn't do it justice! Its a beautiful car (both the interior & exterior) and no Japanese car can even come close to it (in terms of design la, reliability….) and is definitely a chick magnet! The 159 also looks damn beautiful.

• nice move. 4 models in one shot. however, the brand power is still not as powerful as the japs so i dont expect high sales volume for these cars.

but, good thing is these cars are absolutely stunning and head turners. so you can enjoy the "dick" factor. LOL.

• Kevin Lee on May 11, 2009 at 5:31 am

cheap and cheerful italian engineering at crazy rock bottom price. we can now be the baddies in the 007 to give a bad hair day to mr bond. the 159 has entered a market that is closer to the honda civic type-r, except its a car of its own class. seriously for an italian car and for the torque it has compared to the type-r, this one can be a value for money car

• b4nd3r on May 11, 2009 at 6:06 am

Ic .. thanks,

Phew .. 159 .. damn gorgeous.

• theanswer on May 11, 2009 at 7:45 am

[quote comment="237240"]2.2l for 230ps is good enough..at least for me..finally we can see brera on our road..[/quote]

230ps for most of us is ok..considering that i ony drive 86hp myvi..but looking from a sports car pov..and the price…2.2 is kinda small and expensive..i think vw golf r32 more worth to buy.

• alamak on May 11, 2009 at 8:31 am

i think the vw gti mk6 or vw scirocco will beat any of these alfa to 100kmh and 200kmh…

• clover leaf (Member) on May 11, 2009 at 9:36 am

[quote comment="237363"]i think the vw gti mk6 or vw scirocco will beat any of these alfa to 100kmh and 200kmh…[/quote]

what vw gti mk6? wait until you see the upcoming alfa romeo 149 (project 940).

vw scirocco is more likely competing against alfa romeo GT.

currently, the fastest alfa romeo sport car is the exotic limited edition 8c competizione. wonders any unit reaches asean shores?

• heavencloud on May 11, 2009 at 12:29 pm

Once upon a time, long-long time ago, i really hate alfa romeo's front design, because too ugly.

But now, the design of newer alfa is damn smexy :D

• raybrig85 on May 11, 2009 at 2:29 pm

[quote comment="237354"][quote comment="237240"]2.2l for 230ps is good enough..at least for me..finally we can see brera on our road..[/quote]

230ps for most of us is ok..considering that i ony drive 86hp myvi..but looking from a sports car pov..and the price…2.2 is kinda small and expensive..i think vw golf r32 more worth to buy.[/quote]

plz compare apple with apple la bro…

• Jaybond on May 11, 2009 at 5:09 pm

The Alfa 159 should have arrived 3 – 4 years ago, as it was introduced in Europe about the same time as BMW E90.

As for the Brera, the only different thing from the the 159 is the rear end, but costs more about RM 100K more??? Plus useless rear seat?? Can't see the point.

Alfa should have soldier on with only the GT for the coupe segment, or at least introduced a redesigned the GT, as it was a very practical coupe. Brera/Spider are a complete waste for Alfa!

• Paultan;

159's price very competitive despite of CBU status. BTW Paul, is their Selespeed now reliable already? Pity such a good looking car, reasonable price, decent handling pedigree with soul BUT lack of quality (not even come close to Proton).

Accord 2.4 vs Mazda 2.5 vs Pug 407 vs Alfa 159.

• tikus on May 11, 2009 at 5:46 pm

Very Sexy Car!! But consider after sales service.

• JULIAN_LEE on May 11, 2009 at 7:15 pm

stupid proton again

• Saifful on May 11, 2009 at 7:21 pm

Paul,

Will you be reviewing any of these cars soon? I'm particularly interested in the Alfa 159 and how it drives here in our Malaysian environment.

• where the hell u ppl see 230ps?

2.2 engine only puts out 180hp

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 11, 2009 at 7:43 pm

[quote comment="237354"]

230ps for most of us is ok..considering that i ony drive 86hp myvi..but looking from a sports car pov..and the price…2.2 is kinda small and expensive..i think vw golf r32 more worth to buy.[/quote]

for a start, the 159 is not a sports car, and its 185ps, and 230nm. also, the value of the car shouldnt be judged by its engine size.. if you wanna go that route, how do you justify a mercedes costing way over 200k running a 1.8 litre engine albeit supercharged?

and btw, alfa 159 = RM188,888 VW R32 =RM302,000.

• Jaybond on May 11, 2009 at 8:20 pm

The Alfa GT is very nice looking, only better with the 3.2 V6 engine then comparable to BMW 335 Ci , Mazda RX8 or Audi S5.

• Perotiga on May 11, 2009 at 8:38 pm

the simile face remind me the japanese animate, he… he… he… a bad guys from drogonball world.

