4-door Audi A5 Sportback gets previewed!

Audi A5 Sportback

Audi have released a teaser image and a sketch of the upcoming Audi A5 Sportback, a 4-door version of the A4/A5 with a coupe-like roofline. This brings Audi’s C-segment contender bodystyle count up to a total of 5 – sedan and touring for the A4, and coupe, convertible and now this new 4-door sportsback for the A5.

The A5 Sportsback is referred to by Audi as a large hatchback. Audi’s interpretation of the 4-door coupe form is executed pretty well in my opinion, but we’ve already seen a preview of what such an Audi would look like with the Sportback concept early this year. It differs from the A4 – a roofline that is lower by 36mm, frameless doors, but the hatch looks to be conventional with no funky twindoor-like design.

Audi A5 Sportback

At launch time, 5 engines will be offered, with 3 of them oil burners. The petrol engines will be either the 2.0 TFSI putting out 211hp and 350Nm, or a 3.2 litre V6 with quattro putting out 265hp. Both have Audi valvelift. The oil burners range from a 2.0 TDI to a 2.7 TDI V6 and finally a 3.0 TDI V6 which churns out the most torque – 500Nm to complement the 240 horses it produces.

The A5 Sportback has 480 litres of storage volume and interestingly this is just 10 litres less than the A4 Avant’s 490 litres. This can be increased to 980 litres with the rear seatbacks folded down.

Look after the jump for a video of Audi Group Head of Design Wolfgang Egger explaining and sketching the Audi A5 Sportback.

VIDEO: Wolfgang Egger explains the Audi A5

VIDEO: Audi A5 Full Sketch

GALLERY: Audi Sportback Concept

[zenphotopress number=99 album=68]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• monstro on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Love Audi…but this one? Ermm…a 4 door coupe? pointless!

• lfsism on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:03 pm

interestingly …recent audi models have some Star Wars taste….

• tikus on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:27 pm

Very nice car but see no touch coz very xpensive in boleh land :( Only datuk can buy….

• The Stig on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:29 pm

L.E.D daytime running lights is standard.

• chaos on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Love audi design! Great exterior design

The wooden interior doesn't match the whole concept in my opinion though….

• adrianclw on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:44 pm

Like the LED light. Damn cool.

• motosonic on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:45 pm

Audi well-established..but the car price quite expensive in Malaysia.

Look at AUDI RS series..(recommended)

• abooburn on Jun 17, 2009 at 6:07 pm

A TRUE 4 door coupe = Mazda RX8. period.

• Wow, love the lines. Very subtle and not-in-your-face.

• initial R on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Cooooooooooooollll…… you Rock Audi…..

• Wak Rempit on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:32 pm

Love the car! especially the sleek lines and angular design cue… truly and Audi.

Quite a contrary to the other german brand who preferred tough and curvaceous look.

• azrai on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:21 pm

The side profile remind me of Maru's work on future Waja replacement model on Paultan forum.

• Audi is de way to go!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:21 pm

yea baby….long live audi….too bad i can't afford you yet, i'm sticking to my mazda 3 for the moment hehe

• raybrig85 on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:28 pm

nice but a5 sportback??plz dont spoil the name..let the a5 remain as a coupe…thats my fav audi…

• l0uis_lim on Jun 18, 2009 at 1:10 am

Great..

• cmc80 on Jun 18, 2009 at 1:25 am

Maybe… Audi A5 4-door hatchback target is use to versus BMW 5 Series GT…

• hot blood on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:16 am

[quote comment="245020"]L.E.D daytime running lights is standard.[/quote]

it not just a LED..combination with light guide..Marvellous..

• looks pretty nice. better than the 5 series gt i must say.

• Sigh… and I just got myself an A4 as I needed 4 doors…