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on May 11, 2009 at 8:43 pm

OH YES YES YES!!!!! Yo Sime Darby, how much discount I can get if 1 buy all 4 models at one shot??? My prayer has been answered, the 159 is finally here, Amen……

• nighttrain on May 11, 2009 at 9:00 pm

Sweet Brera, if only the pricing policy in this country is like Arab states… Damn you Italians for creating such stirring beauty I can't afford!

• 4G63T DSM on May 11, 2009 at 11:00 pm

[quote comment="237478"][quote comment="237354"]

for a start, the 159 is not a sports car, and its 185ps, and 230nm. also, the value of the car shouldnt be judged by its engine size.. if you wanna go that route, how do you justify a mercedes costing way over 200k running a 1.8 litre engine albeit supercharged?

and btw, alfa 159 = RM188,888

VW R32 =RM302,000.[/quote]

I think our friend there has gotten his cars mixed up.

I think he meant Golf GTI.

Sex on wheels.

Too bad they are FWD (damn good ones at that) but the new turbo motor would be real icing if they did bring those in.

It is actually quite good value for money, this being a full CBU. It looses nothing to the CKD Accord 2.4 and only being a few more grand more. Camry buyers are in thier own world.

• bmpower on May 11, 2009 at 11:41 pm

it's not that beauty…

• raybrig85 on May 12, 2009 at 12:25 am

[quote comment="237447"]Paultan;

159's price very competitive despite of CBU status. BTW Paul, is their Selespeed now reliable already? Pity such a good looking car, reasonable price, decent handling pedigree with soul BUT lack of quality (not even come close to Proton).

Accord 2.4 vs Mazda 2.5 vs Pug 407 vs Alfa 159.[/quote]

u heard the story which is happen 6-7 yrs back tho…now the problem is oredi solved..i own 1 of the alfa car till now..almost 8 yrs still not gv any problem for me…so..its a bit manje but if u really take care of it..theres no problem at all..dont say onli alfa..even bimmer,merc,audi n even proton itself..if u care abt them..so..no problem at all..so…if u want alfa jz go for it la…test it urself…n u judge it..

me oso heard that story b4 i own 1..but hey…no problem at all till now..still smooth n enjoy to drive then…

• theanswer on May 12, 2009 at 12:46 am

[quote comment="237413"][quote comment="237354"][quote comment="237240"]2.2l for 230ps is good enough..at least for me..finally we can see brera on our road..[/quote]

plz compare apple with apple la bro…[/quote]

U want me to compare an apple with an apple? a vw r32 and vw r32? are u saying that vw and alfa romeo is not in the same league? it's vw and alfa..not alfa and proton. and i'm saying that vw is a sports car with 3.2 v6 engine..and the price is rm302k..while alfa is 2.2 also rm300k..so if u ask primary student also they knew whats the best. its vw..not a proton. its vw..still a conti car. still belongs to an apple family.

• theanswer on May 12, 2009 at 12:52 am

[quote comment="237478"][quote comment="237354"]

and btw, alfa spider 2.2JTS = RM318,888 <–edited.

bro..did u read the post completely? the 2.2 engine is also use for brera and gt. i'm refering to the gt,spider and brera. dont talk as if i'm stupid that i dont know how to differentiate between a sedan and a sports car. and i know the alfa got the 3.2jts engine for gt and brera..i'm only talking abt why the price of 2.2 engine is almost same with 3.2 golf r32. it's a vw car..a well known conti car. and if u talking abt merc with 1.8 engine..pls..u'r comparing a merc and a honda..that one i know..but i'm talking abt a vw and alfa romeo. vw is not a jap car.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 12, 2009 at 1:07 am

[quote comment="237537"][quote comment="237478"][quote comment="237354"]

and btw, alfa spider 2.2JTS = RM318,888 <–edited.

bro..did u read the post completely? the 2.2 engine is also use for brera and gt. i'm refering to the gt,spider and brera. dont talk as if i'm stupid that i dont know how to differentiate between a sedan and a sports car. and i know the alfa got the 3.2jts engine for gt and brera..i'm only talking abt why the price of 2.2 engine is almost same with 3.2 golf r32. it's a vw car..a well known conti car. and if u talking abt merc with 1.8 engine..pls..u'r comparing a merc and a honda..that one i know..but i'm talking abt a vw and alfa romeo. vw is not a jap car.[/quote]

read your post completely la. you never mentioned which model. now its clear la.

• [quote comment="237536"][quote comment="237413"][quote comment="237354"][quote comment="237240"]2.2l for 230ps is good enough..at least for me..finally we can see brera on our road..[/quote]

U want me to compare an apple with an apple? a vw r32 and vw r32? are u saying that vw and alfa romeo is not in the same league? it's vw and alfa..not alfa and proton. and i'm saying that vw is a sports car with 3.2 v6 engine..and the price is rm302k..while alfa is 2.2 also rm300k..so if u ask primary student also they knew whats the best. its vw..not a proton. its vw..still a conti car. still belongs to an apple family.[/quote]

Aiyo…compare apple to apple also dun know? Just merely compare alfa romeo and VW is called apple to apple because they are conti? Then compare skoda lar…hahahahaha…

what ppl mean is compare similar kinda pricing, performance, etc….otherwise you might as well compare to Ferrari!!!

• raybrig85 on May 12, 2009 at 1:51 am

[quote comment="237536"][quote comment="237413"][quote comment="237354"][quote comment="237240"]2.2l for 230ps is good enough..at least for me..finally we can see brera on our road..[/quote]

U want me to compare an apple with an apple? a vw r32 and vw r32? are u saying that vw and alfa romeo is not in the same league? it's vw and alfa..not alfa and proton. and i'm saying that vw is a sports car with 3.2 v6 engine..and the price is rm302k..while alfa is 2.2 also rm300k..so if u ask primary student also they knew whats the best. its vw..not a proton. its vw..still a conti car. still belongs to an apple family.[/quote]

ok..i dun want to be rude..i dun say that u hv to cmpare vw r32 and vw r32..wut i meant of apple to apple..u should compare vw r32 ( performance car) with alfa romeo performance car ( GTA model)..do u get it now???n sorry if i hv to be rude here…the brera is in different segment..sooooo…u have to compare the car with audi tt,nissan 350 z…which as u can c…..audi tt with a basic model is arnd 300k n above..correct me if im wrong….soo..if u want to compare the vw r32 which is 300k..u should compare the car with alfa 147GTA with 300k price tag..do u get it sir..so..will u agree that??u still wrong if u compare brera with r32 bcoz they re not in d same segment tho…u makes me laugh dude…thats what im trying to said to u b4…plz low your ego abit bro…

• raybrig85 on May 12, 2009 at 1:59 am

owh..another thing..like u said…2.2 engine with 230 hp..and 3.2 engine with around that hp…i bet most malaysian will go for brera instead of r32 coz no need to spend alot of money on road tax…think about it again..but its nt gonna happen coz 2.2 only manage to produce 180hp onli

• Julian-Lee on May 12, 2009 at 6:32 am

BMW better design and speeds

• [quote comment="237575"]BMW better design and speeds[/quote]

bmw die hard fan..lol.

• finally the cure for my sore eyes from seeing the sea of boring camrys and accords.

• X-Bromy on Jun 15, 2009 at 6:38 am

Test drove C-class, 320i & A4. Decided to buy A4 but…hold on to your horses, Alfa's 159 is something different from the German marquees.

Test drove the 159 recently. Took 4 laps with the sales consultant near Mount Kiara highway. Mann…..the driving was totally different. You can feel the raw power and the seductive lines in and out of the car, the engine sound, the Italian leather at the price of below RM 200K…..can't compare with the other European marquees. You guys should have a go at it. Definitely a WOW factor!!!!

A very unique gear system. No time to waste on the frills of non-essential items of the electronic gadgets like other cars. Concentrate on enhancing a pure driving pleasure.

• Denton on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:47 am

Have a 3.2 V6 Q4 sv Brera and have had three 2.4 156 jtd.

Love the cars and a great looking motor with good performance turn heads every day not like boring BMWs which are so common.

• JetStar on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:31 pm

It's lovely car with attractive price, honestly said…but it's bad reputation in sales service that put the Alfa image down I must say…it's in Malaysian mindset already..and that's why hardly see alfas on the road….

• From Australia here…my first car was an Alfa Romeo when I was 23, and I have had many since and currently own 2. A 147 (which isnt featured above) and a 159 Ti… this is a 2.4litre Turbo Diesel, semi automatic that is lowered by the factory (as standard), 19 inch alloys, brushed aluminium wing mirrors, bluetooth, media centre and electric seats as standard. It is a rocking set of wheels and looks striking in Alfa Red. While being a diesel it is a little loud at low speeds, this is an excellent cruising car with power and economy. Not as refined as the german diesels, but still with that sporting italian heart… something the germans, french and japanese just cant do! (and lets forget about US made cars! )

The new direction of Alfa is demonstrated by the MITO and also the new Milano out soon. Gone will be the nu,bered models, and the tri headlights … I cannot wait for the 169 (a large sporting saloon similar to 5-series BMW) , and what it will be called.

For those who purchase…. enjoy one of the most unique marques on the road!

• Ng Kim pong on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:57 pm

A/R159 is not used in James Bond film quantum of solace the villains drive Alfa 156 sale speed cos I’ve one